أنت غير متصل حاليًا، وفي انتظار الإنترنت الخاص بك ليقوم بإعادة الاتصال

إن المستعرض الذي تستخدمه غير معتمد

إنك تحتاج إلى تحديث المستعرض لاستخدام الموقع.

التحديث إلى أحدث إصدار من Internet Explorer

pre-staging "النسخ المتماثل للملف" نسخ خدمة ملفات على مشاركات نظام الملفات SYSVOL و موزع التزامن الأمثل

انتهي دعم Windows Server 2003 في 14 يوليو 2015!

أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم نظام التشغيل Windows Server 2003 في 14 يوليو 2015. لقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

هام: تمت ترجمة هذا المقال باستخدام برنامج ترجمة آلية لشركة مايكروسوفت بدلاً من الاستعانة بمترجم بشري. تقدم شركة مايكروسوفت كلاً من المقالات المترجمة بواسطة المترجمين البشر والمقالات المترجمة آليًا وبالتالي ستتمكن من الوصول إلى كل المقالات الموجودة في قاعدة المعرفة الخاصة بنا وباللغة الخاصة بك. بالرغم من ذلك، فإن المقالة المترجمة آليًا لا تكون دقيقة دائمًا وقد تحتوي على أخطاء إملائية أو لغوية أو نحوية، مثل تلك الأخطاء الصادرة عن متحدث أجنبي عندما يتحدث بلغتك. لا تتحمل شركة مايكروسوفت مسئولية عدم الدقة أو الأخطاء أو الضرر الناتج عن أية أخطاء في ترجمة المحتوى أو استخدامه من قبل عملائنا. تعمل شركة مايكروسوفت باستمرار على ترقية برنامج الترجمة الآلية

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية266679
الموجز
توضح هذه المقالة عملية pre-staging لملفات خدمة (FRS) التي تم نسخها نسخاً متماثلاً "النسخ المتماثل للملفات" على وحدة تخزين النظام (SYSVOL) على موزع ملف النظام (Dfs) مشاركات المزامنة الأمثل.
معلومات أخرى
في Windows Server 2003 تثبيت Active Directory المعالج (Dcpromo.exe) يحتوي على مصدر من ميزة الوسائط من "Active Directory" sourced من نسخة أحدث من قاعدة البيانات على قرص مضغوط مقابل إلى تنفيذ مزامنة كاملة من "Active Directory" عبر الشبكة.

في Windows 2000 إنشاء 2195 و Windows XP، الإصدار FRS تدعم ميزة مشابهة عندما تتم استعادة المجلدات الهدف على أعضاء النسخ المتماثلة الجديدة بواسطة برنامج NTBackup لأي أعضاء الموجودة قبل الانضمام إلى مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة. هذه العملية يمكن استخدامها على جديد أو reinitialized أعضاء النسخ المتماثلة SYSVOL و Dfs:
  1. إعداد بدائل Dfs اثنين على الأقل ، مثل ، \\Server1\Apps و \\Server2\Apps \\ServerX...\Apps.
  2. تمكين النسخ المتماثل بين اثنين من أعضاء النسخ المتماثلة ، مثل ، \\Server1 \\Server2 فقط. يمكنك تعيين أي ملقم كـ الأساسي ولكن يجب أن تكون المجلدات المنسوخة نسخاً متماثلاً فارغة عند إضافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر إلى Dfs/FRS مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة.
  3. نسخ ملفات المقررة مجموعة إلى المجلد المنسوخ نسخاً متماثلاً \\Server1\Apps النسخ المتماثلة.

    بسبب \\Server1 طرف واحد على الأقل الصادرة (\\Server2) عند نسخ ملف إلى \\Server1 ، يتسبب FRS لإنشاء ملف تجهيز ثم يتم إرسال ترتيب تغيير إلى \\Server2. MD5 (خوارزمية تجزئة) محسوبة المجموع الاختباري أثناء إنشاء ملف التجهيز ثم حفظ النتيجة في IDTable على \\Server1 وفي ترتيب تغيير إرسال \\Server2. عندما تقوم بمعالجة \\Server2 هذا الترتيب التغيير يقوم بحفظ المجموع الاختباري MD5 في on\\Server2 IDTable. هذه العملية هي الطريقة الوحيدة التي يتم حفظ المجموع اختباري MD5 في IDTable وهو استخدام MD5 الضرورية لتجنب الحمل الزائد عند إضافة أعضاء جدد لاحقاً.

