كيفية استخدام أدوار التطبيق في مشاريع Access أو SQL Server 2000 Desktop Edition

انتهاء دعم Office 2003

لقد أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم Office 2003 في 8 أبريل، 2014. وقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

هام: تمت ترجمة هذا المقال باستخدام برنامج ترجمة آلية لشركة مايكروسوفت بدلاً من الاستعانة بمترجم بشري. تقدم شركة مايكروسوفت كلاً من المقالات المترجمة بواسطة المترجمين البشر والمقالات المترجمة آليًا وبالتالي ستتمكن من الوصول إلى كل المقالات الموجودة في قاعدة المعرفة الخاصة بنا وباللغة الخاصة بك. بالرغم من ذلك، فإن المقالة المترجمة آليًا لا تكون دقيقة دائمًا وقد تحتوي على أخطاء إملائية أو لغوية أو نحوية، مثل تلك الأخطاء الصادرة عن متحدث أجنبي عندما يتحدث بلغتك. لا تتحمل شركة مايكروسوفت مسئولية عدم الدقة أو الأخطاء أو الضرر الناتج عن أية أخطاء في ترجمة المحتوى أو استخدامه من قبل عملائنا. تعمل شركة مايكروسوفت باستمرار على ترقية برنامج الترجمة الآلية

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية308312
متقدمة: يتطلب ترميز الخبير إمكانية التشغيل المتداخل و مهارات متعددة المستخدمين.

يتم تطبيق هذا المقال فقط على مشروع Microsoft Access (.adp).

للحصول على إصدار Microsoft Access 2000 من هذه المقالة، راجع 318816.
الموجز
يشرح هذا المقال القدرات القيود الحلول باستخدام Microsoft SQL Server التطبيق الأدوار في مشروع Microsoft Access (ADP).
معلومات أخرى
في SQL Server، يمكنك إنشاء أدوار قاعدة البيانات من أجل الإدارة أسهل من الأذونات في قاعدة بيانات. بدلاً من منح الأذونات الفردية لكل مستخدم بشكل منفصل, يمكنك تجميع للمستخدمين ذوي الاحتياجات إذن نفس بواسطة إجراء أعضاء دور قاعدة البيانات العادية نفس ثم تعيين الأذونات إلى دور قاعدة البيانات نفسها. ما لم أذونات معينة بشكل صريح مرفوض، مكان آخر سوف عضو المستخدمين الحصول على الأذونات الممنوحة إلى دور قاعدة البيانات تلك.

بينما مفيدة للغاية الحالات حيث تريد أن يتمكن المستخدمون لتنفيذ استعلامات المؤقتة الخاصة بهم أو التحديثات إلى قاعدة بيانات من قاعدة بيانات عادية أدوار ولا تكون دائماً المناسبة. في بعض الأحيان، قد يرغب المستخدمين فقط أذونات معينة عند استخدامهم تطبيق محدد لا تريد أن تكون قادراً على عرض أو تعديل بيانات خارج التطبيق.

أسلوب واحد غالباً لاستخدام حول هذا لمنح الأذونات الضرورية إلى حساب مستخدم ملقم SQL واحد فقط. قد يكون لدى المستخدمين الفعلي أذونات الاتصال بقاعدة بيانات ولكن لا لعرض أو تعديل أية بيانات. إعادة بعد يتصل مستخدم إلى قاعدة البيانات باستخدام حساب المستخدم الفردية ADP قد ثم برمجياً الاتصال باستخدام بيانات اعتماد حساب المستخدم الذي لدى أذونات. بينما يمكن أن يكون ذلك فعالاً, لا يسمح لك للتمييز بين المستخدمين في قاعدة البيانات أو لتحديد أي مستخدم تنفيذ إجراء معين.

