أنت غير متصل حاليًا، وفي انتظار الإنترنت الخاص بك ليقوم بإعادة الاتصال

باستخدام الربط المبكر الربط المتأخر في التنفيذ التلقائي

هام: تمت ترجمة هذا المقال باستخدام برنامج ترجمة آلية لشركة مايكروسوفت بدلاً من الاستعانة بمترجم بشري. تقدم شركة مايكروسوفت كلاً من المقالات المترجمة بواسطة المترجمين البشر والمقالات المترجمة آليًا وبالتالي ستتمكن من الوصول إلى كل المقالات الموجودة في قاعدة المعرفة الخاصة بنا وباللغة الخاصة بك. بالرغم من ذلك، فإن المقالة المترجمة آليًا لا تكون دقيقة دائمًا وقد تحتوي على أخطاء إملائية أو لغوية أو نحوية، مثل تلك الأخطاء الصادرة عن متحدث أجنبي عندما يتحدث بلغتك. لا تتحمل شركة مايكروسوفت مسئولية عدم الدقة أو الأخطاء أو الضرر الناتج عن أية أخطاء في ترجمة المحتوى أو استخدامه من قبل عملائنا. تعمل شركة مايكروسوفت باستمرار على ترقية برنامج الترجمة الآلية

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية245115
الموجز
كيفية ربط إلى ملقم أتمتة يمكن أن يؤثر على العديد من الأشياء في برنامج مثل maintainability مرونة والأداء.

هذا المقال يشرح أنواع الربط متوفرة للعملاء التنفيذ كما weighs كل من وجهي كل أسلوب.
معلومات أخرى
التنفيذ التلقائي هو عملية و/حيث مكون برنامج واحد يتصل مع أو يتحكم مكون برنامج آخر باستخدام Microsoft طراز كائن المكون (COM). هو أساس اتصال المكون عبر معظم المستخدمة في لغات مثل Visual Basic أو Visual Basic for Applications ثم أصبح جزء عادية من معظم البرامج.

من وجهة تاريخية، كائن أتمتة هو أي كائن يدعم IDispatch في الواجهة. تسمح هذه الواجهة للعملاء إلى استدعاء الأساليب الخصائص في وقت التشغيل بدون الحاجة إلى معرفة الكائن بدقة أنها تتصل به في وقت التصميم; تسمى عملية الربط المتأخر. اليوم، ومع ذلك، مصطلح يمكن تطبيق كائن الأتمتة ظاهريًا أي كائن COM حتى تلك التي لا تعتمد IDispatch (و ولذلك يتعذر المتأخر ربط). تفترض هذه المقالة كائن يتم أتمتة يعتمد كلا الأسلوبين الربط.

ما هو تضمين ؟

ربط عملية المتطابقة استدعاءات دالة والتي تم كتابتها من قبل مبرمج رمز الفعلية (داخلي أو خارجي) التي تقوم بتنفيذ الدالة. تم عند ترجمة التطبيق يجب ربط كافة وظائف يسمى في التعليمات البرمجية قبل تنفيذ التعليمات البرمجية.

لفهم العملية اعتبار "الارتباط" من نشر كتاب. تخيل التعليمات البرمجية يشبه النص دفتر حيث في فقرة معينة تمت كتابة شيء ما مثل "مشاهدة الفصل 12 ، الصفحة x للحصول على مزيد من التفاصيل." لا تعرف ما رقم الصفحة حتى الانتهاء من الكتاب لذا قبل يمكن قراءة الفقرة معد, يجب أن يكون منضماً كافة صفحات دفتر معاً ثم إدراج رقم الصفحة الصحيح في الفقرة. انتظر دفتر "ربط" قبل أن يمكنك الرجوع إلى أجزاء أخرى من الكتاب.

