您目前已離線,請等候您的網際網路重新連線

HOW TO:疑難排解 Windows 2000 中的啟動問題

結論
本文將告訴您,可以針對 Windows 2000 中的啟動問題進行疑難排解的一般程序。

成功的 Windows 2000 啟動包含下列四個階段:
  • 初始化階段
  • 開機載入器階段
  • 核心階段
  • 登入階段
如果其中一個階段發生問題,Windows 便無法正確啟動,而您可能會遇到下列任一問題:
  • 電腦停止回應 (當機)。
  • 您會接到一個錯誤訊息。
如果您按一下開機載入器功能表上的 [Microsoft Windows 2000] 之後,或接到 [Please select the operating system to start] (請選取要啟動的作業系統) 訊息時發生啟動問題,表示缺少作業系統所需的檔案或檔案損壞。Windows 2000 會提供可以針對這個問題的各種選項,包括安全模式、「修復主控台」和緊急修復磁片進行疑難排解。

回到頁首

如何使用上次正確的設定啟動電腦

如果在您變更電腦 (例如,安裝新的驅動程式) 之後立即發生問題,請試著使用 [上次正確的設定] 功能,重新啟動電腦。

當您使用 [上次正確的設定] 功能時,是利用最近有效的設定啟動電腦。這個功能會還原上次電腦有效成功啟動時的登錄資訊和驅動程式設定。當您變更電腦 (例如,安裝或升級裝置驅動程式) 之後,無法啟動 Windows,請使用這個功能。

如果要利用上次正確的設定啟動電腦,請依循這些步驟:
  1. 重新啟動電腦。
  2. 當您接到下列訊息時請按 F8:
    Please select the operating system to start (請選取要啟動的作業系統)
  3. [Windows 進階選項功能表] 中,使用方向鍵選取 [上次正確的設定],然後按 ENTER 鍵。
  4. 如果您正在電腦上執行其他作業系統,請按一下顯示清單中的 [Microsoft Windows 2000] ,然後按 ENTER 鍵。

    警告:使用上次正確的設定啟動電腦之後,您於上次成功啟動之後所作的變更將會遺失。

    如果使用上次正確的設定啟動電腦,您對電腦所作的最後變更 (例如,安裝驅動程式) 可能是不正確啟動行為的原因。建議您移除或更新該驅動程式或程式,然後測試 Windows 是否可以正確啟動。
回到頁首

如何在安全模式中啟動電腦

當您在安全模式中啟動電腦時,只會載入必要的驅動程式和電腦服務。當您需要找出並解決自動啟動的錯誤驅動程式、程式或服務所造成的問題時,便可以使用安全模式。

如果電腦在安全模式中啟動,但無法在標準模式中啟動,則電腦可能與硬體設定或資源有衝突。可能與程式、服務或驅動程式不相容,或者登錄損壞。在安全模式下,您可以停用或移除可能阻礙電腦正常啟動的程式、服務或裝置驅動程式。

如果要在安全模式中針對啟動問題進行疑難排解,請依循這些步驟:
  1. 重新啟動電腦。
  2. 當您接到下列訊息時請按 F8:
    Please select the operating system to start (請選取要啟動的作業系統)
  3. [Windows 進階選項功能表]中,使用方向鍵選取 [安全模式],然後按 ENTER 鍵。
  4. 如果您正在電腦上執行其他作業系統,請按一下顯示清單中的 [Microsoft Windows 2000] ,然後按 ENTER 鍵。
  5. 執行下列其中一項步驟:
    • 如果電腦無法在安全模式中啟動,請檢查可能的硬體問題,例如損壞的裝置、安裝問題、纜線問題或連接器問題。請移除任何新增加的硬體,然後重新啟動電腦,看看問題是否已經解決。
    • 如果電腦在安全模式中啟動,請進入下一節,以繼續針對啟動問題進行疑難排解。
回到頁首

如何使用事件檢視器識別啟動問題的原因

如需有關有助於識別及診斷啟動問題原因的詳細資訊,請檢視事件檢視器中的事件記錄檔。如果要檢視記錄至事件記錄檔中的事件,請依循這些步驟:
  1. 請按一下 [開始],指向 [設定],再按一下 [控制台]
  2. 按兩下 [系統管理工具],然後按兩下 [事件檢視器]