    عند الانتهاء من الخطوة 3 يجب وجود ملفات تم نسخه نسخاً متماثلاً على كل من \\Server1 \\Server2 و يجب أن يكون كلا IDTables الاختبارية للملفات MD5 كل ملف ومجلد.
  4. استخدام NTBackup أو مكافئ لجهة خارجية لإجراء النسخ الاحتياطي محتويات الشجرة النسخة المتماثلة من \\Server1 أو \\Server2. NTBackup يحفظ ويستعيد سمة معرّف الكائن (ID) المقترن مع كل ملف ومجلد. لم يكن أي من Windows NT أو أوامر نسخة MS-DOS حفظ هذه المعلومات عندما يتم نسخ الملفات من \\Server1 إلى \\Server2. يجب أن يتم استعادة هذا تعريف الكائن مع الملفات عند إضافة أعضاء جدد لاحقاً.
  5. في حالة أقل من سبعة أيام ا، لأنه مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة يحتوي على Server1 ثم تم إنشاؤه Server2 يجب مسح السجل الصادرة بحيث يتم تشغيل vvjoin كامل عند انضمام عضو التالي.

    ملاحظة تعيين قيمة التسجيل التالية إلى 0 مسح سجل الصادرة:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NtFrs\Parameters

    اسم المفتاح:
    Outlog Change History In Minutes
    (REG_DWORD)
    قيمة:
    0
  6. في \\Server3 كافة الأعضاء النسخة المتماثلة المستقبلية ، استعادة النسخة الاحتياطية إلى المجلد \\Server3\Apps النسخ المتماثل (باستخدام القائمة "استعادة الملفات إلى") إلى "موقع بديل" قبل إضافة الكمبيوتر إلى مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة.
  7. لتمكين النسخ المتماثل \\Server3\Apps FRS القيام \\Server3 كافة الملفات من المجلد الهدف إلى المجلد موجودة مسبقاً و بتهيئة ثم مزامنة كاملة (يُشار إليه أيضًا بـ عملية ربط "متجه إصدار) من كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر تلك \\Server3 يحتوي الواردة كائنات الاتصال خدمات دليل Windows NT (NTDS). في حالة التي Dfs mesh مجموعات النسخ المتماثلة مع كامل طبولوجيا المفضلة بواسطة الأداة الإضافية Windows 2000 Dfs, يمكن أن تتضمن المجموعات كافة ملقمات المشاركة في مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة مثل \\Server1 و \\Server2. يدعم الإصدار Windows XP من الأداة الإضافية Dfs من طبولوجيا الأمثل بما في ذلك خيار مخصص.

    يتطلب المفتاح في هذا الموقف عادةً يحتوي على \\Server3 الواردة الاتصالات من شركاء upstream \\Server1 و \\Server2 في هذه الحالة, IDTABLE الذي يحتوي على الاختبارية للملفات MD5 للملفات الموجودة في مجموعات النسخ المتماثلة التي تفضلها.

    تعداد FRS على \\Server1 كافة الملفات والمجلدات في به IDTable وتغيير ترسل توجيه (أي، الهدف مفرد) طلبات إلى \\Server3. بسبب IDTable MD5 المجموع الاختياري, يتم تضمينه في ترتيب التغيير. بينما يقوم بمعالجة \\Server3 تغيير هذه الطلبيات يأخذ هذا الملقم "معرّف الكائن ملف أو مجلد من ترتيب تغيير ويحاول حدد موقع الملف الموافق في المجلد موجودة مسبقاً. إذا كان الملقم بتحديد موقع الملف, re-computes المجموع الاختباري MD5 على محتويات ذلك الملف ، يقارن النتيجة إلى المجموع الاختباري MD5 أنه تم تلقيها في ترتيب تغيير و إذا أنها تطابق يستخدم ملف موجودة مسبقاً بدلاً من محاولة الحصول على الملف من \\Server1. إذا لم يجد \\Server3 الملف أو إذا كان المجموع الاختباري MD5 لا يطابق حصول الملقم على الملف من \\Server1. أي تغيير على الملف المحتوى مثل التحكم بالوصول إلى قوائم تدفقات البيانات أو سمات يمكن أن يؤدي إلى عدم تطابق MD5 و تم الحصول على الملف من \\Server1 أو طرف upstream الأخرى.