يشبه ربط البرامج. التعليمات البرمجية يتكون من الأجزاء التي تحتاج إلى سحب معاً قبل التعليمة البرمجية يمكن أن يكون "قراءة." يتم ربط عملية استبدال الدالة أسماء عناوين الذاكرة (أو الإزاحات الذاكرة ليكون أكثر دقة) حيث التعليمة البرمجية سيقوم "الانتقال إلى" عندما يتم استدعاء الدالة. كائنات COM العنوان إزاحة ذاكرة في جدول مؤشرات (يسمى جدول V) إجراؤها من قبل الكائن. عند منضم دالة COM مرتبطة خلال v-الجدول.

بنية كائن COM أمر بسيط. عند التعليمات البرمجية الخاصة بك تحتوي على مرجع إلى كائن يحتوي مؤشر غير مباشر إلى أعلى الجدول v. V-الجدول عبارة عن صفيف عناوين الذاكرة عليه كل إدخال دالة مختلفة يمكن استدعاء على ذلك الكائن. استدعاء دالة الثالث على كائن COM ، الانتقال إلى أسفل ثلاثة إدخالات في الجدول ثم ثم الانتقال إلى موقع الذاكرة إعطاء هناك. التي بتنفيذ التعليمات البرمجية الخاصة بدالة وإرجاع ، عند اكتمال كنت جاهزاً إعادة تنفيذ السطر التالي من التعليمات البرمجية.
+-[Code]------------+  +.................................[COM Object]...+|                   |  : +-------------+                                :|Set obj = Nothing -|--->| obj pointer |                                :|                   |  : +-|-----------+                                :+-------------------+  :   |   +-----------------+                      :                       :   +-->| v-table pointer |                      :                       :       +--|--------------+                      :                       :          |                                     :                       :          |  +----------------------------+     :                       :  (3rd)   |  | Function 1 Address pointer |     :                       : (Offset) |  +----------------------------+     :                       :          |  | Function 2 Address pointer |     :                       :          |  +----------------------------+     :                       :          +->| Function 3 Address pointer |     :                       :             +----------------------------+     :                       +................................................+				
يعرض المثال أعلاه ما يحدث عند تحرير كائن COM. لأن كافة كائنات COM ترث IUnknown ، هي أول ثلاثة إدخالات في الجدول الأساليب إلى IUnknown. عند الحاجة إلى تحرير كائن استدعاء التعليمات البرمجية الدالة الثالث في v-الجدول (IUnknown::Release).

ولحسن الحظ، يتم إنجاز العمل هذا بواسطة Visual Basic في الخلفية. كما مبرمجاً Visual Basic لديك مطلقًا التعامل مع v-جدول مباشرة. ولكن هذا بنية كيف تكون مرتبطة كائنات COM كافة ومن المهم كنت معتاداً على فهم هو ما الربط.

الربط المبكر

المثال أعلاه ما المعروفة كما مبكر (أو جدول V) تضمين. لكافة كائنات COM ضع هذا الشكل من يأخذ الربط عندما يتم استدعاء واجهة IUnknown كائن COM. ولكن ماذا عن الدالات الأخرى الكائن ؟ كيفية استدعاء الذي به أسلوب تحديث أو الخاصية الأصل الخاصة به هذه هي الوظائف المخصصة التي تعتبر فريدة عادةً إلى كائن. إذا كان يتم افتراض أن مواقعها في الجدول v كيف يمكنك البحث عناوين الدالة المطلوبة للاتصال بها ؟

تعتمد الإجابة ، بالطبع، على أم لا تعرف مقدمًا الذي يبدو عليه للكائن v-الجدول. إذا قمت بذلك، يمكنك تنفيذ نفس عملية الربط المبكر إلى أساليب مخصصة الكائن كما فعلت أساليب IUnknown الخاص به. هذا ما بشكل عام تعني بواسطة "المبكر - الارتباط."

