你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

使用 活动目录(AD) 安装向导以强制降级,在 Windows Server 2003 和 Windows 2000 Server 时,不妥善降级域控制器

针对 Windows Server 2003 的支持已于 2015 年 7 月 14 日终止。

Microsoft 已于 2015 年 7 月 14 日终止了对于 Windows Server 2003 的支持。该更改已影响到您的软件更新和安全选项。 了解这一措施对于您的含义以及如何继续保持受保护状态。

重要说明:本文是由 Microsoft 机器翻译软件进行的翻译并可能由 Microsoft 社区通过社区翻译机构(CTF)技术进行后期编辑,或可能是由人工进行的翻译。Microsoft 同时向您提供机器翻译、人工翻译及社区后期编辑的文章,以便对我们知识库中的所有文章以多种语言提供访问。翻译的文章可能存在词汇、句法和/或语法方面的错误。Microsoft 对由于内容的误译或客户对内容的使用所导致的任何不准确、错误或损失不承担责任。

点击这里察看该文章的英文版: 332199
症状
Microsoft Windows 2000 或 Microsoft Windows Server 2003 的域控制器可能未妥善降级使用 活动目录(AD) 安装向导 (Dcpromo.exe)。
原因
如果所需的依赖项或操作失败,则可能会出现此行为。其中包括在 活动目录(AD) 中的网络连接、 名称解析、 身份验证、 活动目录(AD) 目录服务复制或关键对象的位置。
解决方案
若要解决此问题,请确定什么阻碍正常的 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 的域控制器降级,然后尝试再次使用 活动目录(AD) 安装向导降级的域控制器。

注意对于 Windows Server 2008 中,目录服务还原模式 (DSRM) 不会改变从 Windows Server 2003 有一种例外。在 Windows Server 2008 中,您可以运行dcpromo/forceremoval命令,就像可以在 AD DS 中,强行启动 DSRM 中,在域控制器中删除 AD DS 停止状态。域控制器仍必须启动 DSRM 要从备份中还原系统状态数据中。有关如何执行此操作的详细信息,请参阅下面的 TechNet 文章:
替代方法
如果您无法解决此问题,可以使用以下解决方法来执行强制的降级的域控制器,以保留和在其上的任何应用程序的操作系统的安装。

警告使用以下解决方法之前,请确保您可以成功地启动目录服务还原模式中。否则,您将无法登录后强制降级该计算机。如果您不记得目录服务还原模式的密码,您可以通过使用 Setpwd.exe 实用程序位于 Winnt\System32 文件夹中重置密码。在 Windows Server 2003 中,Setpwd.exe 实用程序的功能已集成到 NTDSUTIL 工具设置 DSRM 密码命令。 有关如何执行此过程,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
271641 配置您的服务器向导密码设为空白的恢复模式

Windows 2000 的域控制器

  1. Service Pack 2 (SP2) 或更高版本中,正在运行的 Windows 2000 域控制器上安装 Q332199 修复程序,或安装 Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (SP4)。SP2 及更高版本都支持强制的降级。然后,重新启动计算机。
  2. 单击开始,单击运行,然后键入下面的命令:
    dcpromo /forceremoval
  3. 单击确定
  4. 活动目录(AD) 安装向导的欢迎页上,单击下一步
  5. 如果您要删除的计算机是全局编录服务器,请单击消息窗口中的确定

    注意如果您要降级的域控制器是全局编录服务器中,根据需要提升林中或站点中的其他全局编录。
  6. 删除活动目录页中,请确保清除此服务器是域中的最后一个域控制器复选框,然后单击下一步
  7. 网络凭据页中,键入林中的名称、 密码和域具有企业管理员凭据的用户帐户的名称,然后单击下一步
  8. 管理员密码框中,键入密码和确认您要指派给本地 SAM 数据库中,管理员帐户的密码,然后单击下一步
  9. 摘要页上,单击下一步
  10. 降级的域控制器在树林中继续存在的域控制器上执行元数据清除。
如果您通过使用 Ntdsutil 中的删除选定的域命令从林中删除域,验证所有域控制器以及林中的全局编录服务器删除了所有对象之前您刚都删除的域的引用将一个新域提升到同一林中域的名称相同。工具 (如 Replmon.exe 或 Repadmin.exe 从 Windows 2000 支持工具可帮助您确定是否发生了端到端复制。Windows 2000 SP3 和更早版本的全局编录服务器是明显降低的速度比 Windows Server 2003 中删除对象和命名上下文。

