Des e/s disque asynchrone s'affiche comme synchrone sur Windows

IMPORTANT : Cet article est issu d'une traduction automatique réalisée par un logiciel Microsoft et non par un traducteur professionnel. Cette traduction automatique a pu aussi être révisée par la communauté Microsoft grâce à la technologie Community Translation Framework (CTF). Pour en savoir plus sur cette technologie, veuillez consulter la page http://support.microsoft.com/gp/machine-translation-corrections/fr. Microsoft vous propose en effet des articles traduits par des professionnels, des articles issus de traductions automatiques et des articles issus de traductions automatiques révisées par la communauté Microsoft, de manière à ce que vous ayez accès à tous les articles de notre Base de connaissances dans votre langue. Il est important de noter que les articles issus de la traduction automatique, y compris ceux révisés par la communauté Microsoft, peuvent contenir des erreurs de vocabulaire, de syntaxe ou de grammaire. Microsoft ne pourra être tenu responsable des imprécisions, erreurs, ainsi que de tout dommage résultant d’une traduction incorrecte du contenu ou de son utilisation par les clients.

La version anglaise de cet article est la suivante: 156932
Résumé
Les e/s à partir d'un fichier sur Microsoft Windows peuvent être synchrones ou asynchrones. Le comportement par défaut pour les e/s est synchrone, dans le cas où une fonction d'e/s est appelée et retourne lorsque les e/s est terminée. E/s asynchrone permet à une fonction d'e/s à l'exécution un retour à l'appelant immédiat, mais l'e/s n'est pas supposé être terminée jusqu'à une date ultérieure. Le système d'exploitation informe l'appelant lorsqu'elle est terminée. Sinon, l'appelant peut déterminer le statut de l'opération d'e/s en attente à l'aide des services du système d'exploitation.

L'avantage des e/s asynchrones est que l'appelant a du temps pour effectuer un autre travail ou émettre d'autres demandes pendant l'exécution de l'opération d'e/s. Le terme chevauchement I / Ois fréquemment utilisés pour les e/s asynchrones et Non superposé d'e/s d'e/s synchrones. Cet article utilise les termes asynchrone et synchrone pour les opérations d'e/s. Cet article suppose que le lecteur possède une connaissance avec les fonctions d'e/s de fichier telles que WriteFile de le CreateFile, ReadFile.

Fréquemment, les opérations d'e/s asynchrones se comportent simplement comme des e/s synchrones. Certaines conditions, que cet article traite dans les paragraphes suivants, font que les opérations d'e/s se terminent de façon synchrone. L'appelant n'a pas le temps de faire d'autre travail en arrière-plan parce que les fonctions d'e/s ne retournent que lorsque l'e/s est terminée.

Plusieurs fonctions sont liées aux e/s synchrones et asynchrones. Cet article utilise ReadFile et WriteFile, exemples ; bonnes alternatives serait ReadFileEx et WriteFileEx. Bien que cet article traite uniquement les e/s de disque en particulier, la plupart des principes peuvent être appliquées à d'autres types d'e/s, telles que la série d'e/s ou e/s réseau.
Plus d'informations

Paramétrer des e/s asynchrones

L'indicateur FILE_FLAG_OVERLAPPED doit être spécifié dans le CreateFile lorsque le fichier est ouvert. Cet indicateur permet des opérations d'e/s sur le fichier pour être exécutée de façon asynchrone. Voici un exemple :
   HANDLE hFile;   hFile = CreateFile(szFileName,                      GENERIC_READ,                      0,                      NULL,                      OPEN_EXISTING,                      FILE_FLAG_NORMAL | FILE_FLAG_OVERLAPPED,                      NULL);   if (hFile == INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE)      ErrorOpeningFile();				
Soyez prudent lors du codage pour les e/s asynchrones, parce que le système réserve de bonnes pour effectuer une opération synchrone s'il faut. Par conséquent, il est préférable si vous écrivez le programme afin de gérer correctement une opération d'e/s qui peut être effectuée de manière synchrone ou asynchrone. L'exemple de code illustre ce compte.

