如何判斷 64 位元版本 Windows 的適當的分頁檔大小

請注意--重要:本文是以 Microsoft 機器翻譯軟體翻譯而成,且可能由 Microsoft Community 利用 Community Translation Framework技術或人工進行事後編修。翻譯過程並無專業譯者參與。Microsoft 同時提供使用者人為翻譯、機器翻譯及社群編修後的機器翻譯三種版本的文章,讓使用者可以依其使用語言使用知識庫中的所有文章。但是,所有翻譯文章都可能不盡完美,內容都可能出現詞彙、語意或文法上的錯誤。就翻譯內容之不正確或錯誤,或客戶因使用翻譯內容所產生的任何損害,微軟不負擔任何責任。Microsoft將依合理的商業努力不斷地更新機器翻譯軟體和工具,以期能為使用者提供更好的服務。

按一下這裡查看此文章的英文版本:2860880
結論
分頁檔案 (也稱為 「 分頁檔案 」) 是一個選擇性的、 隱藏的系統檔案在硬碟上。分頁檔案可以用來 「 上一步] (或支援) 系統損毀傾印,並擴充系統可以備份系統認可記憶體數量 (也稱為 「 虛擬記憶體 」)。此外,它也會讓系統,讓系統使用實體記憶體,更有效率的更常存取的網頁的實體記憶體中移除不常存取修改過的網頁。

64 位元版本的 Windows 和 Windows Server 可支援更多實體記憶體 (RAM) 比 32 位元版本的支援。不過,未變更的原因,若要設定的分頁檔大小。一直以來,有關支援系統損毀傾印中,如果有需要,或擴充系統認可限制,如有必要。例如,在安裝大量實體記憶體時,分頁檔案可能不需要在尖峰使用期間備份系統的確認負載。可用的實體記憶體單獨可能不夠大,無法執行這項操作。不過,分頁檔或專用的傾印檔案可能仍需要備份系統損毀傾印。

用於所有的 Windows 版本和 Windows Server 中的分頁檔案調整大小的下列考量:
  • 損毀傾印設定: 如果您想要建立在系統當機期間的損毀傾印檔案時,分頁檔或專用的傾印檔案必須存在,且要夠大,無法重新設定系統損毀傾印。否則,不會建立系統記憶體傾印檔案。
  • 尖峰系統的確認負載: 系統的確認負載不能超過系統認可限制。這項限制是實體記憶體 (RAM) 的總和,以及所有的分頁檔結合。如果沒有分頁檔案存在,系統認可限制是稍微小於安裝的實體記憶體。尖峰系統認可的記憶體使用量系統之間差異很大。因此,實體記憶體和分頁檔案大小也會有所不同。
  • 不常存取的網頁的數量: 分頁檔的目的是到最下層不常存取的網頁,讓他們可以從實體記憶體中移除。這提供更多可用空間更常存取的網頁。"\Memory\Modified 頁面清單位元組] 效能計數器,測量不經常存取目的地為硬碟的修改分頁數目。不過,請注意已修改的頁面清單中的不是所有的記憶體會寫入到磁碟的逾時。通常,數個數百個 mb 的記憶體會一直保持常駐在修改過的清單。因此,請考慮擴充,或新增分頁檔,如果下列所有情況皆成立:
    • 需要更多可用的實體記憶體 (\Memory\Available mb 為單位)。
    • 修改過的網頁清單包含大量的記憶體。
    • 現有的分頁檔都相當填滿 (\Paging 檔案 (*) \ %使用量)。

