你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

你的浏览器不受支持

你需要更新你的浏览器才能使用该网站。

更新到 Internet Explorer 的最新版本

有关如何在运行另一版本的 Office 的计算机上使用 Office 2010 套件和程序的信息

重要说明:本文是由 Microsoft 机器翻译软件进行的翻译并可能由 Microsoft 社区通过社区翻译机构(CTF)技术进行后期编辑,或可能是由人工进行的翻译。Microsoft 同时向您提供机器翻译、人工翻译及社区后期编辑的文章,以便对我们知识库中的所有文章以多种语言提供访问。翻译的文章可能存在词汇、句法和/或语法方面的错误。Microsoft 对由于内容的误译或客户对内容的使用所导致的任何不准确、错误或损失不承担责任。

点击这里察看该文章的英文版: 2121447

这篇文章的 Microsoft Office 2013年版本,请参见 2784668.
这篇文章的 2007 Microsoft Office 版本,请参见 928091.
这篇文章的 Microsoft Office 2003年版本,请参见 828956.
这篇文章的 Microsoft Office XP 版本,请参见 290576.
这篇文章的 Microsoft Office 2000年版本,请参见 218861.
简介
本文包含有关运行另一个版本的 Microsoft Office 的计算机上使用 Microsoft Office 2010年套件和程序的信息。本文还提供了有助于防止不同版本的 Office 互相冲突的建议。

更多信息
您可以安装并使用一台计算机上的 Microsoft Office 的多个版本。例如,您可以安装并使用同一台计算机上的 Microsoft Office 2010年和 Microsoft Office 2003年。但是,我们不建议这样。

注意:Microsoft 不支持在启用终端服务的 Microsoft windows 版本上使用 Microsoft Office 的多个版本。如果您想要运行多个版本的 Office,则禁用终端服务。

虚拟化

若要避免在这篇文章中讨论的问题,一个或多个 Office 产品可以使用部署虚拟化的环境。这里列出了这些技术。

Windows 7 和窗口

虚拟 PCWindows 虚拟 PC 可免费下载,对于 Windows 7,并可用于启用的这篇文章的其余部分所述的冲突的情况下在相同的 Windows 7 计算机上安装 Office 的多个版本。有关 Windows Virtual PC 的详细信息,请参见下面的知识库文章:

Windows Virtual PC 的说明: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/958559

远程桌面服务和终端服务

远程桌面服务和终端服务可用于主机的客户端可以连接以提供完整的 Windows 环境的服务器上安装。有关此选项的详细信息,请参阅信息在网页上 http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb897474.aspx.

应用程序虚拟化

Microsoft 应用程序虚拟化 (APP-V) 可以在操作系统的同一实例上运行的应用程序不兼容。集中管理的应用程序将永远不会安装服务,尽量减少冲突,并的流动按需给最终用户。有关此选项的详细信息,请参阅信息 APP-V 在上 http://www.microsoft.com/windows/enterprise/products/mdop/app-v.aspx.


在 Office 2010 资源工具包中提供了这些选项的更详细的摘要 http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff602180.aspx.

安装顺序

注意:此安装顺序也适用于 Microsoft Office 独立产品,例如 Microsoft Visio。

如果您想要安装,并在不实施虚拟化的同一台计算机上使用多个版本的 Office,可以使用下面的顺序。

版本安装顺序
Microsoft Office XP第一个
Microsoft Office 2003第二个
2007 office 套件和程序第三
Microsoft Office 2010 套件和程序 (仅限 32 位版本)第四
您必须首先安装最早版本的 Office。例如,如果您想要使用同一台计算机上的 Office 2003 和 Office 2010 的程序,安装 Office 2003 第一次。由于每个版本的 Office 套件和程序如何管理注册表项、 共享的程序、 文件扩展名和其他设置,则必须使用此顺序。

注意:上面的表介绍了 Office XP,Office 2003,Office 2007 Office 2010 的安装。有旧版本的 Microsoft Office。但是,他们没有讨论以下 Microsoft 不再支持。