Il y a beaucoup de choses un programme peut tout en attendant asynchronousoperations à exécuter, telles que les files d'attente des opérations supplémentaires ou un travail de doingbackground. Par exemple, le code suivant correctement handlesoverlapped et ne se superposent pas la fin d'une opération de lecture. Il doesnothing plus d'attendre que l'e/s en attente terminer :
   if (!ReadFile(hFile,                 pDataBuf,                 dwSizeOfBuffer,                 &NumberOfBytesRead,                 &osReadOperation )   {      if (GetLastError() != ERROR_IO_PENDING)      {         // Some other error occurred while reading the file.         ErrorReadingFile();         ExitProcess(0);      }      else         // Operation has been queued and         // will complete in the future.         fOverlapped = TRUE;   }   else      // Operation has completed immediately.      fOverlapped = FALSE;   if (fOverlapped)   {      // Wait for the operation to complete before continuing.      // You could do some background work if you wanted to.      if (GetOverlappedResult( hFile,                               &osReadOperation,                               &NumberOfBytesTransferred,                               TRUE))         ReadHasCompleted(NumberOfBytesTransferred);      else         // Operation has completed, but it failed.         ErrorReadingFile();   }   else      ReadHasCompleted(NumberOfBytesRead);				
Notez que & NumberOfBytesRead passé à ReadFile est différente de & NumberOfBytesTransferred passé dans GetOverlappedResult. Si un operationhas est devenu asynchrone, GetOverlappedResult est ensuite utilisée pour determinethe le nombre réel d'octets transférés dans l'opération après son hascompleted. Le & NumberOfBytesRead passé à ReadFile n'a aucune signification.

Si, en revanche, une opération est effectuée immédiatement, puis & NumberOfBytesRead transmis à ReadFile est valide pour le nombre d'octets lus. Dans ce cas, ignorer la structure OVERLAPPED passée à ReadFile ; ne l'utilisez pas avec GetOverlappedResult ou WaitForSingleObject.

Un autre inconvénient avec une opération asynchrone est que vous ne devez pas utiliser une structure OVERLAPPED jusqu'à la fin de l'opération en attente. Dans otherwords, si vous avez trois opérations d'e/s en attente, vous devez utiliser trois structures OVERLAPPED. Si vous réutilisez une structure OVERLAPPED, vous recevez des résultats imprévisibles dans les opérations d'e/s, et vous pouvez rencontrer une corruption des données. En outre, avant de pouvoir utiliser une structure OVERLAPPED pour la première fois, ou avant de la réutiliser après une opération antérieure, vous devez correctement l'initialiser pour qu'aucune donnée restante ait une incidence sur la nouvelle opération.

Le même type de restriction s'applique à la mémoire tampon utilisée dans anoperation. Un tampon de données ne doit pas être lue ou écrit de jusqu'à la fin de l'opération d'e/s d'itscorresponding ; lecture ou l'écriture de la buffermay provoquer des erreurs et des données endommagées.

Asynchrone d'e/s semble être toujours synchrone

Si vous avez suivi les instructions fournies plus haut dans cet article, cependant, toutes les opérations d'e/s terminent toujours généralement synchrone dans l'ordre émis et aucune des opérations ReadFile renvoie la valeur FALSE avec GetLastError() renvoie ERROR_IO_PENDING, cela signifie que vous n'avez aucun le temps de travail en arrière-plan. Pourquoi cela se produit-il ?

Il existe un certain nombre de raisons, pourquoi les opérations d'e/s terminer synchronouslyeven si vous avez codé pour une opération asynchrone :

Compression

Une obstruction à l'opération asynchrone est la compression NTFS. Le pilote de système de fichiers n'ont pas accès les fichiers compressés de façon asynchrone ; à la place alloperations sont uniquement effectuées synchrone. Cela ne s'applique pas aux fichiers qui arecompressed avec les utilitaires similaires à compresser ou PKZIP.

Cryptage NTFS

Similaire à la Compression, cryptage de fichiers entraîne le pilote système convertir les e/s asynchrone à synchrone. Si les fichiers décryptés, les demandes d'e/s est asynchrones.

Extension d'un fichier

Une autre raison que les opérations d'e/s sont effectuées de façon synchrone est les opérations eux-mêmes. Sous Windows NT, toute écriture opération dans un fichier qui étend sa longueur sera synchrone.

Remarque: les Applications peuvent rendre l'opération d'écriture mentionné précédemment asynchrones en changeant la longueur de données valides du fichier à l'aide de la fonction SetFileValidData, puis d'émettre un fichier d'écriture.