    注意事項
    • 某些產品或服務可能需要分頁檔案,此處所討論的其他原因。如需詳細資訊,請檢查您的產品說明文件。比方說,Windows 伺服器的網域控制站和 DFS 複寫、 憑證和 LDS 伺服器 (也是用戶端版本) 不支援不需要設定的分頁檔案。ESENT (在 Microsoft Exchange Server ESE) 的資料庫快取的演算法而定 」 \Memory\Transition RePurposed 的 Pages/sec 「 效能監視器計數器。需要確定資料庫快取可以釋放記憶體,如果其他服務或應用程式要求記憶體分頁檔。在 [摘要] 頁面的檔案大小取決於系統損毀傾印設定需求的系統認可電量尖峰使用量或預期的用法。這兩個考量都是唯一到每個系統,甚至對其他系統相同的系統中的項目。這表示分頁檔案大小是唯一的到每個系統,而且無法加以一般化。
    • 對於 Windows Server 2012 Hyper-V 和 Windows Server 2012 R2 Hyper-V,分頁檔的管理作業系統 (通常稱為主機 OS) 應該保留於預設的設定的 「 系統管理 」。這是每個 Hyper-V 產品群組。
其他相關資訊

認可的系統記憶體

系統認可限制會是實體記憶體總數,並結合所有的分頁檔。它表示系統認可的記憶體上限 (也就是 「 系統確認負載"),系統可以備份。系統的確認負載是認可或"答應我一手交"的所有已認可的虛擬記憶體的記憶體系統中的總計。如果系統的確認負載達到系統認可限制時,系統和程序不可能取得認可的記憶體。擱置、 當機,以及其他故障,可能會造成這種情況。因此,請確定您設定系統認可限制夠大,無法在尖峰使用期間備份系統的確認負載。

在 [工作管理員 」 或 「 使用"\Memory\Committed 位元組"和"\Memory\Commit 限制 」 效能計數器的 [效能] 索引標籤上,可以測量的系統的確認負載和系統認可限制。"\Memory\%已確認使用中的位元組 」 計數器的比率為"\Memory\Committed 位元組"是"\Memory\Commit 限制 」 值。

注意系統管理分頁檔自動成長三次的實體記憶體或 4 GB (無論哪個都是較大的) 當系統認可電量達到百分之 90 的系統認可限制。這假設足夠的磁碟空間可容納成長。

系統損毀傾印

系統無法正確執行時,就會發生系統當機 (也稱為 「 錯誤檢查 」 或 「 停止錯誤 」)。從這個事件會產生的傾印檔案稱為系統損毀傾印。分頁檔或專用的傾印檔案用於寫入磁碟的損毀傾印檔案 (memory.dmp)。因此,分頁檔或專用的傾印檔案必須夠大,無法備份選取的損毀傾印的種類。否則,系統無法建立損毀傾印檔案。

注意在啟動期間,將系統管理的網頁檔案系統損毀傾印設定各自大小。這是假設有足夠的磁碟空間。
設定系統損毀傾印最小的分頁檔案大小需求
小量記憶體傾印 (256 KB)1 MB
核心記憶體傾印核心虛擬記憶體使用方式而定
完整的記憶體傾印1x RAM 並加上 257 MB *
自動記憶體傾印核心虛擬記憶體使用方式而定。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 自動記憶體傾印MSDN。

* 1 MB 的標頭的資料和裝置的驅動程式可以總 256 MB 的次要的損毀傾印資料。

自動記憶體傾印

Windows 8 和 Windows Server 2012 引進了 「 自動的記憶體傾印] 功能。預設會啟用這項功能。這是新的設定,不是新型的損毀傾印。此設定會自動選取最佳分頁檔大小,視系統當機的頻率而定。

大多數情況下時,自動記憶體傾印設定第一個選取在小的分頁檔大小] 會配合核心記憶體。如果系統當機四星期的時間內,一次,「 自動的記憶體傾印 」 功能選取與 RAM 的大小或 32 GB 的分頁檔的大小,以較小。

