أنت غير متصل حاليًا، وفي انتظار الإنترنت الخاص بك ليقوم بإعادة الاتصال

ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي والذاكرة الظاهرية، وملف ترحيل الصفحات وإدارة الذاكرة في نظام التشغيل Windows

انتهاء دعم نظام التشغيل Windows XP

لقد أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم Windows XP في 8 أبريل، 2014. وقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

انتهي دعم Windows Server 2003 في 14 يوليو 2015!

أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم نظام التشغيل Windows Server 2003 في 14 يوليو 2015. لقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

هام: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة باستخدام برامج مايكروسوفت للترجمة الآلية ومن المحتمل ان يتم تحريرها او تدقيقها بعد ذلك من خلال تكنولوجيا منصة مجموعات الترجمة(CTF) او من خلال مترجم بشري. تقدم لك شركة مايكروسوفت هذه المقالات المترجمة بشكل آلي او بالترجمة البشرية او بعد تحريرها وتدقيقها من قبل مجموعات الترجمة حتى تمكنكم من الوصول إلى جميع المقالات الموجودة في قواعد المعرفة لديها بلغات مختلفة. إلا أن المقالات المترجمة قد تحتوي على أخطاء في المفردات او بناء الجمل او النحو. وعليه، فإن شركة مايكروسوفت ليست مسؤولة عن اية أخطاء او عدم دقة في الترجمة او أية أضرار قد تحدث نتيجة أخطاء في ترجمة محتويات النص او استخدامه من قبل العملاء.

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية2160852
الموجز
تحتوي هذه المقالة على معلومات أساسية حول تطبيق الذاكرة الظاهرية في الإصدارات 32 بت من Windows. تتعلق هذه المعلومات بنظام التشغيل Windows 2000 ونظام التشغيل Windows XP Windows Server 2003، يقوم نظام التشغيل Windows Vista و Windows Server 2008. (نظراً لأن نظام التشغيل Windows Server 2008 R2 متوفرة فقط في إصدار 64 بت، هذه المعلومات لا تطبيق إليه.)
معلومات أخرى
في أنظمة التشغيل الحديثة مثل Windows، التطبيقات والعديد من نظام العمليات دائماً الإشارة إلى الذاكرة باستخدام عناوين الذاكرة الظاهرية. تلقائياً ترجمة عناوين الذاكرة الظاهرية لعناوين (RAM) حقيقية بالأجهزة. تجاوز ترجمة عناوين هذه الأجزاء الأساسية من نواة نظام التشغيل واستخدام عناوين الذاكرة الحقيقية مباشرة.

دائماً يتم استخدام الذاكرة الظاهرية، حتى عند الذاكرة المطلوب من قبل كافة العمليات قيد التشغيل لا يتجاوز حجم ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي المثبتة على النظام.

يتوفر نسخة موسعة من هذا المقال على مدونة Windows ساندرسون بروس. لمشاهدة هذه المقالة، قم بزيارة موقع المدونة ما يلي:

العمليات ومساحات العناوين

العمليات كافة (على سبيل المثال، التطبيقات القابلة للتنفيذ) التي يتم تشغيلها ضمن إصدارات 32 بت من Windows يتم تعيين عناوين الذاكرة الظاهرية ( مساحة العنوان الظاهرية)، تتراوح بين 0 و 4294967295 (2 * 32-1 = 4 غيغا بايت)، بغض النظر عن مقدار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي فعلياً مثبت على الكمبيوتر.

في تكوين Windows الافتراضية، 2 غيغابايت (GB) من مساحة العنوان الظاهرية هذه مخصصة للاستخدام الخاص لكل عملية، و 2 غيغابايت أخرى مشتركة بين كافة العمليات ونظام التشغيل. عادة، تستخدم التطبيقات (على سبيل المثال، المفكرة، Word و Excel و Acrobat Reader) سوى جزء صغير من 2 غيغابايت مساحة العنوان الخاص. تعيين نظام التشغيل ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي صفحة الإطارات لتلك الصفحات في الذاكرة الظاهرية التي يتم استخدامها فقط.

