你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

HOW TO:在 Office XP 中激活最终用户订阅许可证

本文的发布号曾为 CHS293191
概要
本文逐步介绍如何为下列版本的 Microsoft Office XP 激活最终用户订购许可证:
  • Professional
  • Small Business
备注:自 2001 年 8 月起,在美国不再提供 Office XP 订购许可证。

当安装 Office 之后第一次启动任何 Office 程序时,Microsoft Office 激活向导就会自动运行。将为您提供三个激活选项,您也可以选择以后激活 Office:
  • 通过 Internet 激活
  • 通过电话激活
  • 通过非订购产品密钥激活
如果选中"通过 Internet 激活"选项,Office 激活向导将自动通过 Internet 连接与 Microsoft 授权服务器联系。您必须提供的唯一信息是国家(地区)。如果您在使用有效的产品密钥,而该产品密钥以前还没有使用过,您的产品就会立即激活。

如果选中"通过电话激活"选项,请拨打 Office 激活向导中提供的电话号码,然后键入客户服务代理提供的确认号码。

如果选中"通过非订购产品密钥激活"选项,您将看到键入非订购版本中产品密钥的提示。如果您键入有效的产品密钥,您的最终用户订购许可证将自动转换成适用于您键入的产品密钥的许可证。在这种情况下,您将看到退出并重新启动所有打开的 Office 程序的提示。下次您重新启动 Office 程序时,您将看到激活您键入的非订购产品密钥的许可证的提示。可以如本文前面所描述的那样,使用 Internet 选项或电话选项激活许可证。激活产品之后,您将有从不过期的 Office 使用许可权。

对于最终用户订购版本的 Office,在不激活产品的情况下,最多可以启动 Office 程序 20 次。如果您不能激活产品,程序将开始在缩减功能模式下运行。在功能缩减模式下,无法保存对文档的修改或创建新文档,其他功能可能会减少。现有的 Office 文件或文档不会遭到损害,可以按照屏幕上的说明,轻松地使 Office 摆脱这种模式。

最终用户订购许可证的到期日期是有限的,但是许可证可以续订。订购时间从您激活产品时开始起算,持续十二个月。许可证只能用于安装产品的那台计算机。许可证不能销售给另一计算机或移至另一计算机。它只能与计算机一起销售。

返回页首

通过 Internet 激活

要通过 Internet 激活产品,请启动任何 Office 程序,然后按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 在 Office 激活向导中,选中"通过 Internet 激活"选项,然后单击下一步
  2. 阅读 Microsoft Office 隐私策略页,然后单击下一步
  3. 客户信息页上,键入您的个人信息。您需要填写的唯一字段是国家(地区)选项。从列表中选择适当的国家,键入您想输入的任何其他信息,然后单击下一步
  4. 特别优惠页,有三个选项可供您从 Microsoft 获得信息和优惠。默认情况下任何选项都没有选中。如果您想从 Microsoft 收到信息或优惠,请选择您想要的选项,键入您的电子邮件地址,然后单击提交

    当您单击提交时,您的信息发送到 Microsoft 授权服务器。当对您的信息验证完后,出现激活完成页,其中包括您的许可证到期日期。
  5. 单击完成
返回页首

通过电话激活

如果您没有 Internet 连接,或者您选择不通过 Internet 激活 Office,可以选中"通过电话激活"选项。若要采用这种方法激活产品,请启动任何 Office 程序,然后按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 在 Office 激活向导中,选中"通过电话激活"选项,然后单击下一步
  2. 阅读 Microsoft Office 隐私策略页,然后单击下一步
  3. 在"选择您的位置"列表中,选择国家(地区)。拨打向导的步骤 2 中列出的电话号码。客户服务代理将询问您的安装 ID 并给您返回一个确认 ID。在提供的框中键入确认 ID。

    备注:记下客户服务代理提供的确认 ID。如果将来您必须重新格式化硬盘并重新安装 Office,可以在相同的计算机上再次使用确认 ID。如果确认 ID 那时不能使用,请再次拨打客户服务代理的电话,并申请一个新的确认 ID。
  4. 单击下一步。出现激活完成页,其中包括您的许可证到期日期。
  5. 激活完成页,单击完成
返回页首

