Article ID: 2820235 - View products that this article applies to.
This article contains information about how to remove a former employee from the Yammer network
There are two ways to remove a former employee from the Yammer network.
Deactivate a member's account through the member's profileYou can deactivate a member's account at any time by going to the member's profile and clicking the following link at the bottom of the right-side column:
If [member's name] is no longer part of the [network name] network, click here.In this link, notice that Member's name is a placeholder for the name of the deactivated user, and network name is a placeholder for the name of the network.
The next time that this deactivated user tries to sign in to Yammer, the user will see a message that states the following:
Currently, an email message is sent to users that asks them to verify their email address. If the user does not reactivate his or her account within 90 days, the account is deleted. Be aware that only the user's account is deleted. Any of the user's content, such as messages, groups, pages, and files, is not deleted.
Delete the user from the Admin page (Premium Network administrators only)Premium Network administrators can delete users immediately by browsing to the Admin page and then clicking Remove Users. When you are deleting the user, you can decide to keep or delete the user's messages. Additionally, Premium Networks can use Active Directory Integration (AD Sync). Yammer lets you sync your Active Directory Domain Services with your Yammer network to make sure that employees who have left your company will immediately lose access to your Yammer network.
Article ID: 2820235 - Last Review: October 2, 2013 - Revision: 4.0