您目前已離線,請等候您的網際網路重新連線

如何 NTFS 會保留空間其主檔案表格 (MFT)

Windows XP 支援已結束

Microsoft 於 2014 年 4 月 8 日結束對 Windows XP 的支援。此變更已影響您的軟體更新和安全性選項。 瞭解這對您的意義為何且如何持續受保護。

Windows Server 2003 的支援已於 2015 年 7 月 14 日結束

Microsoft 已於 2015 年 7 月 14 日結束對 Windows Server 2003 的支援。此變更已影響您的軟體更新和安全性選項。 瞭解這對您的意義為何且如何持續受保護。

請注意--重要:本文是以 Microsoft 機器翻譯軟體翻譯而成,且可能由 Microsoft Community 利用 Community Translation Framework技術或人工進行事後編修。翻譯過程並無專業譯者參與。Microsoft 同時提供使用者人為翻譯、機器翻譯及社群編修後的機器翻譯三種版本的文章,讓使用者可以依其使用語言使用知識庫中的所有文章。但是,所有翻譯文章都可能不盡完美,內容都可能出現詞彙、語意或文法上的錯誤。就翻譯內容之不正確或錯誤,或客戶因使用翻譯內容所產生的任何損害,微軟不負擔任何責任。Microsoft將依合理的商業努力不斷地更新機器翻譯軟體和工具,以期能為使用者提供更好的服務。

按一下這裡查看此文章的英文版本:174619
結論
NTFS 檔案系統包含的核心,稱為 「 主檔案表格 (MFT) 的檔案。每個檔案在 NTFS 磁碟區,包括 MFT 本身上 MFT 中沒有至少一個項目。

因為重組 NTFS 磁碟區的公用程式無法移動 MFT 項目,而且因為過度分散的 MFT 對效能造成影響,NTFS 保留空間以供 MFT 保留 MFT 盡可能相鄰努力可能的成長。

在 Windows XP 中,並在 Windows Server 2003 中變更

在 Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003 中,磁碟重組公用程式就會重組 MFT。

MFT 重組作業將 MFT 檔案結合成 1,並防止它被儲存在多個不是在磁碟上循序的地方。在這一類,MFT 檔案是作業的更循序的。不過,它是完全由 MFT 檔案的磁碟重組作業之前的大小。

MFT 可能太大,如果磁碟區用於有大量已刪除的檔案。已將檔案刪除 MFT 中的造成內部漏洞。這些漏洞是未安裝的檔案的重要區域。就無法回收此空間。這是即時的 NTFS 磁碟區上至少則為 true。
其他相關資訊
NTFS 會使用 MFT 項目來定義它們所對應的檔案。所有檔案,包括其大小、 時間和日期戳記、 權限,以及資料內容的相關資訊都是任一個儲存在 MFT 項目或外部 MFT 的空間,但所描述的 MFT 項目。

(目錄項目,外部 MFT,也包含一些多餘的資訊與檔案相關。但在 NTFS 上的所有結構的完整討論已超出本文的範圍)。

當檔案加入到 NTFS 磁碟區時,MFT 中加入更多的項目,所以 MFT 增加的大小。當從 NTFS 磁碟區刪除檔案時,其 MFT 項目標示為可用,您可能會被重複使用,但 MFT 才會縮小。因此,這些項目所使用的空間不會回收從磁碟中。

MFT NTFS 和可能的影響,對效能的重要性,因為如果這個檔案變得非常分散,NTFS 會對於要保留這個檔案的連續會特別花時間。直到,除非磁碟區的其餘部分會完全用完,NTFS 會保留為獨佔式使用的 MFT 的磁碟區的 12.5%。因此,只有從這個 MFT 區域直到所有其他已配置的空間第一次,尚未有配置空間,以讓檔案和目錄。

注意您可以變更 NtfsMFTZoneReservation 登錄機碼,以增加 Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 4] 中的磁碟區。

如需有關 MFT 的詳細資訊,請參閱下列 Microsoft Technet 網站的 「 磁碟重組程序中的索引鍵項目 」 一節: 根據平均檔案大小及其他變數,保留的 MFT 區或磁碟上未保留的空間可能用之前其他如磁碟容量已滿。

首先,雖然大量相對較小的檔案的磁碟區先耗盡 MFT 區域空間時,少數的幾個較大的檔案的磁碟區將耗盡未保留的空間。在任一情況,MFT 分散會啟動一個區域或其他已滿時生效。如果未保留的空間已滿,使用者檔案和目錄的空間會開始從競爭配置為 MFT 「 MFT 區域配置。如果 「 MFT 區域已滿,就會從磁碟中,一次的相互相競爭的其他檔案的其餘部分配置空間,以讓新的 MFT 項目。