    或者,啟動包含事件檢視器嵌入式管理單元的 Microsoft Management Console (MMC)。
  3. 在主控台樹狀目錄中,按一下以展開 [事件檢視器],然後按一下您想要檢視的記錄檔,例如, [系統記錄檔][應用程式記錄檔]
  4. 在詳細資料窗格中,按兩下您想要檢視的事件。

    如果要複製事件的詳細資料,請按一下 [複製],在您想要貼上事件的程式 (例如,Microsoft Word) 中開啟新文件,然後按一下 [貼上] (位於 [編輯] 功能表上)。
  5. 如果要檢視前一個事件或下一個事件的說明,請按向上鍵或向下鍵。
如需有關如何以事件檢視器診斷系統問題的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視「Microsoft 知識庫」中的文件:
302542 HOW TO:在 Microsoft Windows 2000 以事件檢視器診斷系統問題
回到頁首

如何使用系統資訊識別啟動問題的原因

系統資訊工具會顯示電腦硬體、系統元件和軟體環境的完整檢視。請使用這個工具,協助您識別可能有問題的裝置和裝置衝突。如果要這麼做,請依循這些步驟:
  1. 請按一下 [開始],再按一下 [執行]
  2. [開啟] 方塊中,輸入 msinfo32,再按一下 [確定]
  3. 如果要檢查有問題的裝置或裝置衝突。請這麼做:
    1. 在主控台樹狀目錄中,按一下以展開 [元件],再按一下 [有問題的裝置]

      請注意任何列示在右窗格中的裝置。
    2. 在主控台樹狀目錄中,按一下以展開 [硬體資源],再按一下 [衝突/共用]

      請注意任何列示在右窗格中的資源衝突。
    3. 如果您找出有問題的裝置,請執行適當的動作 (例如,移除、停用或重新設定裝置,或者更新驅動程式),然後以標準模式重新啟動電腦。

      您可以使用「裝置管理員」移除或停用裝置及其驅動程式。如需關於「裝置管理員」的詳細資訊,請參閱本文的 <使用裝置管理員識別啟動問題的原因> 一節。

      如果電腦正確啟動,則該特別的裝置可能是啟動問題的原因。

      如果您已停用裝置以解決問題,請檢查 Windows 2000 硬體相容性清單 (HCL) 上所列示已正確安裝的裝置。此外,請聯絡製造商回報該行為並取得可能得以解決該啟動問題的更新之相關資訊。如需如何連絡電腦硬體製造商的資訊,請在下列清單中的合適文件編號上按一下,檢視 Microsoft Knowledge Base 中的文件:
      65416 Hardware and Software Third-Party Vendor Contact List, A-K

      60781 Hardware and Software Third-Party Vendor Contact List, L-P

      60782 Hardware and Software Third-Party Vendor Contact List, Q-Z
      Microsoft 提供協力廠商的聯絡資訊,以協助您找出技術支援。此聯絡資訊若有變更,恕不另行通知。Microsoft 不保證此協力廠商聯絡資訊的準確性。

  4. 如果系統資訊工具報告沒有裝置衝突或有問題的裝置,請檢查 Windows 啟動時會自動啟動的程式。如果要這麼做,請依循這些步驟:
    1. 在主控台樹狀目錄中,按一下以展開 [軟體環境],再按一下 [啟動程式]

      Windows 啟動時會自動啟動的程式列示在右窗格中。
    2. 請停用這些程式,然後重新啟動電腦。

      如需關於如何停用程式的詳細資訊,請參閱程式文件或聯絡製造商。
    3. 如果您停用這些啟動程式後,啟動問題就解決了,請重新一次啟用一個程式。

      您每次啟用程式之後,即關閉再重新啟動電腦,請注意是否發生不正確的啟動行為。如果發生此行為,則最後啟用的程式可能就是不正確啟動行為的原因。
回到頁首

如何檢視安全模式開機記錄檔

如果要針對啟動問題進行疑難排解,請檢視開機記錄檔 Ntbtlog.txt,然後記下以安全模式啟動電腦時沒有載入的驅動程式和服務。這個記錄檔位於 %SystemRoot% 資料夾 (依預設,這是 Winnt 資料夾)。這個記錄檔會列出以安全模式啟動電腦時載入 (和沒有載入) 的裝置和服務。您可以使用「Microsoft 記事本」,開啟及檢視記錄檔。