激活非订购 Office 产品

若要通过非订购版本的产品密钥激活产品,请启动任何 Office 程序,然后按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 在 Office 激活向导中,单击选中"我不想激活此订购产品"复选框。当您选中此选项时,出现一些框,在这些框中可以键入 25 个字符的产品密钥,该产品密钥位于非订购版本 Office 的 CD 盒背面的金色不干胶纸上。键入产品密钥,然后单击下一步
  2. 当提示您退出正在运行的所有程序并重新启动这些程序以便所作更改生效时,请单击确定

    备注:键入 Office 的非订购副本的产品密钥并不能安装 Office 的副本,只是激活当前安装的最终用户订购许可证副本。如果您想使用 Office 的非订购副本,请先卸载订购版本,然后安装非订购版本。

    如果您使用永久许可证产品密钥来激活最终用户订购许可证,必须在退出和重新启动 Office 程序时激活您的副本。此时,必须严格遵守强制激活许可的规则和原则,尽管您安装了 Office 的最终用户订购许可证副本。
返回页首

如何跳过激活

如果您不希望激活 Office 的副本,可以在"Office 激活向导"的任一页上单击以后再激活。向导警告您,在您需要激活产品之前,您可以按指定的次数运行该产品。单击退出,以关闭向导。

备注:如果您决定以后激活许可证,则每次启动任何 Office 程序时,激活计数器就减少一次。如果计数器变为零,Office 程序就开始在功能缩减模式下运行。

返回页首

如何续订最终用户订购许可证

当 Office 的最终用户订购许可证副本到期时,程序开始在缩减功能模式下运行之前,还可以运行程序五次。始终可以通过单击帮助菜单上的激活产品,在到期之前续订许可证。当 Office 激活向导运行时,您有四个选项:
  • 更新个人信息
  • 通过信用卡续订
  • 通过新订购 CD 续订
  • 通过非订购 CD 续订
返回页首

更新个人信息

当您第一次激活最终用户订购许可证时,您可能在 Office 激活向导的客户信息页键入了您的个人信息。如果您想更新此信息,请单击帮助菜单上的激活产品,运行 Office 激活向导,然后按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 选中"更新在 Microsoft 的个人客户信息"选项,然后单击下一步
  2. 然后会出现两个用于更新信息的选项,即通过 Internet 或通过电话。选中所需选项,然后单击下一步
    • 如果选中"通过 Internet 更新我的个人客户信息"选项,请按照下列步骤操作:

      1. 阅读 Microsoft Office 隐私策略页,然后单击下一步
      2. 客户信息页上,键入您想要的信息,然后单击下一步
      3. 单击完成
    • 如果选中"通过电话更新我的个人客户信息"选项,请按照下列步骤操作:
      1. 阅读 Microsoft Office 隐私策略页,然后单击下一步
      2. 在"通过电话更新您的产品"页上,选择您的位置,拨打出现的电话号码,然后给客户服务代理提供您的更新信息。
返回页首

通过信用卡续订

如果要通过信用卡续订,请按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 在 Office 激活向导中,选中"通过信用卡续订 Microsoft Office XP"选项,然后单击下一步
  2. 选择下列三个选项之一:

    • 通过 Internet 续订
    • 通过电话续订
    • 通过新订购 CD 续订
返回页首

通过 Internet 续订


要通过 Internet 连接续订,请按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 选中"通过 Internet 续订"选项,然后单击下一步
  2. 阅读 Microsoft Office 隐私策略页,然后单击下一步

    注意帮助按钮上方出现的"锁定"图标。这说明您在使用安全连接。
  3. 客户信息页会显示您在第一次激活 Office 副本时键入的信息。如果您需要更新任何信息,请进行更改,然后单击下一步

    备注:在客户信息页,唯一需要填写的字段是国家(地区)选项。
  4. 特别优惠页,有三个选项可供您从 Microsoft 获得信息和优惠。默认情况下任何选项都没有选中。如果您想从 Microsoft 收到信息或产品,选择您想要的选项,键入您的电子邮件地址,然后单击下一步
  5. 付款国家/地区页上,键入您的帐单信息,然后单击下一步

    备注:如果您使用信用卡付费,必须在此页的所有 字段中键入。
  6. 输入支付信息页上,键入信用卡信息,然后单击下一步
  7. 确认事务页上,单击提交
  8. 您会看到续订完成页,并显示更新后的您的订购许可证的到期日期。如果您想查看,然后打印信用卡事务的收据,请单击查看/打印发票
  9. 打印发票页显示您的事务信息。如果您想现在就打印发票,请单击打印。或者,单击完成关闭向导。

