在自动化中使用早期绑定和后期绑定

针对 Office 2003 的支持已终止

Microsoft 已于 2014 年 4 月 8 日终止了针对 Office 2003 的支持。该更改已影响到您的软件更新和安全选项。 了解这一措施对于您的含义以及如何继续保持受保护状态。

概要
绑定到自动化服务器的方式会影响程序的许多方面,例如性能、灵活性和可维护性。

本文介绍可用于自动化客户端的绑定类型并评价每种方法的利弊。
更多信息
自动化是一个软件组件使用 Microsoft 的组件对象模型 (COM) 与另一个软件组件进行通信或控制另一个软件组件的过程。自动化是在类似 Visual Basic 或 Visual Basic for Applications 这样的语言中使用的大多数跨组件通信的基础,并且已经成为了大多数程序的标准组成部分。

在历史上,自动化对象可以是支持 IDispatch 接口的任何对象。此接口允许客户端在运行时调用方法和属性,而无需在设计时知道要与之通信的确切对象;这个过程称作后期绑定。但是,现在自动化对象这个词几乎可以应用于任何 COM 对象,甚至可以应用于那些不支持 IDispatch(因此无法进行后期绑定)的对象。本文假定要自动化的对象同时支持两种绑定方法。

什么是绑定?

绑定是一个将程序员编写的函数调用与实现该函数的实际代码(内部或外部代码)进行匹配的过程。这个过程是在编译应用程序时完成的,而且在可以执行代码之前必须对代码中调用的所有函数进行绑定。

为了理解这一过程,可以将“绑定”看作是出版一本书。请将您的代码想像成书中的文字,在其中的某个段落中,您写下了“有关更多详细信息,请参见第 12 章的第 x 页”这样的句子。在书稿完成之前,您不知道具体的页号,因此,可以在按照设想阅读段落之前,书中的所有页都必须装订在一起并且在该段落中插入正确的页号。在可以引用书中其他部分之前,需要等待书“装订”完毕。

绑定软件的过程与此类似。代码由需要在可以“读取”代码之前组合到一起的各个部分组成。绑定操作是使用内存地址(或更精确的内存偏移量)替换函数名称的过程,在调用函数时代码将“跳转”到这些地址。对于 COM 对象,该地址是由对象保存的指针表(称作向量表)中的一个内存偏移量。在绑定 COM 函数时,将通过向量表来绑定它。

COM 对象的结构十分简单。如果代码持有对某个对象的引用,它便持有了一个指向向量表顶部的间接指针。向量表是一个内存地址数组,其中的每一个条目都对应于可在该对象上调用的一个不同的函数。若要在 COM 对象上调用第三个函数,可以在表中向下跳过三个条目,然后跳到该处给出的内存位置。接下来将执行函数的代码,在执行完毕后会返回并准备执行下一行代码。
+-[代码]------------+  +.................................[COM 对象]...+|                   |  : +-------------+                                :|Set obj = Nothing -|--->| obj 指针 |                                :|                   |  : +-|-----------+                                :+-------------------+  :   |   +-----------------+                      ::   +-->| 向量表指针 |                      :                       :       +--|--------------+                      :                       :          |                                     :                       :          |  +----------------------------+     ::  (第三项)   |  | 函数 1 地址指针 |     :: (偏移量) |  +----------------------------+     ::          |  | 函数 2 地址指针 |     :                       :          |  +----------------------------+     ::          +->| 函数 3 地址指针 |     :                       :             +----------------------------+     :                       +................................................+				
上面的示例显示了在释放 COM 对象时发生的操作。因为所有 COM 对象都继承自 IUnknown,因此表中的前三个条目是 IUnknown 的方法。在需要释放对象时,代码将调用向量表中的第三个函数 (IUnknown::Release)。

幸运的是,此工作由 Visual Basic 在幕后完成。作为 Visual Basic 程序员,您永远不需要直接与向量表打交道。但是,此结构是所有 COM 对象的绑定方式,熟悉它对理解绑定的概念十分重要。

早期绑定

上面的示例介绍了早期(或者向量表)绑定的概念。对于所有 COM 对象,只要调用了 COM 对象的 IUnknown 接口,便会发生这种形式的绑定。但是对于对象的其他函数会怎样呢?如何调用它的 Refresh 方法或其 Parent 属性?这些属于自定义函数,通常是某个对象所特有的。如果无法假定它们在向量表中的位置,如何找出调用它们所需的函数地址?