使用啟動時無法載入的驅動程式和服務清單,可以協助您識別啟動問題的可能原因。

注意:有些啟動問題可能發生在早期的啟動程序中。若是這種狀況,Windows 可能無法將開機記錄檔儲存至硬碟中。

回到頁首

如何使用裝置管理員識別啟動問題的原因

「裝置管理員」會顯示電腦上已安裝硬體的圖形檢視。請使用這個工具解決任何可能的裝置衝突,或識別可能是啟動問題原因的不相容裝置。

如果要啟動「裝置管理員」,請依循這些步驟:
  1. 在桌面上,以滑鼠右鍵按一下 [我的電腦],再按一下 [管理]
  2. 按一下以展開 [系統工具],再按一下 [裝置管理員]

    已安裝在電腦上的裝置會列示在右窗格中。如果裝置旁邊顯示一個符號,則該裝置可能有問題。例如,黃色欄位上的黑色驚嘆號指出該裝置呈問題狀態。

    注意: 如果要在「裝置管理員」中停用裝置,請以滑鼠右鍵按一下裝置,然後按一下 [停用]
  3. 調查可能的裝置衝突。如果要這麼做,請按兩下右窗格中的裝置,然後按一下 [資源] 索引標籤。

    如果有裝置衝突,會列示在 [衝突裝置的清單] 底下。

    請注意 [使用自動設定值] 核取方塊。如果 Windows 成功偵測到裝置,則會選取這個核取方塊,而且裝置會正確運作。但是,如果資源設定是以基本設定 n (其中 n 是 0 到 9 的任何數字) 為基礎,您可能必須變更設定。如果要這麼做,請從清單中按一下不同的基本設定或手動變更資源設定。 警告:這個程序可能需要變更電腦的互補金屬氧化物半導體 (CMOS) 設定和基本輸入/輸出系統 (BIOS) 設定。對電腦的 BIOS 進行錯誤的變更會造成嚴重的問題。變更電腦的 CMOS 設定之風險自行負責。

    如果 Windows 無法解決資源衝突,請確認電腦已設定為允許 Windows 列舉電腦中的裝置。如果要這麼做,請在電腦的 BIOS Setup 工具中啟用 [Plus and Play OS] 設定。如果要變更電腦的 BIOS 設定,請參閱電腦文件或聯絡您的電腦製造商。
  4. 如果您識別出有問題的裝置,請停用它,然後以標準模式重新啟動電腦。

    如果電腦正確啟動,則您所停用的裝置可能是啟動問題的原因。

    請確定該裝置已列在 Windows 2000 硬體相容性清單 (HCL) 上,並且已正確安裝。此外,請聯絡製造商回報該行為並取得可能得以解決該啟動問題的更新之相關資訊。
如需有關如何使用「裝置管理員」的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視「Microsoft 知識庫」中的文件:
199276 如何管理 Windows 2000 中的硬體裝置
244601 How to Troubleshoot Unknown Devices Listed in Device Manager
125174 裝置管理員所產生的錯誤碼之說明
回到頁首

如何確認電腦的 CMOS/BIOS 設定是否正確

警告:這個程序可能需要您變更電腦的 CMOS 設定和 BIOS 設定。對電腦的 BIOS 進行錯誤的變更會造成嚴重的問題。變更電腦的 CMOS 設定之風險自行負責。

不正確或損壞的 CMOS 和 BIOS 設定可能造成啟動問題。 如需關於電腦的正確 CMOS 和 BIOS 設定之相關資訊,以及如何檢查和變更這些設定的相關資訊,請參閱電腦文件或聯絡您的電腦製造商。

如果要確定電腦的 BIOS 是否是最新的,請聯絡電腦製造商以詢問電腦可用的最新 BIOS 更新。

回到頁首

修復主控台工具

「修復主控台」工具是一個指令行工具,如果電腦不能正確啟動,則可以使用該工具修復 Windows。您可以從 Windows 2000 安裝磁片、Windows 2000 光碟片 (CD) 啟動「修復主控台」,或者如果先前已在電腦上安裝「修復主控台」,則會在電腦啟動時啟動該工具。

如需有關如何使用「修復主控台」的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視「Microsoft 知識庫」中的文件:
301645 HOW TO:修復無法啟動的 Windows 2000 Server
229716 Windows 修復主控台說明
216417 HOW TO:安裝 Windows 修復主控台
回到頁首

緊急修復程序

如果您已建立好緊急修復磁片 (ERD),請用於疑難排解並解決啟動問題。請注意,緊急修復程序只限於修復系統檔、磁碟分割開機磁區和啟動環境。 如需關於緊急修復功能的其他資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視 Microsoft Knowledge Base 中的文件:
231777 How to Create an Emergency Repair Disk in Windows 2000
回到頁首