    备注:向导将发票保存在计算机硬盘的 \My Documents\Renewal Receipts 文件夹中。如果您想以后复查和打印发票,要确保记下向导生成的文件名。可以在 Web 浏览器中打开页,查看并打印此信息。
返回页首

通过电话续订


要通过电话续订,请按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 选中"通过电话续订"选项,然后单击下一步
  2. 阅读 Microsoft Office 隐私策略页,然后单击下一步
  3. 在"通过电话续订"页上,从"选择您的位置"列表中选择国家(地区)。使用向导生成的电话号码,拨打客户服务代理的电话。在您通过电话向客户服务代理提供安装 ID 和信用卡信息之后,键入客户服务代理提供的确认 ID。单击下一步

    您会看到续订完成页。注意最终用户订购许可证的新的到期日期。

    备注:如果您通过电话续订许可证,就不能查看或打印收据。
返回页首

通过新订购 CD 续订


还可以通过使用新订购 CD 续订最终用户订购许可证。这些 CD 可以在任何销售 Microsoft 产品的零售店购买到。在购买订购 CD 后,按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 运行 Office 激活向导(在帮助菜单上,单击激活产品),然后选中"通过新订购 CD 续订 Microsoft Office XP 订购"选项。

    当您选中此选项时,出现一些框,在这些框中可以键入 25 个字符的产品密钥,该产品密钥位于新订购 CD 盒背面的金色不干胶纸上。
  2. 键入产品密钥,然后单击下一步

    如果您键入已经用于续订的产品密钥,将出现下列消息:
    输入的产品密钥已经用于订购续订。若要继续续订过程,请键入有效的 25 位字符产品密钥,或者您可以用信用卡进行续订。
    如果您键入有效的订购产品密钥,将出现续订完成页。


返回页首

通过新订购 CD 续订

您的最后一个选项是使用非订购版本的 Office 续订最终用户订购许可证,非订购版本的 Office 可以在零售店购买到。在购买新版本的 Office 之后,按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 运行 Office 激活向导,然后选中"使用从当地已授权的 Microsoft 零售商购买的 CD(带有产品密钥)来安装产品的非订购版本"选项。

    当您选中此选项时,出现一些框,在这些框中可以键入 25 个字符的产品密钥,该产品密钥位于非订购 CD 盒背面的金色不干胶纸上。
  2. 键入产品密钥,然后单击下一步

    如果提示您退出并重新启动所有正在运行的程序,请单击确定

    如果您使用非订购产品密钥来续订最终用户订购许可证,将会看到提示,让您在退出和重新启动任何 Office 程序时激活您的副本。此时,必须严格遵守您最初安装的最终用户订购许可证产品的强制激活许可的规则和原则。

    备注:当您键入 Office 的非订购副本的产品密钥时,并不能安装 Office 的副本。相反,只是激活当前安装的副本。如果您想使用 Office 的非订购副本,必须先卸载最终用户订购版本,然后安装非订购版本。


返回页首

许可证何时过期

您每次启动 Office 程序时运行的代码都会嵌入到 Office XP 中。此代码检测您的产品许可证何时过期,并在到期日期之前自动提供关于到期日期的提醒。随着到期日期的临近,续订提醒的频率就会增多。下表说明了最终用户订购许可证版本提醒的频率。
距离过期期限的时间          提醒出现次数   ----------------------------------------------------------------60 天                                 一次30 天                                 一次30 天和 15 天之间                   每隔 3 天14 天和 8 天之间                   每隔 1 天到期日期之前 7 天                每次启动Office 程序时
备注:如果您等候到期通知出现,则无法使用非订购产品密钥更新许可证的选项。您只能通过 Internet、通过电话、或通过键入新订购产品密钥来续订许可证。

要续订您的订购,请选中您想要的选项,然后单击下一步。续订过程与本文的"如何续订最终用户订购许可证"一节介绍的步骤相同。

若要用非订购产品密钥续订您的许可证,请在任何 Office 程序中单击帮助菜单上的激活产品,然后按照本文的通过非订购 CD 续订一节中的步骤操作。

返回页首

如果最终用户订购许可证过期怎么办

如果您忽略所有许可证即将到期的警告,且在到期日期之前未续订您的订购许可证,则 Office 程序开始在缩减功能模式运行之前总共可以启动五次。若要退出缩减功能模式,必须续订订购许可证。因为每次启动 Office 程序(在缩减功能模式下运行)时,Office 激活向导都会出现,所以每次启动程序时您都有机会续订许可证。如果您启动 Office 程序时不续订许可证,还可以在 Office 程序内单击帮助菜单上的激活产品。这样会启动 Office 激活向导。