    meanwhile ، FRS على \\Server2 (والشركاء الأخرى upstream عضو النسخة المتماثلة الجديدة أو reinitialized) تنفيذ نفس العملية كـ \\Server1. تغيير ترتيب المعطى ملف أو مجلد من Server1 أو Server2 العمليات \\Server3, أيهما تصل أولاً. تم تجاهل التغيير الأخرى.

    عندما يحتوي settled كافة الأنشطة النسخ المتماثل الخروج ، IDTables على كافة الملقمات ثلاثة يكون المجموع الاختباري MD5 متطابقة ومحتويات الملف متطابقة في المجلد المنسوخ نسخاً متماثلاً. كرر الخطوتين 5 و 6 لإضافة ملقمات إضافية إلى مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة.

أمثلية الأولي أو عملية الانضمام VV

صلة VV الحالي بالأصل؛ مجدي. أثناء النسخ المتماثل "عادي" ، إنشاء أطراف upstream تجهيز ملف مفرد, الذي يمكن مصدر كافة الأطراف المتلقين للمعلومات. في صلة VV كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تحتوي على الاتصالات الصادرة إلى جديد أو reinitialized التدريج الملفات التي تم تعيينها فقط تلك لطرف بناء طرف المتلقين للمعلومات. إذا 10 أجهزة كمبيوتر بذلك، صلة أولي من \\Server1 الصلة بإنشاء ملفات 10 في مرحلة لكل ملف تم نسخ. تتضمن تحسينات لتحديد تأثير الصلة VV:
  • pre-stage المحتوى على أعضاء جدد باستخدام NTBackup (مناقشته مسبقاً).
  • تقليل عدد ملقمات الملفات الخاصة جديد التدريج الإنشاء أو reinitialized شركاء المتلقين للمعلومات.
  • إزالة أو تقليل العدد من الملفات في المجلد المنسوخ نسخاً متماثلاً إلى أن كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر إكمال مرحلة الصلة VV.
  • تمكين الصلة واحد فقط تحدث على طرف upstream معطى.

قم بتقليل عدد ملفات التدريج إنشاء خوادم جديدة أو Reinitialized شركاء اتجاه التيار

محاولة التحكم بالمجال النسخة المتماثلة (وحدات تحكم مجال النسخ الاحتياطي) الانضمام إلى مجالات يستند إلى Windows الموجودة المتماثل المجلد SYSVOL من وحدة تحكم المجال نفسها المستخدمة في مصدر "Active Directory". يتم تعريف الملقم المصدر SYSVOL في قيمة الأصل مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة من التسجيل. يجب تأكيد أن FRS قيد التشغيل وأنه يتم استجابة على الخادم المصدر المعينة.

بالنسبة SYSVOL النسخة المتماثلة بتعيين يتم reinitialized مع استعادة غير موثوقة (Burflags = D2) ، يمكن للمسؤولين تحديد إنشاء التدريج الملفات إلى ملقم معين عن طريق إعداد مفتاح التسجيل الأصل مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة إلى أشر إلى الموقع نفسه أو الخادم المرحلي المعينة.

للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول مفتاح التسجيل "الأصل مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة" انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
257338استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها SYSVOL مفقودة ومشاركات Netlogon على وحدات تحكم مجال Windows 2000
تحسين الأداء المتماثلة الأصل تعيين مفتاح التسجيل من غير الممكن أعضاء النسخ المتماثلة Dfs. تضمين الحلول الممكنة:
  • إيقاف تشغيل خدمة FRS على كافة الأطراف upstream المحتملة (أجهزة الكمبيوتر هذه التي قام عضو جديد أو reinitialized الواردة الاتصالات من) لذلك sourcing يحدث من ملقم المتبقية فقط.