当然,答案取决于您是否预先知道对象的向量表的形式。如果您知道,那么可以像其 IUnknown 方法一样,对对象的自定义方法执行同样的早期绑定过程。这是“早期绑定”的通常含义。

若要对某个对象使用早期绑定,需要知道其向量表的形式。在 Visual Basic 中,可以通过添加一个对类型库(描述对象、对象的接口(向量表)以及对象中可调用的所有函数)的引用来实现此目的。然后,可以将对象声明为某种特定类型,然后使用向量表设置和使用该对象。例如,如果想要使用早期绑定来自动化 Microsoft Office Excel,应该从“项目|引用”对话框中添加对“Microsoft Excel 8.0 对象库”的引用,然后将变量声明为“Excel.Application”类型。此后,对该对象变量的所有调用都将是早期绑定的:
' Set reference to 'Microsoft Excel 8.0 Object Library' in' the Project|References dialog (or Tools|References for VB4 or VBA).' Declare the object as an early-bound object  Dim oExcel As Excel.Application  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")' The Visible property is called via the v-table  oExcel.Visible = True				
这种方法在大多数时间都工作良好,但是如果您在设计时不知道将要使用的具体对象应该怎么办?例如,如果您需要操作多个版本的 Excel,或者可能需要操作某个完全“未知”的对象,这时应如何处理?

后期绑定

COM 包括 IDispatch。实现 IDispatch 的对象可以说具有调度接口(如果该接口是它们支持的唯一接口)或双接口(如果它们还具有可早期绑定的自定义接口)。绑定到 IDispatch 的客户端可以说是“后期绑定的”,因为它们调用的具体属性或方法是在运行时使用 IDispatch 的方法来定位和确定的。让我们回到前面的那个出版书的例子,将它想像为可将您引导到目录的一个脚注,您可以在“阅读时”在目录中查找页号,而不是将它预先印刷在文本中。

可通过两个函数控制接口的神奇力量:GetIDsOfNames 和 Invoke。第一个函数将函数名(字符串)映射到表示该函数的一个标识符(称作 dispid)。在知道了要调用的函数的 ID 之后,可以使用 Invoke 函数调用它。这种形式的方法调用称作“后期绑定”。

在 Visual Basic 中,仍旧是通过对象声明来指定对象的绑定方式。如果将对象变量声明为“Object”,实际上,您是在告诉 Visual Basic 使用 IDispatch,因此属于后期绑定:
' No reference to a type library is needed to use late binding.' As long as the object supports IDispatch, the method can ' be dynamically located and invoked at run-time.' Declare the object as a late-bound object  Dim oExcel As Object  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")' The Visible property is called via IDispatch  oExcel.Visible = True				
如同您看到的,代码的其余部分是相同的。早期绑定和后期绑定之间的唯一差别(在编写的代码方面)是变量的声明方式。

进行“后期绑定”的是要调用的函数而不是函数的调用方式,注意到这一点十分重要。通过前面对绑定的大致讨论,您应该注意到 IDispatch 本身属于“早期绑定”:也就是说,Visual Basic 通过向量表条目 (IDispatch::Invoke) 来进行调用以设置 Visible 属性,就如同对任何 COM 调用一样。COM 对象本身负责将调用转发给正确的函数以便使 Excel 可见。这种间接性使得 Visual Basic 客户端在编译时(即在绑定到某个有效函数地址时)无需知道实际执行工作的具体函数。

Dispid 绑定

一些自动化客户端(最明显的是 MFC 和 Visual Basic 3.0,还有 Visual Basic 5.0 和 6.0 的 ActiveX 控件)使用后期绑定的一种混合形式(称作 dispid 绑定)。如果 COM 对象在设计时是已知的,所调用函数的 dispid 可以进行缓存并直接传递给 IDispatch::Invoke,而无需在运行时调用 GetIDsOfNames。这样可极大地提高程序的性能,因为不必对每个函数进行两次 COM 调用,只需调用一次即可。

正常情况下,在 Visual Basic 5.0 或 6.0 中不应选择使用 Dispid 绑定。它可用于在类型库中进行了引用但是不包含自定义接口的对象(即,用于只具有调度接口的对象),并且可用于聚合的 ActiveX 控件,但是通常情况下,Visual Basic 会在本可以正常使用 dispid 绑定的任何地方使用早期绑定。

我应使用哪一种绑定形式?