Windows Server 2003 的域控制器

  1. 默认情况下,Windows Server 2003 的域控制器都支持强制的降级。单击开始,单击运行,然后键入下面的命令:
    dcpromo /forceremoval
  2. 单击确定
  3. 活动目录(AD) 安装向导的欢迎页上,单击下一步
  4. 强制 活动目录(AD) 删除的页面上,单击下一步
  5. 管理员密码框中,键入密码和确认您要指派给本地 SAM 数据库中,管理员帐户的密码,然后单击下一步
  6. 摘要框中,单击下一步
  7. 降级的域控制器在树林中继续存在的域控制器上执行元数据清除。
如果您通过使用 Ntdsutil 中的删除选定的域命令从林中删除域,验证所有域控制器以及林中的全局编录服务器删除了所有对象之前您刚都删除的域的引用将一个新域提升到同一林中域的名称相同。Windows 2000 Service Pack 3 (SP3) 和更早版本的全局编录服务器是明显降低的速度比 Windows Server 2003 中删除对象和命名上下文。

如果删除 活动目录(AD) 中的计算机上的资源的访问控制项 (Ace) 基于域本地组,这些权限可能需要重新配置,因为这些组将不会对成员或独立服务器可用。如果您计划以使其在原始域中的域控制器的计算机上安装 Active Directory,您不需要更加配置访问控制列表 (Acl)。如果您希望将计算机作为成员或独立的服务器,必须转换或替换基于域本地组的任何权限。有关权限从域控制器删除 活动目录(AD) 后如何受影响的详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
320230 域控制器降级后权限受到影响

Windows 服务器 2003 Service Pack 1 的增强功能

Windows Server 2003 SP1 增强dcpromo /forceremoval进程。Dcpromo /forceremoval在执行时,进行检查以确定域控制器承载操作主机角色,是域名系统 (DNS) 服务器,或者是一个全局编录服务器。对于每个角色,管理员会收到一条弹出警告,建议他采取适当的措施。

如果域控制器无法在正常模式下启动

重要提示此部分、方法或任务包含告诉您如何修改注册表的步骤。但是,如果不正确地修改了注册表,可能会出现严重问题。因此,请确保仔细按这些步骤操作。为增加保护,先备份注册表再对其进行修改。然后,您可以在出现问题时还原注册表。有关如何备份和还原注册表的详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
322756 如何在 Windows XP 中备份和还原注册表


重要提示如果域控制器无法在正常模式下启动,请按照下列步骤仅作为最后的手段。

若要删除 活动目录(AD) 域控制器,请执行以下步骤:
  1. 重新启动计算机,然后按 f8 键,以显示Windows 2000 高级选项菜单。
  2. 选择目录服务还原模式,按 enter 键,然后按 enter 键再次要继续重新启动。
  3. 修改注册表中的 ProductType 项。若要执行此操作,请执行以下步骤:
    1. 单击开始,然后单击运行,类型 注册表编辑器然后单击确定
    2. 找到下面的注册表子项:
      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ProductOptions
    3. 在右窗格中,双击ProductType
    4. 键入 ServerNT值数据中,然后再单击确定

      注意如果此值设置不正确,或拼写错误,您可能会收到以下错误消息:
      系统过程 — 许可冲突: 系统已检测到篡改您的已注册的产品类型。这是您的软件许可证的侵犯。篡改产品类型不是允许的。
    5. 退出注册表编辑器。
  4. 重新启动计算机。
  5. 使用管理员帐户和密码用于目录服务修复模式下登录。

    计算机将表现为成员服务器。但是,仍有一些剩余的文件和计算机上的注册表项,与域控制器。
  6. 启动注册表编辑器,然后找到下面的注册表项:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NTDS\Parameters
    如果没有对应的项
    Src Root Domain Srv
    用鼠标右键单击该值,然后单击删除。这样,域控制器将自身视为唯一的域控制器的域中升级后,必须先删除此值。

    重要提示上面提到的步骤是至关重要的。没有它重新提升到临时 AD 林不能完成,您将无法登录到域控制器上。
  7. 删除剩余的文件和注册表项。若要执行此操作,请执行以下步骤:
    1. 开始 活动目录(AD) 安装向导。
    2. 设置 活动目录(AD) 以使计算机成为域控制器的新的、 临时的域名,如"psstemp.deleteme。"