    هذا العمل خلال غير الحل المفضل بسبب إيقاف خدمة FRS لا يوقف accumulation تغيير السجلات في يومية تغيير NTFS. إذا التفاف اليومية (متجاوز) ، صلة VV حاجة عند إعادة تشغيل الخدمة لاحقًا. إذا كنت تعرف أن هناك طفيف أو عدم وجود نشاط تعديل ملف (مثل إنشاء أو حذف أو إعادة تسمية التحديثات) على أي من وحدات تخزين القرص استضافة مجموعة النسخ متماثلة خطورة wraps اليومية كان من المحتمل أن يكون منخفضاً.
  • إزالة أو تقليل العدد من الملفات في المجلد المنسوخ نسخاً متماثلاً إلى أن كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر إكمال مرحلة الصلة VV (التي تمت مناقشتها في المقطع التالي).

    قد لا تكون هذه العملية بديلاً viable ملقمات مركزي تتصل ملقمات الفرع جديدة من الارتباطات ذات عرض نطاق ترددي منخفض و كان لديك غيغابايت من بيانات ملف التهيئة. ومع ذلك، يجب مراعاة الخيار التالي.
  • التحكم في عدد الاتصالات الواردة من ملقمات المصدر المتوفرة إلى عضو جديد أو reinitialized (أي، الصلة يحدث مع اتصال وارد واحد).
  • نشر البيانات من ملقمات لوحة الوصل عبر نهاية الأسبوع أو ساعات evening.

    حتى مع ارتباط 64 kilobit في عرض النطاق الترددي المتوفر 75 بالمائة يمكنك نقل 21 ميغابايت من البيانات كل ساعة أو ميغابايت 506 كل يوم. باستخدام لوحة وصل جهازي و 200 الفروع متصلاً من ارتباطات 64 kilobit ، يمكنك تهيئة عليها مع ١ غيغابايت من المحتوى عبر نهاية الأسبوع يوم اثنين. إذا حصلت على نسبة ضغط متوسط لـ 50 في المائة يمكنك نقل ٢ غيغابايت من البيانات أثناء نهاية الأسبوع. تتطلب هذه العملية لم نسخة احتياطية أو يمكن إجراء عمليات الاستعادة لا phasing بدء التشغيل الفرع لتجنب ملقمات لوحة الوصل زيادة مراقبة تقدم كافة من ملقمات لوحة الوصل باستخدام الأمر تعيين ntfrs وأداة تقرير Connstat للتحقق من وجود أي backlogs إلى فروع معينة. يجب أن يكون مساحة التجهيز و التجهيز المعلمة الحد على ملقمات لوحة الوصل كبير بشكل كاف لاحتواء كافة البيانات لأنه يمكن إنشاء الملف التجهيز بسهولة outpace تسليم البيانات الفرع عبر الارتباطات البطيئة.

إزالة أو تقليل "رقم الملفات" في المجلد Replicated حتى خاص Computers كافة إكمال مرحلة الانضمام VV

عادةً، تحتاج كافة أعضاء مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة الانضمام إلى مجموعات نسخ متماثلة مع المجلدات فارغة أو خالية تقريباً لتجنب إنشاء مجدي التدريج الملفات على عدة ملقمات. هذه العملية لأنه أقل مشكلة SYSVOL الخوادم التي تم إنشاؤها بشكل متزايد من المحتويات عادة أصغر من مشاركات Dfs ثم يعني مفتاح التسجيل الأصل مجموعة النسخ المتماثلة يحاول FRS المصدر من أحد شركاء upstream مفرد.

لمجموعات كبيرة Dfs النسخة المتماثلة ، حيث النسخ المتماثل عادةً تمكين بشكل فوري على ملقمات 2 إلى 50 tens غيغابايت من محتوى أكبر التأثير. خذ بعين الاعتبار إضافة غالبية أجهزة الكمبيوتر إلى إجراء نسخ متماثل FRS Dfs مشاركات بعد أن تم نشر. كما تحتاج المجلد المنسوخ نسخاً متماثلاً على الخادم الأساسي أن تكون فارغة بحيث تحدث الصلة VV دون الحاجة إلى إجراء نسخ متماثل ملفات. يمكن إضافة الملفات, ربما تزايدية مع الكفاءة العادي.