À l'aide de SetFileValidData (qui est disponible sur Windows XP et versions ultérieures), les applications peuvent étendre efficacement les fichiers sans entraîner une baisse des performances pour le remplissage par des zéros les.

Étant donné que le système de fichiers NTFS n'est pas zéro-remplissage de données jusqu'à la longueur de données valides (VDL) qui est définie par SetFileValidData, cette fonction a des conséquences sur la sécurité où le fichier peut être affecté clusters qui ont été précédemment occupés par d'autres fichiers. Par conséquent, SetFileValidData requiert que l'appelant a la nouvelle SeManageVolumePrivilege activé (par défaut, il est attribué uniquement aux administrateurs). Microsoft recommande que les éditeurs de logiciels avec soin les implications de l'utilisation de cette fonction.

Mémoire cache

La plupart des pilotes d'e/s (disque, communications, etc.) ont un code cas spécial dans lequel, si une demande d'e/s peut être terminée "immédiatement", l'opération sera terminée et que la fonction ReadFile ou WriteFile renvoie la valeur TRUE. Dans tous les cas, ces types d'opérations semblent être synchrone. Pour un diskdevice, en règle générale, une demande d'e/s peut être effectuée « immédiatement » lorsque les données sont mises en cache dans la mémoire.

Données ne sont pas dans le Cache

Le jeu de cache peut travailler contre vous, toutefois, si les données ne se trouvent pas dans le cache. Le cache de Windows NT est implémenté en interne à l'aide des mappages de fichiers. Le Gestionnaire de mémoire dans Windows NT ne fournit pas un mécanisme asynchrone pagefault pour gérer les mappages de fichier utilisés par le Gestionnaire de cache. Le Gestionnaire de cache peut, toutefois, vérifier si la page demandée est en mémoire, donc si vous émettez une lecture asynchrone de mise en cache, et que les pages ne sont pas dans la mémoire, le pilote de système de fichiers suppose que vous ne souhaitez pas que votre thread bloqué et que la demande sera gérée par un groupe limité de threads de travail. Contrôle est renvoyé à votre programme après l'appel de ReadFile avec la lecture toujours en attente.

Cela fonctionne bien pour un petit nombre de requêtes, mais étant donné que le pool de threads est limité (actuellement trois sur un système 16 Mo), il seront toujours être uniquement quelques demandes en file d'attente pour le pilote de disque à un moment donné. Si vous exécutez un grand nombre d'opérations d'e/s pour les données qui ne se trouve pas dans le cache, le Gestionnaire de cache et le Gestionnaire de mémoire deviennent saturés et vos demandes sont synchrones.

Le comportement du Gestionnaire de cache peut également être influencé basée sur l'accès whetheryou un fichier dans l'ordre ou de façon aléatoire. Avantages du cache sont seenmost lors de l'accès aux fichiers de manière séquentielle. Le flagin FILE_FLAG_SEQUENTIAL_SCAN l'appel de CreateFile optimisera le cache pour ce type d'accès. Toutefois, si vous accéder aux fichiers de manière aléatoire, utilisez theFILE_FLAG_RANDOM_ACCESS indicateur dans le CreateFile pour indiquer à le tooptimize de gestionnaire de cache son comportement pour un accès aléatoire.

N'utilisez pas le Cache

L'indicateur FILE_FLAG_NO_BUFFERING a le plus d'effets sur le comportement du système de thefile pour une opération asynchrone. Il s'agit de la meilleure méthode pour garantir que requêtes sont réellement asynchrones. Il indique le fichier quant pas utiliser n'importe quel mécanisme de cache du tout.

Avertissement: il existe certaines restrictions à l'utilisation de cet indicateur à faire avec l'alignement de mémoire tampon de données et la taille de secteur du périphérique. Consultez la référence de fonction dans la documentation de la fonction CreateFile pour plus d'informations sur l'utilisation de cet indicateur correctement.

Résultats des tests dans la réalité

Voici certains résultats de tests à partir de l'exemple de code. L'amplitude de thenumbers n'est pas important ici et varie d'un ordinateur à l'autre, mais la relation entre les numéros par rapport à l'autre effet général d'éclaire des indicateurs sur les performances.