تم تصميم أدوار التطبيق كمحاولة للتغلب على هذا التحديد. لم يكن أدوار التطبيق بعكس أدوار قاعدة بيانات عادية أعضاء نفسها. بدلاً من ذلك، قم بتسجيل الدخول إلى SQL Server المستخدمين ثم الاتصال بقاعدة بيانات باستخدام بيانات الاعتماد الخاصة بهم. عند هذه النقطة سياق الأمان الخاص دور التطبيق ما يمكن تطبيق برمجياً إلى اتصال موجود بواسطة استخدام الإجراء sp_setapprole تخزين. في SQL Server التمييز ما بين بأكثر من المستخدمين الفرديين يتم استمرار بتقسيمها ولكن تقتصر الأذونات المتوفرة ضمن اتصال معينة على أذونات دور التطبيق. الخاص بالمستخدم الفردية أذونات ، ما إذا كان أقل أو أحدث، لا تعتبر.

إنشاء دور تطبيق ما

Microsoft Access المشاريع لا تملك أية أدوات التصميم المرئي لإنشاء كائنات أمان الخادم SQL مثل أدوار التطبيق. توصي Microsoft باستخدام أدوات العميل التي تم تضمينها في الإصدار العادي من SQL Server أو Microsoft Office XP المطور لإنشاء دور التطبيق وتعيينها الأذونات. ومع ذلك، يمكنك لا يزال إنشاء دور التطبيق ثم منحه الأذونات الضرورية برمجياً باستخدام Transact-SQL (T-SQL) من ADP. على الرغم من أن مناقشة كامل من أمان الخادم SQL خارج نطاق هذا المقال، إضافية يمكن العثور على معلومات في كتب SQL Server الفورية إظهار الخطوات التالية كيفية إنشاء دور تطبيق ما برمجياً ثم منح الدور الجديد تحديد الأذونات على جدول:
  1. بدء تشغيل Access.
  2. فتح مشروع Access نموذج Northwind.
  3. في الإطار "قاعدة بيانات" ، انقر فوق وحدات نمطية أسفل كائنات ثم انقر فوق جديد لفتح وحدة نمطية جديدة في بيئة Visual Basic.

    ملاحظة في Access 2007، انقر فوق وحدة نمطية في مجموعة أخرى على علامة التبويب إنشاء.
  4. اكتب أو الصق التعليمة البرمجية التالية داخل الوحدة النمطية جديد:
    Public Function AddNewAppRole(RoleName As String, PW As String) As BooleanOn Error GoTo EH:If CurrentProject.IsConnected ThenDim sTSQL As String    'Create the commandsTSQL = "EXEC sp_addapprole '" & RoleName & "','" & PW & "'"    'Send the commandApplication.CurrentProject.Connection.Execute sTSQLAddNewAppRole = TrueElseAddNewAppRole = FalseEnd IfExit FunctionEH:MsgBox Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, vbCriticalAddNewAppRole = FalseEnd Function					
  5. حفظ الوحدة النمطية ثم قم بإنهاء بيئة Visual Basic.
  6. إنشاء نسخة من جدول العملاء ومن ثم حفظه كـ tNewTable. للقيام بذلك، اتبع الخطوات التالية:
    1. في الإطار "قاعدة بيانات" ، انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن فوق جدول العملاء ومن ثم انقر فوق حفظ باسم القائمة المختصرة.

      ملاحظة في Access 2007، انقر فوق جدول العملاء في جزء التنقل انقر فوق زر Microsoft Office ، وأشر إلى حفظ باسم ثم ثم انقر فوق حفظ كائن باسم.
    2. في مربع الحوار حفظ باسم، اكتب tNewTable في المربع حفظ جدول 'العملاء' إلى ومن ثم انقر فوق موافق.
  7. في الإطار "قاعدة بيانات" ، انقر فوق نماذج أسفل كائنات انقر فوق جديد ثم ثم انقر فوق موافق لفتح نموذج جديد في طريقة العرض "تصميم".