صلة VV فارغة أو صغيرة يمكن استخدامها لاسترداد عملية نشر حيث Active Directory و/أو FRS صادف "melt لأسفل" واحتياجات أن reinitialized. بعد تأكيد أن "Active Directory" النسخ المتماثل يعمل نقل الملفات من المجلد المنسوخ نسخاً متماثلاً على الملقم الأساسي وإعادة ثم تهيئتها أعضاء النسخ المتماثلة. في حالة التي SYSVOL ، الاحتفاظ "المجال الافتراضي" و "نهج وحدة تحكم المجال في مجلدات \Policies سليمة على الخادم الأساسي (Burflags ="D4"أو المتبقي ملقمات المصدر) حتى التي reinitialized يمكن إجراء النسخ المتماثل في وحدات تحكم المجال ثم تطبيق النهج (على سبيل المثال, نهج"هذا الكمبيوتر من الشبكة و أخرى مطلوب حقوق الوصول") للعملية العميل والمجال المناسبة.

تمكين صلة واحدة فقط تحدث على شريك Upstream محدد

النسخ بحجم كبير Dfs المتماثلة التي تحتوي على tens غيغابايت من الملفات, قد ترغب في إضافة عضو واحد فقط في مرة الواحدة إلى إجراء نسخ متماثل FRS المجلدات. وبوجه خاص، تسمح عضو جديد إكمال مزامنة كاملة والتنقل من وضع صلة VV. طرف upstream يجب تنظيف الملفات الخاصة بهم من المجلد المرحلي قبل إضافة أعضاء إضافية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعيين حد مساحة التجهيز (المعرّفة في المقالة التالية ، Q221111 ، "وصف FRS الإدخالات في التسجيل") على كافة الملقمات مصدر المحتملة يساوي أو أكبر من الملفات 128 أكبر تم نسخ من قبل أطراف upstream (رقم الصلات VV التي تحدث في أي وقت محدد).

لمزيد من المعلومات، انقر فوق رقم المقالة التالي لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
221111وصف FRS الإدخالات في التسجيل
FRS ntfrs

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

خصائص

رقم الموضوع: 266679 - آخر مراجعة: 12/03/2007 03:27:42 - المراجعة: 6.4

  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Premium Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Standard Edition
  • kbmt kbdfs kbenv kbinfo KB266679 KbMtar
تعليقات
0&did=1&t=">p;did=1&t=">id=1&t=">

Pre-staging the File Replication service replicated files on SYSVOL and Distributed file system shares for optimal synchronization

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 266679 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q266679
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This article describes the pre-staging process for the File Replication service (FRS) replicated files on System Volume (SYSVOL) and on Distributed file system (Dfs) shares for optimal synchronization.

MORE INFORMATION

In Windows Server 2003, the Active Directory Installation wizard (Dcpromo.exe) contains a Source from Media feature, which enables the Active Directory to be sourced from a recent copy of the database on a CD-ROM as opposed to performing a full synchronization of the Active Directory over the network.

In Windows 2000 build 2195 and Windows XP, the release of FRS supports a similar feature when the target folders on new replica members are restored by the NTBackup program for any existing members before joining the replica set. This operation can be used on new or reinitialized SYSVOL and Dfs replica members:
  1. Set up at least two Dfs alternates, such as, \\Server1\Apps, \\Server2\Apps, and \\ServerX...\Apps.
  2. Enable replication only between two replica members, such as, \\Server1 and \\Server2. You can designate any server as primary, but the replicated folders must be empty when the computers are added to the Dfs/FRS replica set.
  3. Copy the files destined for the replica set into the replicated \\Server1\Apps folder.

    Because \\Server1 has at least one outbound partner (\\Server2), when you copy a file into \\Server1, it causes FRS to generate a staging file and a change order is sent to \\Server2. An MD5 (a hash algorithm) checksum is computed during the staging file generation and the result is saved in the IDTable on \\Server1 and in the change order sent to \\Server2. When \\Server2 processes this change order it saves the MD5 checksum in the IDTable on\\Server2. This process is the only way an MD5 checksum is saved in the IDTable and the use of the MD5 is necessary to avoid overhead when new members are added later.

