如何安装群集打印服务器

针对 Windows Server 2003 的支持已于 2015 年 7 月 14 日终止。

Microsoft 已于 2015 年 7 月 14 日终止了对于 Windows Server 2003 的支持。该更改已影响到您的软件更新和安全选项。 了解这一措施对于您的含义以及如何继续保持受保护状态。

概要
本文介绍如何安装群集打印服务器。
更多信息
可以使用 Windows Clustering 承载打印服务器功能。Microsoft Windows Server 2003 中的配置步骤不同于 Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Enterprise Edition、Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server 和 Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server 中的配置步骤。要安装群集打印服务器,只需在群集管理器中配置后台处理程序资源,然后连接到虚拟服务器来配置端口和打印队列。这是对以前版本的 Windows Clustering 的改进,在以前版本中,必须针对群集中的每个节点重复配置步骤。

如何为群集配置后台处理程序资源

安装群集打印机服务器的第一步,是为群集服务器上的服务创建后台处理程序资源。需要将适当的资源提供给后台处理程序服务使用。要这样做,请在群集管理器中创建后台处理程序资源:
  1. 要打开群集管理器,请单击“开始”,再单击“运行”,键入 cluadmin,然后单击“确定”。
  2. 用鼠标右键在左窗格中单击,然后单击“配置应用程序”。
  3. 在“欢迎”屏幕中,单击“下一步”,然后再次单击“下一步”,以新建虚拟服务器。
  4. 单击“使用现有资源组”,然后单击具有磁盘资源的现有组,以用于存储后台处理程序和打印机驱动程序。单击“下一步”。
  5. 对于资源组名称,提供准确表示该组的名称,例如“SPOOLER”。

    注意:此名称仅在群集管理器中用于进行管理。
  6. 在“虚拟服务器访问信息”屏幕中:
    1. 在“网络名称”下,输入客户端将连接到的 NetBIOS 名称。这是客户端用于访问打印机的 NetBIOS 虚拟服务器名称:
      \\虚拟服务器\Printer
      注意:Microsoft 建议您遵守 8.3 命名标准,以确保与客户端的早期版本兼容。
    2. 输入客户端将用于连接到此虚拟打印服务器的 IP 地址。如果群集节点已安装 Unix 打印服务并且正在运行这些服务,则客户端可以使用远程行式打印机 (LPR) 连接到此 IP 地址。
  7. 单击“下一步”。
  8. 在“高级属性”屏幕中,可以对要创建的资源进行修改,然后单击“下一步”。
  9. 在“为我的应用程序创建资源”屏幕中,单击“下一步”。
  10. 单击“后台打印程序”,然后再次单击“下一步”。
  11. 为后台处理程序资源指定名称。

    注意:此名称仅在群集管理器中用于进行管理。
  12. 设置后台处理程序资源的依赖项:
    1. 单击“高级属性”,然后在“依赖项”选项卡上,单击“修改”。
    2. 双击希望后台处理程序文件位于的“物理磁盘”资源,以及刚刚创建的“网络名称”资源。
    3. 单击“确定”两次。
  13. 单击“下一步”。
  14. 单击“完成”以结束向导。
  15. 验证配置并测试故障转移:
    1. 用鼠标右键单击后台处理程序组,然后单击“联机”。
    2. 验证所有资源均已联机,然后检查事件日志中是否有错误。
    3. 用鼠标右键单击后台处理程序组,单击“移动组”,将后台处理程序资源移至群集中每个可能是所有者的节点,然后验证所有资源均已联机。
    注意:如果要安装主动/主动打印服务器,则需要为每个节点创建一个组,并且要对每个后台处理程序组进行设置,以使其具有不同的首选所有者。同一组中不能有多个后台处理程序资源。主动/主动打印服务器配置具有以下特点:在该配置中,具有多个群集节点,这些节点使用多个后台处理程序为客户端处理打印任务。这可能会包括二到四个主动处理请求的节点。

    当一个节点承载多个具有打印后台处理程序的组时,您将能够浏览所有组中的所有打印机。 有关更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
    170762 Cluster Shares Appear in Browse List Under Other Names

