上升的国家中的已知视频问题

重要说明:本文是由 Microsoft 机器翻译软件进行的翻译并可能由 Microsoft 社区通过社区翻译机构(CTF)技术进行后期编辑,或可能是由人工进行的翻译。Microsoft 同时向您提供机器翻译、人工翻译及社区后期编辑的文章,以便对我们知识库中的所有文章以多种语言提供访问。翻译的文章可能存在词汇、句法和/或语法方面的错误。Microsoft 对由于内容的误译或客户对内容的使用所导致的任何不准确、错误或损失不承担责任。

点击这里察看该文章的英文版: 820089
本文已归档。它按“原样”提供,并且不再更新。
概要
本文描述的当你播放国家的崛起时,您可能会遇到的已知的与视频相关问题。文章分为一般性视频问题和只在特定视频硬件发生的问题。

返回页首
更多信息

一般性视频问题

以下是一般不适用于特定音频硬件的与视频相关的问题。

返回页首

鼠标指针闪烁

当您尝试播放上升的国家时,鼠标指针可能会闪烁。要解决此问题,请将-nohwcursor参数添加到快捷方式上上升的国家。为此,请执行以下步骤:
  1. 在桌面上,上升 ofNations,用鼠标右键单击,然后单击属性
  2. 目标框中,在框中查找最后一个 letterof 现有的文本,请按空格键,,然后键入-nohwcursor.

    例如,"第 Games\Rise 的 Nations\rise.exe C:\ProgramFiles\Microsoft"nohwcursor
  3. 单击确定
  4. 您 justedited 从快捷方式启动上升的国家。
返回页首

特定错误消息以及如何解决这些问题

返回页首

"视频卡驱动程序"错误消息

当您开始上升的国家时,可能会收到以下错误消息之一:
该视频卡驱动程序不支持使用上升的国家。请从制造商的网站下载最新驱动程序。
该视频卡驱动程序不建议使用上升的国家。请从制造商的网站下载最新驱动程序。您要退出游戏吗?
若要解决此问题,请联系您的视频卡硬件制造商联系,以获取并安装用于您的视频卡的驱动程序的最新版本。有关如何与视频卡制造商联系的信息,请参阅本文的"参考"部分。

返回页首

"视频卡不建议使用"错误消息

当您开始上升的国家时,可能会收到以下错误消息:
此视频卡不建议用上升的国家。您要退出游戏吗?
要变通解决此问题,请单击,并继续。但是,可能会导致图形故障或其他问题。若要解决此问题,您必须购买和安装视频卡支持的上升的国家。如果您需要购买或安装视频卡的帮助,请与您的计算机制造商联系。

返回页首

"视频卡不支持"的错误信息

当您开始上升的国家时,可能会收到以下错误消息:
此视频卡不支持使用上升的国家。
若要解决此问题,您必须购买和安装视频卡支持的上升的国家。如果您需要购买或安装视频卡的帮助,请与您的计算机制造商联系。

注意:如果您不想要获取并安装视频卡支持的上升的国家,您可以获取退款返回。Microsoft 满意保证有关的信息,请访问下面的 Microsoft Web 站点: 返回页首

"图形服务未能初始化"或"的国家/地区的上升不能设置为 256 色的显示器显示模式与运行"错误消息

当您尝试启动上升的国家时,可能会收到与以下类似的错误消息:
图形服务初始化失败。请确保您的视频卡和驱动程序安装正确,并且兼容与上升的国家。
不断上升的国家/地区不能与设置为 256 色的显示器显示模式运行。请与 16 位色或更高版本,更改监视器的显示。
若要解决此问题,可以使用一个或多个下列方法,在它们出现的顺序。