    ملاحظة في Access 2007، انقر فوق تصميم نموذج في مجموعة نماذج على علامة التبويب إنشاء.
  8. إضافة زر أمر إلى نموذج جديد.
  9. تعيين الخاصية عند_النقر زر أمر جديد إلى إجراء الحدث التالي:
    On Error GoTo EH:'Code only works if ADP is connected.If CurrentProject.IsConnected Then    Dim bNewAppRole As Boolean, strTSQL As String    Dim strRoleName As String, strPW As String    strRoleName = "AppRoleName"    strPW = "Password"    'Call function to create app role.    bNewAppRole = AddNewAppRole(strRoleName, strPW)    'Test to see if it failed.    If bNewAppRole = False Then        Exit Sub    End If    MsgBox "New Application role '" & strRoleName & "' created", vbInformation    'Create command to grant permissions.    strTSQL = "Grant Select on tNewTable to " & strRoleName    'Send the command.    Application.CurrentProject.Connection.Execute strTSQL    MsgBox "Select permissions granted on tNewTable for " & strRoleNameElseMsgBox "ADP must be connected to SQL Server"End IfExit SubEH:MsgBox Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, vbCritical					
  10. إغلاق بيئة Visual Basic للعودة إلى النموذج.
  11. حفظ النموذج ومن ثم التبديل النموذج عرض النموذج.
  12. انقر فوق زر الأمر لتشغيل التعليمات البرمجية الأساسية.

    لاحظ ظهور مربعي رسالة لتوضيح النجاح. ظهور أحد بعد إنشاء دور التطبيق عليه يتم منح واحد الثاني بعد أذونات دور جديد tNewTable.

تطبيق دور التطبيق

complication الرئيسي عند استخدام أدوار التطبيق في مشاريع Access يستخدم Access ثلاثة اتصالات بـ SQL Server لمعالجة للمهام المختلفة. وبشكل مثالي، لتطبيق دور تطبيق ما على المشروع بأكمله ويجب عليك تنفيذ sp_setapprole في سياق كافة الاتصالات الثلاثة. كائنات معالجتها من قبل كل اتصال كالتالي:

  1. يستخدم لتحديد تظهر الكائنات في قاعدة بيانات الإطار ومن أجل قاعدة البيانات متنوعة المهام الإدارية.

    استخدام فتح الجداول و طرق العرض والإجراءات المخزنة دالات و مصادر السجلات النماذج و التقارير الفرعية (ولكن ليس التقرير الرئيسي نفسه).

    يستخدم من أجل الحصول على مصادر السجلات مربعات التحرير والسرد مربعات القائمة والتقارير.
  2. استخدام فتح الجداول و طرق العرض والإجراءات المخزنة دالات و مصادر السجلات النماذج و التقارير الفرعية (ولكن ليس التقرير الرئيسي نفسه).

    يستخدم من أجل الحصول على مصادر السجلات مربعات التحرير والسرد مربعات القائمة والتقارير.
  3. يستخدم من أجل الحصول على مصادر السجلات مربعات التحرير والسرد مربعات القائمة والتقارير.

على الرغم من أنه يمكن الوصول إلى الاتصالات # 2 و # 3 كخصائص بسهولة ، توجد طريقة متوفرة من أجل تنفيذ الإجراء المخزن في سياق الاتصال رقم 1. ولحسن الحظ، هذا الاتصال على الأقل أهمية من الثلاثة ثم يتم العمل بسهولة حول عن طريق إنشاء واجهة المستخدم الخاصة بك (على سبيل المثال، نموذج لوحة تبديل نوع) لمعالجة كائنات قاعدة البيانات بدلاً من الاعتماد على الإطار "قاعدة بيانات" المضمنة.

استخدم الخطوات التالية مشروع Access نموذج Northwind إلى كيفية تطبيق دور تطبيق ما مقابل اتصالات # 2 و # 3:

  1. في الإطار "قاعدة بيانات" ، انقر فوق نماذج أسفل كائنات انقر فوق جديد ثم ثم انقر فوق موافق لفتح نموذج جديد في طريقة العرض "تصميم".

