你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

如何使用 /userva 和 /3GB 开关将用户模式空间调整为介于 2 GB 和 3 GB 之间的值

针对 Windows Server 2003 的支持已于 2015 年 7 月 14 日终止。

Microsoft 已于 2015 年 7 月 14 日终止了对于 Windows Server 2003 的支持。该更改已影响到您的软件更新和安全选项。 了解这一措施对于您的含义以及如何继续保持受保护状态。

概要
在 Windows Server 2003 系列中,您可以使用 /userva=xxxx 开关更精确地调整用户和内核虚拟内存空间。将这个新的开关与 Boot.ini 文件中的 /3GB 开关一起使用,可将用户模式空间调整为介于 2 GB 和 3 GB 之间的值,差额部分(3,072 减去 xxxx)将返回内核模式。注意,xxxx 以兆字节 (MB) 为单位。

下面的示例 Boot.ini 文件说明如何使用这个新开关调整计算机,为用户模式虚拟内存分配 2,900 MB 的空间,为内核模式虚拟内存分配 1,196 MB 的空间。这使可用内核空间增加了 172 MB:
[Boot Loader]
Timeout=30
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows Server 2003" /fastdetect /3GB /Userva=2900
更多信息
/userva=xxxx 开关旨在为那些要求 2 GB 以上的用户模式空间、但不要求 /3GB 调整开关提供的全部空间的程序制造商更精确地调整用户模式地址空间。

注意:仅使用 /3GB 开关将给内核分配 1 GB 的空间,给用户模式空间分配 3 GB 的空间。

使用此开关会减少以下系统池中的内存:
  • 非页面缓冲池
  • 页面缓冲池
  • 系统页表项 (PTE)
在特定的服务器安装中,如果池中的内存减少太大,服务器或应用程序可能产生错误或者停止响应。

在 Windows Server 2003 中,您可以将 1 GB 额外空间的一小部分添加回操作系统。通过减少通常由 /3GB 开关分配的用户模式空间量,Windows Server 2003 可以增加可用核心内存地址空间。这一额外的内核模式地址空间将被保留,并在系统耗尽可用 PTE 空间时用作 PTE 的额外地址空间。此地址空间直到系统的 PTE 空间不足时才分配给 PTE。

为了准确查看 PTE 空间,请在调试器中使用 !VM 命令。

注意:在 Microsoft Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003 中,您可以使用此命令与 Microsoft 下载网站的当前调试器进行交互。

注意:Microsoft 产品支持服务强烈建议将 /userva=xxxx 开关的内存范围限制在 2900 到 3030 之间。此范围足以为目前发现的所有问题提供足够大的系统 PTE 池。通常情况下,当 xxxx 占位符的值为 2800 时,可使系统 PTE 的数量达到可能的最大可用值。在生产环境中观察到的 2800 设置的值通常是 50,000 - 70,000 个空闲系统页,对于所有安装而言,该值都已足够。如果该值小于 24,000,您应逐步减小该值,每次减少 64 MB,直到观察到的值大于 24,000 KB 到 26,000 KB 为止。userva 开关中更小的数值可能导致分配更大的系统页。 有关更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
894067在 Windows Server 2003 中性能工具未准确地显示可用的 Free System Page Table Entries


为了确保程序和 Windows 的稳定性,程序制造商必须使用上面描述的调整技巧对程序进行全面测试,而且必须提供程序的 /userva=xxxx 数量。为方便测试,制造商可以使用系统监视器工具监视虚拟地址的使用。为此,应添加“虚拟字节”计数器,使程序的进程可以获得准确的虚拟空间读数。

注意:Microsoft 产品支持服务 (PSS) 不支持任意的 /userva 设置,客户只能按照制造商的建议将此设置添加到 Boot.ini 文件中。

有关 /3GB 开关的更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
171793有关应用程序使用 4GT RAM 调节的信息
189293 XADM:使用 Windows NT Server Enterprise Edition 时启用 4GT RAM 调节功能
在内存很大的计算机上,Windows Server 2003 不再将系统页面共享区限制为 160 MB。由于页面缓存池不受限制,当计算机以 /3GB 开关运行时,您可以通过限制系统页面共享区的大小来释放额外的核心模式地址空间,以用作 PTE 空间。
kbmgmtsvc
属性