方法 1: 验证您的视频硬件满足或超出上升的国家的系统要求


使用 DirectX 诊断工具 (Dxdiag) 来验证您的视频硬件满足或超过上升的国家的系统要求。为此,请执行以下步骤:
  1. 单击开始,然后单击运行
  2. 打开框中,键入dxdiag然后单击确定
  3. 显示选项卡上,验证估计内存总数是 ormore 16.0 兆字节 (MB)。
视频卡必须有上升的国家/地区正常为 16.0 MB。如果不是的话,升级视频硬件。

注意:由于在运行 DirectX 诊断工具时,可能正在使用的视频内存,此值可能稍低于实际合计。如果这不能解决此问题,请转到下一个方法。

有关的国家中上升的最低系统要求的详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
820088 不断上升的国家/地区: 最小系统要求
单击播放按钮以观看此流媒体演示。

方法 2: 下载并安装您的视频卡的最新驱动程序


有关如何下载和安装您的视频卡的最新驱动程序的信息,请与您的视频卡的制造商联系。在本文的"参考"部分中可能存在的联系信息。如果这不能解决此问题,请转到下一个方法。

方法 3: 安装最新的 VIA 芯片组驱动程序


如果使用带有通过技术芯片组的主板,您可以通过安装最新芯片组驱动程序来解决此问题。
方法 4: 启用 Direct3D


若要启用 Direct3D,请执行以下步骤:
  1. 单击开始,单击运行,类型dxdiag打开框中,然后再单击确定
  2. DirectX 诊断工具对话框中,单击显示选项卡或显示 1选项卡。
  3. 单击Direct3DAcceleration,旁边的启用,然后单击退出
单击播放按钮以观看此流媒体演示。
如果这不能解决此问题,请转到下一个方法。

方法 5: 更新 DirectX


若要获取最新的 DirectX 版本,请访问下面的 Microsoft Web 站点: 有关详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
191660 游戏: DirectDraw 选项或 Direct3D 选项不可用,Windows 启动游戏时
返回页首

硬件特定的视频问题

返回页首

ATI

  • ATI 128 Rage
    当您尝试播放上升的国家/地区使用视频的 cardsthat 基于此芯片组,游戏内建筑物可能显示为带有实心 whitetextures。要解决此问题,请下载并安装最新的 driversfrom 制造商。

    游戏意外退出或您 receivethe followin 错误消息:
    Microsoft Visual C++ RuntimeLibrary 运行时错误 !程序...程序数值 Games\Rise OfNations\Nations.exe (空间) 异常程序终止
    对 resolvethis 问题,安装上升的国家/地区更新。若要安装上升 NationsUpdate,请参见
    一节。
  • Radeon 7500
    当您尝试使用此视频卡播放上升的国家时,地面的颜色可能会出现污点或拉伸,然后一开始可能会显示为黑色。要解决此问题,请下载并安装 thisvideo 卡的最新驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 ATI 网站:
  • Radeon 9700
    当您尝试使用此视频卡播放上升的国家时,鼠标指针可能不可见。若要解决此问题,请下载 andinstall 此视频卡的最新驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问您执行以下操作的 ATI 网站:
  • Radeon 9700
    当您尝试使用此视频卡与 Microsoft WindowsMillennium 版或 Microsoft Windows XP 播放上升的国家/地区,您会遇到一些图形损坏。若要解决此问题,下载和 installthe 的最新驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 ATI 网站:
  • Radeon 9700
    当您尝试使用 Windows 操作系统的版本,或 Microsoft Windows 98 9062 versiondriver 此视频卡时,上升 ofNations 可能无法启动。要解决此问题,请下载并安装 mostrecent 的驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 ATI 网站:
返回页首

英特尔

  • 英特尔 740、 810 和 815 芯片组
    问题 1: 当您尝试在这些芯片组上开始上升的国家,blackscreen 可能会出现,游戏可能会停止响应。对此问题没有 knownresolution。

