你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

有关 Windows 2000 DNS 和 Windows Server 2003 DNS 的常见问题

Support for Windows Server 2003 ended on July 14, 2015

Microsoft ended support for Windows Server 2003 on July 14, 2015. This change has affected your software updates and security options. Learn what this means for you and how to stay protected.

本文的发布号曾为 CHS291382
概要
本文介绍 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 中的 DNS 功能,并提供有关 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 DNS 的常见问题解答。
更多信息
DNS 是 Active Directory 的主干,也是 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 的主要名称解析机制。Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 域控制器在 DNS 中动态注册有关它们自身和 Active Directory 的信息。属于域的其他 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 域控制器、服务器以及工作站通过查询 DNS 来查找与 Active Directory 相关的信息。如果 DNS 没有正确设置,则会发生域范围内的问题,例如域控制器之间的复制。您还可能无法从工作站或服务器登录到域或加入域。

:当管理员在包含单个 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 域控制器的网络上设置 DNS 时,常犯哪些错误?

:最常见的错误有:
  • 域控制器没有为了所有网络接口上的 DNS 解析而指向它自己。
  • DNS 中的正向搜索区域下存在“.”区域。
  • 局域网 (LAN) 上的其他计算机没有指向 DNS 的 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器。
:为什么必须让我的域控制器在 DNS 中指向它自己?

:域控制器上的 Netlogon 服务在 DNS 中注册了许多记录,这些记录使得其他域控制器和计算机能够搜索与 Active Directory 相关的信息。如果域控制器指向 Internet 服务提供商 (ISP) 的 DNS 服务器,Netlogon 就不会注册正确的 Active Directory 记录,并且“事件查看器”中会生成错误。在 Windows Server 2003 中,推荐使用下面的 DNS 配置:将所有 DNS 服务器上的 DNS 客户端设置配置为使用这些服务器自身作为客户端的主 DNS 服务器,并使用同一域中的其他域控制器作为客户端的备用 DNS 服务器(最好是同一站点中的其他域控制器)。此过程还能解决 Windows 2000 中的 DNS“孤岛”问题。您必须始终将每个域控制器网络接口的 DNS 客户端设置配置为使用备用 DNS 服务器地址,作为主 DNS 服务器地址的补充。

有关 Windows 2000 DNS“孤岛”问题的更多信息,请参见“Active Directory Branch Office Planning Guide”(Active Directory 分支机构规划指南)一文“Planning”(规划)部分的“Chapter 2 - Structural Planning for Branch Office Environments”(第 2 章 — 分支机构环境中的结构规划),它位于下面的 Microsoft 网站:http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/techinfo/planning/activedirectory/branchoffice/default.mspx

:域控制器在 DNS 中注册些什么?

:Netlogon 服务注册该域控制器的所有 SRV 记录。这些记录在与您的域名匹配的正向搜索区域中显示为 _msdcs、_sites、_tcp 和 _udp 文件夹。其他计算机搜索这些记录以查找与 Active Directory 相关的信息。

:我为什么不能像在 Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 中那样使用 WINS 进行名称解析?

:Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 域控制器不在 WINS 服务器中注册与 Active Directory 相关的信息,它只在支持动态更新的 DNS 服务器(如 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器)中注册这些信息。其他基于 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 的计算机不在 WINS 中查询与 Active Directory 相关的信息。

:如果我从域控制器中删除 ISP 的 DNS 服务器设置,它如何解析 Internet 中的名称,如 Microsoft.com?

:只要 DNS 的正向搜索区域中不存在“.”区域,DNS 服务就会使用根提示服务器。根提示服务器是 Internet 上众所周知的服务器,它们帮助所有的 DNS 服务器解析名称查询。

:什么是正向搜索区域中的“.”区域?

:该设置将 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器指派为根提示服务器,并且通常会被删除。如果您不删除该设置,可能无法在 Internet 上对根提示服务器执行外部名称解析。

有关更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
229840DNS 服务器的根提示和转发器页面不可用
:我需要在 DNS 中配置转发器吗?

:不需要。默认情况下,Windows 2000 DNS 使用 Internet 上的根提示服务器;不过,您可以配置转发器直接向 ISP 的 DNS 服务器或其他 DNS 服务器发送 DNS 查询。大多数情况下,配置转发器可以提高 DNS 的性能和效率,但是如果转发 DNS 服务器遇到问题,则该配置也会引入故障点。根提示服务器可以提供某种程度的冗余,以换取 Internet 连接中稍微增加的 DNS 通讯。如果 Windows Server 2003 DNS 无法查询转发器,则它会查询根提示服务器。

:我应该将 LAN 中其他基于 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 的计算机指向 ISP 的 DNS 服务器吗?