附註在 Windows 8.1] 和 [Windows Server 2012 R2,分頁檔或專用的傾印檔案的初始最小大小是 1 GB。

核心記憶體損毀傾印需要足夠的分頁檔空間或專用的傾印檔案空間,以容納虛擬記憶體使用核心模式的側邊。如果系統當機的前一個損毀的四週內,一次,在重新啟動已選取 [完整記憶體傾印。這需要分頁檔或專用的傾印檔案的最少的實體記憶體 (RAM) 的大小加 1 MB 的標頭資訊加 256 MB 才能潛在的驅動程式資料,以便支援會從記憶體傾印所有潛在資料。同樣地,系統管理分頁檔會增加到最下層這種損毀傾印。如果系統已設定為分頁檔案或有特定大小的專用傾印檔案,請確定大小足以備份稍早在本章節一起和尖峰系統的確認負載表所列的損毀傾印設定。

如需有關系統損毀傾印的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文章編號,移至 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:

969028 如何在 Windows Server 2008 和 Windows Server 2008 R2 中產生的核心或完整記憶體傾印檔案

專用的傾印檔案

正在通常執行 Microsoft Windows 或 Microsoft Windows Server 的電腦必須有分頁檔案複製回系統損毀傾印。系統管理員現在可以開始使用下列軟體封裝,改為建立專用的傾印檔案:
  • Windows 7 Service Pack 1 hotfix 套用的 2716542
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 與 hotfix 套用的 2716542
專用的傾印檔案就不能用於分頁的分頁檔案。相反地,它"專門"系統損毀發生時,備份系統損毀傾印檔案 (memory.dmp)。專用傾印檔案會放置在任何可支援分頁檔的磁碟區。我們建議您當您想要系統損毀傾印,但不是想讓分頁檔案時,才使用專用的傾印檔案。

如需有關專用傾印檔案的詳細資訊,請按一下下列文章編號,以移至 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:

969028 如何在 Windows Server 2008and Windows Server 2008 R2 中產生的核心或完整記憶體傾印檔案

950858 專門為 4 GB 的傾印檔案會意外地被截斷,在執行 Windows Server 2008 或 Windows Vista,且具有 4 GB 以上實體記憶體的電腦上

系統管理分頁檔

預設情況下,分頁檔案會是系統管理。增加分頁檔,並減少這表示會根據許多因素,例如安裝的實體記憶體數量,容納系統的確認負載,程序和包容系統損毀傾印程序。

例如,超過 90%的系統認可限制系統的確認負載時,分頁檔的動作就會增加為它備份。此問題持續發生,直到分頁檔達到三次實體記憶體或 4 GB 的大小,以較大。這一切假設裝載 (host) 分頁檔的邏輯磁碟已大到足以容納成長。

下表會列出系統管理分頁檔的最小及最大分頁檔案大小。
作業系統最小的分頁檔大小最大分頁檔案大小
Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003 少於 1 gb 的 RAM1.5 x RAM3 倍 RAM 或 4 GB,無論哪個都是較大
Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003,超過 1 gb 的 RAM1x RAM3 倍 RAM 或 4 GB,無論哪個都是較大
Windows Vista 和 Windows Server 20081x RAM3 倍 RAM 或 4 GB,無論哪個都是較大
Windows 7 和 Windows Server 2008 R21x RAM3 倍 RAM 或 4 GB,無論哪個都是較大
Windows 8 和 Windows Server 2012取決於損毀傾印設定 *3 倍 RAM 或 4 GB,無論哪個都是較大
Windows 8.1 和 Windows Server 2012 R2取決於損毀傾印設定 *3 倍 RAM 或 4 GB,無論哪個都是較大