    发出 2:游戏播放介绍性影片后,您可能会收到 aMicrosoft 错误报告对话框的以下详细信息:
    ModName: d3dgl.dll 偏移量: 000122 c 6。
    如果您的显示适配器没有足够的内存来运行游戏,则可能会发生 Thisbehavior。若要解决此问题,您必须购买和安装 videoadapter 支持的上升的国家。如果您安装新的视频适配器的 purchasingor 方面需要帮助,请联系您的计算机制造商。
  • 英特尔 845 芯片组
    当您尝试使用此视频卡播放上升的国家/地区,并尝试创建一个商人的字符时,游戏可能会停止响应。Toresolve 此问题,请下载并安装视频卡的详细的最新驱动程序。

    当您开始上升的国家时,可能会收到 followingerror 消息:
    该视频卡驱动程序不支持的 foruse 与上升的国家。请从 yourmanufacturer 的网站,下载最新驱动程序。
    若要解决此问题,下载和 installthe 最新显卡驱动程序。若要下载最新驱动程序,请访问您执行以下操作英特尔网站: 若要找到该驱动程序支持站点,请访问以下英特尔网站: 选择您的操作系统,然后单击转到。下载最新的驱动程序,可在网站上。
返回页首

NVIDIA

  • SUS v 3800 超高
    当您尝试播放此视频卡与上升的国家时,可能无法启动游戏。要解决此问题,请下载并安装该视频卡的 mostrecent 驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的华硕 (asus) 网站:
  • 创造性的 Annihilator 专业
    当您尝试使用此视频卡播放上升的国家时,鼠标指针可能会闪烁,并且您可能会看到的 gamegraphics 有少量损坏。要解决此问题,请下载并安装最新的 driversfrom 芯片组制造商。
  • 菱形 Viper V550
    当您尝试在上升 ofNations 中创建一个商人的字符时,游戏可能会停止响应。若要解决此问题,请下载 andinstall 此视频卡的最新驱动程序。
  • 引号 Maxi 游戏 Cougar当您尝试通过使用 thisvideo 卡的系统上启动上升的国家时,可能会收到一个图形初始化错误。若要解决 thisissue,请下载并安装该视频卡的最新驱动程序。到 doso,请访问下面的 NVIDIA 网站:
  • LeadTek GeForce3 Ti 200
    当您尝试使用此视频卡播放上升的国家时,核武器爆炸可能仅限为一个白色的圆圈。若要解决 thisissue,请下载并安装该视频卡的最新驱动程序。到 doso,请访问下面的 Leadtek 网站:
  • STB 速度 4400
    当您尝试播放此视频卡与上升的国家时,图形的异常可能会发生与游戏内树阴影。若要解决 thisissue,请下载并安装最新的 NVIDIA 驱动程序,该视频卡。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 NVIDIA 网站:
  • TNT,TNT2 Vanta游戏可能会意外退出,并显示"Visual C++ RuntimeError!"消息。若要变通解决此问题,请将显示器的颜色质量以外设置为 32 位,然后在游戏中:
    1. 单击选项和配置文件
    2. 图形选项卡上的分辨率,选择 32 位设置 (例如,为1024 x 768 x 32)。
    3. 单击更改分辨率,然后单击确定
    若要解决此问题,请安装上升的国家 Update.See
    部分疑难解答文章的说明。
  • NVIDIA GeForce
    当您尝试使用 GeForce 驱动程序播放上升的国家时,游戏性能可能会降低游戏启动后重新启动计算机后第一次。若要解决此问题,请按 pressingALT + F4,游戏退出,然后重新启动游戏。一次重新启动后,游戏 shouldperform,像往常一样,直到下一次重新启动计算机。
  • NVIDIA (GeForce 3,4)
    当您尝试使用这些视频卡播放上升 ofNations 时,核武器爆炸可能显示为不可用 (变灰),和 boatreflections 可能不会出现。要解决此问题,请下载并安装该视频卡的最新驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 NVIDIAWeb 网站:
  • NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 200
    当您尝试使用视频卡与零售要在基于 Windows XP 的计算机上播放上升的国家,鼠标指针可能 respondslowly 并跳转到意外游戏窗口区域。要解决此问题,请下载并安装最新的 NVIDIA 驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问您执行以下操作 NVIDIA 网站:
  • NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 200
    当您尝试使用此视频卡零售要在基于 Windows XP 的计算机上播放上升的国家,水纹可能 notblend 顺利。要解决此问题,请下载并安装了大多数的 recentNVIDIA 驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 NVIDIA 网站:http://www.nvidia.com
  • NVIDIA 256 GeForce
    当您尝试使用此视频卡播放上升的 Nationsin 32 位模式下时,鼠标指针可能会闪烁。若要解决此问题,请以 16 位模式启动 Riseof 国家/地区。从更改 16 位到 32 位模式下主菜单上单击选项 & 配置文件,单击图形选项卡,然后单击 16 位分辨率之一。
返回页首