لاستخدام الربط المبكر على كائن تحتاج إلى معرفة الذي يبدو عليه v-جدول الخاص به. في Visual Basic، يمكنك القيام بذلك عن طريق إضافة مرجع إلى مكتبة نوع وصف الكائن واجهة الخاصة به (v-الجدول) كافة الوظائف التي يمكن استدعاؤها على الكائن. بمجرد التي تمت يمكنك تعريف كائن أنه نوع معين، ثم تعيين واستخدام هذا الكائن باستخدام جدول v. على سبيل المثال، إذا أردت أتمتة Microsoft Office Excel باستخدام الربط المبكر بإضافة مرجع إلى "Microsoft Excel 8.0 كائن مكتبة" من مربع الحوار Project|References ، ثم تقوم بتعريف متغير أنه من النوع "Excel.Application." من ثم فصاعداً كافة المكالمات التي تم إجراؤها على متغير كائن قد يكون المبكر منضم:
' Set reference to 'Microsoft Excel 8.0 Object Library' in' the Project|References dialog (or Tools|References for VB4 or VBA).' Declare the object as an early-bound object  Dim oExcel As Excel.Application  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")' The Visible property is called via the v-table  oExcel.Visible = True				
هذه الطريقة جيدة معظم الوقت لكن ماذا يحدث إذا كنت لا تعرف بالضبط الكائن التي ستستخدم في وقت التصميم ؟ على سبيل المثال، ماذا يحدث إذا كانت تحتاج إلى التحدث إلى إصدارات متعددة من Excel أو ربما إلى كائن "غير معروف" تمامًا ؟

الربط المتأخر

يتضمن COM IDispatch. الكائنات التي تقوم بتنفيذ IDispatch بأنها dispinterface (إذا كان واجهة فقط أنها تعتمد) أو واجهة مزدوجة (إذا كان لدى واجهة مخصصة المبكر يمكنك أيضاً ربط). عملاء ربط IDispatch بأنها "المتأخر ربط" لأنه يتم تحديد الخاصية بالضبط أو يتم استدعاء أسلوب في وقت التشغيل باستخدام أساليب IDispatch لتحديد مواقعها. الرجوع إلى المثال دفتر السابقة, اعتبار أنه يتم مثل حاشية سفلية بتوجيهك إلى جدول المحتويات حيث لديك "البحث عن"رقم الصفحة في"قراءة الوقت" بدلاً من الحاجة عليه بالفعل طباعة هناك في النص.

يتم التحكم السحري الواجهة بواسطة وظائف اثنين: GetIDsOfNames ثم استدعاء. أسماء الدالة مخططات الأول (سلاسل) إلى معرّف (يسمى على dispid) الذي يمثل الدالة. بمجرد معرفة لـ الدالة التي تريد الاتصال به يمكنك إجراء مكالمة باستخدام الدالة استدعاء. يسمى هذا الشكل من استدعاء الأسلوب "الارتباط المتأخر."

مرة أخرى، في Visual Basic طريقة تحديد كيفية ربط الكائن بواسطة تعريف الكائن. إذا قمت بتعريف متغير كائن كـ "كائن" التي هي ، في الواقع، يطلب Visual Basic لاستخدام IDispatch ، ويتم وبالتالي الربط المتأخر:
' No reference to a type library is needed to use late binding.' As long as the object supports IDispatch, the method can ' be dynamically located and invoked at run-time.' Declare the object as a late-bound object  Dim oExcel As Object  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")' The Visible property is called via IDispatch  oExcel.Visible = True				
كما يمكنك مشاهدة باقي التعليمات البرمجية هو نفسه. الاختلاف الوحيد بين الربط المبكر "و" الربط المتأخر (يتعلق رمز الكتابة) في تعريف متغير.

من المهم ملاحظة أن ما "المتأخر منضمة" يتم الآن استدعاء دالة وليس على الطريقة الذي كان عليه سابقاً. يجب أن تلاحظ من المناقشة السابقة على الربط بشكل عام ذلك IDispatch نفسه "المنضم المبكر:" هذا هو قل إلى يجعل ذلك Visual Basic استدعاء تعيين الخاصية المرئية من خلال إدخال جدول V (IDispatch::Invoke) كما أنه أي استدعاء COM. كائن COM نفسه مسؤولةً عن إعادة توجيه استدعاء الدالة الصحيح لجعل Excel مرئية. يسمح هذا indirection العميل Visual Basic أن يتم تحويلها برمجياً (مرتبط ، عنوان دالة صالح) ولكن لا يزال لا تعرف بالضبط الدالة فعلياً سيفعله العمل.