与其他问题一样,这个问题的答案很大程度上取决于项目的设计。Microsoft 建议在几乎所有情况下都使用早期绑定。但是,也有一些选择使用后期绑定的理由。

早期绑定是首选方法。它具有最佳的性能,因为应用程序直接绑定到待调用函数的地址,并且不会因执行运行时查找而产生任何额外的开销。在整体执行速度方面,它至少比后期绑定快两倍。

此外,早期绑定还可提供类型安全性。如果引用了组件的类型库,Visual Basic 会提供 IntelliSense 支持,帮助您正确编码每个函数。如果参数或返回值的数据类型有误,Visual Basic 还会发出警告,在编写和调试代码时可节省大量时间。

对于在设计时不知道对象的具体接口的情况,后期绑定依然十分有用。如果应用程序需要操作多个未知服务器或者需要按名称调用函数(例如,使用 Visual Basic 6.0 的 CallByName 函数),那么便需要使用后期绑定。此外,对于组件的多个版本不正确地修改或改编其接口的情况,后期绑定还有助于解决多个版本的兼容性问题。

由于早期绑定具有许多优点,只要可能,早期绑定都是您的最佳选择。

维护多个版本间的兼容性

如果您要使用的某个组件不会随同安装程序包一起再次分发,并且无法肯定将在运行时与之进行通信的确切版本,应该特别注意接口的早期绑定是否兼容组件的所有版本,或者(在某些情况下)使用后期绑定调用可能存在于某个特定版本中的方法,并且当该方法在客户端系统所安装的版本中不存在时对出现的错误妥善进行处理。

Microsoft Office 应用程序提供了上述 COM 服务器的一个很好的例子。通常,Office 应用程序会扩展其接口,添加新功能或纠正先前版本的缺点。如果需要自动化某个 Office 应用程序,建议早期绑定到预计客户端系统中可能安装的最早的产品版本。例如,如果需要自动化 Excel 95、Excel 97、Excel 2000 和 Excel 2002,应使用 Excel 95 的类型库 (XL5en32.olb) 以保持与所有三个版本的兼容性。

此外,Office 应用程序还演示了具有大型双接口的对象模型会受到在某些平台上封送数据方面的限制。为了使代码在所有平台上都能很好地工作,请使用 IDispatch。 有关在使用 Office 应用程序时保持兼容性的更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
247579INFO:尽可能使用 DISPID 绑定来自动化 Office 应用程序
参考
有关 COM、向量表及使用自动化的更多信息,请参阅以下书籍:
Rogerson, Dale, Inside COM, MSPRESS, ISBN:1-57231-349-8.

Curland, Matt, Advanced Visual Basic 6, DevelopMentor, 0201707128.
OFF2003 OFF2007
属性

文章 ID:245115 - 上次审阅时间:11/22/2007 07:51:00 - 修订版本: 7.1

Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007, Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007, Microsoft Office Professional 2007, Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2007, Microsoft Office Standard 2007, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007, Microsoft Office Basic 2007, Microsoft Office Standard Edition 2003, Microsoft Office XP Developer Edition, Microsoft Office 2000 Developer Edition, Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 专业版, Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 专业版, Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 企业版, Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 企业版

  • kbinfo kbautomation KB245115
反馈

Article ID: 245115 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q245115
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

How you bind to an Automation server can affect many things in your program, such as performance, flexibility, and maintainability.

This article explains the types of binding available to Automation clients, and weighs both sides of each method.

MORE INFORMATION

Automation is a process where one software component communicates with and/or controls another software component using Microsoft's Component Object Model (COM). It is the basis for most cross-component communication used in languages such as Visual Basic or Visual Basic for Applications, and has become a normal part of most programs.

Historically, an Automation object is any object that supports the IDispatch interface. This interface allows clients to call methods and properties at run time without having to know the exact object they are communicating with at design time; a process called late binding. Today, however, the term Automation object can be applied to virtually any COM object, even those that do not support IDispatch (and therefore cannot be late bound). This article assumes the object you are Automating supports both binding methods.

What is binding?

Binding is a process of matching function calls written by the programmer to the actual code (internal or external) that implements the function. It is done when the application is compiled, and all functions called in code must be bound before the code can be executed.

To understand the process, think of "binding" in terms of publishing a book. Imagine your code is like the text of the book where in a certain paragraph you have written something like "see chapter 12, page x for more details." You don't know what the page number is until the book is finished, so before the paragraph can be read as intended, all the pages of the book must be bound together and the correct page number inserted into the paragraph. You wait for the book to be "bound" before you can reference other parts of the book.