    ملاحظة في Access 2007، انقر فوق تصميم نموذج في مجموعة نماذج على علامة التبويب إنشاء.
  2. إضافة مربع قائمة إلى نموذج تم إنشاؤه حديثاً ثم قم بتعيين الخاصية اسم مربع القائمة إلى lst_AppRole.
  3. إضافة زر أمر إلى النموذج.
  4. تعيين الخاصية عند_النقر زر أمر جديد إلى إجراء الحدث التالي:
    On Error GoTo EH    'This avoids a message that no records were returned.DoCmd.SetWarnings FalseDim TSQLTSQL = "EXEC sp_setapprole 'AppRoleName', {Encrypt N 'Password'}, 'odbc'"    'This sets the app role on Connection #2.Application.CurrentProject.Connection.Execute TSQL    'This sets the app role on Connection #3.lst_approle.RowSource = TSQLlst_approle.RequeryDoCmd.SetWarnings TrueMsgBox "The application Role is now in effect.", vbInformationExit SubEH:MsgBox Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, vbCritical					
  5. إغلاق بيئة Visual Basic للعودة إلى النموذج.
  6. حفظ النموذج ومن ثم التبديل النموذج عرض النموذج.
  7. انقر فوق زر الأمر لتشغيل التعليمات البرمجية الأساسية.

    لاحظ ظهور مربع رسالة التي تشير إلى النجاح.
  8. في الإطار "قاعدة بيانات" ، انقر فوق جداول أسفل كائنات ثم قم بفتح الجدول tNewTable.

    ملاحظة في Access 2007، انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق الجدول tNewTable في جزء التنقل.
  9. تعديل سجل ومحاولة حفظ التغييرات.
لاحظ أنه أثناء محاولة تنفيذ التغييرات الخاصة بك تظهر رسالة خطأ حول عدم وجود أذونات كافية. يحدث هذا بسبب أعطيته دور التطبيق جديد تحديد إذن على جدول tNewTable ولكن لا الإذن التحديث.

حسب التصميم يعرض Access الكائنات في إطار قاعدة البيانات الذي يحتوي على الأقل تحديد المستخدم أو تنفيذ الأذونات فقط. يستخدم الوصول اتصال # 1 لتحديد الكائنات يكون لدى مستخدم أذونات. بعد تطبيق التطبيق الدور إلى إطار اتصالات # 2 و3 # قاعدة البيانات تظل تعرض نفس الكائنات التي لم قبل ، حتى لو لم يعد قد يكون لديك أذونات إلى كافة كائنات المستخدم، أو قد يكون لديك أذونات إلى أكثر من الكائنات التي لا تظهر. قد يتسبب هذا في سلوك غير متوقع عند استخدام إطار قاعدة البيانات.

على سبيل المثال، عند فتح جدول tNewTable "يظهر" لدى المستخدم أذونات بتحرير ثم إدراج سجلات. تمكين رمز سجل إدراج جديد في أسفل الجدول ثم يكون المستخدم قادراً على وضع سجل في وضع التحرير. عدم ظهور أي دليل مرئي وإلا للإشارة إلى أن محاولة تنفيذ "تحرير" أو "إدراج النتائج في رسالة خطأ. يؤكد الوصول لديك أذونات عند فعلياً لم تقم.

الحل الأكثر فعالية هو توفير واجهة مخصصة للمستخدم وإلى لا تعتمد على الإطار "قاعدة بيانات". باستخدام "واجهة مستخدم نوع لوحة تبديل" ، يمكنك التحكم في الكائنات التي للمستخدم الوصول إلى.