    When step 3 is finished, the replicated files should exist on both \\Server1 and \\Server2, and both IDTables should have MD5 checksums for each file and folder.
  4. Use NTBackup or a third-party equivalent to backup the contents of the replica tree from either \\Server1 or \\Server2. NTBackup saves and restores the object identification (ID) attribute associated with each file and folder. Neither the Windows NT nor the MS-DOS copy commands preserve this information when files are copied from \\Server1 to \\Server2. This object ID must be restored with the files when new members are added later.
  5. If fewer than seven days have passed since the replica set containing Server1 and Server2 was created, the outbound log must be cleared so that a full vvjoin is triggered when the next member joins.

    Note Setting the following registry value to 0 clears the outbound log:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NtFrs\Parameters

    Key Name:
    Outlog Change History In Minutes
    (REG_DWORD)
    Value:
    0
  6. On \\Server3 and all future replica members, restore the backup to the \\Server3\Apps replicated folder (using the Restore files to menu) to an "alternate location" before you add the computer to the replica set.
  7. To enable replication to \\Server3\Apps, FRS on \\Server3 moves all files from the target folder to the pre-existing folder, and then initiates a full synchronization (also referred to as a version vector join operation) from all computers that \\Server3 has inbound Windows NT Directory Services (NTDS) connection objects. In the case of Dfs replica sets with a full mesh topology preferred by the Windows 2000 Dfs snap-in, the sets can include all servers participating in the replica set, such as, \\Server1 and \\Server2. The Windows XP release of the Dfs snap-in supports more optimal topologies including a custom option.

    The key requirement in this situation is that \\Server3 has inbound connections from an upstream partner, \\Server1 and \\Server2 in this case, whose IDTABLE contains MD5 checksums for files contained in the replica sets of interest.

    FRS on \\Server1 enumerates all the files and folders in its IDTable and sends directed (that is, single target) change orders to \\Server3. Because the IDTable has an MD5 checksum, it is included in the change order. As \\Server3 processes these change orders, this server takes the object ID for the file or folder from the change order and attempts to locate the corresponding file in the pre-existing folder. If the server locates the file, it re-computes the MD5 checksum on the content of that file, compares the result to the MD5 checksum it received in the change order and, if they match, uses the pre-existing file instead of attempting to obtain the file from \\Server1. If \\Server3 does not find the file, or if the MD5 checksum does not match, the server obtains the file from \\Server1. Any change to the file content, such as, to the access control lists, data streams, or attributes can cause an MD5 mismatch and the file is obtained from \\Server1 or other upstream partner.

    Meanwhile, FRS on \\Server2 (and all other upstream partners of the new or reinitialized replica member) is performing the same process as \\Server1. \\Server3 processes a change order for a given file or folder from either Server1 or Server2, whichever arrives first. The other change is ignored.

    When all replication activity has settled out, the IDTables on all three servers have an identical MD5 checksum and identical file content in the replicated folder. Repeat steps 5 and 6 to add additional servers to the replica set.

Optimizing the Initial or VV Join Process

The current VV join is inherently inefficient. During normal replication, upstream partners build a single staging file, which can source all downstream partners. In a VV join, all computers that have outbound connections to a new or reinitialized downstream partner build staging files designated solely for that partner. If 10 computers do an initial join from \\Server1, the join builds 10 files in stage for each file being replicated. Optimizations to limit the impact of the VV join include:
  • Pre-stage content on new members using NTBackup (previously discussed).
  • Reduce the number of servers building staging files for new or reinitialized downstream partners.
  • Remove or reduce the number of files in the replicated folder until all the computers have completed the VV join phase.
  • Enable only one join to occur on a given upstream partner.

Reduce the Number of Servers Building Staging Files for New or Reinitialized Downstream Partners

Replica domain controllers (backup domain controllers) joining existing Windows-based domains attempt to replicate the SYSVOL folder from the same domain controller used to source the Active Directory. The SYSVOL source server is identified in the Replica Set Parent value of the registry. You must confirm that FRS is running and responsive on the designated source server.