:不必。如果基于 Windows 2000 或 Window Server 2003 的服务器或工作站在 DNS 中找不到域控制器,您在加入域或登录到域时可能会遇到问题。基于 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 的计算机的首选 DNS 设置应该指向运行 DNS 的 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 域控制器。如果您使用的是 DHCP,请务必在作用域选项 #15 中检查您的 LAN 的 DNS 服务器设置是否正确。

:我需要将运行 Windows NT 4.0、Microsoft Windows 95、Microsoft Windows 98 或 Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition 的计算机指向 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器吗?

:传统的操作系统继续使用 NetBIOS 进行名称解析以查找域控制器;但是建议您将所有计算机都指向 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器进行名称解析。

:如果我的 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器在代理服务器或防火墙的后面,该怎么办?

:如果您能够从代理服务器或防火墙的后面查询 ISP 的 DNS 服务器,则 Windows 2000 和 Windows Server 2003 DNS 服务器就能够查询根提示服务器。UDP 和 TCP 端口 53 在代理服务器或防火墙上应该是打开的。

:如果域控制器已经在 DNS 中指向它自己,但是 SRV 记录仍没有出现在区域中,我该怎么办?

:请检查断开连接的命名空间,然后运行 Netdiag.exe /fix。要运行 Netdiag.exe,必须从 Windows 2000 Server 或 Windows Server 2003 CD-ROM 安装支持工具。

有关如何检查断开连接的命名空间的更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
257623将 Windows NT 4.0 主域控制器升级到 Windows 2000 后,新域控制器的计算机名称的 DNS 后缀可能与域名称不匹配
:如何设置子域的 DNS?

:要设置子域的 DNS,请在父 DNS 服务器上为子 DNS 服务器创建一个指派记录。在子 DNS 服务器上创建一个通过父 DNS 服务器传输父区域的辅助区域。

注意:Windows Server 2003 还提供其他类型的区域,例如,存根区域和林级别的集成 Active Directory 区域,这些区域可能更适合您的环境。

首先将子域控制器设置为指向它自己。只要有一个备选域控制器,就将子域控制器设置为指向子域中的该域控制器,作为它的辅助。

有关更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
255248如何在 Active Directory 中创建一个子域并将 DNS 命名空间委派到该子域

附加资源

有关更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
260371解决 Windows 2000 中的常见 Active Directory 安装问题
241505 实现 Active Directory 和域名系统后 SRV 记录丢失
247811 如何在 Windows 中定位域控制器
249868 使用 Cache.dns 文件替换根提示
win2000hotnet FAQ
属性

文章 ID:291382 - 上次审阅时间:01/31/2007 07:23:00 - 修订版本: 8.4

Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Windows 2000 Server, Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server

  • kbinfo kbtshoot kbdns kbfaq KB291382
反馈

Frequently asked questions about Windows 2000 DNS and Windows Server 2003 DNS

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 291382 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q291382
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This article describes DNS functionality in Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003, and provides answers to frequently asked questions about Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003 DNS.

MORE INFORMATION

DNS is the backbone of Active Directory and the primary name resolution mechanism of Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003. Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003 domain controllers dynamically register information about themselves and about Active Directory in DNS. Other Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003 domain controllers, servers, and workstations that are part of the domain query DNS to find Active Directory-related information. If DNS is not set up correctly, domain-wide issues can occur such as replication between domain controllers. You may also be unable to log on to the domain or to join the domain from a workstation or server.

Question: What are the common mistakes that are made when administrators set up DNS on network that contains a single Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 domain controller?

Answer: The most common mistakes are:
  • The domain controller is not pointing to itself for DNS resolution on all network interfaces.
  • The "." zone exists under forward lookup zones in DNS.
  • Other computers on the local area network (LAN) do not point to the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 DNS server for DNS.
Question: Why do I have to point my domain controller to itself for DNS?

Answer: The Netlogon service on the domain controller registers a number of records in DNS that enable other domain controllers and computers to find Active Directory-related information. If the domain controller is pointing to the Internet service provider's (ISP) DNS server, Netlogon does not register the correct records for Active Directory, and errors are generated in Event Viewer. In Windows Server 2003, the recommended DNS configuration is to configure the DNS client settings on all DNS servers to use themselves as their own primary DNS server, and to use a different domain controller in the same domain as their alternative DNS server, preferably another domain controller in the same site. This process also works around the DNS "Island" problem in Windows 2000. You must always configure the DNS client settings on each domain controller's network interface to use the alternative DNS server addresses in addition to the primary DNS server address.