قيود و اعتبارات الأمان الأخرى

لا تعمل النماذج الفرعية

بعكس مع كائنات قاعدة بيانات Access لا دوماً يستخدم نفس اتصال استرداد مصدر بيانات النموذج الفرعي. يقوم Access بشكل متكرر (ولكن ليس دائماً) بإنشاء اتصال جديد إلى ملقم SQL فقط لمعالجة مجموعة سجلات النموذج الفرعي أو استرداد بيانات حقل الارتباط الذي يتصل النموذج الفرعي في النموذج الرئيسي. لأنه ليس لدى هذا الاتصال الجديدة دور التطبيق تطبيق قد يتم إنشاء خطأ أذونات إذا لم يكن لديك أذونات صريحة كائن قاعدة البيانات. لسوء الحظ، فإن هذا يعني أن لا توجد أية طريقة يمكن الاعتماد عليها استخدام النماذج الفرعية منضم عندما يتم تطبيق أدوار التطبيق. حل مؤثر فقط أن يكون لديك بشكل كامل غير مرتبطة الفرعية مع معالجة البيانات معالجته برمجياً. هذا هو التحديد الأكثر خطورة عند استخدام أدوار التطبيق في Access.

تقارير لا يعمل

عند وجود كائن مثل جدول أو إدراج اسم طريقة عرض كـ مصدر سجل تقرير أو تقرير فرعي قم بالتحقق Access لمعرفة ما إذا كان يتم سرد الكائن في إطار قاعدة البيانات قبل استرداد أية بيانات من SQL Server. لأن إطار قاعدة البيانات تستخدم اتصال لديها دور التطبيق تطبيق يتم إنشاء خطأ إذا لم يكن لديك أذونات صريحة إلى مصدر البيانات الأساسي.

كمحاولة للتغلب على هذه المشكلة قم دوماً استخدام عبارات SQL للعمليات كمصدر السجل للنماذج والتقارير. على سبيل المثال، استخدم "تحديد * من ViewName" بدلاً من مجرد "ViewName" أو "Exec StoredProcedureName" بدلاً من مجرد "StoredProcedureName." بهذه الطريقة، يقوم بتمرير عبارات SQL للعمليات مباشرة إلى SQL Server والوصول باسترداد البيانات استناداً إلى الأذونات دور التطبيق.

دور "قاعدة البيانات العمومية"

دور تطبيق ما تكتسب أذونات دور قاعدة البيانات العمومية. بشكل افتراضي في NorthwindCS دور العام له أذونات كاملة معظم الكائنات. لذلك، يكون دور تطبيق ما فاعلية بشكل عام. عند إنشاء جدول tNewTable في قسم "إنشاء دور التطبيقات" تم عدم منح الدور العمومي الإذن إلى الجدول ثم قمت بمشاهدة تأثيرات سياق الأمان دور التطبيق لاحقاً في هذا الجدول. ومع ذلك، جداول أخرى قد لا تظهر أية الفرق ضمن دور التطبيق لأن دور العام له أذونات إلى هذه الكائنات.

الأمان VBA

ولأن مضمن كلمة المرور الخاصة دور التطبيقات في التطبيق الذي يطلق عليه مستخدم knowledgeable أن قادراً على قراءة اسم دور التطبيق وكلمة المرور من التعليمات البرمجية المصدر ومن ثم استخدام تلك المعلومات إلى الحصول على صلاحية الوصول إلى ملقم SQL من تطبيق آخر. لذلك، من المستحسن التحويل البرمجي في ADP إلى ملف ADE بحيث التعليمات البرمجية المصدر غير قابل للعرض. أدنى ، فرض كلمة مرور على مشروع VBA.
ACC2007 reviewdocidACC2003 ACC2002
مراجع
للحصول على معلومات إضافية حول إصدار Microsoft Access 2000 من هذه المقالة، انقر فوق رقم المقالة أدناه لعرضها في "قاعدة المعارف لـ Microsoft:
318816ACC2000: كيفية استخدام أدوار التطبيق مع مشروعات Access و SQL Server 2000 سطح المكتب Engine (MSDE 2000)
لمزيد من المعلومات حول GRANT راجع إلى كتب SQL Server الفورية. كتب SQL Server الفورية يتوفر في موقع Microsoft التالي على الويب:
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinfo/productdoc/2000/default.asp