重要:如果您删除一个已安装的 Office 版本,您可能需要重新安装其他版本的 Office 中按此顺序为每个版本才能正常工作。

本文的其余部分假定您按以下顺序安装 32 位版本的 Office。

应用更新

请注意,当应用如 Office 更新。MSP 文件,则必须按照上面列出的安装顺序。这是因为有针对性的 Office 产品应用更新时,将修复。将更新应用到旧版本的 Office 时,可能会导致更高版本的 Office 应用程序功能失常。若要解决此问题,必须首先,将更新应用到的最早版本的 Office,然后将更新应用到更高版本的 Office,按时间顺序。如果更新应用到早期版本的 Office,并且更新不会应用到较新版本的 Office,则必须修复更高版本的顺序较新版本的 Office 应用程序才能正常工作。


Office 2010 套件和产品 64 位版本

没有支持的 64 位版本的 Office 2010 套件或程序运行在同一台计算机上所有 32 位版本的 Office。安装程序将检测您计算机上有以前的 32 位版本的 Office 程序,将需要安装 Office 2010 64年位之前被删除。

注意: 此语句将应用于所有部署类型: MSI、 C2R 或应用程序-V。

Office Bin 文件夹位置

设置 Office 2010 套件和程序时,安装程序会使用该 Office 程序文件夹为在 32 位版本的 Windows 的默认文件夹或程序文件 (86) \Microsoft Office 文件夹在 64 位版本的 Windows 的默认文件夹中。但是,Office Bin 文件夹是该 Office\Office14 程序或程序文件 (86) \Microsoft Office\Office14。Office Bin 文件夹是在安装 Office 的可执行文件的文件夹。该位置的用户需要在同一台计算机上使用多个版本的 Office 提供更好的用户体验。Office XP 首先使用此位置。在 Office XP 中,Office Bin 文件夹是程序数值 Office\Office10。您不能更改 Office Bin 文件夹的名称。

Office 快捷工具栏

Office 2010,2007 Office 套件和程序和 Office 2003 不包括 Office 快捷工具栏。但是,如果在同一台计算机上已经安装了 Office XP,则 Office 快捷工具栏将保留。

Office 2010 套件或程序安装 Office XP 时,您可以分别启动 Office 快捷工具栏。

开始菜单快捷方式

在 Office XP 安装开始菜单快捷方式,这些快捷方式的名称是在开始菜单的程序子菜单上的名称相同。Office 2003、 2007 Office 套件和程序和 Office 2010 安装包含版本号为 Office 文件夹中的程序子菜单上的快捷方式。为了避免混淆,我们建议您将版本号添加到每个快捷方式指向 Office XP 产品。例如,重命名的快捷方式,然后再安装 Office 2010 套件和程序指向 Microsoft Access"Microsoft Access 2002"。

有关详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
292584 Office XP 安装程序将覆盖从 Office 早期版本的开始菜单项
如果您手动移动对于 Office XP 开始菜单快捷方式,创建快捷方式重新在开始菜单上的程序子菜单上如果满足下列条件之一为真:
  • 则重新安装该版本的 Office。
  • 修复快捷方式。
注意:您可以自定义 Office 2003 或 Office XP 安装程序安装到其他位置,在开始菜单上的快捷方式。若要执行此操作,使用 Microsoft Office 资源工具包中的自定义安装向导。要找到前 Office 2007 Office 版本 Office 资源工具包,请访问以下 Microsoft 网站 http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/office/default.aspx.

对于 2007 Office 套件和程序和 Office 2010,可以使用 Office 自定义工具指定快捷方式的不同位置。若要访问 Office 自定义工具,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 启动命令提示符。
  2. 将移动到 Office 2010 CD。
  3. 运行以下命令:

    设置 /admin
请注意 Office 自定义工具功能仅适用于非零售版本的 Microsoft Office 2007年和 Office 2010。

有关 Office 自定义工具的详细信息,请访问下面的 Microsoft 网站:

(office.14).aspx 的 http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc179097

Outlook 的多个版本

使用 Microsoft Outlook 的任何早期版本,Microsoft Office Outlook 2010年不能共存。当您安装 Outlook 2010 时,安装程序将删除 Microsoft Office Outlook 2007年、 Microsoft Office Outlook 2003年和 Microsoft Outlook 2002。安装程序将删除这些版本的 Outlook 中,即使您单击以选中删除以前版本对话框中保存这些程序复选框。