Binding software is similar. Your code is made up of parts that need to be pulled together before the code can be "read." Binding is the act of replacing function names with memory addresses (or memory offsets, to be more precise) where the code will "jump to" when the function is called. For COM objects, the address is a memory offset in a table of pointers (called the v-table) held by the object. When a COM function is bound, it is bound through the v-table.

The structure of a COM object is simple. When your code holds a reference to an object, it holds an indirect pointer to the top of the v-table. The v-table is an array of memory addresses where each entry is a different function that can be called on that object. To call the third function on a COM object, you jump down three entries in the table and then jump to the memory location given there. That executes the code for the function and, when complete, returns you back ready to execute the next line of code.

+-[Code]------------+  +.................................[COM Object]...+
|                   |  : +-------------+                                :
|Set obj = Nothing -|--->| obj pointer |                                :
|                   |  : +-|-----------+                                :
+-------------------+  :   |   +-----------------+                      :
                       :   +-->| v-table pointer |                      :
                       :       +--|--------------+                      :
                       :          |                                     :
                       :          |  +----------------------------+     :
                       :  (3rd)   |  | Function 1 Address pointer |     :
                       : (Offset) |  +----------------------------+     :
                       :          |  | Function 2 Address pointer |     :
                       :          |  +----------------------------+     :
                       :          +->| Function 3 Address pointer |     :
                       :             +----------------------------+     :
                       +................................................+

				
The example above shows what happens when releasing a COM object. Because all COM objects inherit from IUnknown, the first three entries in the table are the methods to IUnknown. When you need to free an object, your code calls the third function in the v-table (IUnknown::Release).

Fortunately, this work is done by Visual Basic behind the scenes. As a Visual Basic programmer, you never have to deal with a v-table directly. But, this structure is how all COM objects are bound, and it is important that you are familiar with it to understand what binding is.

Early binding

The example above is what is known as early (or v-table) binding. For all COM objects, this form of binding takes place whenever a COM object's IUnknown interface is called. But what about the other functions of the object? How do you call its Refresh method or its Parent property? These are custom functions that are typically unique to an object. If their locations in the v-table cannot be assumed, how do you find the function addresses needed to call them?

The answer, of course, depends on whether or not you know in advance what the object's v-table looks like. If you do, you can perform the same early-binding process to the object's custom methods as you did to its IUnknown methods. This is what is generally meant by "early-binding."

To use early binding on an object, you need to know what its v-table looks like. In Visual Basic, you can do this by adding a reference to a type library that describes the object, its interface (v-table), and all the functions that can be called on the object. Once that is done, you can declare an object as being a certain type, then set and use that object using the v-table. For example, if you wanted to Automate Microsoft Office Excel using early binding, you would add a reference to the "Microsoft Excel 8.0 Object Library" from the Project|References dialog, and then declare your variable as being of the type "Excel.Application." From then on, all calls made to your object variable would be early bound:
' Set reference to 'Microsoft Excel 8.0 Object Library' in
' the Project|References dialog (or Tools|References for VB4 or VBA).

' Declare the object as an early-bound object
  Dim oExcel As Excel.Application

  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

' The Visible property is called via the v-table
  oExcel.Visible = True
				
This method works great most of the time, but what if you don't know the exact object you will be using at design time? For example, what if you need to talk to multiple versions of Excel, or possibly to an "unknown" object altogether?

Late binding

COM includes IDispatch. Objects that implement IDispatch are said to have a dispinterface (if it is the only interface they support) or dual interface (if they also have a custom interface that you can early bind to). Clients that bind to IDispatch are said to be "late bound" because the exact property or method they are calling is determined at run time using the methods of IDispatch to locate them. Going back to the book example earlier, think of it as being like a footnote that directs you to the table of contents where you have to "look up" the page number at "read time" rather than having it already printed there in the text.

The magic of the interface is controlled by two functions: GetIDsOfNames and Invoke. The first maps function names (strings) to an identifier (called a dispid) that represents the function. Once you know the ID for the function you want to call, you can call it using the Invoke function. This form of method invocation is called "late binding."

Again, in Visual Basic the way you specify how the object is bound is by your object declaration. If you declare an object variable as "Object" you are, in fact, telling Visual Basic to use IDispatch, and are therefore late binding:
' No reference to a type library is needed to use late binding.
' As long as the object supports IDispatch, the method can 
' be dynamically located and invoked at run-time.