ربط Dispid

أتمتة بعض العملاء (الأكثر noticeably MFC و 3.0 Visual Basic لكن أيضاً Visual Basic 6.0 "و" 5.0 مع مراعاة على عناصر تحكم ActiveX) استخدام نموذج مختلط من وقت متأخر الربط استدعاء الربط dispid. إذا تعرف كائن COM في وقت التصميم يمكن المخزنة مؤقتاً dispids الدالات التي تسمى وإعادة تمرير مباشرة إلى IDispatch::Invoke دون الحاجة إلى الاتصال GetIDsOfNames في وقت التشغيل. هذا يمكن بشكل كبير زيادة أداء لأن بدلاً من إجراء مكالمات COM اثنين لكل دالة ، تحتاج فقط إلى جعل أحد.

توثيق Dispid غير خياراً يمكنك اختيار بشكل عادي في Visual Basic 5.0 أو 6.0. يستخدم للكائنات التي تتم الإشارة إليها في مكتبة الأنواع ولكن لا تحتوي على واجهة مخصصة (أي، عن الكائنات التي تحتوي على dispinterface) للحصول على تجميع عناصر تحكم ActiveX ولكن ، يستخدم بشكل عام، Visual Basic الربط المبكر أي مكان ستستخدم عادةً الربط dispid.

شكل ربط ينبغي استخدامها؟

تعتمد إجابة هذا السؤال قدر في تصميم المشروع كـ أي شيء آخر. توصي Microsoft الربط المبكر في تقريباً كافة الحالات. ومع ذلك، قد يكون هناك أسباب اختيار الربط المتأخر.

الربط المبكر هو الأسلوب المفضل. يكون ذلك performer أفضل بسبب بربط التطبيق الخاص بك مباشرةً إلى عنوان يتم استدعاء دالة ولا يوجد أي مقدار حمل إضافي في إجراء بحث وقت التشغيل. من حيث سرعة التنفيذ الكلي وهو الأقل مرتين كما السريع كـ الربط المتأخر.

الربط المبكر كما يوفر أمان نوع. عند وجود مرجع تعيين إلى مكتبة النوع المكوّن Visual Basic توفير الدعم IntelliSense لمساعدتك في التعليمات البرمجية كل دالة بشكل صحيح. Visual Basic أيضاً يحذرك إذا كان نوع البيانات من معلمة أو قيمة الإرجاع غير صحيح، حفظ كثير من الوقت عند كتابة تصحيح التعليمات البرمجية.

الربط المتأخر مفيد لا تزال في الحالات حيث واجهة بالضبط من كائن غير معروف في وقت التصميم. إذا كان التطبيق الخاص بك seeks إلى التحدث مع عدة ملقمات غير معروف أو يحتاج إلى استدعاء وظائف حسب الاسم (باستخدام دالة Visual Basic 6.0 CallByName على سبيل المثال) ثم تحتاج إلى استخدام الربط المتأخر. أيضاً يفيد الربط المتأخر للتعامل مع مشاكل التوافق بين إصدارات متعددة من مكون تعديل أو الشامل، واجهة الخاصة به بين الإصدارات تم ضبطه ليناسب بشكل غير صحيح.

مزايا المعطى الربط المبكر جعله أفضل اختيار كلما أمكن ذلك.

الحفاظ على التوافق في إصدارات متعددة

إذا كنت ستقوم باستخدام مكون إعادة توزيع من الحزمة الإعداد كما لا يمكن التأكد من الإصدار الصحيح الذي سوف يكون الاتصال في وقت التشغيل "، يجب أن يجب الاهتمام خاصة الربط المبكر إلى واجهة متوافقة مع كافة الإصدارات المكون أو (في بعض الحالات) استخدام الربط المتأخر استدعاء أسلوب التي قد موجودة في إصدار معين تفشل بأمان في حالة عدم وجود هذه الطريقة في الإصدار المثبت على نظام العميل.