ملحق العنوان الفعلي (PAE) هو الميزة في هندسة Intel 32 بت التي تقوم بتوسيع عنوان الذاكرة الفعلية (RAM) إلى 36 بت. ملحق العنوان الفعلي لا يغير حجم مساحة العنوان الظاهرية (الذي يبقى في 4 غيغا بايت)، لكن حجم ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي الفعلية التي يمكن معالجتها من خلال المعالج. لمزيد من المعلومات، انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة معارف Microsoft":
268363 Intel العنونة الفعلي ملحقات (PAE) في نظام التشغيل Windows 2000
تتم معالجة الترجمة بين عنوان 32 بت الذاكرة الظاهرية المستخدمة من قبل التعليمات البرمجية قيد التشغيل في عملية وعنوان ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي 36 بت تلقائياً وشفافية بأجهزة الحاسوب وفقا جداول الترجمة التي تحتفظ بها نظام التشغيل. يمكن ربط أي صفحة الذاكرة الظاهرية (عنوان 32 بت) مع أي صفحة الذاكرة RAM الفعلية (عنوان 36 بت).

تصف القائمة التالية مقدار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي تدعم إصدارات Windows وإصدارات مختلفة (اعتبارا من مايو 2010):
نظام التشغيل Windows NT 4.04 جيجابايت
Windows 2000 Professional4 جيجابايت
ملقم Windows 2000 القياسي4 جيجابايت
ملقم متقدم Windows 20008 جيجابايت
نظام التشغيل Windows 2000 Datacenter Server32 جيجابايت
Windows XP Professional4 جيجابايت
Windows Server 2003، Web Edition2 جيجابايت
الإصدار القياسي ل Windows Server 20034 جيجابايت
نظام التشغيل Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition32 جيجابايت
Datacenter Edition من Windows Server 200364 جيجابايت
Windows Vista4 جيجابايت
ويندوز سيرفر 2008 قياسي4 جيجابايت
للمؤسسة ل Windows Server 200864 جيجابايت
ويندوز سيرفر 2008 مركز البيانات64 جيجابايت
Windows 74 جيجابايت

ملف ترحيل الصفحات

ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي مورد محدود، بينما لمعظم الأغراض العملية، الذاكرة الظاهرية غير محدود. يمكن أن يكون هناك العديد من العمليات والخاصة 2 غيغابايت من مساحة العنوان الظاهرية الخاصة بكل عملية. عندما يتجاوز الذاكرة المستخدمة بواسطة كافة العمليات القائمة RAM المتوفرة، نظام التشغيل نقل صفحات مسافة واحدة أو أكثر في العنوان الظاهري (قطعة 4 كيلوبايت) للقرص الثابت للكمبيوتر. وهذا يحرر هذا الإطار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي لاستخدامات أخرى. في أنظمة Windows، يتم تخزين هذه الصفحات "مقسم إلى صفحات من" في واحد أو أكثر من ملفات (Pagefile.sys) في جذر أحد الأقسام. يمكن أن يكون هناك ملف واحد مثل هذا في كل قسم من أقسام القرص. تكوين موقع وحجم ملف ترحيل الصفحات في خصائص النظام (انقر فوقخيارات متقدمة، انقر فوق الأداءوثم انقر فوق إعدادات زر).

المستخدمين كثيرا ما اسأل "كيف كبيرة يجب إجراؤه ملف ترحيل صفحات؟" لا توجد أية إجابة واحدة على هذا السؤال لأنه يتوقف على مقدار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي المثبتة ويتطلب ذلك عبء العمل على مقدار الذاكرة الظاهرية. إذا كان هناك أية معلومات أخرى متوفرة، توصية النموذجية مرة ونصف تثبيت ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي نقطة بداية جيدة. أنظمة الخادم، تحتاج عادة إلى ذاكرة RAM كافية حيث أن هناك نقصا مطلقا وأساساً استخدام ملف ترحيل الصفحات. في هذه الأنظمة، قد يكون مفيداً الاحتفاظ بملف ترحيل صفحات كبيرة. ومن ناحية أخرى، إذا كانت مساحة القرص وفيرة، الحفاظ على ملف ترحيل صفحات كبيرة (على سبيل المثال، 1.5 مرة الذاكرة المثبتة) ليس السبب المشكلة، وذلك أيضا يلغي الحاجة إلى القلق عبر المساحة التي تريد جعلها.

الأداء وحدود المعمارية وذاكرة الوصول العشوائي

في أي نظام الكمبيوتر، وكما يزيد التحميل (عدد المستخدمين، وحجم العمل)، ينخفض الأداء، لكن بطريقة غير خطية. أي زيادة في الطلب، بعد نقطة معينة، أو تحميل يؤدي حدوث انخفاض في الأداء. وهذا يعني أن بعض الموارد قليلة جداً وأصبح اختناق.