For SYSVOL replica sets being reinitialized with a non-authoritative restore (Burflags=D2), administrators can limit the generation of staging files to a specific server by setting the Replica Set Parent registry key to point to a same site or designated staging server.

For more information about the Replica Set Parent registry key, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
257338 Troubleshooting missing SYSVOL and Netlogon shares on Windows 2000 domain controllers
The Replica Set Parent registry key optimization is not possible for Dfs replica members. Possible workarounds include:
  • Turning off the FRS service on all possible upstream partners (those computers that the new or reinitialized member has inbound connections from) so that sourcing occurs from the only remaining server.

    This work around is not the preferred solution because stopping the FRS service does not stop the accumulation of change records in the NTFS change journal. If the journal wraps (overflows), a VV join is needed when the service is later restarted. If you know that there is negligible or no file modification activity (such as, creates, deletes, renames, updates) on any of the disk volumes hosting a replica set, the risk of journal wraps is likely to be low.
  • Remove or reduce the number of files in the replicated folder until all the computers have completed the VV join phase (discussed in the following section).

    This operation may not be a viable alternative if the central servers are connected to the new branch servers by means of low bandwidth links and you have gigabytes of file data to initialize. However, you should consider the following option.
  • Control the number of inbound connections from source servers available to the new or reinitialized member (that is, the join occurs with a single inbound connection).
  • Propagate the data from the hub servers over the weekend or evening hours.

    Even with a 64 kilobit link at 75 percent available bandwidth, you can move 21 MB of data each hour or 506 MB each day. With two hub computers and 200 branches connected by means of 64 kilobit links, you can initialize them with 1 GB of content over a two day weekend. If you obtain an average compression ratio of 50 percent, you can move 2 GB of data during a weekend. This operation requires no backup or restore operations, no phasing of branch startup to avoid overwhelming the hub servers, and all progress monitoring can be done from the hub servers using the ntfrs sets command and the Connstat report tool to check for any backlogs to specific branches. The staging space and staging limit parameter on the hub servers must be large enough to hold all the data because the staging file generation can easily outpace the branch data delivery over the slow links.

Remove or Reduce the Number of Files in the Replicated Folder Until all Computers Have Completed the VV Join Phase

Typically, you want all replica set members to join replica sets with empty or nearly empty folders to avoid the inefficient generation of staging files on multiple servers. This process is less of an issue for SYSVOL because the servers are built incrementally, the contents are typically smaller than Dfs shares, and the Replica Set Parent registry key means FRS attempts to source from a single upstream partner.

For large Dfs replica sets, where replication is typically enabled instantly on 2 to 50 servers for tens of gigabytes of content, the impact is greater. Consider adding the majority of the computers to FRS-replicated Dfs shares after they have been deployed. Also, you want the replicated folder on the primary server to be empty so that the VV join occurs without having to replicate files. Files can be added, perhaps incrementally, with normal efficiency.

An empty or minimal VV join can be used to recover a deployment where Active Directory and/or FRS experienced a "melt down" and needs to be reinitialized. After you confirm that Active Directory replication is functional, move files out of the replicated folder on the primary server, and then reinitialize the replica members. In the case of SYSVOL, keep the default domain and domain controller policy in the \Policies folders intact on the primary server (Burflags="D4" or remaining source servers) so that reinitialized domain controllers can replicate in and apply the policy (for example, the "Access This Computer from Network and Other Required Rights" policy) for proper domain and client operation.

Enable Only One Join to Occur on a Given Upstream Partner

For large-sized Dfs replicas containing tens of gigabytes of files, you may consider adding only one member at a time to FRS-replicated folders. Specifically, let the new member complete the full synchronization and move out of VV Join mode. The upstream partner should clean up their files from the staging folder before adding additional members.

In addition, set the staging space limit (defined in the following article, Q221111, "Description of FRS entries in the registry") on all potential source servers equal or greater than the largest 128 files being replicated by the upstream partners (the number of VV joins occurring at any given point).

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
221111 Description of FRS entries in the registry

Properties

Article ID: 266679 - Last Review: December 3, 2007 - Revision: 6.4
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Premium Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Standard Edition
Keywords: 
kbdfs kbenv kbinfo KB266679

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com