如何使用 Microsoft 產品支援服務網站尋求解答

如果依循本文中的步驟或檢視本文 <參考> 一節中的「Microsoft 知識庫」文件,仍無法解決您的問題,您可以使用「Microsoft 技術支援部」(PSS,Product Support Services) 網站,尋找問題的解決方案。以下清單說明「Microsoft 技術支援部」網站所提供的一些服務: 回到頁首


参考
如需關於如何對 Windows 2000 中的啟動問題進行疑難排解的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視「Microsoft 知識庫」中的下列文件:
202485 Windows 安全開機模式的說明
199175 Situations in Which Windows May Not Start in Safe Mode
244905 How to Disable a Service or Device that Prevents Windows from Booting
216417 HOW TO:安裝 Windows 修復主控台
266169 如何對 Windows 2000 中待命模式、休眠模式與關機的問題進行疑難排解
回到頁首
內容

文章識別碼:315396 - 最後檢閱時間:09/01/2006 01:55:06 - 修訂: 3.0

  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
  • kbenv kbhowto kbhowtomaster KB315396
意見反應

Article ID: 315396 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q315396
Notice
This article applies to Windows 2000. Support for Windows 2000 ends on July 13, 2010. The Windows 2000 End-of-Support Solution Center is a starting point for planning your migration strategy from Windows 2000. For more information see the Microsoft Support Lifecycle Policy.
Notice
This article applies to Windows 2000. Support for Windows 2000 ends on July 13, 2010. The Windows 2000 End-of-Support Solution Center is a starting point for planning your migration strategy from Windows 2000. For more information see the Microsoft Support Lifecycle Policy.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

Summary

This article describes general procedures that you can use to troubleshoot startup problems in Windows 2000.

A successful Windows 2000 startup consists of the following four phases:
  • Initial phase
  • Boot loader phase
  • Kernel phase
  • Logon phase
If a problem occurs during one of these phases, Windows may not start correctly and you may experience one of the following issues:
  • The computer stops responding (hangs).
  • You receive an error message.
If a startup problem occurs after you click Microsoft Windows 2000 on either the boot loader menu or when you receive the "Please select the operating system to start" message, files that are required by the operating system may be missing or damaged. Windows 2000 provides a variety of options that you can use to troubleshoot this issue, including safe mode, Recovery Console, and an Emergency Repair disk.

How to Start the Computer Using the Last Known Good Configuration

If the startup problem occurs immediately after you make a change to the computer (for example, if you install a new driver), try to start the computer by using the Last Known Good Configuration feature.

When you use the Last Known Good Configuration feature, you start your computer by using the most recent settings that worked. This feature restores registry information and driver settings that were in effect the last time the computer started successfully. Use this feature when you are unable to start Windows after you make a change to the computer (for example, if you install or upgrade a device driver).

To start the computer by using last known good configuration, follow these steps:
  1. Restart the computer.
  2. Press F8 when you receive the following message:
    Please select the operating system to start
  3. In Windows Advanced Option Menu, use the arrow keys to select Last Known Good Configuration, and then press ENTER.
  4. If you are running other operating systems on the computer, click Microsoft Windows 2000 from the list that is displayed, and then press ENTER.

    WARNING: After you start your computer by using the last known good configuration, changes that you made since the last successful startup are lost.

    If you can start your computer by using the last known good configuration, the last change that you made to the computer (for example, the installation of a driver) may be the cause of the incorrect startup behavior. It is recommended that you either remove or update the driver or program, and then test Windows for proper startup.

How to Start the Computer in Safe Mode

When you start the computer in safe mode, only essential drivers and computer services are loaded. You can use safe mode when you need to identify and resolve problems that are caused by either faulty drivers, programs, or services that start automatically.

If the computer starts in safe mode but it does not start in normal mode, the computer may have a conflict with either the hardware settings or the resources. There may be incompatibilities with either programs, services, or drivers, or there may be registry damage. In safe mode, you can disable or remove a program, service, or device driver that may be preventing the computer from starting normally.

To troubleshoot startup problems in safe mode, follow these steps:
  1. Restart the computer.
  2. Press F8 when you receive the following message:
    Please select the operating system to start
  3. In Windows Advanced Option Menu, use the arrow keys to select Safe Mode, and then press ENTER.
  4. If you are running other operating systems on the computer, click Microsoft Windows 2000 on the list that is displayed, and then press ENTER.
  5. Do one of the following steps:
    • If the computer does not start in safe mode, check for possible hardware problems such as defective devices, installation problems, cabling problems, or connector problems. Remove any newly added hardware, and then restart the computer to see if the problem is resolved.
    • If the computer starts in safe mode, proceed to the next section to continue to troubleshoot the startup issue.