如何创建打印机队列

既然已经使用必要的资源正确配置了后台处理程序资源,那么就可以为所有物理打印机创建所有打印队列了。您还可以使用资源工具箱中的 Clustool 实用工具,将服务器上以前就存在的打印机队列迁移到群集服务器上。之后,请使用“打印迁移”实用工具迁移打印机驱动程序。为了取得最佳结果,请避免将多台服务器配置为使用同一台打印机直接进行通信。
  1. 从其中一个节点或对群集具有管理权限的远程计算机中,单击“开始”,再单击“运行”,然后键入\\虚拟服务器,其中虚拟服务器是为后台处理程序资源所依赖的“网络名称”资源指定的名称。
  2. 双击“打印机”文件夹。
  3. 双击“添加打印机”以打开“添加打印机向导”,然后单击“下一步”。
  4. 选择“创建新端口”,然后单击“下一步”。

    注意:TCP/IP 端口是 Windows Clustering 上支持的唯一端口类型。除非打印客户端需要与 RFC 兼容的 LPR 端口,否则请使用“标准 TCP/IP 端口”选项。如果是这种情况,请执行以下步骤:
    1. 在“控制面板”中,双击“添加/删除程序”,然后单击Add/Remove Windows Components(添加/删除 Windows 组件)以启动 Windows 组件向导。
    2. 在“组件”下,向下滚动并单击以选中“其它网络文件和打印服务”复选框。
    3. 单击“详细信息”以打开“其它网络文件和打印服务”窗口,单击以选中 Print Services for UNIX(UNIX 打印服务)复选框,然后单击“关闭”以关闭“其它网络文件和打印服务”窗口。
    4. 单击“下一步”,继续运行 Windows 组件向导。

      完成向导后,LPR 端口将作为一种端口类型提供。默认情况下,根据 RFC 1179,LPR 只使用十一个 TCP 端口。
  5. 在“打印机名或 IP 地址”框中,键入要处理打印任务的网络打印机的 IP 地址。

    注意:使用 LPR 打印时,双向打印也会成为问题。有些打印机驱动程序会默认启用此选项。创建 LPR 端口和打印机时,请禁用Bi-directional printing(双向打印)选项。如果启用了此选项,可能会导致计算机接受一项或多项打印任务,然后直到打印机被物理重置后才停止接受任务。

    您不再必须为每个节点创建在本地定义的打印机端口配置。在 Windows 2000(或更高版本)中,端口配置存储在群集注册表中,从而在以下注册表项中由所有群集节点共享:
    HKEY_Local_Machine\Cluster\Resources\%Spooler GUID%\Parameters\Monitors\
  6. 为此打印机选择适当的驱动程序,然后单击“下一步”。
  7. 为该打印机指定在群集服务器上唯一的名称。
  8. 选择该打印机的共享名称,此名称在此群集上也必须唯一。您不希望此群集上的任何其他打印机使用同一共享名称,即使它们位于不同组并且与不同后台处理程序资源相关联。如果主动/主动配置中发生故障,则群集中的相同节点可能拥有两个后台处理程序组。如果发生这种情况,共享公用名的打印机将会不可用。再次建议您遵循 8.3 命名标准,以便与早期版本兼容。

    注意:安装进程接下来会将打印机驱动程序文件复制到 \\虚拟服务器\print$ share。打印机驱动程序会被复制到群集内的某个特定节点(该节点拥有此虚拟名称的“网络名称”资源)的 %SystemRoot%\System32\Spool\Drivers\后台打印程序 GUID\Drivers 文件夹中。驱动程序还会被复制到共享磁盘的 \PrinterDrivers 文件夹中。
  9. 为此打印机测试打印:

    添加所有需要的打印队列后,请使用群集管理器将包含打印后台处理程序资源的组移至所有其他节点。这会将打印机驱动程序从共享磁盘上的 \PrinterDrivers 文件夹复制到该节点上的 %SystemRoot%\System32\Spool\Drivers\%Spooler GUID%\Drivers 文件夹中。

    注意:创建队列后,虽然尚未将驱动程序复制到所有其他可用节点,客户端仍可立即使用打印。创建队列后,不必立即将后台处理程序组移至所有其他节点上,群集即可运行。可以在以后安排时间进行此操作。
mscs
属性

文章 ID:278455 - 上次审阅时间:10/23/2003 23:34:00 - 修订版本: 5.3

Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition, Microsoft Windows Advanced Server, Limited Edition

  • kbinfo kbprint KB278455
反馈

How to set up a clustered print server

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 278455 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q278455
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This article describes how to set up a clustered print server.