* 請參閱系統損毀傾印。

效能計數器

數個效能計數器的關係到分頁檔。本章節說明的計數器,它們的測量。
\Memory\Page/sec 和其他硬體分頁錯誤計數器
下列效能計數器會測量硬式分頁錯誤 (其中包括但不是限於,分頁檔讀取):
  • \Memory\Page/sec
  • \Memory\Page 讀取數/秒
  • \Memory\Page 的輸入/秒
下列效能計數器會測量分頁檔案寫入:
  • \Memory\Page 寫入數/秒
  • \Memory\Page 輸出數/秒
硬式分頁錯誤是必須先藉由從磁碟擷取資料的方式來解決的錯誤。這類資料可以包含部分的 Dll、.exe 檔案、 記憶體對應檔案和分頁檔案。這些錯誤可能會或可能不在分頁檔或低記憶體條件才相關。硬式分頁錯誤是作業系統的標準函式。讀取下列項目時,它們就會發生:
  • 映像的組件檔案 (.dll 和.exe 檔案),因為它們用
  • 記憶體對應檔
  • 分頁檔
高的值,這些計數器 (過度分頁) 則表示每 x86 和 x64 版本的 Windows 和 Windows 伺服器上的分頁錯誤通常 4 KB 的磁碟存取。這個磁碟的存取可能或不可能與相關頁面檔案活動,但可能會導致磁碟效能不佳,如果淹沒了相關的磁碟,可能會造成整個系統延遲。

因此,我們建議您監視裝載在與這些計數器的相互關聯的分頁檔案的邏輯磁碟的磁碟效能。請注意有每個持續 100 硬體分頁錯誤的系統第二個第二個磁碟傳輸每遇到 400 KB。每秒在 16 KB 的 IO 大小約 5 MB 或 4 KB 的第二處 IO 大小大於 800 4KB,就可以處理大部分的 7200 RPM 磁碟機。沒有效能計數器直接測量硬式分頁錯誤會解析為哪一個邏輯磁碟。
\Paging 檔案 (*) \ %使用量
\Paging 檔案 (*) \ %使用量效能計數器會測量每個分頁檔使用量的百分比。100%的分頁檔的使用方式,只要系統認可限制會無法連線的系統的確認負載,並在使用大量的記憶體不在等候寫入分頁檔,並不代表效能方面的問題。

注意修改網頁清單 (\Memory\Modified 頁面清單位元組) 的大小是總數已修改的資料等候寫入到磁碟。

如果修改頁面清單 (清單的最少存取的實體記憶體頁面) 包含大量記憶體,而且所有的分頁檔%使用量值大於 90,您可以藉由增加或增加分頁檔,讓更多實體記憶體可更頻繁地存取頁面。

注意修改過的網頁清單中的不是所有記憶體會都寫出至磁碟。通常,數個數百個 mb 的記憶體會一直保持常駐在修改過的清單。

多個資料頁檔案和磁碟的考量

如果系統設定為有一個以上的分頁檔,分頁檔,以便於的第一次是所使用。這表示會更快的磁碟的分頁檔會更頻繁地使用。此外,將放在 「 快速 」 或 「 慢速 」 的磁碟上的分頁檔案重要分頁檔常被存取時,才而且會趕緊裝載 (host) 各自的分頁檔的磁碟。請注意,實際的分頁檔使用量大半取決於已修改,就管理系統的記憶體數量。這表示,已經存在 (例如.txt、.doc、.dll 和.exe) 的磁碟的檔案不會寫入分頁檔。只修改過的資料不存在 (例如,[記事本] 中未儲存文字) 的磁碟是可能無法由分頁檔支援的記憶體。未儲存的資料儲存之後磁碟為檔案,它進行備份的磁碟而不是分頁檔。

警告:本文為自動翻譯

內容

文章識別碼:2860880 - 最後檢閱時間:01/12/2016 12:14:00 - 修訂: 6.0

Windows 8.1 RTM, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012 R2 Datacenter, Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard, Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials, Windows Server 2012 Datacenter, Windows Server 2012 Standard, Windows Server 2012 Essentials, Windows 7 Enterprise, Windows 7 Ultimate, Windows 7 Professional, Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise, Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter, Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard, Windows Server 2008 Enterprise, Windows Server 2008 Datacenter, Windows Server 2008 Standard, Windows Vista 商用進階 64 位元版, Windows Vista 旗艦 64 位元版, Windows Vista 商用入門 64 位元版, Windows 8.1 with Bing

  • kbexpertiseadvanced kbinfo kbmt KB2860880 KbMtzh
意見反應

How to determine the appropriate page file size for 64-bit versions of Windows

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 2860880 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

Summary

A page file (also known as a "paging file") is an optional, hidden system file on a hard disk. The page file can be used to "back" (or support) system crash dumps and extend how much system-committed memory (also known as “virtual memory”) a system can back. It also enables the system to remove infrequently accessed modified pages from physical memory to let the system use physical memory more efficiently for more frequently accessed pages.