توفر تطبيقات Microsoft Office مثال جيد ملقمات COM. يتم عادةً توسيع تطبيقات Office الواجهات الخاصة بهم إلى إضافة وظائف جديدة أو shortcomings السابقة الصحيح بين الإصدارات. إذا كنت تحتاج لتنفيذ أحد تطبيقات Office من المستحسن أن المبكر ربط إصدار أقدم من المنتج التي تتوقعها قد تكون مثبتة على النظام الخاص بك العميل. على سبيل المثال، إذا أردت أن تكون قادراً على أتمتة Excel 95 و Excel 97 وExcel 2000 و Excel 2002 يجب عليك استخدام مكتبة النوع لـ Excel 95 (XL5en32.olb) للحفاظ على التوافق مع كافة الإصدارات الثلاثة.

توضح تطبيقات Office أيضاً يمكن لموفر خدمة إنترنت (طرازات كائن بواجهات ثنائي كبير) تعاني قيود في التنظيم على بعض الأنظمة الأساسية. للحصول على التعليمات البرمجية الخاصة بك للعمل بشكل أفضل عبر كافة الأنظمة الأساسية استخدم IDispatch. للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول الحفاظ على التوافق عند العمل مع Office التطبيقات، انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
247579استخدام الربط DISPID لأتمتة تطبيقات Office كلما أمكن ذلك
مراجع
لمزيد من المعلومات حول COM v-الجداول واستخدام التنفيذ التلقائي، الرجاء مراجعة الكتب التالية:
Rogerson ميرفت ، ISBN داخل COM ، MSPRESS ،: 1-57231-349-8.

Curland ، DevelopMentor بيرني متقدمة Visual Basic 6 ، 0201707128.
off2003 off2007

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

خصائص

رقم الموضوع: 245115 - آخر مراجعة: 05/11/2007 16:31:03 - المراجعة: 7.2

Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007, Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007, Microsoft Office Professional 2007, Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2007, Microsoft Office Standard 2007, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007, Microsoft Office Basic 2007, Microsoft Office 2003, All Editions, Microsoft Office XP Developer Edition, Microsoft Office 2000 Developer Edition, Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 Professional Edition, Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 Professional Edition, Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Visual Basic Enterprise Edition for Windows 6.0

  • kbmt kbautomation kbinfo KB245115 KbMtar
تعليقات
endChild(m);

Article ID: 245115 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q245115
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

How you bind to an Automation server can affect many things in your program, such as performance, flexibility, and maintainability.

This article explains the types of binding available to Automation clients, and weighs both sides of each method.

MORE INFORMATION

Automation is a process where one software component communicates with and/or controls another software component using Microsoft's Component Object Model (COM). It is the basis for most cross-component communication used in languages such as Visual Basic or Visual Basic for Applications, and has become a normal part of most programs.

Historically, an Automation object is any object that supports the IDispatch interface. This interface allows clients to call methods and properties at run time without having to know the exact object they are communicating with at design time; a process called late binding. Today, however, the term Automation object can be applied to virtually any COM object, even those that do not support IDispatch (and therefore cannot be late bound). This article assumes the object you are Automating supports both binding methods.

What is binding?

Binding is a process of matching function calls written by the programmer to the actual code (internal or external) that implements the function. It is done when the application is compiled, and all functions called in code must be bound before the code can be executed.

To understand the process, think of "binding" in terms of publishing a book. Imagine your code is like the text of the book where in a certain paragraph you have written something like "see chapter 12, page x for more details." You don't know what the page number is until the book is finished, so before the paragraph can be read as intended, all the pages of the book must be bound together and the correct page number inserted into the paragraph. You wait for the book to be "bound" before you can reference other parts of the book.

Binding software is similar. Your code is made up of parts that need to be pulled together before the code can be "read." Binding is the act of replacing function names with memory addresses (or memory offsets, to be more precise) where the code will "jump to" when the function is called. For COM objects, the address is a memory offset in a table of pointers (called the v-table) held by the object. When a COM function is bound, it is bound through the v-table.