Microsoft Office Groove 2007 和 Microsoft SharePoint 工作区 2010


使用 Microsoft Office Groove 2007,Microsoft SharePoint 工作区 2010年不能共存。SharePoint 工作区 2010年安装时,安装程序将删除 Microsoft Office Groove 2007。安装程序将删除 Groove 2007,即使您单击以选中删除以前的版本对话框中的保留这些程序复选框。

Word 的多个版本

如果您有两个版本的 Microsoft Word 在同一台计算机上安装,当您启动 Word 2010 时您会遇到延迟。因为 Word 2010 自动-寄存器本身在计算机上发生此问题。

您可以跳过自动注册。这样,Word 2010 启动的速度。但是,我们不建议这样因为 Word 可能无法正常运行,如果它不能自动注册自身。

重要:此部分、 方法或任务包含告诉您如何更改注册表的步骤。但是,如果错误地更改了注册表,可能会出现严重问题。因此,请确保仔细按照下列步骤操作。为加强保护,备份注册表之前更改它。然后,您可以在出现问题时还原注册表。有关如何备份和还原注册表的详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
322756 如何在 Windows 中备份和还原注册表
绕过 Word 2010 自动注册,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 退出 Word 2010。
  2. 启动注册表编辑器。
    • 在 Windows 7 或 Windows Vista 中,单击开始,在开始搜索框中,键入注册表编辑器,然后按 enter 键。

      如果提示您输入管理员密码或进行确认,键入密码,或单击继续
    • 在 Windows XP 中,单击开始,单击运行,在打开框中,键入regedit ,然后单击确定
  3. 找到并单击以选中下面的注册表子项:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Word\Options
  4. 选择在步骤 3 中指定的子项后,在编辑菜单上,指向新建,然后单击DWORD 值
  5. 键入NoReReg ,,然后按 enter 键。
  6. NoReReg ,用鼠标右键单击,然后单击修改
  7. 数据框中,键入1,然后单击确定
  8. 文件菜单上,单击退出以关闭注册表编辑器。
注意为了阻止在其他版本的 Microsoft Word 中,修复需要创建此注册表项的每个版本。用适当的版本替换路径中的版本号。

在 Microsoft Windows 资源管理器中的 office 文件

当双击 Office 文件在 Windows 资源管理器打开文件时,应用下面的规则。注意:当您双击 Windows 中的最近使用的文档文件夹中的 Office 文件,这些规则也适用。
  • 如果在其中创建该文件的程序版本正在运行的计算机上,在那个版本中打开文件。
  • 对于 Office XP,如果没有创建该文件的程序版本正在运行的计算机上,该文件在最近安装的程序版本中打开。
  • 对于 Microsoft Access 和 Microsoft Word,如果没有创建该文件的程序版本正在运行的计算机上,打开文件,最近启动的程序版本中。
  • 要附带的特定版本的 Office 程序相关联的文件,运行 Office 安装程序,然后单击修复 Office。执行此操作时,注册为该版本的 Office 文件关联。
注意:此方法不能用于在 Word 或访问注册文件关联。

注意:如果您安装的 Office 版本的软件更新,软件更新,以修复该版本的 Office。您可能需要安装软件更新,以还原文件关联后修复某些或所有的 Office 产品。有关如何修复 Office 2010 的功能的详细信息,请单击下面的链接以查看的帮助主题:

修复或删除 Office 程序

办公室在其他程序中的 OLE 对象

在正在运行的计算机上使用多个版本的 Office,如果 Office 对象插入到其他程序,这些程序的最新版本。例如,如果 Word 文档中插入一个 Microsoft Excel 工作表对象,最新版本的 Word 和 Excel 的使用。如果用户不使用 Office 2010 程序与共享容器文件,这可能会导致问题。

共享的程序

如果按照"安装顺序"一节中描述的顺序安装不同版本的 Office,您通常不会遇到任何问题时使用共享的程序,如公式编辑器和剪辑库。对象对话框中可能显示为每个共享程序的多个条目。出现此现象是因为可能在计算机上安装共享程序的多个版本。

在 Word 中的Windows安装程序邮件

如果您有多个计算机上安装的 Word 版本,在您启动 Microsoft Word 2010 可能会启动 Windows 安装程序。而且,可能会显示一条消息,指出 Windows 安装程序正在准备安装 Word。Word 启动之前,您可能会收到此消息。