في بعض الأحيان، لا يمكن زيادة المورد هو نقص في المعروض. وهذا يعني أنه تم التوصل إلى وضع حد المعمارية . تتضمن بعض الحدود المعمارية كثيرا ما تم الإبلاغ عنها في Windows ما يلي:
  • 2 غيغابايت من مساحة العنوان الظاهرية المشتركة للنظام (kernel)
  • 2 غيغابايت من مساحة العنوان الظاهرية الخاصة كل عملية (وضع المستخدم)
  • 660 ميغا بايت لنظام التخزين PTE (Windows Server 2003 والإصدارات السابقة)
  • 470 ميغا بايت التجمع المقسم إلى صفحات التخزين (Windows Server 2003 والإصدارات السابقة)
  • 256 ميغا بايت التجمع غير المقسم إلى صفحات التخزين (Windows Server 2003 والإصدارات السابقة)
وينطبق هذا على Windows Server 2003 على وجه التحديد، ولكن هذا قد ينطبق أيضا لنظام التشغيل Windows XP ونظام التشغيل Windows 2000. ومع ذلك، نظام التشغيل Windows Vista أو Windows Server 2008 أو Windows 7 لا تشارك هذه الحدود المعمارية. القيود المفروضة على المستخدم وذاكرة kernel (الأرقام 1 و 2 هنا) هي نفسها، لكن الموارد kernel كإدخالات ومختلف تجمعات الذاكرة الديناميكية. تتيح هذه الوظيفة الجديدة الذاكرة المقسمة إلى صفحات وغير المقسمة إلى صفحات. وهذا يمكن أيضا جلسة تجمع تجاوز الحدود التي نوقشت سابقا، وصولاً إلى النقطة حيث يتم استنفاد kernel الكامل وإدخالات.

تم العثور عليها بشكل متكرر ونقلت عبارات كالتالي:
باستخدام "ملقم المحطة الطرفية" 2 غيغابايت مساحة العنوان المشترك تماما ستستخدم قبل استخدام 4 غيغابايت من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. "
قد يكون هذا صحيحاً في بعض الحالات. ومع ذلك، يجب عليك مراقبة النظام لمعرفة ما إذا كانت تنطبق على النظام الخاص بك معين أم لا. في بعض الحالات، هذه البيانات الاستنتاجات من بيئات Windows NT 4.0 أو Windows 2000 خاصة ولا تنطبق بالضرورة على Windows Server 2003. أدخلت تغييرات كبيرة على Windows Server 2003 تقليل احتمال أن يتم التوصل إلى هذه الحدود المعمارية في الواقع عمليا. على سبيل المثال، تم نقل بعض العمليات التي تمت في kernel للعمليات غير kernel لتصغير الذاكرة المستخدمة في مساحة العنوان الظاهرية المشتركة.

مراقبة استخدام الذاكرة RAM والذاكرة الظاهرية

مراقبة الأداء هو الأداة الرئيسية لمراقبة أداء النظام وتحديد موقع الاختناق. لبدء تشغيل "مراقبة الأداء"، انقر فوقابدأوانقر فوق لوحة التحكم، انقر فوق أدوات إدارية، وثم انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق مراقبة الأداء. هنا ملخص لبعض العدادات الهامة وما أقول لكم:
  • الذاكرة، وحدات البايت الملتزم بها: هذا العداد مقياس للطلب على الذاكرة الظاهرية.

    وهذا يبين عدد البايت التي تم تخصيصها بالعمليات والتي تعهدت نظام التشغيل إطار صفحة ذاكرة الوصول عشوائي أو فتحه صفحة في ملف ترحيل الصفحات (أو ربما كلاهما). ك "وحدات البايت الملتزم بها" يزداد حجم أكبر من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي المتوفرة، ستزيد من الترحيل، وستؤدي أيضا إلى زيادة حجم ملف ترحيل الصفحات الذي يتم استخدامه. في بعض الأحيان، يبدأ تؤثر تأثيراً كبيرا على أداء نشاط الترحيل.
  • عملية أو مجموعة العمل أو _Total: هذا العداد مقياس للذاكرة الظاهرية قيد الاستخدام "نشط".