64-bit versions of Windows and Windows Server support more physical memory (RAM) than 32-bit versions support. However, the reason to configure the page file size has not changed. It has always been about supporting a system crash dump, if it is necessary, or extending the system commit limit, if it is necessary. For example, when a lot of physical memory is installed, a page file might not be required to back the system commit charge during peak usage. The available physical memory alone might be large enough to do this. However, a page file or a dedicated dump file might still be required to back a system crash dump.

Use the following considerations for page file sizing for all versions of Windows and Windows Server:
  • Crash dump setting: If you want a crash dump file to be created during a system crash, a page file or a dedicated dump file must exist and be large enough to back the system crash dump setting. Otherwise, a system memory dump file is not created.
  • Peak system commit charge: The system commit charge cannot exceed the system commit limit. This limit is the sum of physical memory (RAM) and all page files combined. If no page files exist, the system commit limit is slightly less than the physical memory installed. Peak system-committed memory usage can vary greatly between systems. Therefore, physical memory and page file sizing also varies.
  • Quantity of infrequently accessed pages: The purpose of a page file is to back infrequently accessed modified pages so that they can be removed from physical memory. This provides more available space for more frequently accessed pages. The "\Memory\Modified Page List Bytes" performance counter measures, in part, the number of infrequently accessed modified pages that are destined for the hard disk. However, be aware that not all the memory on the modified page list is written out to disk. Typically, several hundred megabytes of memory remains resident on the modified list. Therefore, consider extending or adding a page file if all the following conditions are true:
    • More available physical memory (\Memory\Available MBytes) is required.
    • The modified page list contains a significant amount of memory.
    • The existing page files are fairly full (\Paging Files(*)\% Usage).

    Notes
    • Some products or services may require a page file for reasons other than those discussed here. For more information, check your product documentation. For example, Windows Server domain controllers and DFS replication, certificate, and LDS servers (also Client editions) are not supported without a configured page file. The algorithm of the database cache for ESENT (ESE, in Microsoft Exchange Server) depends on the "\Memory\Transition Pages RePurposed/sec" performance monitor counter. A page file is required to make sure that the database cache can release memory if memory is requested by other services or applications. In summary, page file sizing depends on the system crash dump setting requirements and the system commit charge peak usage or expected usage. Both considerations are unique to each system, even for systems that are identical to other systems. This means that page file sizing is unique to each system and cannot be generalized.
    • For Windows Server 2012 Hyper-V and Windows Server 2012 R2 Hyper-V, the page file of the management OS (commonly called the host OS) should be left at the default of setting of "System Managed." This is per the Hyper-V product group.

More information

System committed memory

The system commit limit is the sum of physical memory and all page files combined. It represents the maximum system-committed memory (known as the “system commit charge”) that the system can back. The system commit charge is the total committed or “promised” memory of all committed virtual memory in the system. If the system commit charge reaches the system commit limit, the system and processes might not obtain committed memory. This condition can cause hangs, crashes, and other malfunctions. Therefore, make sure that you set the system commit limit large enough to back the system commit charge during peak usage.

The system commit charge and system commit limit can be measured on the Performance tab in Task Manager or by using "\Memory\Committed Bytes" and "\Memory\Commit Limit" performance counters. The "\Memory\% Committed Bytes In Use" counter is a ratio of the "\Memory\Committed Bytes" to "\Memory\Commit Limit" values.

Note System-managed page files automatically grow up to three times physical memory or 4 GB (whichever is larger) when the system commit charge reaches 90 percent of the system commit limit. This assumes that enough free disk space is available to accommodate the growth.