Windows 安装程序运行时启动的 Word 的版本不是已注册的一个。您应该知道此修复操作可能需要几分钟才能完成。

在 Access 中的 Windows 安装程序消息

在计算机上有多个版本的 Access 安装,当您启动 Microsoft Office Access 2003 或 Microsoft Office Access 2007 Microsoft Office Access 2010 可能启动 Windows 安装程序。而且,可能会显示"准备安装"消息或"配置"消息。访问开始前,您会收到这些消息。

Windows 安装程序修复操作注册 Access 2003 或 Access 2007 中使用 Access 2010 后启动 Access 2003 或 Access 2007 中每次。同样,Windows 安装程序修复操作 Access 2010 每次注册后使用早期版本的 Access 开始 Access 2010。使用较新版本的访问后,access 2002 不启动修复操作。如果您以前使用的 Access 版本相同版本的 Access 启动时,Windows 安装程序修复操作不发生。

警告:本文已自动翻译

属性

文章 ID:2121447 - 上次审阅时间:11/01/2015 07:30:00 - 修订版本: 9.0

  • Microsoft Office Professional 2010
  • Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010
  • Microsoft Office Standard 2010
  • kbinfo kbhowto kbexpertisebeginner kbmt KB2121447 KbMtzh
反馈

Information about how to use Office 2010 suites and programs on a computer that is running another version of Office

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 2121447 - View products that this article applies to.

For a Microsoft Office 2013 version of this article, see 2784668.
For a 2007 Microsoft Office version of this article, see 928091.
For a Microsoft Office 2003 version of this article, see 828956.
For a Microsoft Office XP version of this article, see 290576.
For a Microsoft Office 2000 version of this article, see 218861.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

INTRODUCTION

This article contains information about using Microsoft Office 2010 suites and programs on a computer that is running another version of Microsoft Office. This article also provides advice to help prevent different versions of Office from conflicting with one another.

More information

You can install and use more than one version of Microsoft Office on a single computer. For example, you can install and use both Microsoft Office 2010 and Microsoft Office 2003 on the same computer. However, we do not recommend this.

Note Microsoft does not support by using multiple versions of Microsoft Office on versions of Microsoft Windows that have Terminal Services enabled. If you want to run multiple versions of Office, disable Terminal Services.

Virtualization

To avoid the issues discussed in this article, one or more of the Office products can be deployed using a virtualized environment. These technologies are listed here.

Windows 7 and Windows

Virtual PCWindows Virtual PC is a free download for Windows 7 and can be used to enable multiple versions of Office to be installed on the same Windows 7 computer without the conflicts described by the rest of this article. For more information about Windows Virtual PC, see the following Knowledge Base article:

Description of Windows Virtual PC: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/958559

Remote Desktop Services and Terminal Services

The Remote Desktop Services or Terminal Services can be used to host the installation on a server to which clients can connect to provide a complete Windows environment. For more information about this option, see the information on the webpage at http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb897474.aspx.

Application Virtualization

Microsoft Application Virtualization (App-V) can enable incompatible applications to run on the same instance of the operating system. The applications are centrally managed services that are never installed, minimize conflicts, and that are streamed on-demand to end-users. For more information about this option, see the information on App-V at http://www.microsoft.com/windows/enterprise/products/mdop/app-v.aspx.


A more detailed summary of these options is provided in the Office 2010 Resource Kit at http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff602180.aspx.

Installation order

Note This installation order also applies to the Microsoft Office stand-alone products, such as Microsoft Visio.

If you want to install and use more than one version of Office on the same computer without virtualization, use the following order.

Collapse this tableExpand this table
VersionInstallation Order
Microsoft Office XPFirst
Microsoft Office 2003Second
2007 Office suites and programsThird
Microsoft Office 2010 suites and programs (32-bit versions only)Fourth
You must install the earliest version of Office first. For example, if you want to use both Office 2003 and Office 2010 programs on the same computer, install Office 2003 first. You must use this order because of how registry keys, shared programs, file name extensions, and other settings are managed for each version of the Office suites and programs.

Note The table above addresses the installation of Office XP, Office 2003, Office 2007 and Office 2010. There are older versions of Microsoft Office. However, they are not discussed here as they are no longer supported by Microsoft.

Important If you remove one of the installed versions of Office, you may have to reinstall the remaining versions of Office in this order for each version to work correctly.