文章 ID:316739 - 上次审阅时间:05/25/2006 16:47:00 - 修订版本: 14.1

Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition

  • kbinfo kbenv kbwinxpsp1fix KB316739
反馈

How to use the /userva switch with the /3GB switch to tune the User-mode space to a value between 2 GB and 3 GB

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 316739 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q316739
Expand all | Collapse all

SUMMARY

You can use the /userva=xxxx switch for more precise tuning of user and kernel virtual memory space in the Windows Server 2003 family. Use this new switch with the /3GB switch in the Boot.ini file to tune the User-mode space to a value between 2 and 3 gigabytes (GB), with the difference (3,072 less xxxx) being returned to Kernel mode. Note that xxxx is expressed in megabytes (MB).

The following sample Boot.ini file demonstrates how to use the new switch to tune a computer to allocate 2,900 MB of User-mode virtual memory and 1,196 MB of Kernel-mode virtual memory. This increases the available kernel space by 172 MB:
[Boot Loader]
Timeout=30
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows Server 2003" /fastdetect /3GB /Userva=2900

MORE INFORMATION

The /userva=xxxx switch is designed to allow for more precise tuning of User-mode address space for program manufacturers who require more than 2 GB of User-mode space but do not require all the space that is provided by the /3GB tuning switch alone.

Note Using only the /3GB switch allocates 1 GB to the kernel and 3 GB to the User-mode space.

Using this switch reduces the memory available in the following system pools:
  • Nonpaged Pool
  • Paged Pool
  • System Page Table Entries (PTEs)
If the memory reduction in the pools is too great in a specific server installation, the server or the applications may generate an error or appear to stop responding.

In Windows Server 2003, you can add a small amount of the additional 1 GB back to the operating system. By decreasing the amount of User-mode space that is typically allocated by the /3GB switch, Windows Server 2003 increases the available kernel memory address space. This additional Kernel-mode address space is held in reserve and is used as additional address space for PTEs if the system runs out of free PTE space. This address space is not allocated to PTEs until the system runs low on PTE space.

In order to accurately see PTE space, use the !VM command in the debugger.

Note In Microsoft Windows XP and in Windows Server 2003, you can use this command interactively with the current debuggers that are available on the Microsoft download site.

Note Microsoft Product Support Services strongly recommends using a range of memory for the /userva=xxxx switch that is within the range of 2900 to 3030. This range is wide enough to provide a pool of system PTEs that is large enough for all currently observed issues. Typically, a value of 2800 for the xxxx placeholder will provide close to the maximum available number of system PTEs possible. Values observered in production for the 2800 setting are usually in the 50,000 - 70,000 free system pages, more than enough for all installations. If the value is less that 24,000, you should reduce this value in 64 MB steps until values larger than 24,000 to 26,000 are observed. Smaller numbers in the userva switch result in larger allocations of system pages. For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
894067 The Performance tool does not accurately show the available Free System Page Table entries in Windows Server 2003


To make sure of program stability and Windows stability, program manufacturers must test their programs thoroughly by using the described tuning techniques and must provide the /userva=xxxx number for their programs. To help in this testing, manufacturers can use the System Monitor tool to monitor virtual address consumption. To do this, add the Virtual Bytes counter for the program's process to obtain an accurate reading of the virtual space.

Note Microsoft Product Support Services (PSS) does not support arbitrary /userva settings; customers should add this setting to the Boot.ini file only per a manufacturer's recommendation.

For more information about the /3GB switch, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
171793 Information on application use of 4GT RAM tuning
189293 Enabling 4GT RAM tuning when you use Windows NT Server Enterprise Edition
Windows Server 2003 no longer limits the System Paged Pool to 160 MB on computers that have lots of memory. Because the Paged Pool is not limited, you may be able to free additional Kernel-mode address space to use as PTE space when the computer is running with the /3GB switch by limiting the size of the System Paged Pool.

Properties

Article ID: 316739 - Last Review: November 1, 2006 - Revision: 14.2
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition
Keywords: 
kbenv kbinfo kbwinxpsp1fix KB316739

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com