' Declare the object as a late-bound object
  Dim oExcel As Object

  Set oExcel = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

' The Visible property is called via IDispatch
  oExcel.Visible = True
				
As you can see, the rest of your code is the same. The only difference between early binding and late binding (in terms of the code you write) is in the variable declaration.

It is important to note that what is "late bound" is the function being called and not the way it is called. From the earlier discussion on binding in general, you should notice that IDispatch itself is "early bound:" that is to say that Visual Basic makes the call to set the Visible property through a v-table entry (IDispatch::Invoke) as it would any COM call. The COM object itself is responsible for forwarding the call to the correct function to make Excel visible. This indirection allows the Visual Basic client to be compiled (that is, bound to a valid function address) but still not know the exact function that will actually do the work.

Dispid binding

Some Automation clients (most noticeably MFC and Visual Basic 3.0, but also Visual Basic 5.0 and 6.0 with respect to ActiveX Controls) use a hybrid form of late binding called dispid binding. If the COM object is known at design time, the dispids for the functions that are called can be cached and passed directly to IDispatch::Invoke without the need to call GetIDsOfNames at run time. This can greatly increase performance, because instead of making two COM calls per function, you only need to make one.

Dispid binding is not an option you can normally choose in Visual Basic 5.0 or 6.0. It is used for objects that are referenced in a type library but do not contain a custom interface (that is, for objects that have a dispinterface only) and for aggregated ActiveX Controls but, in general, Visual Basic uses early binding any place you would normally use dispid binding.

Which form of binding should I use?

The answer to this question depends as much on the design of your project as anything else. Microsoft recommends early binding in almost all cases. However, there may be reasons for choosing late binding.

Early binding is the preferred method. It is the best performer because your application binds directly to the address of the function being called and there is no extra overhead in doing a run-time lookup. In terms of overall execution speed, it is at least twice as fast as late binding.

Early binding also provides type safety. When you have a reference set to the component's type library, Visual Basic provides IntelliSense support to help you code each function correctly. Visual Basic also warns you if the data type of a parameter or return value is incorrect, saving a lot of time when writing and debugging code.

Late binding is still useful in situations where the exact interface of an object is not known at design-time. If your application seeks to talk with multiple unknown servers or needs to invoke functions by name (using the Visual Basic 6.0 CallByName function for example) then you need to use late binding. Late binding is also useful to work around compatibility problems between multiple versions of a component that has improperly modified or adapted its interface between versions.

The advantages given to early binding make it the best choice whenever possible.

Maintaining compatibility across multiple versions

If you will be using a component that you do not redistribute with your setup package, and cannot be assured of the exact version you will be communicating with at run-time, you should pay special attention to early bind to an interface that is compatible with all versions of the component, or (in some cases) use late binding to call a method that may exist in a particular version and fail gracefully if that method is not present in the version installed on the client system.

Microsoft Office applications provide a good example of such COM servers. Office applications will typically expand their interfaces to add new functionality or correct previous shortcomings between versions. If you need to automate an Office application, it is recommended that you early bind to the earliest version of the product that you expect could be installed on your client's system. For example, if you need to be able to automate Excel 95, Excel 97, Excel 2000, and Excel 2002, you should use the type library for Excel 95 (XL5en32.olb) to maintain compatibility with all three versions.

Office applications also demonstrate that object models with large dual interfaces can suffer limitations in marshalling on some platforms. For your code to work best across all platforms, use IDispatch. For more information on maintaining compatibility when working with Office applications, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
247579 Use DISPID binding to automate Office applications whenever possible

REFERENCES

For more information about COM, v-tables, and using Automation, please see the following books:
Rogerson, Dale, Inside COM, MSPRESS, ISBN: 1-57231-349-8.

Curland, Matt, Advanced Visual Basic 6, DevelopMentor, 0201707128.

Properties

Article ID: 245115 - Last Review: May 11, 2007 - Revision: 7.2
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007
  • Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007
  • Microsoft Office Professional 2007
  • Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2007
  • Microsoft Office Standard 2007
  • Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007
  • Microsoft Office Basic 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003, All Editions
  • Microsoft Office XP Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Office 2000 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 Enterprise Edition
  • Microsoft Visual Basic Enterprise Edition for Windows 6.0
Keywords: 
kbautomation kbinfo KB245115

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com