Vous devriez voir des résultats semblables aux suivants :
  • Test 1
    Asynchronous, unbuffered I/O:  asynchio /f*.dat /n   Operations completed out of the order in which they were requested.   500 requests queued in 0.224264 seconds.   500 requests completed in 4.982481 seconds.						
    Ce test montre que le programme mentionné précédemment émis rapidement de 500 demandes d'e/s et eu beaucoup de temps à effectuer d'autres tâches ou émettre des demandes de plus.
  • Test 2
    Synchronous, unbuffered I/O: asynchio /f*.dat /s /n   Operations completed in the order issued.   500 requests queued and completed in 4.495806 seconds.						
    Ce test démontre que ce programme a passé à 4.495880 secondes appel de ReadFile pour terminer ses opérations, alors que le test 1 a passé que 0.224264 secondes pour émettre les requêtes mêmes. Dans test 2, n'a aucun temps « extra » du programme à effectuer tout travail d'arrière-plan.
  • Test 3
    Asynchronous, buffered I/O: asynchio /f*.dat   Operations completed in the order issued.   500 requests issued and completed in 0.251670 seconds.						
    Ce test illustre la nature synchrone du cache. Toutes les lectures ont été délivrés et terminées en 0.251670 secondes. En d'autres termes, les demandes asynchrones a été effectuées de façon synchrone. Ce test illustre également les hautes performances du Gestionnaire de cache lorsque les données sont dans le cache.
  • Test 4
    Synchronous, buffered I/O: asynchio /f*.dat /s   Operations completed in the order issued.   500 requests and completed in 0.217011 seconds.						
    Ce test illustre les mêmes résultats que dans le test 3. Notez que les lectures synchrones à partir du cache terminer un peu plus rapidement que les lectures asynchrones à partir du cache. Ce test illustre également les hautes performances du Gestionnaire de cache lorsque les données sont dans le cache.

CONCLUSION

Vous pouvez décider quelle méthode est préférable car tout repose sur le type, la taille et le nombre d'opérations que votre programme effectue.

L'accès au fichier par défaut sans spécifier tous les indicateurs spéciaux pour CreateFileis une opération synchrone et mis en cache.

Remarque: vous obtenez un comportement asynchrone automatique dans ce mode, étant donné que le pilote de système de fichiers ne prédictive asynchrone lecture anticipée et asynchrone écriture différée des données modifiées. Bien que cela ne transforme pas d'e/s l'application asynchrones, il arrive idéal pour la grande majorité des applications simples.

Si, en revanche, votre application n'est pas simple, vous devrez dosome le profilage et l'analyse des performances pour déterminer la meilleure méthode, similaire aux tests illustrés plus haut dans cet article. Profilage du temps passé dans les theReadFile ou WriteFile fonction et en comparant cette fois comment le temps takesfor des opérations d'e/s réelles pour terminer est extrêmement utile. Si la majorityof que le temps passé en émettant effectivement de l'e/s, puis votre e/s est beingcompleted de façon synchrone. Toutefois, si le temps passé émettrice d'e/s requêtes isrelatively petit par rapport à la durée de la tocomplete d'opérations d'e/s, puis vos opérations sont en cours traitées en mode asynchrone. Le samplecode mentionné plus haut dans cet article utilise la fonction de QueryPerformanceCounter pour effectuer le profilage d'owninternal.

Analyse des performances peut aider à déterminer la pertinence de votre isusing programme le disque et le cache. Le suivi des compteurs de performance pour l'objet de Cache indique les performances du Gestionnaire de cache. Suivi des compteurs de performance pour le disque physique ou logique Diskobjects indique les performances des systèmes de disque.

Il existe plusieurs utilitaires qui sont utiles pour l'analyse des performances ; Analyseur de performances et de la commande DiskPerf sont particulièrement utiles. Pour le système collecter des données sur les performances des systèmes de disque, vous devez tout d'abord émettre la commande -y diskperf. Une fois que vous exécutez la commande, vous devez redémarrer le système pour démarrer la collecte de données.
Références
Reportez-vous à la documentation de MSDN sur E/s synchrone et asynchrone Pour plus d'informations.

Kbdss de Asynczip ReadFile ReadFileEx WriteFile kbfile de WriteFileEx GetOverlappedResult asynchrone synchrone qui se chevauchent ne se superposent pas

Avertissement : Cet article a été traduit automatiquement.

