إرشادات الدعم لتطوير العميل إرسال الرسائل

انتهاء دعم Office 2003

لقد أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم Office 2003 في 8 أبريل، 2014. وقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

هام: تمت ترجمة هذا المقال باستخدام برنامج ترجمة آلية لشركة مايكروسوفت بدلاً من الاستعانة بمترجم بشري. تقدم شركة مايكروسوفت كلاً من المقالات المترجمة بواسطة المترجمين البشر والمقالات المترجمة آليًا وبالتالي ستتمكن من الوصول إلى كل المقالات الموجودة في قاعدة المعرفة الخاصة بنا وباللغة الخاصة بك. بالرغم من ذلك، فإن المقالة المترجمة آليًا لا تكون دقيقة دائمًا وقد تحتوي على أخطاء إملائية أو لغوية أو نحوية، مثل تلك الأخطاء الصادرة عن متحدث أجنبي عندما يتحدث بلغتك. لا تتحمل شركة مايكروسوفت مسئولية عدم الدقة أو الأخطاء أو الضرر الناتج عن أية أخطاء في ترجمة المحتوى أو استخدامه من قبل عملائنا. تعمل شركة مايكروسوفت باستمرار على ترقية برنامج الترجمة الآلية

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية266353
تمت أرشفة هذه المقالة. وتظهر "كما هي" ولن يتم تحديثها بعد الآن.
مقدمة حول
توضح هذه المقالة ما يتم اعتماد ما غير معتمد عند تطوير حلول مخصصة للتكامل مع تقنيات Microsoft أو المستندة إلى Microsoft المنتجات المراسلة. تحتوي هذه المقالة أيضًا على معظم المعلومات الأساسية أن تكون على علم عند تطوير مع منتجات Microsoft وتقنيات Microsoft. ومع ذلك، لا يغطي هذا المقال كافة وحدات السيناريو. اتصل بخدمات دعم العملاء في Microsoft إذا كان لديك أية أسئلة حول ما إذا كان اعتماد حل معين.

تتناول هذه المقالة أيضًا تقنيات محدد و وحدات السيناريو المحددة لتوفير دليل لمطوري.
معلومات أخرى
يتم استخدام المصطلح "معتمد" لوصف ما إذا كانت خدمات دعم العملاء في Microsoft أو خدمات Microsoft يساعد عند محاولة تحقيق شيء بطريقة معينة. بشكل عام، يتم استخدام المصطلح أيضاً في سياق ما إذا كان سيتم مجموعة منتجات Microsoft إصلاح مشكلة لسيناريو معطى لها التي من المحتمل أن تكون.

وبسبب المصفوفة كبيرة من المنتجات والتقنيات الإصدارات التي تتطلب اختبار فإننا لا قل التي تم تصميمها كافة وحدات السيناريو أو اختبار. وبالتالي، فإننا نشجعك على استخدام أفضل الممارسات التالية عند تصميم حلول مخصصة:
  • استخدام APIs الموثقة بواسطة Microsoft فقط. تجنب هذا مخاطرة زيادة الذي لن يعمل الحل الخاص بك مع إصدار أحدث من منتج أو مع حزمة خدمة لـ منتج. على سبيل المثال، يمكنك استخدام Microsoft Win32 API لمعالجة إطارات Microsoft Office Outlook. ومع ذلك، لا يتم اعتماد Win32 API. قد تكون بعض الحلول معتمدة ضمن سياق معين API الذي تستخدمه. ومع ذلك، هذه الحلول عادةً غير معتمدة ضمن سياق برنامج Office التطبيق "و" عند إنشاء أحد الحلول مخصصة باستخدام ذلك التطبيق. يمكن استثناء سيناريو الموثق بواسطة Microsoft.
  • تجنب خلط أحدث تقنيات والتقنيات أقدم إذا يمكنك القيام بذلك. خلط أحدث تقنيات والتقنيات القديمة يزيد احتمال وجود لا اختبار السيناريو السيناريو غير معتمد.
  • عند العمل مع تطبيقات Office تطوير الحل باستخدام إصدار أقدم من Office يعمل الحل.