    يظهر هذا العداد مقدار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي مطلوب كي يكون بينجوسيد "الذاكرة الظاهرية" لكافة العمليات في ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. هذه القيمة هي دائماً مضاعفات 4096، whichis حجم الصفحة المستخدمة في Windows. مع تزايد الطلب على الذاكرة الظاهرية خارج ذاكرة RAM المتوفرة، نظام التشغيل بضبط مقدار الذاكرة الظاهرية للعملية قيد به "مجموعة العمل" لتحسين استخدام الذاكرة RAM المتوفرة وتقليل الترحيل.
  • ملف ترحيل الصفحات، ملف ترحيل الصفحات % قيد الاستخدام: هذا العداد مقياس لمقدار ملف ترحيل الصفحات قيد الاستخدام بالفعل.
    استخدم هذا العداد لتحديد ما إذا كان ملف ترحيل الصفحات حجم المناسب. إذا وصل هذا العداد إلى 100، ملف ترحيل الصفحات ممتلئة، والأشياء التي تتوقف عن العمل. تبعاً لتقلبات حمل العمل الخاص بك، ربما تريد ملف ترحيل الصفحات كبيرة كافية حتى يكون عادة أكثر من 50 075 النسبة المستخدمة. إيفموتش لملف ترحيل قيد الاستخدام، بعد أكثر من واحد على أقراص فعلية مختلفة، فقد تحسن الأداء.
  • الذاكرة، الصفحات/الثانية: هذا العداد أحد الإجراءات الأكثر يساء فهمه.

    قيمة عالية لهذا العداد لا تعني أن اختناق الأداء الخاص بك نابع من نقص في ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. يستخدم نظام التشغيل نظام ترحيل لأغراض خلاف مبادلة صفحات الذاكرة الالتزام الزيادة.
  • الذاكرة، الصفحات المخرجة في الثانية: يظهر هذا العداد عدد الصفحات في الذاكرة الظاهرية تمت كتابتها إلى ملف ترحيل الصفحات لتحرير ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي صفحة الإطارات لأغراض أخرى كل ثانية.

    هذا العداد هو عداد أفضل مراقبتها إذا كنت تشك أن الترحيل هو اختناق الأداء الخاص بك. حتى لو وحدات البايت الملتزم بهاأكبر من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي المثبتة، إذا كانت الصفحات المخرجة في الثانية منخفضة أو صفر في معظم الأحيان، لن يكون هناك أي مشكلة كبيرة في الأداء من ذاكرة RAM غير كافية.
  • الذاكرة، ذاكرة التخزين المؤقت لوحدات البايت،
    الذاكرة، بايت التجمع غير المقسم،
    الذاكرة، بايت التجمع المقسم،
    الذاكرة، التعليمات البرمجية البايت النظام،
    الذاكرة، بايت إجمالي برنامج تشغيل النظام:
    مجموع هذه العدادات مقياس لمقدار 2 غيغابايت جزء مشترك من مساحة العنوان الظاهرية 4 غيغابايت قيد الاستخدام بالفعل. استخدم هذه لتحديد ما إذا كان النظام الخاص بك هو الوصول إلى أحد حدود المعمارية مناقشته التي نوقشت سابقا.
  • الذاكرة، وحدات الميغا بايت المتوفرة: يقيس هذا العداد مقدار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي المتوفرة لتلبية الطلبات للذاكرة الظاهرية (أما مخصصات جديدة، أو لاستعادة صفحة من ملف ترحيل الصفحات).

    عندما ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي هو نقص في المعروض (على سبيل المثال، "وحدات البايت الملتزم بها" كانت أكبر من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي المثبتة)، سيحاول نظام التشغيل الاحتفاظ كسر بعض الذاكرة ram المثبت متوفراً للاستخدام الفوري بواسطة نسخ صفحات الذاكرة الظاهرية التي ليست قيد الاستخدام النشط لملف ترحيل الصفحات. لذلك، هذا العداد لن تصل إلى الصفر وليس بالضرورة مؤشرا جيدا لما إذا كان النظام الخاص بك أقل من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي.
لمزيد من المعلومات حول هذه الموضوعات، قم بزيارة مواقع Microsoft التالية على مواقع ويب والمدونة:

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

خصائص

رقم الموضوع: 2160852 - آخر مراجعة: 01/03/2015 00:10:00 - المراجعة: 3.0

Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition, Microsoft Windows 2000 Server, Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Datacenter Edition (32-Bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise Edition (32-Bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86), , , , , , , , ,

  • kbsurveynew kbinfo kbhowto kbexpertiseadvanced kbmt KB2160852 KbMtar
تعليقات
/html>amp;t=">

RAM, virtual memory, pagefile, and memory management in Windows

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 2160852 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This article contains basic information about the virtual memory implementation in 32-bit versions of Windows. This information concerns Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, Windows Vista, and Windows Server 2008. (Because Windows Server 2008 R2 is available only in a 64-bit version, this information does not apply to it.)