      注意请确保您计算机的域控制器中不同的林。
    3. 设置 活动目录(AD) 后,再次启动 活动目录(AD) 安装向导,然后从域控制器中删除活动目录。
  8. 从域控制器删除 活动目录(AD) 后,删除不在域中的元数据。有关如何删除此元数据的详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
    216498 如何在 活动目录(AD) 中的数据删除失败的域控制器降级后
状态
Microsoft 已经测试并支持正在运行 Windows 2000 或 Windows Server 2003 的域控制器强制的降级。
更多信息
在基于 Windows 2000 的和基于 Windows Server 2003 的计算机上,Active Directory 安装向导创建 活动目录(AD) 域控制器。通过 活动目录(AD) 安装向导执行的操作包括安装新的服务,对现有的服务的启动值的更改和转换到 活动目录(AD) 作为安全性和身份验证的领域。

通过强制降级,域管理员可以强制删除 活动目录(AD) 并回滚本地保存的系统更改而无需联系或将任何本地保存的更改复制到林中的其他域控制器。

由于强制的降级会导致任何损失本地保存的更改,只作为最后的手段,在生产环境中使用它,或测试域。连接、 名称解析、 身份验证或复制引擎依赖项不能解决,以便可以执行正常降级时,可以强制降级的域控制器。强制降级的有效方案包括:
  • 没有域控制器当前可用父域中时,您将直接子域中的最后一个域控制器降级。
  • 活动目录(AD) 安装向导无法完成,因为名称解析、 身份验证、 复制引擎,或者无法解析的 活动目录(AD) 对象依赖项执行详细的故障诊断之后。
  • 域控制器在逻辑删除存留时间不复制传入的活动目录更改 (默认的逻辑删除存留时间为 60 天) 的一个或多个命名上下文的天。

    重要提示无法恢复这些域控制器,除非它们是特定域的故障恢复的唯一机会。
  • 时间不允许更详细疑难解答,因为您必须立即使到服务的域控制器。
强制的降级可能很有用,在其中可以从现有的域的域控制器中删除,但您无需将每个域控制器降级顺序进行实验和教学环境。

强制域控制器降级时,如果您将丢失任何强行要降级的域控制器的当前目录中的唯一更改。这包括添加、 删除或修改用户、 计算机、 组、 信任关系以及组策略或 活动目录(AD) 配置之前运行dcpromo /forceremoval命令没有复制关闭。此外,您将丢失更改到任一这些对象,如用户、 计算机和信任关系以及组成员资格的密码属性。

但是,如果强制降级的域控制器,则会操作系统返回到域中的最后一个域控制器成功降级时相同的状态 (服务启动值和已安装的服务、 使用注册表基于 SAM 帐户数据库) 的计算机是工作组的成员。降级的域控制器上安装的程序保留其安装。

系统事件日志标识强制降级,Windows 2000 域控制器并按事件 ID 29234 dcpromo /forceremoval操作的实例。例如:

事件类型: 警告
事件源: 出现 lsasrv
事件类别: 无
事件 ID: 29234
日期: MM/DD/YYYY
时间:: 分: 秒 AM|下午
用户:N/A
计算机: 计算机名 说明: 服务器被强制降级。它不再是域控制器。

系统事件日志标识按事件 ID 为 29239 的强制降级的 Windows Server 2003 的域控制器。例如:

事件类型: 警告
事件源: 出现 lsasrv
事件类别: 无
事件 ID: 29239
日期: MM/DD/YYYY
时间:: 分: 秒 AM|下午
用户:N/A
计算机: 计算机名 说明: 服务器被强制降级。它不再是域控制器。

使用dcpromo /forceremoval命令时元数据被降级的计算机后,在继续运行的域控制器会被删除。 有关详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
216498 如何在 活动目录(AD) 中的数据删除失败的域控制器降级后
以下是,您必须完成,如果适用的话之后强制降级的域控制器,:
  1. 从域中删除计算机帐户。
  2. 请验证该 DNS 记录,如 A,CNAME 和 SRV 记录被删除,而如果它们存在,请删除它们。
  3. 确认 FRS 成员对象 (FRS 和 DFS) 被删除,而如果它们存在,请删除它们。有关详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
    296183 由 FRS 的 活动目录(AD) 对象的概述
  4. 如果被降级的计算机是任何安全组的成员,请将其从这些组中删除。
  5. 删除对被降级的服务器,例如,链接或根副本的任何 DFS 引用。
  6. 未出现故障的域控制器必须占用任何操作主机角色,也称为灵活单主机操作或 FSMO) 以前由被强制降级的域控制器。有关详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
    255504 使用 Ntdsutil.exe 占用或将 FSMO 角色转移到域控制器
  7. 如果您要降级的域控制器是 DNS 服务器或全局编录服务器,则必须创建新的 GC 或 DNS 服务器,以满足负载平衡、 容错和树林中的配置设置。
  8. NTDSUTIL 的 NTDSDSA 对象,使用删除所选的服务器命令时强制降级的域控制器到传入连接的父对象被删除。该命令不会删除在网站中出现的父服务器对象和服务管理单元使用 活动目录(AD) 站点和服务 MMC 管理单元中要删除的服务器对象,如果域控制器将不会提升到该目录林中具有相同的计算机名称。