تكامل مع خصائص Outlook

مخزن منتجات Microsoft الأخرى بتخزين البيانات في MAPI مثل ملفات المجلدات الشخصية (.pst) و Microsoft Exchange Server أو Outlook Exchange مخازن علب البريد أو Exchange مخازن المجلدات العمومية. على الرغم من أن بعض هذه البيانات مرئية، المتنوعة بيانات أخرى غير مرئي ولا يتم تخزين لأسباب أخرى.

في بعض الحالات، يوجد المراسلات رأس برأس بين ما تشاهده في Outlook ما يتم تخزينه في قاعدة بيانات MAPI الأساسي. مربع الموضوع الخاص برسالة البريد الإلكتروني مثال عن هذا لأن الخاصية MAPI PR_SUBJECT هذا المربع. في هذه الحالة، predates هذه الخاصية Outlook بسبب استخدام هذه الخاصية بواسطة عملاء البريد الإلكتروني Microsoft السابق. خصائص أخرى أيضاً المراسلات رأس برأس ولكن الخاصة بـ Outlook. على سبيل المثال، يتم تخزين عنوان موقع ويب لجهة الاتصال في MAPI معين يسمى الخاصية.

ملاحظة لمزيد من المعلومات حول الخصائص المسماة في Outlook راجع قسم "معلومات خاصة MAPI للخصائص المسماة".

في بعض الحالات، قد Outlook استخدام عدة خصائص MAPI لتخزين معلومات لغرض معين أو قد يقوم Outlook بتخزين عدة أجزاء من المعلومات في خاصية واحدة. في كل من وحدات السيناريو هذه بشكل متكرر هناك لم وثائق توضح هذه المقالة كيفية تنفيذ هذه الخصائص أو كيفية وهي تعمل.

تغيير خصائص الأساسي برمجياً تتضمن بعض المخاطرة. تتضمن مناطق الرئيسي ما يلي:
  • قد يواجهك سلوك غير متوقع Outlook أو توقف عن الاستجابة عند تغيير بعض الخصائص.
  • قد تحدث مشكلات عند استخدام APIs متعددة إلى تغيير بعض خصائص Outlook بشكل حيوي أثناء تشغيل Outlook.
  • إصدارات مختلفة من Outlook قد تتصل MAPI نفس بتخزين. لذلك، يمكن إضافة التعقيد لأنه قد إصدارات مختلفة من Outlook التفاعل مع الخصائص المرتبطة بطرق مختلفة.
لذلك، لم يتم توثيقها العديد من الخصائص MAPI المستخدمة بواسطة Outlook مستوى MAPI. مخطط MAPI المستخدمة معقد قد وتغيير مع الإصدارات الأحدث MAPI.

لذلك، نوصي تجنب الوصول إلى هذه البيانات ذات المستوى المنخفض مباشرة استخدام API عالية المستوى بدلاً من ذلك، مثل مكتبة كائنات Outlook. وبسبب هذه العوامل بشكل عام لا تدعم Microsoft تشرح كيفية أو لماذا تم تنفيذ الخصائص الأساسية.

من المهم أيضًا للتمييز بين قراءة خصائص والكتابة فوق خصائص. يتم اعتماد قراءة خصائص MAPI برمجياً باستخدام APIs Extended MAPI أو WebDAV أو كائن PropertyAccessor في طراز كائن Microsoft Office Outlook 2007. ومع ذلك، الكتابة إلى هذه الخصائص غير معتمد نتيجة المحتملة مشكلات تلف البيانات أو مشاكل أخرى ذلك MAPI أخرى قد يكون لدى العملاء عند استخدامهم البيانات المعدلة.

معلومات خاصة MAPI الخصائص المسماة

يوفر MAPI إحدى وظائف تسهيل المهام تعيين أسماء خصائص معينة لـ لتعيين أسماء هذه المعرفات الفريدة و لإجراء هذا التعيين دائم. يكتب Outlook عدد الحقول الخاصة بـ Outlook إلى هذه باسم خصائص استخدم معرفات في النطاق FFFE 8000. عادةً ما يكون طراز كائن Microsoft Outlook هو الأسلوب الوحيد المعتمد من تغيير هذه الخصائص المسماة. وعادةً، لا يتم اعتماد تغيير هذه الخصائص باستخدام MAPI أو باستخدام كائنات بيانات التعاون (CDO).