How to Use Event Viewer to Identify the Cause of the Startup Problem

View the event logs in Event Viewer for additional information that may help you to identify and diagnose the cause of the startup problem. To view events recorded to the event logs, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
  2. Double-click Administrative Tools, and then double-click Event Viewer.

    Alternatively, start Microsoft Management Console (MMC) that contains the Event Viewer snap-in.
  3. In the console tree, click to expand Event Viewer, and then click the log that you want to view, for example, System log or Application log.
  4. In the details pane, double-click the event that you want to view.

    To copy the details of the event, click Copy, open a new document in the program in which you want to paste the event (for example, Microsoft Word), and then click Paste on the Edit menu.
  5. To view the description of the previous event or the next event, press either the UP ARROW key or the DOWN ARROW key.
For additional information about how to diagnose system problems with Event Viewer, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
302542 How To Diagnose System Problems with Event Viewer in Microsoft Windows 2000

How to Use System Information to Identify the Cause of the Startup Problem

The System Information tool displays a comprehensive view of the computer's hardware, the system components, and the software environment. Use this tool to help you identify possible problem devices and device conflicts. To do so, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, and then click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type msinfo32, and then click OK.
  3. Check for problem devices or device conflicts. To do so:
    1. In the console tree, click to expand Components, and then click Problem Devices.

      Note any devices that are listed in the right pane.
    2. In the console tree, click to expand Hardware Resources, and then click Conflicts/Sharing.

      Note any resource conflicts that are listed in the right pane.
    3. If you identify a problem device, perform the appropriate action (for example, either remove, disable, or reconfigure the device, or update the driver), and then restart the computer in normal mode.

      You can use Device Manager to remove or disable devices and their drivers. For more information about Device Manager, see the Use Device Manager to Identify the Cause of the Startup Problem section of this article.

      If the computer starts correctly, that particular device may be the cause of the startup problem.

      If you disabled a device to resolve the problem, check that the device is listed on the Windows 2000 Hardware Compatibility List (HCL), and that it is installed correctly. Additionally, contact the manufacturer to report the behavior and to obtain information about possible updates that can resolve the startup problem.For information about how to contact computer hardware manufacturers, click the appropriate article number in the following list to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
      65416 Hardware and Software Third-Party Vendor Contact List, A-K

      60781 Hardware and Software Third-Party Vendor Contact List, L-P

      60782 Hardware and Software Third-Party Vendor Contact List, Q-Z
      Microsoft provides third-party contact information to help you find technical support. This contact information may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this third-party contact information.

  4. If no device conflicts or problem devices are reported by the System Information tool, check for programs that start automatically when Windows starts. To do so, follow these steps:
    1. In the console tree, click to expand Software Environment, and then click Startup Programs.

      Programs that start automatically when Windows starts are listed in the right pane.
    2. Disable the programs, and then restart the computer.

      For more information about how to disable the program, refer to the program documentation or contact the manufacturer.
    3. If you disable the startup programs, and the startup problem is resolved, enable the programs again, one at a time.

      Shut down and restart the computer each time you enable a program, and note if the incorrect startup behavior occurs. If the behavior occurs, the last program that you enabled may be causing the incorrect startup behavior.

How to View the Safe Mode Boot Log File

To troubleshoot startup issues, view the boot log file, Ntbtlog.txt, and then make a note of the drivers and services that did not load when you started your computer in safe mode. This log file is located in the in the %SystemRoot% folder (by default, this is the Winnt folder). The log file lists devices and services that load (and do not load) when you start the computer in safe mode. You can use Microsoft Notepad to open and view the log file.

Use the list of drivers and services that failed to load at startup to help you identify the possible cause of the startup problem.

NOTE: Some startup problems may occur early in the startup process. In this scenario, Windows may not save the boot log file to the hard disk drive.

How to Use Device Manager to Identify the Cause of the Startup Problem

Device Manager displays a graphical view of the hardware that is installed on your computer. Use this tool to either resolve any possible device conflicts or to identify incompatible devices that may be the cause of the startup problem.

To start Device Manager, follow these steps:
  1. On the desktop, right-click My Computer, and then click Manage.
  2. Click to expand System Tools, and then click Device Manager.