Vlastnosti

ID článku: 156932 - Poslední kontrola: 10/04/2015 07:57:00 - Revize: 10.0

Microsoft Win32 Application Programming Interface

  • kbapi kbfileio kbinfo kbkernbase kbmt KB156932 KbMtfr
Váš názor

Asynchronous Disk I/O Appears as Synchronous on Windows NT, Windows 2000, and Windows XP

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 156932 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q156932
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

Summary

File I/O on Microsoft Windows NT, Windows 2000, and Windows XP can be synchronous or asynchronous. The default behavior for I/O is synchronous: an I/O function is called and returns when the I/O is complete. Asynchronous I/O, on the other hand, allows an I/O function to return execution back to the caller immediately, but the I/O is not assumed to be complete until some future time. The operating system notifies the caller when the I/O is complete. Alternatively, the caller can determine the status of the outstanding I/O operation by using services of the operating system.

The advantage of asynchronous I/O is that the caller has time to do other work or issue more requests while the I/O operation is being completed. The term Overlapped I/O is frequently used for Asynchronous I/O and Non-overlapped I/O for Synchronous I/O. This article uses the terms Asynchronous and Synchronous for I/O operations under Windows NT. This article assumes the reader has certain familiarity with the File I/O functions such as CreateFile, ReadFile, WriteFile.

Frequently, asynchronous I/O operations behave just as synchronous I/O. Certain conditions that this article discusses in the later sections make the I/O operations complete synchronously. The caller has no time for background work because the I/O functions do not return until the I/O is complete.

Several functions are related to synchronous and asynchronous I/O. This article uses ReadFile and WriteFile as examples; good alternatives would be ReadFileEx and WriteFileEx. Although this article discusses only disk I/O specifically, many of the principles can be applied to other types of I/O, such as serial I/O or network I/O.

NOTE: Because Windows 95 does not support asynchronous I/O on disk devices (although it does on other types of I/O devices), its behavior is not covered in this article.

More information

Set Up Asynchronous I/O

The FILE_FLAG_OVERLAPPED flag must be specified in CreateFile when the file is opened. This flag allows I/O operations on the file to be performed asynchronously. Here is an example:
   HANDLE hFile;

   hFile = CreateFile(szFileName,
                      GENERIC_READ,
                      0,
                      NULL,
                      OPEN_EXISTING,
                      FILE_FLAG_NORMAL | FILE_FLAG_OVERLAPPED,
                      NULL);

   if (hFile == INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE)
      ErrorOpeningFile();
				
Be careful when coding for asynchronous I/O because the system reserves the right to make an operation synchronous if it needs to. Therefore, it is best if you write the program to correctly handle an I/O operation that may be completed either synchronously or asynchronously. The sample code demonstrates this consideration.

There are many things a program can do while waiting for asynchronous operations to complete, such as queuing additional operations, or doing background work. For example, the following code properly handles overlapped and non-overlapped completion of a read operation. It does nothing more than wait for the outstanding I/O to complete:
   if (!ReadFile(hFile,
                 pDataBuf,
                 dwSizeOfBuffer,
                 &NumberOfBytesRead,
                 &osReadOperation )
   {
      if (GetLastError() != ERROR_IO_PENDING)
      {
         // Some other error occurred while reading the file.
         ErrorReadingFile();
         ExitProcess(0);
      }
      else
         // Operation has been queued and
         // will complete in the future.
         fOverlapped = TRUE;
   }
   else
      // Operation has completed immediately.
      fOverlapped = FALSE;

   if (fOverlapped)
   {
      // Wait for the operation to complete before continuing.
      // You could do some background work if you wanted to.
      if (GetOverlappedResult( hFile,
                               &osReadOperation,
                               &NumberOfBytesTransferred,
                               TRUE))
         ReadHasCompleted(NumberOfBytesTransferred);
      else
         // Operation has completed, but it failed.
         ErrorReadingFile();
   }
   else
      ReadHasCompleted(NumberOfBytesRead);
				
Note that &NumberOfBytesRead passed into ReadFile is different from &NumberOfBytesTransferred passed into GetOverlappedResult. If an operation has been made asynchronous, then GetOverlappedResult is used to determine the actual number of bytes transferred in the operation after it has completed. The &NumberOfBytesRead passed into ReadFile is meaningless.