يتم تعريف الخصائص المسماة بواسطة اسم وبواسطة GUID الخاص بمجموعة خصائص. يمكن أن يكون الاسم رقماً أو سلسلة. يتم معالجة هذه الخصائص باستخدام الدالة IMAPIProp::GetIDsFromNames والدالة IMAPIProp::GetNamesFromIDs. يتم تمرير GUID والاسم إلى الدالة GetIDsFromNames الحصول على معرف خاصية غير صالح من أجل جلسة العمل MAPI الحالية. لأنه يمكن أن يختلف معرّف الخاصية هذا من كمبيوتر إلى كمبيوتر, طريقة متناسقة فقط الوصول إلى إحدى خصائص مسماة تعرف مجموعة الخاصية بها واسم.

بشكل عام، يتم استخدام الخصائص المسماة بواسطة عملاء Outlook كطريقة بإضافة معلومات إضافية إلى رسالة المستخدمة فقط من قبل العميل. لذلك، لم يتم توثيقها معظم الخصائص المسماة التي يتم استخدامها من قبل عملاء Outlook. الطريقة الوحيدة المعتمدة للحصول على هذه الخصائص من خلال نموذج كائن Outlook.

يسمى الخصائص التي يستخدمها Outlook الشائعة

يصف الجدول التالي الشائعة المسمى الخصائص التي يتم استخدامها من قبل Outlook.
نوع العنصر (الفئة رسالة)ملخص supportability
رسائل (IPM.Note)تعتبر الرسائل الأصلية MAPI. Outlook المحافظة على بعض الخصائص المسماة على هذه العناصر.
عناصر جهات الاتصال (IPM.Contact)جهات الاتصال غير أصلي MAPI. لأن جهات الاتصال تشبه إدخالات دفتر عناوين ، صحيحة بعض العلامات إدخال عنوان. يتم تسمية معظم خصائص جهة الاتصال الخصائص.
عناصر المهام (IPM.Task)المهام غير أصلي MAPI. يتم تسمية معظم خصائص المهام خصائص.
العناصر الموعد (IPM.Appointment)تكون الأصلي MAPI المواعيد ولكنها الأصلي CDO. يتم تسمية معظم الخصائص الموعد خصائص. يتم عرض بعض الخصائص الموعد خلال الكائن CDO عنصر موعد.
عناصر دفتر اليومية (IPM.Activity)دفاتر اليومية غير أصلي MAPI. يتم تسمية معظم الخصائص اليومية خصائص.
ملاحظة العناصر (IPM.StickyNote)sticky notes غير أصلي MAPI. يتم تسمية معظم الخصائص sticky note خصائص.
بالإضافة إلى الخصائص التي يتم الأصلي MAPI معتمدة حقول معرّفة من قبل المستخدم على نماذج Outlook المخصصة خلال MAPI خلال CDO ، خلال WebDAV و خلال نموذج كائن Outlook. استخدم هذه الحقول PS_PUBLIC_STRINGS تعيين الخاصية كخاصية معرف "و" اسم الحقل كـ اسم الخاصية. للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول سيناريوهات supportability للحصول على البيانات التي تستند إلى WebDAV بالإضافة إلى البيانات المستندة إلى MAPI انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
920134دعم متوفرة للتطبيقات التي تستخدم بروتوكول WebDAV الوصول إلى Exchange 2000 Server أو Exchange Server 2003
توفر API تكامل Outlook وثائق إضافية لتكامل مع Outlook في وحدات السيناريو المحددة. لعرض هذه الوثائق قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب: بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم توثيق لـ Outlook 2007 المعلومات التالية ثم جدولة لتضمينها في API تكامل Outlook في وقت لاحق. لمزيد من المعلومات، انقر فوق أرقام المقالات التالية لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
919198الدعم على المستندة إلى إعلام الفهرسة لموفري مخزن في Outlook 2007
919199كيفية استخدام API IAttachmentSecurity للتحقق ما إذا كان يعتبر أحد مرفقات المحظورة في Outlook
لمزيد من المعلومات، قم بزيارة مواقع Microsoft التالية على الويب:
برنامج Outlook 2007 وثائق- المرفقات المحظورة
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2006/05/09/593585.aspx