MORE INFORMATION

You can use Windows Clustering to host print server functionality. The configuration steps in Microsoft Windows Server 2003 differ from those in Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0, Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server, and Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server. To set up a clustered print server, you need to configure only the Spooler resource in Cluster Administrator and then connect to the virtual server to configure the ports and print queues. This is an improvement over previous versions of Windows Clustering in which you had to repeat the configuration steps on each node in the cluster.

How to configure the spooler resource for the cluster

The first step in setting up a clustered printer server is to create a Spooler resource for the service on a clustered server. The appropriate resources need to be made available to the spooler service. To do this, create a Spooler resource in Cluster Administrator:
  1. To open Cluster Administrator, click Start, click Run, type cluadmin, and then click OK.
  2. Right-click in the left pane, and then click Configure Application.
  3. At the Welcome screen, click Next, and then click Next again to create a new virtual server.
  4. Click Use an existing Resource Group, and then click an existing group that has a Disk resource in which you want to store the spooler and printer drivers. Click Next.
  5. For the resource group name, provide a name that accurately represents the group, such as "SPOOLER."

    Note This name is for administrative purposes only in Cluster Administrator.
  6. At the Virtual Server Access Information screen:
    1. Under Network Name, enter a NetBIOS name to which clients will connect. This is the NetBIOS virtual server name that is used by clients to access the printers:
      \\VirtualServer\Printer
      Note Microsoft recommends adhering to the 8.3-naming standard to assure compatibility with earlier versions of the client.
    2. Enter the IP address that clients will use to connect to this virtual print server. If the nodes of the cluster have Print Services for Unix installed and running, clients can connect using line printer remote (LPR) to this IP address.
  7. Click Next.
  8. At the Advanced Properties screen, you can make modifications to the resources that are about to be created, and then click Next.
  9. At the Create a Resource for My Application screen, click Next.
  10. Click Print Spooler, and then click Next.
  11. Give the Spooler resource a name.

    Note This name is for administrative purposes only in Cluster Administrator.
  12. Set the dependencies for the Spooler resource:
    1. Click Advanced Properties, and on the Dependencies tab, click Modify.
    2. Double-click the Physical Disk resource on which you want the spooler files to be located, and the Network Name resource that you just created.
    3. Click OK twice.
  13. Click Next.
  14. Click Finish to complete the wizard.
  15. Verify configuration and test failover:
    1. Right-click the spooler group, and then click Bring Online.
    2. Verify that all resources come online, and then check the event logs for errors.
    3. Right-click the spooler group, click Move Group, move the Spooler resource to each node in the cluster that is a possible owner, and then verify that all resources come online.
    Note If you are setting up an active/active print server, you need to create one group for each node and you want to set each spooler group to have a different preferred owner. You cannot have multiple Spooler resources in the same group. An active/active print server configuration is one in which there are multiple nodes in the cluster that are processing print jobs for clients with multiple spoolers. This could include as many as two to four nodes that are actively handling requests.

    When a single node is hosting multiple groups with print spoolers, you will be able to browse all printers from all groups. For more information about related topics, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    170762 Cluster shares appear in browse list under other names

How to create the printer queues

Now that you have properly configured the Spooler resource with the necessary resources, you can create all of the print queues for all of the physical printers. You can also use the Clustool utility from the Resource Kit to migrate previously existing printer queues on a server to a clustered server. After that, use the Print Migrate utility to migrate the printer drivers. For best results, avoid having multiple servers configured to communicate directly with the same printer.
  1. From one of the nodes or a remote computer that has administrative permissions to the cluster click Start, click Run, type \\VirtualServer where VirtualServer is the name that is specified for the Network Name resource on which the Spooler resource is dependent.
  2. Double-click the Printers folder.
  3. Double-click Add Printers to open the Add Printer Wizard, and then click Next.
  4. Select Create a new port, and then click Next.