警告:本文已自动翻译

属性

文章 ID:332199 - 上次审阅时间:04/02/2014 16:49:00 - 修订版本: 2.0

Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition, Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Standard Edition, Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Premium Edition, Microsoft Windows 2000 Server, Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server

  • kbhotfixserver kbqfe kbbug kbmt KB332199 KbMtzh
反馈

Domain controllers do not demote gracefully when you use the Active Directory Installation Wizard to force demotion in Windows Server 2003 and in Windows 2000 Server

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 332199 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q332199
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SYMPTOMS

Microsoft Windows 2000 or Microsoft Windows Server 2003 domain controllers may not gracefully demote by using the Active Directory Installation Wizard (Dcpromo.exe).

CAUSE

This behavior may occur if a required dependency or operation fails. These include network connectivity, name resolution, authentication, Active Directory directory service replication, or the location of a critical object in Active Directory.

RESOLUTION

To resolve this behavior, determine what is preventing the graceful demotion of the Windows 2000 or the Windows Server 2003 domain controller, and then try to demote the domain controller by using the Active Directory Installation Wizard again.

Note For Windows Server 2008, the Directory Services Restore Mode (DSRM) is unchanged from Windows Server 2003 with one exception. In Windows Server 2008, you can run the dcpromo/forceremoval command to forcibly remove AD DS from a domain controller that is started in DSRM, just as you can in the AD DS stopped state. A domain controller must still be started in DSRM to restore system state data from a backup. For more information about how to do this, see the following TechNet article: 
Restartable AD DS Step-by-Step Guide

WORKAROUND

If you cannot resolve the behavior, you can use the following workarounds to perform a forced demotion of the domain controller to preserve the installation of the operating system and of any applications on it.

Warning Before you use either of the following workarounds, make sure that the you can successfully start in Directory Services Restore mode. Otherwise, you will not be able to log on after you forcefully demote the computer. If you do not remember the Directory Services Restore mode password, you can reset the password by using the Setpwd.exe utility that is located in the Winnt\System32 folder. In Windows Server 2003, the functionality of the Setpwd.exe utility has been integrated into the Set DSRM Password command of the NTDSUTIL tool. For more information how to perform this procedure, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
271641 Configure Your Server Wizard sets a blank recovery mode password

Windows 2000 domain controllers

  1. Install the Q332199 hotfix on a Windows 2000 domain controller that is running Service Pack 2 (SP2) or a later version, or install Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (SP4). SP2 and later versions support forced demotion. Then, restart your computer.
  2. Click Start, click Run, and then type the following command:
    dcpromo /forceremoval
  3. Click OK.
  4. At the Welcome to the Active Directory Installation Wizard page, click Next.
  5. If the computer that you are removing is a global catalog server, click OK in the message window.

    Note Promote additional global catalogs in the forest or in the site if the domain controller that you are demoting is a global catalog server, as needed.
  6. At the Remove Active Directory page, make sure that the This server is the last domain controller in the domain check box is cleared, and then click Next.
  7. At the Network Credentials page, type the name, password, and domain name for a user account with enterprise administrator credentials in the forest, and then click Next.
  8. In Administrator Password, type the password and confirmed password that you want to assign to the Administrator account of the local SAM database, and then click Next.
  9. On the Summary page, click Next.
  10. Perform a metadata cleanup for the demoted domain controller on a surviving domain controller in the forest.
If you removed a domain from the forest by using the remove selected domain command in Ntdsutil, verify that all the domain controllers and the global catalog servers in the forest have removed all the objects and the references to the domain that you just removed before you promote a new domain into the same forest with the same domain name. Tools such as Replmon.exe or Repadmin.exe from Windows 2000 Support Tools may help you determine whether end-to-end replication has occurred. Windows 2000 SP3 and earlier global catalog servers are noticeably slower to remove objects and naming contexts than Windows Server 2003 is.