برنامج Outlook 2007 وثائق- إعلام إلى دعم الفهرسة
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2006/05/10/594641.aspx

Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 Service Pack 1 (SP1) أو الإصدارات الأحدث

لمزيد من المعلومات، انقر فوق أرقام المقالات التالية لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
912239كيفية استخدام الخاصية MAPI dispidHeaderItem لتعريف حالة الرسالة التي تظهر في برنامج Outlook 2003
912238كيفية استخدام MAPI بإدارة رسائل في ملف .pst عند استخدام Outlook 2003 إلى تنزيل الرسائل من ملقم IMAP
912237كيفية استخدام الخصائص المسماة لربط إدخالات "دفتر عناوين جهات الاتصال" إلى رسائل البريد الإلكتروني عناوين البريد الإلكتروني ومرفقاتها الصورة في برنامج Outlook 2003
915314معلومات حول اثنين جديد يسمى تعريفات الخاصية التي تتحكم في كيفية معالجة رسالة بواسطة Office Outlook 2003 عندما يقوم المستخدمون بالرد على الرسالة
لمزيد من المعلومات، قم بزيارة مواقع Microsoft التالية على الويب:
5 - النماذج One-off جزء وثائق Outlook جديد
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2005/12/29/507991.aspx

التفاف Outlook 2003 تكامل API نموذج والمستندات PST
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2005/09/28/Outlook-2003-Integration-API-Wrapped-PST-Docs-and-Sample.aspx

APIs التي يتم دعمها في تعليمات برمجية تمت إدارتها

تم تصميم الأصل MAPI ثم المطورة أصلاً في 1980s المتأخر. لذلك، predates MAPI تعليمات برمجية تمت إدارتها في Microsoft .NET Framework. نحن لا توفر wrappers المدارة لـ MAPI ثم نقوم تمنع يمكنك من استخدام wrappers لجهة خارجية. وهذا لأنه قد يبدو حلول العمل في بيئة اختبار ولكن قد تحدث مشكلات تتعلق إدارة الذاكرة عند توزيعها في بيئة إنتاج تطبيق كشف على وحدات السيناريو قابلية التحجيم الحقيقي.

يلخص الجدول التالي نهج دعم لـ API Outlook في بيئة .NET Framework.
APIاسم DLLإدارة نهج دعم التعليمات البرمجية
طراز كائن Outlookغير قابل للتطبيقاعتماد باستخدام تجميع إمكانية التشغيل المتداخل COM
كائنات بيانات التعاون (CDO) 1.2 xCdo.dllغير معتمد
MAPI (Extended MAPI أو Simple MAPI)Mapi32.dll أو Msmapi32.dllغير معتمد
خدمات Exchange Server 2007 ويبغير قابل للتطبيقمعتمد
WebDAV (Exchange 2000 Server و Exchange Server 2003, إهمال في Exchange Server 2007)غير قابل للتطبيقمعتمد
للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول نهج دعم APIs المراسلة الأخرى في التعليمات البرمجية المدارة انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
813349اعتماد نهج Microsoft Exchange APIs مع تطبيقات .NET Framework

عناصر تحكم المستخدم .NET Framework

لا يتم اعتماد عناصر التحكم المستخدم .NET Framework في Outlook 2003 في الإصدارات السابقة من Outlook أو في مناطق النموذج المخصص Outlook 2007. لمزيد من المعلومات حول دعم عناصر التحكم هذه، انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
897863وصف supportability Winforms يتحكم في تطبيقات غير المُدارة

النماذج المخصصة والسيناريوهات HTTP لبرنامج Outlook 2003 وللحصول على الإصدارات السابقة من Outlook

في Outlook، لا يتم اعتماد نماذج Outlook المخصصة للاستخدام مع خدمات البريد يستند إلى HTTP مثل Hotmail Microsoft. Outlook لا يمنعك من استخدام ميزات نموذج مخصص إذا كنت تستخدم إحدى خدمات بريد يستند إلى HTTP. ومع ذلك، لا تعمل بعض الميزات بشكل صحيح. لا تعمل الميزات بشكل صحيح لأنه يتم تخزين رسائل البريد يستند إلى HTTP في حالة للقراءة فقط على الملقم. ولذلك، نوصي لا تستخدم نماذج Outlook المخصصة إذا كنت تستخدم إحدى خدمات بريد يستند إلى HTTP.