System crash dumps

A system crash (also known as a “bug check” or a "Stop error") occurs when the system cannot run correctly. The dump file that is produced from this event is called a system crash dump. A page file or dedicated dump file is used to write a crash dump file (memory.dmp) to disk. Therefore, a page file or a dedicated dump file must be large enough to back the kind of crash dump selected. Otherwise, the system cannot create the crash dump file.

Note During startup, system-managed page files and system-managed dedicated dump files are sized respective to the system crash dump settings. This assumes that enough free disk space exists.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
System crash dump settingMinimum page file size requirement
Small memory dump (256 KB)1 MB
Kernel memory dumpDepends on kernel virtual memory usage
Complete memory dump1 x RAM plus 257 MB*
Automatic memory dumpAutomatic selection of small, kernel, or complete memory dump

* 1 MB of header data and device drivers can total 256 MB of secondary crash dump data.

Automatic memory dump

Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012 introduced the “Automatic memory dump” feature. This feature is enabled by default. This is a new setting, not a new kind of crash dump. This setting automatically selects the best system crash dump based on the frequency of system crashes.

The Automatic memory dump setting at first selects a Small memory dump, which requires a page file or a dedicated dump file of at least 256 KB. If the system crashes, the Automatic memory dump feature selects a Kernel memory dump at startup. Then, it increases the minimum size of the system-managed page file or the system-managed dedicated dump file to back this kind of crash dump.

Kernel memory crash dumps require enough page file space or dedicated dump file space to accommodate the kernel mode side of virtual memory usage. If the system crashes again within four weeks of the previous crash, a Complete memory dump is selected at restart. This requires a page file or dedicated dump file of at least the size of physical memory (RAM) plus 1 MB for header information plus 256 MB for potential driver data to support all the potential data that is dumped from memory. Again, the system-managed page file or the system-managed dedicated dump file will be increased to back this kind of crash dump. If the system is configured to have a page file or a dedicated dump file of a specific size, make sure that the size is sufficient to back the crash dump setting that is listed in the table earlier in this section together with and the peak system commit charge.

For more information about system crash dumps, click the following article number to go to the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

969028 How to generate a kernel or a complete memory dump file in Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008 R2

Dedicated dump files

Computers that are running Microsoft Windows or Microsoft Windows Server usually must have a page file to back a system crash dump. System administrators now have the option to create a dedicated dump file instead by using the following software packages to start with:
  • Windows 7 Service Pack 1 with hotfix 2716542 applied
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 with hotfix 2716542 applied
A dedicated dump file is a page file that is not used for paging. Instead, it is “dedicated” to back a system crash dump file (memory.dmp) when a system crash occurs. Dedicated dump files can be put on any disk volume that can support a page file. We recommend that you use a dedicated dump file when you want a system crash dump but you do not want a page file.

For more information about dedicated dump files, click the following article numbers to go to the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

969028 How to generate a kernel or a complete memory dump file in Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008 R2

950858 Dedicated dump files are unexpectedly truncated to 4 GB on a computer that is running Windows Server 2008 or Windows Vista and that has more than 4 GB of physical memory

System-managed page files

By default, page files are system-managed. This means that the page files increase and decrease based on many factors, such as the amount of physical memory installed, the process of accommodating the system commit charge, and the process of accommodating a system crash dump.

For example, when the system commit charge is more than 90 percent of the system commit limit, the page file is increased to back it. This continues to occur until the page file reaches three times the size of physical memory or 4 GB, whichever is larger. This all assumes that the logical disk that is hosting the page file is large enough to accommodate the growth.

The following table lists the minimum and maximum page file sizes of system-managed page files.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Operating systemMinimum page file sizeMaximum page file size
Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 with less than 1 GB of RAM1.5 x RAM3 x RAM or 4 GB, whichever is larger
Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 with more than 1 GB of RAM1 x RAM3 x RAM or 4 GB, whichever is larger
Windows Vista and Windows Server 20081 x RAM3 x RAM or 4 GB, whichever is larger
Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R21 x RAM3 x RAM or 4 GB, whichever is larger
Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012Depends on crash dump setting*3 x RAM or 4 GB, whichever is larger
Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2Depends on crash dump setting*3 x RAM or 4 GB, whichever is larger

* See system crash dumps.