可以增加保留給它的主檔案表格的 NTFS 磁碟區的百分比的 Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 4 已採用新的登錄參數。NtfsMftZoneReservation 是 REG_DWORD 值,這會在 1 到 4,1 對應到最小 MFT 區域的大小,以及 4 對應至最大值之間的值。如果未指定參數,或提供無效的值,NTFS 會使用這個參數的預設值為 1。對應到每個設定的確切比例是未記載的因為它們不標準化,並可能在未來的版本中變更。若要知道哪些設定適合您的環境,可能需要試驗不同的值。

若要判斷目前的 Windows NT 電腦上 MFT 的大小,請鍵入dir /a $mft命令在 NTFS 磁碟區上。

若要判斷目前在 Microsoft Windows 2000 的電腦上 MFT 的大小,用來分析的 NTFS 磁碟機的磁碟重組工具],然後按一下 [檢視報告,這會顯示磁碟機的統計資料,包括目前 MFT 的大小和片段數目的內容。

磁碟重組工具] 的 Windows 2000 版本會顯示 「 綠色 」 的所謂 「 系統檔案 」,這只是 NTFS 格式磁碟區上 MFT、 pagefile.sys (如果這個磁碟區存在的話),以及組合稱為 「 MFT 區域 」 或保留的空間為 「 MFT 擴充 」。磁碟重組報告只會顯示分頁檔及 MFT ; 相關資訊它並不提及 「 MFT 區域,因為它不會影響任何方式磁碟使用率或容量中。

不會從可用於使用者資料檔案的可用磁碟機空間減去「MFT 區域」,這只是最後使用的空間。當 MFT 需要增加的大小時,例如,您建立新的檔案和目錄,它來自 「 MFT 區域第一次,因此降低 MFT 分散以及 MFT 效能最佳化。

預設 MFT 區是計算,並保留 Ntfs.sys 掛上磁碟區,並根據磁碟區的大小。您可以利用下面說明的登錄項目來增加 「 MFT 區域,但您不能將預設 MFT 區小於計算方式為 Ntfs.sys。增加 「 MFT 區域不會降低使用者可以使用資料檔的任何方式磁碟空間。

注意Dir命令所傳回的結果可能不是目前的。Dir命令所報告的大小可能會反映在系統啟動之後,依序關閉時間反應 MFT 的大小的快取的資料。

重要這個章節、 方法或工作包含修改登錄的步驟。不過,如果您不當修改登錄,可能會發生嚴重的問題。因此,請務必小心執行這些步驟。為加強保護,請在修改前備份登錄。然後,您可以在發生問題時還原登錄。如需有關如何備份和還原登錄的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:
322756 如何備份及還原 Windows 中的登錄


若要新增此值,請執行下列步驟:
  1. 執行登錄編輯器 (Regedt32.exe),然後移至 followingsubkey:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\FileSystem
  2. 從 [編輯] 功能表中,按一下 [新增值]。
  3. 在對話方塊中輸入下列資訊:
    數值名稱: NtfsMftZoneReservation
    資料型別: REG_DWORD
    資料: (有效範圍是 1-4)
  4. 結束 「登錄編輯器 」並重新啟動您的電腦。
注意這是執行階段參數,而且不會影響磁碟區的實際格式。相反地,它會影響 NTFS 會在指定的系統上的所有磁碟區上的空間分配的方式。因此,若要完全有效,參數必須是作用中從磁碟區格式化時間,並在整個磁碟區的週期。如果向下調整或移除登錄參數,會相應地降低 「 MFT 區域,但這不會對已配置及使用的 MFT 空間造成任何影響。
mftzone

警告:本文為自動翻譯

內容

文章識別碼:174619 - 最後檢閱時間:01/04/2015 02:47:00 - 修訂: 7.0

Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition, Microsoft Windows 2000 Server, Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server, Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition, Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition, Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (家用版), Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)

  • kbhotfixserver kbqfe kbenv kbinfo kbmt KB174619 KbMtzh
意見反應
ute = "76500"; var Ctrl = ""; document.write("

How NTFS reserves space for its Master File Table (MFT)

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 174619 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q174619
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

The NTFS file system contains at its core, a file called the master file table (MFT). There is at least one entry in the MFT for every file on an NTFS volume, including the MFT itself.

Because utilities that defragment NTFS volumes cannot move MFT entries, and because excessive fragmentation of the MFT can impact performance, NTFS reserves space for the MFT in an effort to keep the MFT as contiguous as possible as it grows.

Change in Windows XP and in Windows Server 2003

In Windows XP and in Windows Server 2003, the defrag utility defrags the MFT.

A defrag operation on the MFT combines an MFT file into 1 and prevents it from being stored in multiple places that are not sequential on disk. In this class of operation, the MFT file is more sequential. However, it is exactly the size that the MFT file was before the defrag operation.

An MFT can be too big if a volume used to have lots of files that were deleted. The files that were deleted cause internal holes in the MFT. These holes are significant regions that are unused by files. It is impossible to reclaim this space. This is at least true on a live NTFS volume.