عناصر تحكم Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 MAPI

عناصر تحكم Visual Basic 6.0 MAPI استناداً إلى Simple MAPI لم يعد يتم اختبار أو اعتماد بدء في Outlook 2007. ونحن نشجعك على استخدام API أحدث عن حلول البريد الإلكتروني.

ملاحظة انتهت صلاحية دعم القياسية لـ Visual Basic 6.0.

المكالمات المراسلة الشائعة

لا يتم اعتماد المكالمات المراسلة الشائعة (CMC) بعد إصدار أمان البريد الإلكتروني Outlook تحديث في 2000 يونيو.

تبادل البيانات الديناميكي (DDE)

بعكس تطبيقات Office الأخرى لا يعتمد Outlook تبادل البيانات الحيوي (DDE) كطريقة برمجياً الاتصال مع Outlook.

Microsoft Outlook Express (Microsoft Windows XP)

لمدة طويلة تم API المعتمدة فقط لـ Outlook Express Simple MAPI. MAPI بسيط هي مجموعة من الدالات و بنيات البيانات المرتبطة التي يمكنك استخدامها لإضافة وظيفة إرسال الرسائل إلى تطبيقات مخصصة. تتوفر الدالات Simple MAPI في الإصدارات الخاصة C لـ C++ و Visual Basic.

تم توفير الوثائق Simple MAPI في Microsoft Exchange SDK. لعرض هذه الوثائق قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب: يستخدم Outlook Express دفتر العناوين لـ Windows "(WAB). لمزيد من المعلومات حول دفتر عناوين Windows قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب:

بريد Windows في نظام التشغيل Windows Vista

في نظام التشغيل Windows Vista هو Windows Mail الاستبدال Outlook Express. للحصول على الوثائق المطور قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب: يتم أيضًا تضمين APIs المتوفرة لـ Outlook Express 6.0 في هذه الوثائق.

Windows API المباشرة SDKs

للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول APIs التي تتعلق البريد الإلكتروني وكذلك حول خيارات الدعم لـ Windows Live قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب:دعم العملاء في Microsoft حالياً لا يوفر دعم واجهات برمجة التطبيقات هذه.
مراجع
لمزيد من المعلومات حول الخصائص المسماة قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب:

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

خصائص

رقم الموضوع: 266353 - آخر مراجعة: 12/05/2015 20:48:04 - المراجعة: 5.5

واجهة برمجة تطبيقات الرسائل من Microsoft, Microsoft Office Outlook 2007, Microsoft Office Outlook 2003, Microsoft Outlook 2002 Standard Edition, Microsoft Outlook 2000, Microsoft Outlook 98 Standard Edition, Microsoft Outlook 97 Standard Edition, Microsoft Collaboration Data Objects 1.21, Microsoft Outlook Express 5.0, Microsoft Outlook Express 5.5, Microsoft Outlook Express 6.0

  • kbnosurvey kbarchive kbmt kbinfo kbmsg kboutlookobj KB266353 KbMtar
تعليقات

The support guidelines for client-side messaging development

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 266353 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q266353
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

INTRODUCTION

This article describes what is supported and what is not supported when you develop custom solutions that integrate with Microsoft-based messaging products or Microsoft technologies. This article also contains most of the key information to be aware of when you develop with Microsoft products and Microsoft technologies. However, this article does not cover all scenarios. Contact Microsoft Customer Support Services if you have any questions about whether a specific solution is supported.

This article also discusses specific technologies and specific scenarios to provide guidance to developers.

MORE INFORMATION

The term "supported" is used to describe whether Microsoft Customer Support Services or Microsoft Services can help you when you try to achieve something in a specific way. Typically, the term is also used in the context of whether a Microsoft product group will potentially fix an issue for a given scenario.