The remainder of this article assumes that you installed the 32-bit versions of Office in this order.

Applying updates

Note that when applying Office updates, such as .MSP files, you must also follow the installation order listed above. This is because when an update is applied, the targeted Office product is repaired. Applying an update to an older version of Office may cause later versions of Office applications to function incorrectly. To address this, you must apply updates to the earliest version of Office first, and then apply updates to later versions of Office in chronological order. If an update is applied to an earlier version of Office, and an update is not applied to a later version of Office, you must repair the later version in order for the later version of Office applications to work correctly.


Office 2010 suites and products 64-bit version

There is no support for running 64-bit versions of Office 2010 suites or programs with any 32-bit version of Office on the same computer. The Setup program will detect that you have previous 32-bit versions of Office programs on your computer and will require that they are removed before you can install Office 2010 64-bit.

Note: This statement applies to all deployment types: MSI, C2R, or App-V.

Office Bin folder location

When you install Office 2010 suites and programs, the Setup program uses the Program Files\Microsoft Office folder as the default folder on a 32-bit version of Windows or Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office folder as the default folder on a 64-bit version of Windows. However, the Office Bin folder is Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office14 or Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14. The Office Bin folder is the folder in which the Office executable files are installed. This location provides a better user experience for users who want to use multiple versions of Office on the same computer. This location was first used by Office XP. In Office XP, the Office Bin folder is Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10. You cannot change the name of the Office Bin folder.

Office Shortcut Bar

Office 2010, 2007 Office suites and programs and Office 2003 do not include the Office Shortcut Bar. However, if Office XP is already installed on the same computer, the Office Shortcut Bar will be retained.

When Office XP is installed with Office 2010 suites or programs, you can start the Office Shortcut Bar separately.

Start menu shortcuts

When Office XP installs Start menu shortcuts, the names of the shortcuts are the same as the names on the Programs submenu on the Start menu. Office 2003, 2007 Office suites and programs, and Office 2010 install shortcuts that include the version number to the Office folder on the Programs submenu. To avoid confusion, we suggest that you add the version number to each shortcut that points to an Office XP product. For example, rename the shortcut that points to Microsoft Access "Microsoft Access 2002" before you install Office 2010 suites and programs.

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
292584 Office XP Setup program overwrites Start menu items from earlier versions of Office
If you manually move the Start menu shortcuts for Office XP, the shortcuts are re-created on the Programs submenu on the Start menu if either of the following conditions is true:
  • You reinstall that version of Office.
  • You repair the shortcuts.
Note You can customize the Office 2003 or Office XP Setup program to install the shortcuts to another location on the Start menu. To do this, use the Custom Installation Wizard in the Microsoft Office Resource Kit. To locate the Office Resource Kit for a version of Office before Office 2007 visit the Microsoft Web site at http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/office/default.aspx.

For 2007 Office suites and programs and Office 2010, you can use the Office Customization Tool to specify a different location for the shortcuts. To access the Office Customization Tool, follow these steps:

  1. Start a command prompt.
  2. Move to the Office 2010 CD.
  3. Run the following command:

    setup /admin
Note The Office Customization Tool is only available for non-Retail versions of Microsoft Office 2007 and Office 2010.

For more information about the Office Customization Tool, visit the following Microsoft Web site:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc179097(office.14).aspx

Multiple versions of Outlook

Microsoft Office Outlook 2010 cannot coexist with any earlier version of Microsoft Outlook. When you install Outlook 2010, the Setup program removes Microsoft Office Outlook 2007, Microsoft Office Outlook 2003, and Microsoft Outlook 2002. The Setup program removes these versions of Outlook even if you click to select the Keep these programs check box in the Removing Previous Versions dialog box.

Microsoft Office Groove 2007 and Microsoft SharePoint Workspace 2010


Microsoft SharePoint Workspace 2010 cannot coexist with Microsoft Office Groove 2007. When you install SharePoint Workspace 2010, the Setup program removes Microsoft Office Groove 2007. The Setup program removes Groove 2007 even if you click to select the Keep these programs check box in the Removing Previous Versions dialog box.

Multiple versions of Word

If you have two versions of Microsoft Word installed on the same computer, you experience a delay when you start Word 2010. This behavior occurs because Word 2010 auto-registers itself on the computer.