MORE INFORMATION

NTFS uses MFT entries to define the files to which they correspond. All information about a file, including its size, time and date stamps, permissions, and data content is either stored in MFT entries or in space external to the MFT but described by the MFT entries.

(Directory entries, external to the MFT, also contain some redundant information regarding files. But a full discussion of all the structures on NTFS is beyond the scope of this article.)

As files are added to an NTFS volume, more entries are added to the MFT and so the MFT increases in size. When files are deleted from an NTFS volume, their MFT entries are marked as free and may be reused, but the MFT does not shrink. Thus, space used by these entries is not reclaimed from the disk.

Because of the importance of the MFT to NTFS and the possible impact on performance if this file becomes highly fragmented, NTFS makes a special effort to keep this file contiguous. NTFS reserves 12.5 percent of the volume for exclusive use of the MFT until and unless the remainder of the volume is completely used up. Thus, space for files and directories is not allocated from this MFT zone until all other space is allocated first.

Note You can change the NtfsMFTZoneReservation registry key to increase the volume in Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 4.

For more information about the MFT, please see the "Key elements in the disk defragmentation process" section of the following Microsoft Technet Web site:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb742585.aspx
Depending on the average file size and other variables, either the reserved MFT zone or the unreserved space on the disk may be used up before the other as the disk fills to capacity.

Volumes with a small number of relatively large files exhaust the unreserved space first, while volumes with a large number of relatively small files exhaust the MFT zone space first. In either case, fragmentation of the MFT starts to take place when one region or the other becomes full. If the unreserved space becomes full, space for user files and directories starts to be allocated from the MFT zone competing with the MFT for allocation. If the MFT zone becomes full, space for new MFT entries is allocated from the remainder of the disk, again competing with other files.

A new registry parameter was introduced in Service Pack 4 for Windows NT 4.0 that can increase the percentage of a volume that NTFS reserves for its master file table. NtfsMftZoneReservation is a REG_DWORD value that can take on a value between 1 and 4, where 1 corresponds to the minimum MFT zone size and 4 corresponds to the maximum. If the parameter is not specified or an invalid value is supplied, NTFS uses a default value of 1 for this parameter. The exact ratios that correspond to each setting are undocumented because they are not standardized and may change in future releases. In order to know what setting is best for your environment, it may be necessary to experiment with different values.

To determine the current size of the MFT on a Windows NT-based computer, type the dir /a $mft command on an NTFS volume.

To determine the current size of the MFT on a Microsoft Windows 2000-based computer, use Disk Defragmenter to analyze the NTFS drive, and then click View Report This displays the drive statistics, including the current MFT size and number of fragments.

The Windows 2000 version of Disk Defragmenter displays "green" for what is called "system files" and on an NTFS formatted volume this is simply the combination of the MFT, pagefile.sys (if one exists on this volume) and what is called the "MFT Zone" or reserved space for "MFT Expansion". The defragmentation report only displays information about the pagefile and MFT; it does not mention the MFT Zone because it does not effect in any way disk utilization or capacity.

The MFT Zone is not subtracted from available (free) drive space used for user data files, it is only space that is used last. When the MFT needs to increase in size, for example, you created new files and directories, it is taken from the MFT Zone first, thus decreasing MFT fragmentation and optimizing MFT performance.

The default MFT Zone is calculated and reserved by Ntfs.sys when it mounts the volume, and is based on volume size. You can increase the MFT Zone by means of the registry entry documented below, but you cannot make the default MFT Zone smaller than what is calculated by Ntfs.sys. Increasing the MFT Zone does not decrease in any way disk space that can be used by users for data files.

Note The results returned by the dir command may not be current. The size reported by the dir command may reflect cached data that reflects the size of the MFT at the time the system was started following an orderly shutdown.

Important This section, method, or task contains steps that tell you how to modify the registry. However, serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly. Therefore, make sure that you follow these steps carefully. For added protection, back up the registry before you modify it. Then, you can restore the registry if a problem occurs. For more information about how to back up and restore the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
322756 How to back up and restore the registry in Windows


To add this value, perform the following steps:
  1. Run Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe), and go to the following subkey:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\FileSystem
  2. From the Edit menu, click Add Value.
  3. Type the following information in the dialog box:
    Value Name: NtfsMftZoneReservation
    Data Type : REG_DWORD
    Data : (valid range is 1-4)
  4. Quit Registry Editor and restart your computer.
Note This is a run-time parameter and does not affect the actual format of a volume. Rather, it affects the way NTFS allocates space on all volumes on a given system. Therefore, to be completely effective, the parameter must be in effect from the time that a volume is formatted and throughout the life of the volume. If the registry parameter is adjusted downward or removed, the MFT zone will be reduced accordingly, but this will not have any affect on MFT space already allocated and used.

Properties

Article ID: 174619 - Last Review: October 16, 2008 - Revision: 6.1
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
Keywords: 
kbhotfixserver kbqfe kbenv kbinfo KB174619

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com