    The devices that are installed on your computer are listed in the right pane. If a symbol is displayed next to a device, there may be a problem with the device. For example, a black exclamation point (!) on a yellow field indicates the device is in a problem state.

    NOTE: To disable a device in Device Manager, right-click the device, and then click Disable.
  3. Investigate possible device conflicts. To do so, double-click the device in the right pane, and then click the Resources tab.

    If a device conflict exists, it is listed under Conflicting device list.

    Note the Use automatic settings check box. If Windows successfully detects a device, this check box is selected, and the device functions correctly. However, if the resource settings are based on Basic Configuration n (where n is any number from 0 to 9), you may have to change the configuration. To do so, either click a different basic configuration from the list or manually change the resource settings. WARNING: This procedure may require you to change the computer's complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) settings and the basic input/output system (BIOS) settings. Incorrect changes to the BIOS of the computer can result in serious problems. Change the computer's CMOS settings at your own risk.

    If Windows is unable to resolve a resource conflict, verify that the computer is configured to allow Windows to enumerate the devices in the computer. To do so, enable the Plus and Play OS setting in the Setup tool of the computer's BIOS. To change the computer's BIOS settings, either refer to the computer documentation or contact your computer manufacturer.
  4. If you identify a problem device, disable it, and then restart the computer in normal mode.

    If the computer starts correctly, the device that you disabled may be the cause of the startup problem.

    Ensure that the device is listed on the Windows 2000 Hardware Compatibility List (HCL) and that it is installed correctly. Additionally, contact the manufacturer to report the behavior and to obtain information about possible updates that can resolve the startup problem.
For additional information about how to use Device Manager, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
199276 How to manage devices in Windows
244601 How to troubleshoot unknown devices listed in Device Manager
125174 Explanation of error codes generated by Device Manager

How to Confirm that the Computer's CMOS/BIOS Settings Are Correct

WARNING: This procedure may require you to change the computer's CMOS settings and the BIOS settings. Incorrect changes to the BIOS of the computer can result in serious problems. Change the computer's CMOS settings at your own risk.

Incorrect or damaged CMOS and BIOS settings can cause startup problems. For information about the correct CMOS and BIOS settings for the computer, and for information about how to check and change these settings, either refer to the computer documentation or contact the manufacturer of your computer.

To make sure that the computer's BIOS is current, contact the computer manufacturer to inquire about the latest BIOS update available for the computer.

The Recovery Console Tool

The Recovery Console tool is a command-line tool that you can use to repair Windows if the computer does not start properly. You can start Recovery Console from either the Windows 2000 Setup disks, the Windows 2000 compact disc (CD), or at startup if Recovery Console was previously installed to your computer.

For additional information about how to use Recovery Console, click the article numbers below to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
301645 How To Recover a Windows 2000 Server that Does Not Start
229716 Description of the Windows 2000 Recovery Console
216417 How to Install the Windows Recovery Console

The Emergency Repair Process

If you have created an Emergency Repair Disk (ERD), use it to troubleshoot and resolve the startup problem. Note that the emergency repair process is limited to repairing the system files, the partition boot sector, and the startup environment. For additional information about the emergency repair feature, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
231777 How to Create an Emergency Repair Disk in Windows 2000

How to Use the Microsoft Product Support Services Web Site to Find a Solution

If you cannot resolve the problem by following the steps in this article or by viewing the Knowledge Base articles in the References section of this article, you can use the Microsoft Product Support Services Web site to find a solution to your problem. The following list describes some of the services that the Microsoft Product Support Services Web site provides:
  • Searchable Knowledge Base - Search technical support information and self-help tools for Microsoft products.
  • Frequently Asked Questions - View product-specific frequently asked questions and support highlights.
  • Software and Updates - Find software and updates on the Download Center.
  • Other Support Options - Ask a support question using the Web or call Microsoft Product Support Services.



References

For additional information about troubleshooting startup issues in Windows 2000, click the article numbers below to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
202485 Description of Safe Boot Mode in Windows
199175 Situations in Which Windows May Not Start in Safe Mode
244905 How to Disable a Service or Device that Prevents Windows from Booting
216417 How To Install the Windows Recovery Console
266169 How to Troubleshoot Problems with Standby Mode, Hibernate Mode, and Shutting Down Your Computer in Windows 2000

Properties

Article ID: 315396 - Last Review: November 15, 2012 - Revision: 6.0
Applies to
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
Keywords: 
kbenv kbhowtomaster KB315396

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com