You can bypass the auto-registration. This enables Word 2010 to start faster. However, we do not recommend this because Word may not function correctly if it cannot auto-register itself.

Important This section, method, or task contains steps that tell you how to change the registry. However, serious problems might occur if you change the registry incorrectly. Therefore, make sure that you follow these steps carefully. For added protection, back up the registry before you change it. Then, you can restore the registry if a problem occurs. For more information about how to back up and restore the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
322756 How to back up and restore the registry in Windows
To bypass the auto-registration for Word 2010, follow these steps:

  1. Exit Word 2010.
  2. Start Registry Editor.
    • In Windows 7 or Windows Vista, click Start, type regedit in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER.

      If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a confirmation, type the password, or click Continue.
    • In Windows XP, click Start , click Run , type regedit in the Open box, and then click OK .
  3. Locate and then click to select the following registry subkey:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Word\Options
  4. After you select the subkey that is specified in step 3, point to New on the Edit menu, and then click DWORD Value.
  5. Type NoReReg , and then press ENTER.
  6. Right-click NoReReg , and then click Modify .
  7. In the Valuedata box, type 1, and then click OK .
  8. On the File menu, click Exit to close Registry Editor.
Note In order to block the Repair in other versions of Microsoft Word, it will be necessary to create this registry key for each version. Replace the version number in the path with the appropriate version.

Office files in Microsoft Windows Explorer

When you double-click an Office file in Windows Explorer to open the file, the following rules apply. Note These rules also apply when you double-click the Office file in the Recent Documents folder in Windows.
  • If a version of the program in which the file was created is running on the computer, the file is opened in that version.
  • For Office XP, if no version of the program in which the file was created is running on the computer, the file opens in the version of the program that you most recently installed.
  • For Microsoft Access and for Microsoft Word, if no version of the program in which the file was created is running on the computer, the file is opened in the version of the program that was most recently started.
  • To associate files with the programs that are included with a particular version of Office, run the Office Setup program, and then click Repair Office. When you do this, the file associations for that version of Office are registered.
Note You cannot use this method to register file associations in Word or in Access.

Note If you install a software update for a version of Office, the software update repairs that version of Office. You may have to repair some or all Office products after you install a software update to restore the file associations.For more information about how to repair Office 2010 features, click the following link to view the help topic:

Repair or remove your Office programs

Office OLE objects in other programs

On a computer that is running multiple versions of Office, if you insert an Office object into another program, the latest versions of the programs are used. For example, if you insert a Microsoft Excel worksheet object into a Word document, the latest versions of Word and of Excel are used. This may cause problems if you share the container file with users who are not using Office 2010 programs.

Shared programs

If you installed the different versions of Office in the order that is described in the "Installation order" section, you generally do not experience any problems when you use shared programs such as Equation Editor and Clip Gallery. The Object dialog box may display more than one entry for each shared program. This behavior occurs because multiple versions of the shared program may be installed on the computer.

Windows Installer messages in Word

If you have multiple versions of Word installed on the computer, the Windows Installer may start when you start Microsoft Word 2010. And, a message that states that Windows Installer is preparing to install Word may be displayed. You may receive this message before Word starts.

The Windows Installer runs when the version of Word that you start is not the one that is registered. You should be aware that this Repair operation can take several minutes to complete.

Windows Installer messages in Access

On a computer that has multiple versions of Access installed, the Windows Installer may start when you start Microsoft Office Access 2003 or Microsoft Office Access 2007 or Microsoft Office Access 2010. And, a "preparing to install" message or a "configuring" message may be displayed. You receive these messages before Access starts.

The Windows Installer Repair operation registers Access 2003 or Access 2007 every time that you start Access 2003 or Access 2007 after you use Access 2010. Similarly, the Windows Installer Repair operation registers Access 2010 every time that you start Access 2010 after you use an earlier version of Access. Access 2002 does not start a Repair operation after you use a later version of Access. If the version of Access that you start is the same as the version of Access that you previously used, the Windows Installer repair operation does not occur.

Properties

Article ID: 2121447 - Last Review: November 15, 2012 - Revision: 4.0
Applies to
  • Microsoft Office Professional 2010
  • Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010
  • Microsoft Office Standard 2010
Keywords: 
kbinfo kbhowto kbexpertisebeginner KB2121447

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com