Because of the large matrix of products, technologies, and versions that require testing, we cannot say that all scenarios have been designed or tested. Therefore, we encourage you to use the following best practices when you design custom solutions:
  • Only use APIs that are documented by Microsoft. This avoids the increased risk that your solution will not function together with a newer version of a product or together with a service pack for a product. For example, you can use the Microsoft Win32 API to manipulate Microsoft Office Outlook windows. However, the Win32 API is not supported. Some solutions may be supported within the context of the specific API that you use. However, these solutions typically are not supported within the context of an Office application and when you create a custom solution by using that application. An exception would be a scenario that is documented by Microsoft.
  • Avoid mixing newer technologies and older technologies if you can do this. Mixing newer technologies and older technologies increases the possibility that the scenario was not tested and that the scenario is not supported.
  • When you work with Office applications, develop the solution by using the oldest version of Office that runs the solution.

Integrating with Outlook properties

Outlook, Microsoft Exchange Server, and other Microsoft products store data in MAPI stores, such as personal folders (.pst) files, Exchange mailbox stores, or Exchange public folder stores. Although some of this data is visible, various other data is not visible and is stored for other reasons.

In some cases, there is a one-to-one correspondence between what you see in Outlook and what is stored in the underlying MAPI database. The Subject box of an e-mail message is an example of this because this box corresponds to the PR_SUBJECT MAPI property. In this case, this property predates Outlook because this property was used by previous Microsoft e-mail clients. Other properties also have a one-to-one correspondence but are specific to Outlook. For example, a contact’s Web site address is stored in a specific MAPI named property.

Note For more information about named properties in Outlook, see the "MAPI-specific information for named properties" section.

In some cases, Outlook may use multiple MAPI properties to store information for a specific purpose, or Outlook may store multiple pieces of information in one property. In both of these scenarios, frequently there is no documentation that explains how these properties are implemented or how they function.

Programmatically changing the underlying properties involves some risk. The main areas include the following:
  • Outlook may experience unexpected behavior or stop responding when some properties are changed.
  • Problems may occur when various APIs are used to dynamically change some Outlook properties while Outlook is running.
  • Different versions of Outlook may connect to the same MAPI stores. Therefore, there may be added complexity because different versions of Outlook may interact with related properties in different ways.
Therefore, many MAPI properties that are used by Outlook are not documented at the MAPI level. The MAPI schema that is used is complex and may change with later versions MAPI.

Therefore, we recommend that you avoid accessing this low-level data directly and that you use a high-level API instead, such as the Outlook object library. Because of these factors, Microsoft generally does not support explaining how or why the underlying properties are implemented.

It is also important to differentiate between reading properties and writing properties. Programmatically reading MAPI properties by using APIs such as Extended MAPI, WebDAV, or the PropertyAccessor object in the Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 object model is supported. However, writing to those properties is not supported because of the potential for data corruption issues or for other problems that other MAPI clients may have when they use the modified data.

MAPI-specific information for named properties

MAPI provides a facility for assigning names to certain properties, for mapping these names to unique identifiers, and for making this mapping persistent. Outlook writes many Outlook-specific fields into these named properties that use identifiers in the 8000-FFFE range. Typically, the Microsoft Outlook object model is the only supported method of changing these named properties. Typically, changing these properties by using MAPI or by using Collaboration Data Objects (CDO) is not supported.

Named properties are identified by a name and by a GUID for a property set. The name can be a number or a string. These properties are manipulated by using the IMAPIProp::GetIDsFromNames function and the IMAPIProp::GetNamesFromIDs function. The GUID and the name are passed to the GetIDsFromNames function to obtain a property ID that is valid for the current MAPI session. Because this property ID can vary from computer to computer, the only consistent way to access a named property is to know its property set and its name.

Typically, named properties are used by Outlook clients as a way to add extra information to a message that is only used by that client. Therefore, most of the named properties that are used by Outlook clients are not documented. The only supported way to obtain these properties is through the Outlook object model.