返回页首
OfficeKBHowTo inf esl oaw reduce limited function less required 20 activate how to activation registration register license lisence registering expire expired expires run out runs end ends
属性

文章 ID:293191 - 上次审阅时间:12/04/2007 03:55:00 - 修订版本: 2.1

  • Microsoft Office XP 专业版
  • Microsoft Office XP Small Business Edition
  • kbhowtomaster kbdta KB293191
反馈

How to activate an end-user subscription license in Office XP

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 293191 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q293191
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This step-by-step article describes how to activate an end-user subscription license for the following editions of Microsoft Office XP:
  • Professional
  • Small Business
NOTE: As of August 2001, the Office XP Subscription License is not available in the United States.

When you start any of the Office programs for the first time after you install Office, the Microsoft Office Activation Wizard automatically runs. You are presented with three activation options, or you can choose to activate Office at a later time:
  • Activate by using the Internet
  • Activate by using the telephone
  • Activate by using a non-subscription product key
If you select the Activate by using the Internet option, the Office Activation Wizard automatically contacts the Microsoft licensing servers through your Internet connection. The only information that you must provide is your country/region. If you are using a valid product key that has not been used previously, your product is activated immediately.

If you select the Activate by using the telephone option, call the telephone number that is provided in the Office Activation Wizard, and then type the confirmation number that is provided by the customer service agent.

If you select the Activate by using a non-subscription product key option, you are prompted to type the product key from the non-subscription version. If you type a valid product key, your end-user subscription license is converted automatically to the license that is applicable to the product key that you typed. In this scenario, you are prompted to quit and restart all open Office programs. The next time that you restart an Office program, you are prompted to activate your license for the non-subscription product key that you typed. You can activate the license by using either the Internet option or the telephone option, as described earlier in this article. After you activate your product, you have a license to use Office that never expires.

With an end-user subscription version of Office, you can start the Office programs up to 20 times without activating the product. If you fail to activate the product, the programs begin running in reduced-functionality mode. In reduced-functionality mode, you cannot save modifications to documents or create a new document, and additional functionality may be reduced. No existing Office files or documents will be harmed, and you can easily change Office out of this mode by following the instructions in the screens that are presented.

An end-user subscription license has a finite expiration date, but the license is renewable. The subscription period begins when you activate your product and continues for 12 months. The license is only for the computer on which the product is installed. The license cannot be sold or moved to another computer. It can only be sold along with the computer.

Activate by using the Internet

To activate your product by using the Internet, start any of the Office programs, and then follow these steps:
  1. In the Office Activation Wizard, select the Activate by using the Internet option, and then click Next.
  2. Read the Microsoft Office Privacy Policy page, and then click Next.
  3. On the Customer Information page, type your personal information. The only field that you are required to complete is the Country/Region option. Select the appropriate country from the list, type any other information that you want, and then click Next.
  4. On the Special Offers page, you have three choices for obtaining information and offers from Microsoft. None of these options are selected by default. If you want to receive the information or offers from Microsoft, select the options that you want, type your e-mail address, and then click Submit.

    When you click Submit, your information is sent to the Microsoft licensing servers. When your information is validated, the Activation Complete page appears, including the date on which your license expires.
  5. Click Finish.

Activate by using the telephone

If you do not have Internet connectivity or you choose not to activate Office by using the Internet, you can select the Activate by using the telephone option. To activate your product this way, start any of the Office programs, and then follow these steps:
  1. In the Office Activation Wizard, select the Activate by using the telephone option, and then click Next.
  2. Read the Microsoft Office Privacy Policy page, and then click Next.
  3. In the Select your location list, choose a country/region. Call the telephone number that is listed in step 2 in the wizard. The customer service agent asks you for the installation ID and gives you a confirmation ID in return. Type the confirmation ID in the boxes that are provided.

    NOTE: Make a note of the confirmation ID provided by the customer service agent. You may be able to reuse the confirmation ID on the same computer if you have to reformat your hard disk and reinstall Office in the future. If the confirmation ID does not work at that time, call the customer service agent again, and request a new confirmation ID.
  4. Click Next. The Activation Complete page appears, including the date on which your license expires.
  5. On the Activation Complete page, click Finish.