If, on the other hand, an operation is completed immediately, then &NumberOfBytesRead passed into ReadFile is valid for the number of bytes read. In this case, ignore the OVERLAPPED structure passed into ReadFile; do not use it with GetOverlappedResult or WaitForSingleObject.

Another caveat with asynchronous operation is that you must not use an OVERLAPPED structure until its pending operation has completed. In other words, if you have three outstanding I/O operations, you must use three OVERLAPPED structures. If you reuse an OVERLAPPED structure, you will receive unpredictable results in the I/O operations and you may experience data corruption. Additionally, before you can use an OVERLAPPED structure for the first time, or before you reuse it after an earlier operation has completed, you must correctly initialize it so no left-over data affects the new operation.

The same type of restriction applies to the data buffer used in an operation. A data buffer must not be read or written until its corresponding I/O operation has completed; reading or writing the buffer may cause errors and corrupted data.

Asynchronous I/O Still Appears to be Synchronous

If you followed the instructions earlier in this article, however, all your I/O operations still typically complete synchronously in the order issued, and none of the ReadFile operations returns FALSE with GetLastError() returning ERROR_IO_PENDING, this means you have no time for any background work. Why does this occur?

There are a number of reasons why I/O operations complete synchronously even if you have coded for asynchronous operation:

Compression

One obstruction to asynchronous operation is NTFS compression. The file system driver will not access compressed files asynchronously; instead all operations are just made synchronous. This does not apply to files that are compressed with utilities similar to COMPRESS or PKZIP.

NTFS Encryption

Similar to Compression, file encryption causes the system driver to convert asynchronous I/O to synchronous. If the files are decrypted, the I/O requests will be asynchronous.

Extending a File

Another reason that I/O operations are completed synchronously is the operations themselves. On Windows NT, any write operation to a file that extends its length will be synchronous.

NOTE: Applications can make the previously mentioned write operation asynchronous by changing the Valid Data Length of the file by using the SetFileValidData function, and then issuing a WriteFile.

Using SetFileValidData (which is available on Windows XP and later versions), applications can efficiently extend files without incurring a performance penalty for zero-filling them.

Because the NTFS file system does not zero-fill the data up to the valid data length (VDL) that is defined by SetFileValidData, this function has security implications where the file may be assigned clusters that were previously occupied by other files. Therefore, SetFileValidData requires that the caller have the new SeManageVolumePrivilege enabled (by default, this is assigned only to administrators). Microsoft recommends that ISVs carefully consider the implications of using this function.

Cache

Most I/O drivers (disk, communications, and others) have special case code where, if an I/O request can be completed "immediately," the operation will be completed and the ReadFile or WriteFile function will return TRUE. In all ways, these types of operations appear to be synchronous. For a disk device, typically, an I/O request can be completed "immediately" when the data is cached in memory.

Data Is not in Cache

The cache scheme can work against you, however, if the data is not in the cache. The Windows NT cache is implemented internally using file mappings. The memory manager in Windows NT does not provide an asynchronous page fault mechanism to manage the file mappings used by the cache manager. The cache manager can, however, verify whether the requested page is in memory, so if you issue an asynchronous cached read, and the pages are not in memory, the file system driver assumes that you do not want your thread blocked and the request will be handled by a limited pool of worker threads. Control is returned to your program after your ReadFile call with the read still pending.

This works fine for a small number of requests, but because the pool of worker threads is limited (currently three on a 16MB system), there will still be only a few requests queued to the disk driver at a particular time. If you issue a lot of I/O operations for data that is not in the cache, the cache manager and memory manager become saturated and your requests are made synchronous.

The behavior of the cache manager can also be influenced based on whether you access a file sequentially or randomly. Benefits of the cache are seen most when accessing files sequentially. The FILE_FLAG_SEQUENTIAL_SCAN flag in the CreateFile call will optimize the cache for this type of access. However, if you access files in a random fashion, use the FILE_FLAG_RANDOM_ACCESS flag in CreateFile to instruct the cache manager to optimize its behavior for random access.

Do not Use the Cache

The FILE_FLAG_NO_BUFFERING flag has the most effect on the behavior of the file system for asynchronous operation. This is the best way to guarantee that I/O requests are actually asynchronous. It instructs the file system to not use any cache mechanism at all.