    Note: TCP/IP ports are the only supported port type on a Windows Clustering. Use the Standard TCP/IP Port option unless the printing clients need RFC-compliant LPR ports. If this is the case, follow these steps:
    1. In Control Panel, double-click Add/Remove Programs, and then click Add/Remove Windows Components to start the Windows Components Wizard.
    2. Under Components, scroll down and click to select the Other Network File and Print Services check box.
    3. Click Details to open the Other Network File and Print Services window, click to select the Print Services for UNIX check box, and then click OK to close the Other Network File and Print Services window.
    4. Click Next to continue with the Windows Components Wizard.

      When you complete the wizard, the LPR port will be available as a port type. By default, according to RFC 1179, LPR will use only eleven TCP ports.
  5. Type the IP address of the network printer that you want to process the print jobs in the Printer Name or IP Address box.

    Note: Bi-directional printing can also be a problem when using LPR printing. Some printer drivers enable this option by default. When you create the LPR port and printer, disable the Bi-directional printing option. If this option is enabled, it may cause a printer to accept one or more print jobs, and then stop accepting jobs until the printer is physically reset.

    You no longer have to create a locally-defined printer port configuration for each node. In Windows 2000 (and later) the port configuration is stored in the cluster registry and is therefore shared between all cluster nodes, under the following key:
    HKEY_Local_Machine\Cluster\Resources\%Spooler GUID%\Parameters\Monitors\
  6. Choose the appropriate driver for this printer, and then click Next.
  7. Give the printer a unique name on the cluster server.
  8. Choose a share name for the printer; this name must also be unique on this cluster. You do not want to have any other printers with the same share name on this cluster, even if they are in a different group and associated with a different Spooler resource. In the event of a failure, in an active/active configuration the same node in the cluster may own both spooler groups. If this occurs, printers that share a common name will not be available. Again, it is recommended to adhere to the 8.3-naming standard for compatibility with earlier versions.

    Note: The installation process then copies the printer driver files to the \\VirtualServer\print$ share. The printer drivers are copied to the %SystemRoot%\System32\Spool\Drivers\Spooler GUID\Drivers folder of the node in the cluster that owns the Network Name resource for this virtual name. The drivers are also copied to the shared disk in the \PrinterDrivers folder.
  9. Test the printing for this printer:

    After you add all the desired print queues, use Cluster Administrator to move the group that contains the Print Spooler resource to all other nodes. This copies the printer drivers from the \PrinterDrivers folder on the shared disk to the %SystemRoot%\System32\Spool\Drivers\%Spooler GUID%\Drivers folder on that node.

    Note: Printing is available immediately to clients when the queue has been created even though the drivers have not been copied to all other available nodes. It is not necessary to move the spooler group over to all other nodes immediately after creating the queues for the cluster to function. You can do this later when you can schedule a brief outage during which time you can take the Spooler resource offline.
For more information about how to set up a highly-available print cluster, view the following white paper:
http://www.microsoft.com/WindowsServer2003/techinfo/overview/availableprinter.mspx
Note When you set up a print cluster, you have to set the Quorum log size to a size that is large enough to comply with the number of printers that will be installed. You should increase the size of the reset quorum log when you increase the size of the Quorum log size. To help determine whether you have to increase the reset quorum log size value, verify the size of the Clusdb file. Each node includes a local copy of this file in the %SystemRoot%\Cluster folder. The size of the reset quorum log for the transactional log should be larger than the size of the Clusdb file for the cluster registry.

For example, if you have installed printers and the size of the Clusdb file is 6 megabytes (MB), you should increase the size of the reset quorum log to 8192 bytes (8 MB). By default, the size of the reset quorum log on Windows Server 2003 is 4 MB. You should increase the size of the reset quorum log in 64 KB increments. A good rule is to double the current size of the reset quorum log.

Properties

Article ID: 278455 - Last Review: March 1, 2007 - Revision: 9.3
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Advanced Server, Limited Edition
Keywords: 
kbinfo kbprint KB278455

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com