Windows Server 2003 domain controllers

  1. By default, Windows Server 2003 domain controllers support forced demotion. Click Start, click Run, and then type the following command:
    dcpromo /forceremoval
  2. Click OK.
  3. At the Welcome to the Active Directory Installation Wizard page, click Next.
  4. At the Force the Removal of Active Directory page, click Next.
  5. In Administrator Password, type the password and confirmed password that you want to assign to the Administrator account of the local SAM database, and then click Next.
  6. In Summary, click Next.
  7. Perform a metadata cleanup for the demoted domain controller on a surviving domain controller in the forest.
If you removed a domain from the forest by using the remove selected domain command in Ntdsutil, verify that all the domain controllers and the global catalog servers in the forest have removed all the objects and the references to the domain that you just removed before you promote a new domain into the same forest with the same domain name. Windows 2000 Service Pack 3 (SP3) and earlier global catalog servers are noticeably slower to remove objects and naming contexts than Windows Server 2003 is.

If resource access control entries (ACEs) on the computer that you removed Active Directory from were based on domain local groups, these permissions may have to be reconfigured, because these groups will not be available to member or stand-alone servers. If you plan to install Active Directory on the computer to make it a domain controller in the original domain, you do not have to configure access control lists (ACLs) any more. If you prefer to leave the computer as a member or stand-alone server, any permissions that are based on domain local groups must be translated or replaced. For more information about how permissions are affected after you remove Active Directory from a domain controller, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
320230 Permissions are affected after you demote a domain controller

Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 1 enhancements

Windows Server 2003 SP1 enhances the dcpromo /forceremoval process. When dcpromo /forceremoval is executed, a check is made to determine whether the domain controller hosts an operations master role, is a Domain Name System (DNS) server, or is a global catalog server. For each of these roles, the administrator receives a popup warning that advises the administrator to take appropriate action.

If the domain controller cannot start in normal mode

Important This section, method, or task contains steps that tell you how to modify the registry. However, serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly. Therefore, make sure that you follow these steps carefully. For added protection, back up the registry before you modify it. Then, you can restore the registry if a problem occurs. For more information about how to back up and restore the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
322756 How to back up and restore the registry in Windows


Important Follow these steps only as a last resort if the domain controller cannot start in normal mode.

To remove Active Directory from a domain controller, follow these steps:
  1. Restart the computer, and then press F8 to display the Windows 2000 Advanced Options menu.
  2. Choose Directory Services Restore Mode, press ENTER, and then press ENTER again to continue restarting.
  3. Modify the ProductType entry in the registry. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
    2. Locate the following registry subkey:
      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ProductOptions
    3. In the right-pane, double-click ProductType.
    4. Type ServerNT in the Value data box, and then click OK.

      Note If this value is not set correctly or is misspelled, you may receive the following error message:
      System Process - License Violation: The system has detected tampering with your registered product type. This is a violation of your software license. Tampering with product type is not permitted.
    5. Quit Registry Editor.
  4. Restart the computer.
  5. Log on with the administrator account and password that is used for Directory Service Repair mode.

    The computer will behave as a member server. However, there are still some remaining files and registry entries on the computer that are associated with the domain controller.
  6. Start Registry Editor and locate the following registry entry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NTDS\Parameters
    If there is an entry for
    Src Root Domain Srv
    , right-click the value and then click Delete. This value must be deleted so that the domain controller sees itself as the only domain controller in the domain after promotion.

    Important The above step is critical. Without it the re-promotion into the temporary AD forest will not complete and you will not be able to log on to the domain controller.
  7. Remove the remaining files and registry entries. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Start the Active Directory Installation Wizard.
    2. Install Active Directory to make the computer a domain controller for a new, temporary domain, such as "psstemp.deleteme."

      Note Make sure that you make the computer a domain controller in a different forest.
    3. After you install Active Directory, start the Active Directory Installation Wizard again, and then remove Active Directory from the domain controller.
  8. After you remove Active Directory from a domain controller, remove metadata that is left in the domain. For more information about how to remove this metadata, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    216498 How to remove data in Active Directory after an unsuccessful domain controller demotion

STATUS

Microsoft has tested and supports the forced demotion of domain controllers that are running Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003.