The structure of a COM object is simple. When your code holds a reference to an object, it holds an indirect pointer to the top of the v-table. The v-table is an array of memory addresses where each entry is a different function that can be called on that object. To call the third function on a COM object, you jump down three entries in the table and then jump to the memory location given there. That executes the code for the function and, when complete, returns you back ready to execute the next line of code.

+-[Code]------------+  +.................................[COM Object]...+
|                   |  : +-------------+                                :
|Set obj = Nothing -|--->| obj pointer |                                :
|                   |  : +-|-----------+                                :
+-------------------+  :   |   +-----------------+                      :
                       :   +-->| v-table pointer |                      :
                       :       +--|--------------+                      :
                       :          |                                     :
                       :          |  +----------------------------+     :
                       :  (3rd)   |  | Function 1 Address pointer |     :
                       : (Offset) |  +----------------------------+     :
                       :          |  | Function 2 Address pointer |     :
                       :          |  +----------------------------+     :
                       :          +->| Function 3 Address pointer |     :
                       :             +----------------------------+     :
                       +................................................+

				
The example above shows what happens when releasing a COM object. Because all COM objects inherit from IUnknown, the first three entries in the table are the methods to IUnknown. When you need to free an object, your code calls the third function in the v-table (IUnknown::Release).

Fortunately, this work is done by Visual Basic behind the scenes. As a Visual Basic programmer, you never have to deal with a v-table directly. But, this structure is how all COM objects are bound, and it is important that you are familiar with it to understand what binding is.

Early binding

The example above is what is known as early (or v-table) binding. For all COM objects, this form of binding takes place whenever a COM object's IUnknown interface is called. But what about the other functions of the object? How do you call its Refresh method or its Parent property? These are custom functions that are typically unique to an object. If their locations in the v-table cannot be assumed, how do you find the function addresses needed to call them?

The answer, of course, depends on whether or not you know in advance what the object's v-table looks like. If you do, you can perform the same early-binding process to the object's custom methods as you did to its IUnknown methods. This is what is generally meant by "early-binding."

To use early binding on an object, you need to know what its v-table looks like. In Visual Basic, you can do this by adding a reference to a type library that describes the object, its interface (v-table), and all the functions that can be called on the object. Once that is done, you can declare an object as being a certain type, then set and use that object using the v-table. For example, if you wanted to Automate Microsoft Office Excel using early binding, you would add a reference to the "Microsoft Excel 8.0 Object Library" from the Project|References dialog, and then declare your variable as being of the type "Excel.Application." From then on, all calls made to your object variable would be early bound:
' Set reference to 'Microsoft Excel 8.0 Object Library' in
' the Project|References dialog (or Tools|References for VB4 or VBA).

' Declare the object as an early-bound object
  Dim oExcel As Excel.Application

  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

' The Visible property is called via the v-table
  oExcel.Visible = True
				
This method works great most of the time, but what if you don't know the exact object you will be using at design time? For example, what if you need to talk to multiple versions of Excel, or possibly to an "unknown" object altogether?

Late binding

COM includes IDispatch. Objects that implement IDispatch are said to have a dispinterface (if it is the only interface they support) or dual interface (if they also have a custom interface that you can early bind to). Clients that bind to IDispatch are said to be "late bound" because the exact property or method they are calling is determined at run time using the methods of IDispatch to locate them. Going back to the book example earlier, think of it as being like a footnote that directs you to the table of contents where you have to "look up" the page number at "read time" rather than having it already printed there in the text.

The magic of the interface is controlled by two functions: GetIDsOfNames and Invoke. The first maps function names (strings) to an identifier (called a dispid) that represents the function. Once you know the ID for the function you want to call, you can call it using the Invoke function. This form of method invocation is called "late binding."

Again, in Visual Basic the way you specify how the object is bound is by your object declaration. If you declare an object variable as "Object" you are, in fact, telling Visual Basic to use IDispatch, and are therefore late binding:
' No reference to a type library is needed to use late binding.
' As long as the object supports IDispatch, the method can 
' be dynamically located and invoked at run-time.

' Declare the object as a late-bound object
  Dim oExcel As Object

  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

' The Visible property is called via IDispatch
  oExcel.Visible = True
				
As you can see, the rest of your code is the same. The only difference between early binding and late binding (in terms of the code you write) is in the variable declaration.