For more information about the Windows 2000 DNS "Island" problem, see "Chapter 2 - Structural Planning for Branch Office Environments" in the "Planning" section of the Windows 2000 Server Active Directory Branch Office Planning Guide at the following Microsoft Web site: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/windows2000serv/technologies/activedirectory/deploy/adguide/adguideintro.mspx

Question: What does a domain controller register in DNS?

Answer: The Netlogon service registers all the SRV records for that domain controller. These records are displayed as the _msdcs, _sites, _tcp, and _udp folders in the forward lookup zone that matches your domain name. Other computers look for these records to find Active Directory-related information.

Question: Why can't I use WINS for name resolution like it is used in Microsoft Windows NT 4.0?

Answer: A Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 domain controller does not register Active Directory-related information with a WINS server; it only registers this information with a DNS server that supports dynamic updates such as a Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 DNS server. Other Windows 2000-based and Windows Server 2003-based computers do not query WINS to find Active Directory-related information.

Question: If I remove the ISP's DNS server settings from the domain controller, how does it resolve names such as Microsoft.com on the Internet?

Answer: As long as the "." zone does not exist under forward lookup zones in DNS, the DNS service uses the root hint servers. The root hint servers are well-known servers on the Internet that help all DNS servers resolve name queries.

Question: What is the "." zone in my forward lookup zone?

Answer: This setting designates the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 DNS server to be a root hint server and is usually deleted. If you do not delete this setting, you may not be able to perform external name resolution to the root hint servers on the Internet.

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
229840 DNS server's root hints and forwarder pages are unavailable
Question: Do I need to configure forwarders in DNS?

Answer: No. By default, Windows 2000 DNS uses the root hint servers on the Internet; however, you can configure forwarders to send DNS queries directly to your ISP's DNS server or other DNS servers. Most of the time, when you configure forwarders, DNS performance and efficiency increases, but this configuration can also introduce a point of failure if the forwarding DNS server is experiencing problems. The root hint server can provide a level of redundancy in exchange for slightly increased DNS traffic on your Internet connection. Windows Server 2003 DNS will query root hints servers if it cannot query the forwarders.

Question: Should I point the other Windows 2000-based and Windows Server 2003-based computers on my LAN to my ISP's DNS servers?

Answer: No. If a Windows 2000-based or Windows Server 2003-based server or workstation does not find the domain controller in DNS, you may experience issues joining the domain or logging on to the domain. A Windows 2000-based or Windows Server 2003-based computer's preferred DNS setting should point to the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 domain controller running DNS. If you are using DHCP, make sure that you view scope option #15 for the correct DNS server settings for your LAN.

Question: Do I need to point computers that are running Windows NT 4.0 or Microsoft Windows 95, Microsoft Windows 98, or Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition to the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 DNS server?

Answer: Legacy operating systems continue to use NetBIOS for name resolution to find a domain controller; however it is recommended that you point all computers to the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 DNS server for name resolution.

Question: What if my Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 DNS server is behind a proxy server or firewall?

Answer: If you are able to query the ISP's DNS servers from behind the proxy server or firewall, Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003 DNS server is able to query the root hint servers. UDP and TCP Port 53 should be open on the proxy server or firewall.

Question: What should I do if the domain controller points to itself for DNS, but the SRV records still do not appear in the zone?

Answer: Check for a disjointed namespace, and then run Netdiag.exe /fix. You must install Support Tools from the Windows 2000 Server or Windows Server 2003 CD-ROM to run Netdiag.exe.

For more information about how to check for a disjointed namespace, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
257623 The DNS suffix of the computer name of a new domain controller may not match the name of the domain after you install upgrade a Windows NT 4.0 Primary domain controller to Windows 2000
Question: How do I set up DNS for a child domain?

Answer: To set up DNS for a child domain, create a delegation record on the parent DNS server for the child DNS server. Create a secondary zone on the child DNS server that transfers the parent zone from the parent DNS server.

Note Windows Server 2003 has additional types of zones, such as Stub Zones and forest-level integrated Active Directory zones, that may be a better fit for your environment.

Set the child domain controller to point to itself first. As soon as an additional domain controller is available, set the child domain controller to point to this domain controller in the child domain as its secondary.

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
255248 How to create a child domain in Active Directory and delegate the DNS namespace to the child domain

Additional Resources

241505 SRV records missing after implementing Active Directory and Domain Name System
247811 How domain controllers are located in Windows
249868 Replacing root hints with the Cache.dns file

Properties

Article ID: 291382 - Last Review: February 27, 2007 - Revision: 9.5
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
Keywords: 
kbtshoot kbdns kbfaq kbinfo KB291382

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com