MORE INFORMATION

The Active Directory Installation Wizard creates Active Directory domain controllers on Windows 2000-based and Windows Server 2003-based computers. Operations that are performed by the Active Directory Installation Wizard include the installation of new services, changes to the startup values of existing services, and the transition to Active Directory as a security and authentication realm.

With forced demotion, a domain administrator can forcibly remove Active Directory and roll back locally held system changes without having to contact or replicate any locally held changes to another domain controller in the forest.

Because forced demotion causes the loss of any locally held changes, use it only as a last resort in production or test domains. You can forcibly demote domain controllers when connectivity, name resolution, authentication, or replication engine dependencies cannot be resolved so that graceful demotion can be performed. Valid scenarios for forced demotions include the following:
  • There are no domain controllers currently available in the parent domain when you try to demote the last domain controller in an immediate child domain.
  • The Active Directory Installation Wizard cannot complete because there is a name resolution, authentication, replication engine, or Active Directory object dependency that you cannot resolve after you perform detailed troubleshooting.
  • A domain controller has not replicated incoming Active Directory changes in Tombstone Lifetime (Default Tombstone Lifetime is 60 days) number of days for one or more naming contexts.

    Important Do not recover such domain controllers unless they are the only chance of recovery for a particular domain.
  • Time does not permit more detailed troubleshooting because you must immediately bring into service the domain controller.
Forced demotions may be useful in lab and classroom environments where you can remove domain controllers out of existing domains, yet you do not have to demote each domain controller serially.

If you force the demotion of a domain controller, you will lose any unique changes that reside in the Active Directory of the domain controller that you are forcibly demoting. This includes the addition, deletion, or modification of users, computers, groups, trust relationships, and Group Policy or Active Directory configuration that did not replicate off before you ran the dcpromo /forceremoval command. Additionally, you will lose changes to any one of the attributes on these objects, such as passwords for users, computers, and trust relationships and group membership.

However, if you force the demotion of a domain controller, you return the operating system to a state that is the same as the successful demotion of the last domain controller in a domain (service start values, installed services, use of a registry based SAM for the account database, computer is a member of a workgroup). Programs that are installed on the demoted domain controller remain installed.

The System event log identifies forcibly demoted Windows 2000 domain controllers and instances of the dcpromo /forceremoval operation by event ID 29234. For example:

Event Type: WARNING
Event Source: lsasrv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 29234
Date: MM/DD/YYYY
Time: HH:MM:SS AM|PM
User: N/A
Computer: computername Description: The server was force demoted. It is no longer a Domain controller.

The System event log identifies forcibly demoted Windows Server 2003 domain controllers by event ID 29239. For example:

Event Type: WARNING
Event Source: lsasrv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 29239
Date: MM/DD/YYYY
Time: HH:MM:SS AM|PM
User: N/A
Computer: computername Description: The server was force demoted. It is no longer a Domain controller.

After you use the dcpromo /forceremoval command, metadata for the demoted computer is not deleted on surviving domain controllers. For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
216498 How to remove data in Active Directory after an unsuccessful domain controller demotion
The following are items that you must address, if applicable, after forcibly demoting a domain controller:
  1. Remove the computer account from the domain.
  2. Verify that DNS records, such as A, CNAME, and SRV Records, are removed, and remove them if they are present.
  3. Verify that FRS member objects (FRS and DFS) are removed, and remove them if they are present. For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    296183 Overview of Active Directory objects that are used by FRS
  4. If the demoted computer is a member of any security groups, remove it from those groups.
  5. Remove any DFS references to the demoted server, such as links or root replicas.
  6. A surviving domain controller must seize any operations master roles, also known as flexible single master operations or FSMO, that were previously held by the forcibly demoted domain controller. For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    255504 Using Ntdsutil.exe to seize or transfer FSMO roles to a domain controller
  7. If the domain controller that you are demoting is a DNS server or global catalog server, you must create a new GC or DNS server to satisfy load balancing, fault tolerance, and configuration settings in the forest.
  8. When you use the remove selected server command in NTDSUTIL, the NTDSDSA object, the parent object for incoming connections to the domain controller that you forcibly demoted is removed. The command does not remove the parent server objects that appear in the Sites and Services snap-in. Use the Active Directory Sites and Services MMC snap-in to remove the server object if the domain controller will not be promoted into the forest with the same computer name.

Properties

Article ID: 332199 - Last Review: July 11, 2012 - Revision: 14.0
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Premium Edition
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
Keywords: 
kbhotfixserver kbqfe kbbug KB332199

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com