It is important to note that what is "late bound" is the function being called and not the way it is called. From the earlier discussion on binding in general, you should notice that IDispatch itself is "early bound:" that is to say that Visual Basic makes the call to set the Visible property through a v-table entry (IDispatch::Invoke) as it would any COM call. The COM object itself is responsible for forwarding the call to the correct function to make Excel visible. This indirection allows the Visual Basic client to be compiled (that is, bound to a valid function address) but still not know the exact function that will actually do the work.

Dispid binding

Some Automation clients (most noticeably MFC and Visual Basic 3.0, but also Visual Basic 5.0 and 6.0 with respect to ActiveX Controls) use a hybrid form of late binding called dispid binding. If the COM object is known at design time, the dispids for the functions that are called can be cached and passed directly to IDispatch::Invoke without the need to call GetIDsOfNames at run time. This can greatly increase performance, because instead of making two COM calls per function, you only need to make one.

Dispid binding is not an option you can normally choose in Visual Basic 5.0 or 6.0. It is used for objects that are referenced in a type library but do not contain a custom interface (that is, for objects that have a dispinterface only) and for aggregated ActiveX Controls but, in general, Visual Basic uses early binding any place you would normally use dispid binding.

Which form of binding should I use?

The answer to this question depends as much on the design of your project as anything else. Microsoft recommends early binding in almost all cases. However, there may be reasons for choosing late binding.

Early binding is the preferred method. It is the best performer because your application binds directly to the address of the function being called and there is no extra overhead in doing a run-time lookup. In terms of overall execution speed, it is at least twice as fast as late binding.

Early binding also provides type safety. When you have a reference set to the component's type library, Visual Basic provides IntelliSense support to help you code each function correctly. Visual Basic also warns you if the data type of a parameter or return value is incorrect, saving a lot of time when writing and debugging code.

Late binding is still useful in situations where the exact interface of an object is not known at design-time. If your application seeks to talk with multiple unknown servers or needs to invoke functions by name (using the Visual Basic 6.0 CallByName function for example) then you need to use late binding. Late binding is also useful to work around compatibility problems between multiple versions of a component that has improperly modified or adapted its interface between versions.

The advantages given to early binding make it the best choice whenever possible.

Maintaining compatibility across multiple versions

If you will be using a component that you do not redistribute with your setup package, and cannot be assured of the exact version you will be communicating with at run-time, you should pay special attention to early bind to an interface that is compatible with all versions of the component, or (in some cases) use late binding to call a method that may exist in a particular version and fail gracefully if that method is not present in the version installed on the client system.

Microsoft Office applications provide a good example of such COM servers. Office applications will typically expand their interfaces to add new functionality or correct previous shortcomings between versions. If you need to automate an Office application, it is recommended that you early bind to the earliest version of the product that you expect could be installed on your client's system. For example, if you need to be able to automate Excel 95, Excel 97, Excel 2000, and Excel 2002, you should use the type library for Excel 95 (XL5en32.olb) to maintain compatibility with all three versions.

Office applications also demonstrate that object models with large dual interfaces can suffer limitations in marshalling on some platforms. For your code to work best across all platforms, use IDispatch. For more information on maintaining compatibility when working with Office applications, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
247579 Use DISPID binding to automate Office applications whenever possible

REFERENCES

For more information about COM, v-tables, and using Automation, please see the following books:
Rogerson, Dale, Inside COM, MSPRESS, ISBN: 1-57231-349-8.

Curland, Matt, Advanced Visual Basic 6, DevelopMentor, 0201707128.

Properties

Article ID: 245115 - Last Review: May 11, 2007 - Revision: 7.2
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007
  • Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007
  • Microsoft Office Professional 2007
  • Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2007
  • Microsoft Office Standard 2007
  • Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007
  • Microsoft Office Basic 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003, All Editions
  • Microsoft Office XP Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Office 2000 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 Enterprise Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic Enterprise Edition for Windows 6.0
Keywords: 
kbautomation kbinfo KB245115

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com