Activate a non-subscription Office product

To activate your product by using a product key for a non-subscription version, start any of the Office programs, and then follow these steps:
  1. In the Office Activation Wizard, click to select the I do not want to activate this subscription product check box. When you select this option, boxes appear where you can type the 25-character product key, which is located on the gold sticker on the back of the CD case for your non-subscription version of Office. Type the product key, and then click Next.
  2. When you are prompted to quit any programs that are running and restart the programs for this change to take effect, click OK.

    NOTE: Typing a product key for the non-subscription copy of Office does not install that copy of Office, it just activates the end-user subscription license copy that is currently installed. If you want to use the non-subscription copy of Office, uninstall the subscription version, and then install the non-subscription version.

    If you used a perpetual license product key to activate your end-user subscription license, you are requested to activate your copy when you quit and restart one of the Office programs. At this point, you are restricted to the rules and guidelines for mandatory activation licensing, even though you installed an end-user subscription license copy of Office.

How to skip activation

If you do not want to activate your copy of Office, you can click Activate Later on any page of the Office Activation Wizard. The wizard warns you that you have a specified number of times to run the product before you are required to activate it. Click Exit to close the wizard.

NOTE: If you decide to activate your license at a later time, the activation counter decrements each time that you start any Office program. If the counter reaches zero, the Office programs begin running in Reduced-Functionality Mode.

How to renew the end-user subscription license

When the end-user subscription license copy of Office expires, you can run your program five times before it runs in Reduced-Functionality Mode. If your subscription has expired, you will receive the following message when you try to perform most tasks:
This command not available until you renew your license.

You can always renew your license before it expires by clicking Activate Product on the Help menu. When the Office Activation Wizard runs, you have four options:
  • Update personal information
  • Renew your subscription by using a credit card
  • Renew your subscription by using a new subscription CD
  • Renew your subscription by using a non-subscription CD

Update personal information

When you first activated your end-user subscription license, you may have typed your personal information on the Customer Information page of the Office Activation Wizard. If you want to update this information, run the Office Activation Wizard by clicking Activate Product on the Help menu, and then follow these steps:
  1. Select the Update your personal customer information at Microsoft option, and then click Next.
  2. You then have the option to update your information via the Internet or the telephone. Select the option that you want, and then click Next.
    • If you select the Update my personal customer information by using the Internet option, follow these steps:

      1. Read the Microsoft Office Privacy Policy page, and then click Next.
      2. On the Customer Information page, type the information that you want, and then click Next.
      3. Click Finish.
    • If you select the Update my personal customer information by using the telephone option, follow these steps:
      1. Read the Microsoft Office Privacy Policy page, and then click Next.
      2. On the Update your product by using the telephone page, select your location, call the phone number that appears, and then give your updated information to the customer service agent.

Renew your subscription by using a credit card

If you want to renew your subscription by using a credit card, follow these steps:
  1. In the Office Activation Wizard, select the Renew your subscription for Microsoft Office XP by using a credit card option, and then click Next.
  2. Select one of these three options:

    • Renew by using the Internet
    • Renew by using the telephone
    • Renew by using a new subscription CD


Renew by using the Internet

To renew your subscription through an Internet connection, follow these steps:
  1. Select the Renew by using the Internet option, and then click Next.
  2. Read the Microsoft Office Privacy Policy page, and then click Next.

    Notice the "lock" icon that appears above the Help button. This indicates that you are using a secure connection.
  3. The Customer Information page displays the information that you typed when you first activated your copy of Office. If you need to update any of the information, change it, and then click Next.

    NOTE: The only field that you are required to complete on the Customer Information page is the Country/Region option.
  4. On the Special Offers page, you have three choices for obtaining information and offers from Microsoft. None of these options is selected by default. If you want to receive the information or offers from Microsoft, select the options that you want, type your e-mail address, and then click Next.
  5. On the Payment Country/Region page, type your billing information, and then click Next.

    NOTE: You are required to type in all fields on this page if you are using your credit card for billing.
  6. On the Enter Payment Information page, type your credit card information, and then click Next.
  7. On the Confirm Transaction page, click Submit.
  8. The Renewal Complete page appears, showing the updated expiration date for your subscription license. If you want to view and then print a receipt of your credit card transaction, click View/Print Invoice.
  9. The Print Invoice page displays your transaction information. If you want to print the invoice now, click Print. Or, click Finish to close the wizard.

    NOTE: The wizard saves your invoice in the \My Documents\Renewal Receipts folder on your computer's hard disk. If you want to review and print the invoice later, be sure to note the file name that is generated by the wizard. You can view and print this information later by opening the page in your Web browser.