MORE INFORMATION

In modern operating systems such as Windows, applications and many system processes always reference memory by using virtual memory addresses. Virtual memory addresses are automatically translated to real (RAM) addresses by the hardware. Only core parts of the operating system kernel bypass this address translation and use real memory addresses directly.

Virtual memory is always being used, even when the memory that is required by all running processes does not exceed the volume of RAM that is installed on the system.

An expanded version of this article is available on Bruce Sanderson's Windows blog. To see this article, visit the following blog site:
Bruce Sanderson's general Windows information: RAM, virtual memory, pagefile, and all that stuff

Processes and address spaces

All processes (for example, application executables) that are running under 32-bit versions of Windows are assigned virtual memory addresses (a virtual address space), ranging from 0 to 4,294,967,295 (2*32-1 = 4 GB), regardless of how much RAM is actually installed on the computer.

In the default Windows configuration, 2 gigabytes (GB) of this virtual address space are designated for the private use of each process, and the other 2 GB is shared between all processes and the operating system. Typically, applications (for example, Notepad, Word, Excel, and Acrobat Reader) use only a fraction of the 2 GB of private address space. The operating system assigns RAM page frames only to those virtual memory pages that are being used. 

Physical Address Extension (PAE) is the feature of the Intel 32-bit architecture that expands the physical memory (RAM) address to 36 bits. PAE does not change the size of the virtual address space (which remains at 4 GB), but just the volume of actual RAM that can be addressed by the processor. For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
268363 Intel Physical Addressing Extensions (PAE) in Windows 2000
The translation between the 32-bit virtual memory address that is used by the code that is running in a process and the 36-bit RAM address is handled automatically and transparently by the computer hardware according to translation tables that are maintained by the operating system. Any virtual memory page (32-bit address) can be associated with any physical RAM page (36-bit address).

The following list describes how much RAM the various Windows versions and editions support (as of May 2010):
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Windows NT 4.04 GB
Windows 2000 Professional4 GB
Windows 2000 Standard Server4 GB
Windows 2000 Advanced Server8 GB
Windows 2000 Datacenter Server32 GB
Windows XP Professional4 GB
Windows Server 2003 Web Edition2 GB
Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition4 GB
Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition32 GB
Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition64 GB
Windows Vista4 GB
Windows Server 2008 Standard4 GB
Windows Server 2008 Enterprise64 GB
Windows Server 2008 Datacenter64 GB
Windows 74 GB

Pagefile

RAM is a limited resource, whereas for most practical purposes, virtual memory is unlimited. There can be many processes, and each process has its own 2 GB of private virtual address space. When the memory being used by all the existing processes exceeds the available RAM, the operating system moves pages (4-KB pieces) of one or more virtual address spaces to the computer’s hard disk. This frees that RAM frame for other uses. In Windows systems, these “paged out” pages are stored in one or more files (Pagefile.sys files) in the root of a partition. There can be one such file in each disk partition. The location and size of the page file is configured in System Properties (click Advanced, click Performance, and then click the Settings button).

Users frequently ask "how big should I make the pagefile?" There is no single answer to this question because it depends on the amount of installed RAM and on how much virtual memory that workload requires. If there is no other information available, the typical recommendation of 1.5 times the installed RAM is a good starting point. On server systems, you typically want to have sufficient RAM so that there is never a shortage and so that the pagefile is basically not used. On these systems, it may serve no useful purpose to maintain a really large pagefile. On the other hand, if disk space is plentiful, maintaining a large pagefile (for example, 1.5 times the installed RAM) does not cause a problem, and this also eliminates the need to worry over how large to make it.

Performance, architectural limits, and RAM

On any computer system, as the load increases (the number of users, the volume of work), performance decreases, but in a nonlinear manner. Any increase in load or demand, beyond a certain point, causes a significant decrease in performance. This means that some resource is in critically short supply and has become a bottleneck.

At some point, the resource that is in short supply cannot be increased. This means that an architectural limit has been reached. Some frequently reported architectural limits in Windows include the following:
  • 2 GB of shared virtual address space for the system (kernel)
  • 2 GB of private virtual address space per process (user mode)
  • 660 MB of system PTE storage (Windows Server 2003 and earlier)
  • 470 MB of paged pool storage (Windows Server 2003 and earlier)
  • 256 MB of nonpaged pool storage (Windows Server 2003 and earlier) 
This applies to Windows Server 2003 specifically, but this may also apply to Windows XP and to Windows 2000. However, Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, and Windows 7 do not all share these architectural limits. The limits on user and kernel memory (numbers 1 and 2 here) are the same, but kernel resources such as PTEs and various memory pools are dynamic. This new functionality enables both paged and nonpaged memory. This also enables PTEs and session pool to grow beyond the limits that were discussed earlier, up to the point where the whole kernel is exhausted.