Performance counters

Several performance counters are related to page files. This section describes the counters and what they measure.
\Memory\Page/sec and other hard page fault counters
The following performance counters measure hard page faults (which include, but are not limited to, page file reads):
  • \Memory\Page/sec
  • \Memory\Page Reads/sec
  • \Memory\Page Inputs/sec
The following performance counters measure page file writes:
  • \Memory\Page Writes/sec
  • \Memory\Page Output/sec
Hard page faults are faults that must be resolved by retrieving the data from disk. Such data can include portions of DLLs, .exe files, memory-mapped files, and page files. These faults might or might not be related to a page file or to a low-memory condition. Hard page faults are a standard function of the operating system. They occur when the following items are read:
  • Parts of image files (.dll and .exe files) as they are used
  • Memory-mapped files
  • A page file
High values for these counters (excessive paging) indicate disk access of generally 4 KB per page fault on x86 and x64 versions of Windows and Windows Server. This disk access might or might not be related to page file activity but may contribute to poor disk performance that can cause system-wide delays if the related disks are overwhelmed.

Therefore, we recommend that you monitor the disk performance of the logical disks that host a page file in correlation with these counters. Be aware that a system that has a sustained 100 hard page faults per second experiences 400 KB per second disk transfers. Most 7200 RPM disk drives can handle about 5 MB per second at an IO size of 16 KB or 800 KB per second at an IO size of 4 KB. No performance counter directly measures which logical disk the hard page faults are resolved for.
\Paging File(*)\% Usage
The \Paging File(*)\% Usage performance counter measures the percentage of usage of each page file. 100 percent usage of a page file does not indicate a performance problem as long as the system commit limit is not reached by the system commit charge, and if a significant amount of memory is not waiting to be written to a page file.

Note The size of the Modified Page List (\Memory\Modified Page List Bytes) is the total of modified data that is waiting to be written to disk.

If the Modified Page List (a list of physical memory pages that are the least frequently accessed) contains a lot of memory, and if the % Usage value of all page files is greater than 90, you can make more physical memory available for more frequently access pages by increasing or adding a page file.

Note Not all the memory on the modified page list is written out to disk. Typically, several hundred megabytes of memory remains resident on the modified list.

Multiple page files and disk considerations

If a system is configured to have more than one page file, the page file that responds first is the one that is used. This means that page files that are on faster disks are used more frequently. Also, putting a page file on a “fast” or “slow” disk is important only if the page file is frequently accessed and if the disk that is hosting the respective page file is overwhelmed. Be aware that actual page file usage depends greatly on the amount of modified memory that the system is managing. This means that files that already exist on disk (such as .txt, .doc, .dll, and .exe) are not written to a page file. Only modified data that does not already exist on disk (for example, unsaved text in Notepad ) is memory that could potentially be backed by a page file. After the unsaved data is saved to disk as a file, it is backed by the disk and not by a page file.

References

Windows Internals, Fifth Edition

889654 How to determine the appropriate page file size for 64-bit versions of Windows

Pushing the Limits of Windows: Virtual Memory

Properties

Article ID: 2860880 - Last Review: October 29, 2013 - Revision: 7.0
Applies to
  • Windows 8.1 RTM
  • Windows 8
  • Windows Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard
  • Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials
  • Windows Server 2012 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2012 Standard
  • Windows Server 2012 Essentials
  • Windows 7 Enterprise
  • Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Windows 7 Professional
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
  • Windows Server 2008 Enterprise
  • Windows Server 2008 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2008 Standard
  • Windows Vista Enterprise 64-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista Business 64-bit Edition
Keywords: 
kbexpertiseadvanced kbinfo KB2860880

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com