Renew by using the telephone

To renew your subscription by using the telephone, follow these steps:
  1. Select the Renew by using the telephone option, and then click Next.
  2. Read the Microsoft Office Privacy Policy page, and then click Next.
  3. On the Renew your subscription by using the telephone page, select a country/region from the Select your location list. Using the phone number that is generated by the wizard, call a customer service agent. After you provide your installation ID and credit card information to the customer service agent over the phone, type the confirmation ID that is provided by the customer service agent. Click Next.

    The Renewal Complete page appears. Note the new expiration date for your end-user subscription license.

    NOTE: You do not have the ability to view or print a receipt if you renew your license over the telephone.


Renew by using a new subscription CD

You can also renew your end-user subscription license by using a new subscription CD. These CDs can be purchased at any retail store that sells Microsoft products. After you purchase the subscription CD, follow these steps:
  1. Run the Office Activation Wizard (on the Help menu, click Activate Product), and then select the Renew your subscription for Microsoft Office XP by using a new subscription CD option.

    When you select this option, boxes appear where you can type the 25-character product key, which is located on the gold sticker on the back of the new subscription CD case.
  2. Type the product key, and then click Next.

    If you type a product key that already was used to renew a subscription, the following message appears:
    The product key entered has already been used for a subscription renewal. To continue with the renewal process, please type in a valid 25-character product key, or you may renew with a credit card instead.
    If you type a valid subscription product key, the Renewal Complete page appears.


Renew your subscription by using a non-subscription CD

Your final option is to renew your end-user subscription license by using a non-subscription version of Office, which you can purchase at a retail store. After you purchase this new version of Office, follow these steps:
  1. Run the Office Activation Wizard, and then select the Install a non-subscription version of the product by using a CD (with a product key) obtained from your local authorized Microsoft retailer option.

    When you select this option, boxes appear where you can type the 25-character product key, which is located on the gold sticker on the back of the non-subscription CD case.
  2. Type the product key, and then click Next.

    If you are prompted to quit and restart all programs that are running, click OK.

    If you used a non-subscription product key to renew your end-user subscription license, you will be prompted to activate your copy when you quit and restart any of the Office programs. At this point, you are restricted to the rules and guidelines for mandatory activation licensing for the end-user subscription license product that you originally installed.

    NOTE: When you type a product key for a non-subscription copy of Office, this does not install that copy of Office. Instead, it just activates the copy that is currently installed. If you want to use the non-subscription copy of Office, you must uninstall the end-user subscription version and then install the non-subscription version.


How a license expires

Code that runs every time you start an Office program is built into Office XP. This code detects when your product license expires and automatically reminds you about pending expiration dates well in advance of expiration. As the expiration date approaches, the reminders to renew your subscription increase in frequency. The following table shows the frequency of reminders for the end-user subscription license version.
   Length of time until expiration          Reminder appears
   ----------------------------------------------------------------

   60 days                                  One time
   30 days                                  One time
   Between 30 and 15 days                   Every 3 days
   Between 14 and 8 days                    Every day
   7 days to day of expiration              Every time you start an 
                                            Office program
				
NOTE: If you wait for the expiration notice to appear, you will not have the option to use a non-subscription product key to update your license. You will only be able to renew your license over the Internet, over the telephone, or by typing a new subscription product key.

To renew your subscription, select the option that you want, and then click Next. The renewal process is the same as the procedure that is described in the "How to Renew the End-User Subscription License" section of this article.

To renew your license with a non-subscription product key, click Activate Product on the Help menu in any Office program, and then follow the steps in the Renew Your Subscription by Using a Non-Subscription CD section of this article.

What to do if your end-user subscription license expires

If you ignore all of the impending license expiration warnings, and you do not renew your subscription license before the expiration date, you can start the Office programs a total of five times before they start in reduced-functionality mode. To quit reduced-functionality mode, you must renew your subscription license. Because the Office Activation Wizard appears every time that you start an Office program (running in reduced-functionality mode), you have an opportunity to renew your license each time you start a program. If you do not renew your license when you start an Office program, you can also click Activate Product on the Help menu inside the Office program. This starts the Office Activation Wizard.

Properties

Article ID: 293191 - Last Review: December 4, 2007 - Revision: 2.1
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Office XP Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Office XP Small Business Edition
Keywords: 
kbhowto kbhowtomaster KB293191

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com