Frequently found and quoted statements such as the following: 
With a Terminal Server, the 2 GB of shared address space will be completely used before 4 GB of RAM is used.”
This may be true in some cases. However, you have to monitor your system to know whether they apply to your particular system or not. In some cases, these statements are conclusions from specific Windows NT 4.0 or Windows 2000 environments and do not necessarily apply to Windows Server 2003. Significant changes were made to Windows Server 2003 to reduce the probability that these architectural limits will in fact be reached in practice. For example, some processes that were in the kernel were moved to non-kernel processes to reduce the memory used in the shared virtual address space.

Monitoring RAM and virtual memory usage 

Performance Monitor is the principle tool for monitoring system performance and for identifying the location of the bottleneck. To start Performance Monitor, click Start, click Control Panel, click Administrative Tools, and then double-click Performance Monitor. Here is a summary of some important counters and what they tell you:
  • Memory, Committed Bytes: This counter is a measure of the demand for virtual memory.

    This shows how many bytes were allocated by processes and to which the operating system has committed a RAM page frame or a page slot in the pagefile (or perhaps both). As Committed Bytes grows greater than the available RAM, paging will increase, and the pagefile size that is being used will also increase. At some point, paging activity starts to significantly affect performance.
  • Process, Working Set, _Total: This counter is a measure of the virtual memory in "active" use.

    This counter shows how much RAM is required so that the virtual memory being used for all processes is in RAM. This value is always a multiple of 4,096, which is the page size that is used in Windows. As demand for virtual memory increases beyond the available RAM, the operating system adjusts how much of a process's virtual memory is in its Working Set to optimize available RAM usage and minimize paging.
  • Paging File, %pagefile in use: This counter is a measure of how much of the pagefile is actually being used.
    Use this counter to determine whether the pagefile is an appropriate size. If this counter reaches 100, the pagefile is full, and things will stop working. Depending on the volatility of your workload, you probably want the pagefile large enough so that it is generally no more than 50-075 percent used. If much of the pagefile is being used, having more than one on different physical disks, may improve performance.
  • Memory, Pages/Sec: This counter is one of the most misunderstood measures.

    A high value for this counter does not necessarily imply that your performance bottleneck stems from a shortage of RAM. The operating system uses the paging system for purposes other than swapping pages because of memory over-commitment.
  • Memory, Pages Output/Sec: This counter shows how many virtual memory pages were written to the pagefile to free RAM page frames for other purposes each second.

    This is the best counter to monitor if you suspect that paging is your performance bottleneck. Even if Committed Bytes is greater than the installed RAM, if Pages Output/sec is low or zero most of the time, there is no significant performance problem from insufficient RAM.
  • Memory, Cache Bytes,
    Memory, Pool Nonpaged Bytes,
    Memory, Pool Paged Bytes,
    Memory, System Code Total Bytes,
    Memory, System Driver Total Bytes:
    The sum of these counters is a measure of how much of the 2 GB of the shared part of the 4-GB virtual address space is actually being used. Use these to determine whether your system is reaching one of the architectural limits discussed that were discussed earlier.
  • Memory, Available MBytes: This counter measures how much RAM is available to satisfy demands for virtual memory (either new allocations, or for restoring a page from the pagefile).

    When RAM is in short supply (for example, Committed Bytes is greater than installed RAM), the operating system will try to keep a certain fraction of installed RAM available for immediate use by copying virtual memory pages that are not in active use to the pagefile. Therefore, this counter will not reach zero and is not necessarily a good indication of whether your system is short of RAM.
For more information about these subjects, visit the following Microsoft websites and blog sites:

Properties

Article ID: 2160852 - Last Review: December 21, 2010 - Revision: 3.0
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Datacenter Edition (32-Bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise Edition (32-Bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Windows Vista Business
  • Windows Vista Enterprise
  • Windows Vista Home Basic
  • Windows Vista Home Premium
  • Windows 7 Enterprise
  • Windows 7 Home Basic
  • Windows 7 Home Premium
  • Windows 7 Professional
  • Windows 7 Ultimate
Keywords: 
kbsurveynew kbinfo kbhowto kbexpertiseadvanced KB2160852

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com