WARNING: There are some restrictions to using this flag that have to do with the data buffer alignment and the device's sector size. See the function reference in the documentation for the CreateFile function for more information about using this flag properly.

Real World Test Results

Following are some test results from the sample code. The magnitude of the numbers is not important here and varies from computer to computer, but the relationship of the numbers compared to each other illuminates the general affect of the flags on performance.

You can expect to see results similar to the following:
  • Test 1
    Asynchronous, unbuffered I/O:  asynchio /f*.dat /n
    
       Operations completed out of the order in which they were requested.
       500 requests queued in 0.224264 seconds.
       500 requests completed in 4.982481 seconds.
    						
    This test demonstrates that the previously mentioned program issued 500 I/O requests quickly and had a lot of time to do other work or issue more requests.
  • Test 2
    Synchronous, unbuffered I/O: asynchio /f*.dat /s /n
    
       Operations completed in the order issued.
       500 requests queued and completed in 4.495806 seconds.
    						
    This test demonstrates that this program spent 4.495880 seconds calling ReadFile to complete its operations, whereas the test 1 spent only 0.224264 seconds to issue the same requests. In test 2, there was no "extra" time for the program to do any background work.
  • Test 3
    Asynchronous, buffered I/O: asynchio /f*.dat
    
       Operations completed in the order issued.
       500 requests issued and completed in 0.251670 seconds.
    						
    This test demonstrates the synchronous nature of the cache. All reads were issued and completed in 0.251670 seconds. In other words, asynchronous requests were completed synchronously. This test also demonstrates the high performance of the cache manager when data is in the cache.
  • Test 4
    Synchronous, buffered I/O: asynchio /f*.dat /s
    
       Operations completed in the order issued.
       500 requests and completed in 0.217011 seconds.
    						
    This test demonstrates the same results as in test 3. Note that synchronous reads from the cache complete a little faster than asynchronous reads from the cache. This test also demonstrates the high performance of the cache manager when data is in the cache.

CONCLUSION

You can decide which method is best because it all depends on the type, size, and number of operations that your program performs.

The default file access without specifying any special flags to CreateFile is a synchronous and cached operation.

NOTE: You do get some automatic asynchronous behavior in this mode because the file system driver does predictive asynchronous read-ahead and asynchronous lazy writing of modified data. Although this does not make the application[ASCII 146]s I/O asynchronous, it is the ideal case for the vast majority of simple applications.

If, on the other hand, your application is not simple, you may have to do some profiling and performance monitoring to determine the best method, similar to the tests illustrated earlier in this article. Profiling the time spent in the ReadFile or WriteFile function and then comparing this time to how long it takes for actual I/O operations to complete is extremely useful. If the majority of the time is spent in actually issuing the I/O, then your I/O is being completed synchronously. However, if the time spent issuing I/O requests is relatively small compared to the time it takes for the I/O operations to complete, then your operations are being treated asynchronously. The sample code mentioned earlier in this article uses the QueryPerformanceCounter function to do its own internal profiling.

Performance monitoring can help determine how efficiently your program is using the disk and the cache. Tracking any of the performance counters for the Cache object will indicate the performance of the cache manager. Tracking the performance counters for the Physical Disk or Logical Disk objects will indicate the performance of the disk systems.

There are several utilities that are helpful in performance monitoring; PerfMon and DiskPerf are especially useful. For the system to collect data on the performance of the disk systems, you must first issue the diskperf -y command. After you issue the command, you must restart the system to start the data collection.

References

For more information about these utilities and performance monitoring, see the volume "Optimizing Windows NT" in the Windows NT Resource Kit documentation.
SQL Server requires systems to support ‘ guaranteed delivery to stable media ’ as outlined under the Microsoft SQL Server Always-On Storage Solution Review program. Fo For more information about the input and output requirements for the SQL Server database engine, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
967576 Microsoft SQL Server Database Engine Input/Output Requirements

Properties

Article ID: 156932 - Last Review: September 18, 2012 - Revision: 6.0
Applies to
  • Microsoft Win32 Application Programming Interface
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Developer
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Enterprise
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Express
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Standard
Keywords: 
kbapi kbfileio kbinfo kbkernbase KB156932

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com