Changing NetBIOS Name Resolution Order in Windows for Workgroups

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 137966
This article was previously published under Q137966
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
Expand all | Collapse all


By default, the NetBIOS name resolution mode used by NetBIOS over TCP/IP is B-node mode. If a WINS server is specified in the TCP/IP configuration, the default mode is H-node.

More information

In Windows for Workgroup running TCP/IP-32, these default settings can be modified to change to NetBIOS name resolution mode to B-node, P-node, M-node, or H-node.

To change the NetBIOS name resolution order:

  1. Open the SYSTEM.INI file with a text editor.
  2. In the [NBT] section, add the following entry:
    NodeType = 1, 2, 4, or 8
    These values specify the mode of NetBIOS name resolution used by NetBIOS over TCP/IP, where:
    1 = b-node

    2 = p-node

    4 = m-node

    8 = h-node.
    NOTE: This value can also be configured via DHCP Manager on the DHCP server. Under DHCP Options, select Scope or Global. The default is 1 (b- node). If no value is specified and a WINS server is specified and its NodeType is blank, then the default is 8 (h-node). On the Windows for Workgroups client configure it to use DHCP under Control Panel, Network, highlight TCP/IP Protocol in the Installed Network Software windows and select Configure. Enter an X in the Enable Automatic DHCP Configuration box by clicking on it. Click on OK and reboot the Windows for Workgroup client.
  3. Save your changes and restart Windows.
NOTE: For more details on node type implementation refer to TCP/IP-32 online help.


Article ID: 137966 - Last Review: October 26, 2013 - Revision: 3.0
kbnosurvey kbarchive KB137966

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from