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

خصائص

رقم الموضوع: 308312 - آخر مراجعة: 03/29/2007 17:22:00 - المراجعة: 6.2

Microsoft Office Access 2007, Microsoft Office Access 2003, Microsoft Access 2002 Standard Edition

  • kbmt kbexpertiseinter kbinfo kbprogramming kbadp kbvba kbhowto KB308312 KbMtar
تعليقات

How to use Application roles with Access projects and SQL Server 2000 Desktop Edition

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 308312 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q308312
Advanced: Requires expert coding, interoperability, and multiuser skills.

This article applies only to a Microsoft Access project (.adp).

For a Microsoft Access 2000 version of this article, see 318816.
Expand all | Collapse all

SUMMARY

This article explains the capabilities, the limitations, and the workarounds for using Microsoft SQL Server Application roles in a Microsoft Access project (ADP).

MORE INFORMATION

In SQL Server, you can create database roles for easier administration of permissions in a database. Instead of granting individual permissions to each user separately, you can group users with the same permission needs by making them members of the same regular database role, and then assigning permissions to the database role itself. Unless a specific permission is explicitly denied elsewhere, member users will acquire the permissions granted to that database role.

While regular database roles are very useful for situations where you want users to be able to perform their own ad hoc queries or updates to a database, they are not always appropriate. Sometimes, you may want users only to have certain permissions when they use a specific application, and you do not want to be able to view or modify data outside the application.

One method that is often used for working around this is to only give the necessary permissions to one SQL Server user account. The actual users might have permissions to connect to a database but not to view or modify any data. After a user connects to the database using the user's individual account, the ADP could then programmatically reconnect using the credentials of the user account that does have permissions. While this can be effective, it does not allow you to distinguish between users in the database or to determine which user performed a particular action.

Application roles are designed to work around this limitation. Application roles, unlike regular database roles, do not have members themselves. Instead, users log on to a SQL Server and connect to a database using their own credentials. At that point, the security context of an application role can be applied programmatically to an existing connection by using the sp_setapprole stored procedure. In SQL Server, individual users are still differentiated but the permissions that are available within a particular connection are limited to the permissions of the application role. The user's individual permissions, whether lesser or greater, are no longer considered.

Creating an Application role

Microsoft Access projects do not have any visual design tools for creating SQL Server Security objects such as application roles. Microsoft recommends that you use the client tools that are included with the regular version of SQL Server or Microsoft Office XP Developer for creating the application role and assigning it permissions. However, you can still create the application role and grant it the necessary permissions programmatically by using Transact-SQL (T-SQL) from an ADP. Although a full discussion of SQL Server Security is outside the scope of this article, additional information can be found in SQL Server Books Online The following steps show you how to programmatically create an application role and grant the new role Select permissions on a table:
  1. Start Access.
  2. Open the Northwind sample Access project.
  3. In the Database window, click Modules under Objects, and then click New to open a new module in the Visual Basic Environment.

    Note In Access 2007, click Module in the Other group on the Create tab.
  4. Type or paste the following code into the new module:
    Public Function AddNewAppRole(RoleName As String, PW As String) As Boolean
    On Error GoTo EH:
    If CurrentProject.IsConnected Then
    Dim sTSQL As String
        'Create the command
    sTSQL = "EXEC sp_addapprole '" & RoleName & "','" & PW & "'"
        'Send the command
    Application.CurrentProject.Connection.Execute sTSQL
    AddNewAppRole = True
    Else
    AddNewAppRole = False
    End If
    Exit Function
    EH:
    MsgBox Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, vbCritical
    AddNewAppRole = False
    End Function
    					
  5. Save the module, and then exit the Visual Basic Environment.
  6. Create a copy of the Customers table, and then save it as tNewTable. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. In the Database window, right-click the Customers table, and then click Save As on the shortcut menu.

