FPSE : Vulnérabilité liée à un risque de surcharge de la mémoire tampon dans l'outil de déploiement à distance (RAD, Remote Application Deployment) de Visual Studio

Ancien nº de publication de cet article : F300477
Cet article a été archivé. Il est proposé « en l'état » et ne sera plus mis à jour.
Résumé
Microsoft Internet Information Server 4.0 et Internet Information Services 5.0 (IIS) incluent les extensions serveur Microsoft FrontPage afin de faciliter le développement de sites et d'applications Web. Les extensions serveur FrontPage incluent un sous-composant facultatif pour les serveurs de développement appelé Visual Studio RAD (Remote Application Deployment). Si vous installez ce composant facultatif sur un ordinateur au cours de l'installation de Microsoft Windows 2000, le message suivant s'affiche :
Vous avez choisi d'installer le support de déploiement à distance Visual InterDev RAD. Ce support doit uniquement être installé sur des serveurs de développement, car RAD permet aux auteurs d'inscrire des composants serveur et de modifier les paramètres COM+, ce qui affecte l'état du serveur en cours d'exécution. Si vous installez le support de déploiement à distance RAD, vous devez régulièrement vérifier les paramètres des autorisations de vos sites Web FrontPage pour vous assurer qu'aucun utilisateur non souhaité n'a obtenu de privilèges de création.
Ce sous-composant permet aux utilisateurs de Visual InterDev d'inscrire et d'annuler l'inscription des composants de programmation sur le serveur IIS. Ce sous-composant contient une mémoire tampon non contrôlée dans une section qui traite des informations d'entrée.

Même si l'hypothèse est peu probable, un utilisateur malveillant pourrait exploiter cette vulnérabilité et attaquer un serveur sur lequel ce sous-composant est installé, en ouvrant une session Web sur le serveur et en transférant à dessein un paquet mal formé sur le système.
Plus d'informations
Une explication plus complète et un correctif pris en charge sont disponibles dans le bulletin de sécurité Microsoft MS01-035 :Pour plus d'informations sur des questions de sécurité, consultez le site Web de Microsoft TechNet suivant :
front page FP FPSE
Propriétés

ID d'article : 300477 - Dernière mise à jour : 02/24/2014 06:04:51 - Révision : 4.3

Microsoft FrontPage 2000 Server Extensions, Microsoft Internet Information Server 4.0, Microsoft Internet Information Services 5.0

  • kbnosurvey kbarchive kbqfe kbhotfixserver kbdta kbinfo KB300477
Commentaires

FP2000: MS01-035: Potential Buffer Overrun Vulnerability in Visual Studio RAD (Remote Application Deployment)

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 300477 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q300477
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
Expand all | Collapse all

SUMMARY

Microsoft Internet Information Server 4.0 and Internet Information Services 5.0 (IIS) include the FrontPage Server Extensions to facilitate the development of Web sites and Web-based applications. The FrontPage Server Extensions include an optional subcomponent for development servers called Visual Studio RAD (Remote Application Deployment). If you install this optional component on a computer during the installation of Microsoft Windows 2000, you receive the following message:
You have chosen to install Visual InterDev RAD Remote Deployment Support. You should do this only on development servers, because RAD lets authors register server components and modify the COM+ settings, affecting the state of the running server. If you install RAD Remote Deployment Support, you should regularly review the permissions settings of your FrontPage webs to ensure that no unwanted authors have obtained authoring privileges.
This subcomponent allows Visual InterDev users to register and unregister programming components on the IIS server. This subcomponent contains an unchecked buffer in a section that processes input information.

Although it is unlikely, an attacker could potentially exploit this vulnerability against any server on which the affected subcomponent is installed, by connecting to a Web session on the server and passing a specially malformed packet to the system. For additional information about the latest service pack for Windows 2000, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
260910 How to Obtain the Latest Windows 2000 Service Pack

MORE INFORMATION

A more detailed explanation and a supported fix are available in the following Microsoft Security Bulletin, MS01-035:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/ms01-035.mspx
This patch is available in the Windows 2000 Security Rollup Package 1 (SRP1) or individually via the links below. For additional information on SRP1, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
311401 Windows 2000 Security Rollup Package 1 (SRP1), January 2002
For additional information about security topics, browse to the following Microsoft TechNet Security Web site:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/

Properties

Article ID: 300477 - Last Review: February 27, 2014 - Revision: 4.5
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft FrontPage 2000 Server Extensions
  • Microsoft Internet Information Server 4.0
  • Microsoft Internet Information Services 5.0
Keywords: 
kbnosurvey kbarchive kbhotfixserver kbqfe kbinfo kbsecurity kbwin2000presp3fix kbwin2000sp3fix KB300477

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com