Common named properties that are used by Outlook

The following table describes the common named properties that are used by Outlook.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Item type (Message class)Summary of supportability
Messages (IPM.Note)Messages are native to MAPI. Outlook does maintain some named properties on these items.
Contact items (IPM.Contact)Contacts are not native to MAPI. Because contacts resemble address book entries, some address entry tags are valid. Most contact properties are named properties.
Task items (IPM.Task)Tasks are not native to MAPI. Most task properties are named properties.
Appointment items (IPM.Appointment)Appointments are not native to MAPI but are native to CDO. Most appointment properties are named properties. Some appointment properties are exposed through the CDO Appointment Item object.
Journal items (IPM.Activity)Journals are not native to MAPI. Most journal properties are named properties.
Note items (IPM.StickyNote)Sticky notes are not native to MAPI. Most sticky note properties are named properties.
In addition to the properties that are native to MAPI, user-defined fields on customized Outlook forms are supported through MAPI, through CDO, through WebDAV, and through the Outlook object model. These fields use the PS_PUBLIC_STRINGS property as the property set identifier and the name of the field as the property name. For more information about supportability scenarios for WebDAV-based data and for MAPI-based data, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
920134 Available support for applications that use the WebDAV protocol to access Exchange 2000 Server or Exchange Server 2003
The Outlook Integration API provides additional documentation for integrating with Outlook in specific scenarios. To view this documentation, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa193231(office.11).aspx
Additionally, the following information is documented for Outlook 2007 and is scheduled to be included in the Outlook Integration API at a later date. For more information, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
919198 Notification-based indexing support for store providers in Outlook 2007
919199 How to use the IAttachmentSecurity API to verify whether an attachment is considered to be blocked in Outlook
For more information, visit the following Microsoft Web sites:
Outlook 2007 documentation - Blocked attachments
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2006/05/09/593585.aspx

Outlook 2007 documentation - Notification based indexing support
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2006/05/10/594641.aspx

Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 Service Pack 1 (SP1) or later versions

For more information, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
912239 How to use the dispidHeaderItem MAPI property to identify the state of a message that you receive in Outlook 2003
912238 How to use MAPI to manage messages in a .pst file when you are using Outlook 2003 to download messages from an IMAP server
912237 How to use named properties to relate Contact Address Book entries to e-mail messages, e-mail addresses, and picture attachments in Outlook 2003
915314 Information about two new named property definitions that can control how a message is processed by Office Outlook 2003 when users reply to the message
For more information, visit the following Microsoft Web sites:
New Outlook documentation part 5 - One-off forms
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2005/12/29/507991.aspx

Outlook 2003 Integration API wrapped PST documents and sample
http://blogs.msdn.com/stephen_griffin/archive/2005/09/28/Outlook-2003-Integration-API-Wrapped-PST-Docs-and-Sample.aspx

APIs that are supported in managed code

MAPI was originally designed and originally developed in the late 1980s. Therefore, MAPI predates managed code in the Microsoft .NET Framework. We do not provide managed wrappers for MAPI, and we discourage you from using third-party wrappers. This is because solutions may seem to work in a test environment, but issues that are related to memory management may occur when an application is deployed in a production environment and is exposed to real-world scalability scenarios.

The following table summarizes the support policy for Outlook APIs in the .NET Framework environment.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
APIDLL nameManaged code support policy
Outlook object modelNot applicableSupported by using a COM interop assembly
Collaboration Data Objects (CDO) 1.2xCdo.dllNot supported
MAPI (Extended MAPI or Simple MAPI)Mapi32.dll or Msmapi32.dllNot supported
Exchange Server 2007 Web servicesNot applicableSupported
WebDAV (Exchange 2000 Server and Exchange Server 2003, deprecated in Exchange Server 2007)Not applicableSupported
For more information about the support policies for other messaging APIs in managed code, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
813349 Support policy for Microsoft Exchange APIs with .NET Framework applications

The .NET Framework user controls

The .NET Framework user controls are not supported in Outlook 2003, in earlier versions of Outlook, or in Outlook 2007 custom form regions. For more information about support for these controls, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
897863 Description of the supportability of Winforms controls in unmanaged applications

Custom forms and HTTP scenarios for Outlook 2003 and for earlier versions of Outlook

In Outlook, custom Outlook forms are not supported for use with HTTP-based mail services such as Microsoft Hotmail. Outlook does not prevent you from using custom form features if you are using an HTTP-based mail service. However, some features do not work correctly. The features do not work correctly because HTTP-based mail messages are stored in a read-only state on the server. Therefore, we recommend that you do not use custom Outlook forms if you are using an HTTP-based mail service.

Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 MAPI controls

Visual Basic 6.0 MAPI controls are based on Simple MAPI and are no longer tested or supported starting in Outlook 2007. We encourage you to use a newer API for e-mail solutions.

Note The standard support for Visual Basic 6.0 has expired.

Common Messaging Calls

Common Messaging Calls (CMC) is not supported after the release of the Outlook e-mail security update in June 2000.

Dynamic Data Exchange (DDE)

Unlike other Office applications, Outlook does not support Dynamic Data Exchange (DDE) as a way to programmatically communicate with Outlook.

Microsoft Outlook Express (Microsoft Windows XP)

For a long time, the only supported API for Outlook Express was Simple MAPI. Simple MAPI is a set of functions and the related data structures that you can use to add messaging functionality to custom applications. The Simple MAPI functions are available in versions for C, for C++, and for Visual Basic.

The documentation for Simple MAPI is provided in the Microsoft Exchange SDK. To view this documentation, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa142548(EXCHG.65).aspx
Outlook Express uses Windows Address Book (WAB). For more information about Windows Address Book, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms629361.aspx

Windows Mail in Windows Vista

In Windows Vista, Windows Mail is the replacement for Outlook Express. For developer documentation, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms709546.aspx
APIs that are available for Outlook Express 6.0 are also included in this documentation.

Windows Live APIs and SDKs

For more information about the APIs that are related to e-mail and about the support options for Windows Live, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://dev.live.com/
Microsoft Customer Support currently does not provide support for these APIs.

Support for creating "Adjacent Windows" in Outlook

Microsoft provides a code sample and corresponding documentation for using Windows APIs to add user interface panes into Outlook 2003 and later versions of Outlook. This documentation is located at the following Microsoft web site:

http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/OlAdjacentWindows

Microsoft understands that customers are already using the Windows API approach to integrate with Outlook, and the Outlook Social Connector also takes advantage of this kind of integration. Documentation for Outlook adjacent windows provides "best practice" guidelines to help avoid conflicts with other programs by using this approach, including the Outlook Social Connector.

This sample code and the corresponding documentation are not supported by Microsoft. The Outlook product group does not consider this overall approach to be part of Outlook’s supported architecture in terms of developing custom solutions with Outlook. Instead, we recommend and support using other approaches that are more fully designed, tested, and documented to work with Outlook. Depending on the version of Outlook, these other approaches include Outlook custom forms, form regions, folder home pages, custom task panes, and the Outlook Social Connector (OSC) extensibility architecture. One key advantage of using these supported approaches is that developers will have a much better chance that they will not encounter compatibility issues when a newer version or service pack of Outlook is released.

If you encounter issues when you use the information that is provided in the sample, you can post comments on the MSDN Code Gallery page for this download. However, Microsoft cannot guarantee that support will be provided for your issue.

Support for Drag and Drop Integration

As a developer, you may wish to develop a custom solution that allows Outlook items to be dragged and dropped onto a Visual Studio form or other container that supports a drop operation. However, from a custom solution perspective, Outlook was not designed to support these types of scenarios and no Microsoft testing was done in this area. Therefore, Microsoft does not recommend or support developing a custom solution in this manner. Instead, Microsoft recommends that you use the Selection object available beginning in the Outlook 2000 object model. You can then implement a custom CommandBar button (Outlook 2000-2007) or custom Ribbon button (Outlook 2010) to handle the processing of those selected items.

While unsupported, there is additional information located on the following blog:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/webdav_101/archive/2008/04/01/drag-and-drop-with-outlook.aspx


REFERENCES

For more information about named properties, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms529055.aspx

Properties

Article ID: 266353 - Last Review: October 5, 2011 - Revision: 8.0
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Messaging Application Programming Interface
  • Microsoft Office Outlook 2007
  • Microsoft Office Outlook 2003
  • Microsoft Outlook 2002 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Outlook 2000 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Outlook 98 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Outlook 97 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Outlook Express 5.5
  • Microsoft Outlook Express 6.0
Keywords: 
kbinfo kbmsg kboutlookobj KB266353

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com