      Note In Access 2007, click the Customers table in the navigation pane, click Microsoft Office Button, point to Save As, and then click Save Object As.
    2. In the Save As dialog box, type tNewTable in the Save Table 'Customers' To box, and then click OK.
  7. In the Database window, click Forms under Objects, click New, and then click OK to open a new form in Design view.

    Note In Access 2007, click Form Design in the Forms group on the Create tab.
  8. Add a command button to the new form.
  9. Set the OnClick property of the new command button to the following event procedure:
    On Error GoTo EH:
    'Code only works if ADP is connected.
    If CurrentProject.IsConnected Then
        Dim bNewAppRole As Boolean, strTSQL As String
        Dim strRoleName As String, strPW As String
        strRoleName = "AppRoleName"
        strPW = "Password"
        'Call function to create app role.
        bNewAppRole = AddNewAppRole(strRoleName, strPW)
        'Test to see if it failed.
        If bNewAppRole = False Then
            Exit Sub
        End If
        MsgBox "New Application role '" & strRoleName & "' created", vbInformation
        'Create command to grant permissions.
        strTSQL = "Grant Select on tNewTable to " & strRoleName
        'Send the command.
        Application.CurrentProject.Connection.Execute strTSQL
        MsgBox "Select permissions granted on tNewTable for " & strRoleName
    Else
    MsgBox "ADP must be connected to SQL Server"
    End If
    Exit Sub
    EH:
    MsgBox Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, vbCritical
    					
  10. Close the Visual Basic Environment to return to the form.
  11. Save the form, and then switch the form to the Form view.
  12. Click the command button to run the underlying code.

    Notice that you receive two message boxes to indicate success. You receive one after the application role is created, and the second one after the new role permissions to tNewTable are granted.

Implementing the Application role

The main complication when you are using application roles in Access projects is that Access uses three connections to SQL Server to handle various tasks. Ideally, to apply an application role to the whole project, you would have to execute sp_setapprole in the context of all three connections. The objects handled by each connection are as follows:

  1. Used for determining which objects appear in the Database window and for miscellaneous database administrative tasks.

    Used for opening tables, views, stored procedures, functions, and the record sources for forms and subreports (but not for the main report itself).

    Used for obtaining the record sources for combo boxes, list boxes, and reports.
  2. Used for opening tables, views, stored procedures, functions, and the record sources for forms and subreports (but not for the main report itself).

    Used for obtaining the record sources for combo boxes, list boxes, and reports.
  3. Used for obtaining the record sources for combo boxes, list boxes, and reports.

Although connections #2 and #3 can be accessed fairly easily, there is no method available for executing the stored procedure in the context of connection #1. Fortunately, this connection is the least important of the three and is easily worked around by constructing your own user interface (for example, a switchboard-type form) for handling database objects instead of relying on the built-in Database window.

The following steps use the Northwind sample Access project to demonstrate how to apply an application role against connections #2 and #3:

  1. In the Database window, click Forms under Objects, click New, and then click OK to open a new form in Design view.

    Note In Access 2007, click Form Design in the Forms group on the Create tab.
  2. Add a list box to the newly created form, and then set the Name property of the list box to lst_AppRole.
  3. Add a command button to the form.
  4. Set the OnClick property of the new command button to the following event procedure:
    On Error GoTo EH
        'This avoids a message that no records were returned.
    DoCmd.SetWarnings False
    Dim TSQL
    TSQL = "EXEC sp_setapprole 'AppRoleName', {Encrypt N 'Password'}, 'odbc'"
        'This sets the app role on Connection #2.
    Application.CurrentProject.Connection.Execute TSQL
        'This sets the app role on Connection #3.
    lst_approle.RowSource = TSQL
    lst_approle.Requery
    DoCmd.SetWarnings True
    MsgBox "The application Role is now in effect.", vbInformation
    Exit Sub
    EH:
    MsgBox Err.Number & ": " & Err.Description, vbCritical
    					
  5. Close the Visual Basic Environment to return to the form.
  6. Save the form, and then switch the form to theForm view.
  7. Click the command button to run the underlying code.

    Notice that you receive a message box that indicates success.
  8. In the Database window, click Tables under Objects, and then open the tNewTable table.

    Note In Access 2007, double-click tNewTable table in the navigation pane.
  9. Modify a record and try to save the changes.
Notice that as you try to commit your changes, you receive an error message about not having enough permissions. This occurs because you gave the new application role Select permission on the tNewTable table, but not Update permission.

By design, Access only shows objects in the Database window for which the user has at least Select or Execute permissions. Access uses connection #1 to determine which objects a user has permissions for. After applying the application role to connections #2 and #3, the Database window still shows the same objects that it did before, even though the user may no longer have permissions to all the objects, or may have permissions to more objects that are not shown. This can result in unexpected behavior when you use the Database window.

For example, when you opened the tNewTable table, it "appears" that the user does have permissions to edit and insert records. The insert new record icon at the bottom of the table is enabled, and the user is able to put a record in edit mode. You do not see any visual clue to indicate otherwise until you try to commit the edit or insert, which results in an error message. Access believes you have permissions when you actually do not.

The most effective workaround is to provide a custom interface for the user and not to rely on the Database window. By using a switchboard-type user interface, you can control exactly which objects the user has access to.

Other limitations and security considerations

Subforms not working

Unlike with other database objects, Access does not always use the same connection to retrieve the data source of a subform. Access frequently (but not always) creates a new connection to SQL Server just to handle the subform recordset, or to retrieve the linking field data that connects the subform to the main form. Because this new connection does not have the application role applied, a permissions error may be generated if you do not have explicit permissions to the database object. Unfortunately, this means that there is no reliable way to use bound subforms when application roles are applied. The only effective workaround is to have completely unbound subforms, with the data manipulation handled programmatically. This is the most serious limitation when using application roles in Access.

Reports not working

When you have an object such as a table or a view name listed as the record source for a report or subreport, Access checks to see whether the object is listed in the Database window before retrieving any data from SQL Server. Because the Database window uses a connection that does not have the application role applied, an error is generated if you do not have explicit permissions to the underlying data source.

To work around this problem, always use Transact-SQL statements as the record source for forms and reports. For example, use "Select * from ViewName" instead of just "ViewName" or "Exec StoredProcedureName" instead of just "StoredProcedureName." This way, Access passes the Transact-SQL statements directly to SQL Server and retrieves the data based on the permissions of the application role.

The Public Database role

An application role acquires the permissions of the Public database role. By default in NorthwindCS, the Public role has full permissions to most objects. Therefore, an application role is generally ineffective. When you created the tNewTable table in the "Creating an Application Role" section, the Public role was not granted permission to the table, and you later saw the effects of the application role security context on that table. However, other tables may not show any difference under the application role because the Public role has permissions to those objects.

VBA security

Because the password for the Application role is embedded into the application from which it is called, a knowledgeable user would be able to read the application role name and password from the source code, and then use that information to gain access to SQL Server from another application. Therefore, it is a good idea to compile the ADP into an ADE file so that the source code is not viewable. At minimum, enforce a password on the VBA project.

REFERENCES

For additional information about a Microsoft Access 2000 version of this article, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
318816 ACC2000: How to Use Application Roles with Access Projects and SQL Server 2000 Desktop Engine (MSDE 2000)
For more information about GRANT, see the SQL Server Books Online. The SQL Server Books Online is available at the following Microsoft Web site:
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinfo/productdoc/2000/default.asp

Properties

Article ID: 308312 - Last Review: March 29, 2007 - Revision: 6.2
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Office Access 2007
  • Microsoft Office Access 2003
  • Microsoft Access 2002 Standard Edition
Keywords: 
kbexpertiseinter kbinfo kbprogramming kbadp kbvba kbhowto KB308312

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com