其他

  • 3dfx Voodoo 3 3000
    不断上升的国家/地区可能无法启动 usingthis 的视频卡,而不考虑操作系统的计算机上。在程序启动后,屏幕闪烁一下可能会变黑,,然后游戏可能会停止响应。没有已知的解决方法以解决此问题。
  • 3dfx Voodoo 5 (AGP 系列)
    当您尝试在基于 Windows 98 SecondEdition 的计算机上使用此视频卡播放上升的国家,在水中游戏地图上图像的各种图形的异常 mayoccur。没有任何已知的分辨率词问题。
  • 3dfx Voodoo 5 (AGP 系列)
    当您尝试在基于 Windows 98 第二版的 32 位计算机上播放此视频卡上升的国家时,用户界面元素 maynot 显示,或者可能已损坏,这可能会阻止您玩游戏。Toresolve 此问题,请启动上升的国家/地区中 16 位模式。为此,请在 mainmenu 上,单击选项 & 配置文件,单击图形选项卡,然后单击其中一个 16-bitresolutions。
  • 菱形怪物合成
    当您尝试的播放上升的国家/地区与此视频卡,游戏可能不会启动可能无法启动。游戏窗口可能会闪烁一下变黑,并随即停止响应。没有已知的解决方法为 thisissue。
  • Hercules 3D prophet 4500 (PowerVR Kyro 11)
    当您尝试使用 Windows 2000 或 Windows XP 操作系统的计算机上此视频卡 at32 位分辨率播放上升的国家时,鼠标指针可能会在游戏过程中闪烁。若要解决此问题,请启动上升的国家/地区中 16 位模式。若要更改从 16 位到 32 位模式下,主菜单上单击选项 & 配置文件,单击图形选项卡,然后单击其中一个 16 位分辨率。
  • Matrox 操作系统 G-400
    当您尝试播放此视频卡与上升的国家时,建筑物可能享受稳定白色补丁,而不是彩色图形,并可能不会出现某些按钮文本。若要解决此问题,请下载 andinstall 此视频卡的最新驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问您只有 Matrox Web 站点执行以下操作:
  • Matrox 操作系统 G-550
    当您尝试播放此视频卡 at32 位分辨率与上升的国家时,鼠标指针可能会在游戏过程中闪烁。若要解决 thisissue,请更新到最新的驱动程序。若要执行此操作,请访问下面的 MatroxWeb 网站: Microsoft 提供的第三方联系人信息,以帮助您查找技术支持。此联系信息如有更改,恕不另行通知。Microsoft 不能保证第三方联系信息的准确性。
  • S3 图形 SuperSavage/IX
    游戏可能会意外退出,并显示消息"Visual C + + 运行时错误!"。若要变通解决此问题,请将显示器的 colorquality 在 Windows 中设置为 16 位,然后执行以下步骤:
    1. 单击选项和配置文件
    2. 图形选项卡上的分辨率,选择 16 位设置--例如, 1024 x 768 x 16
    3. 单击更改分辨率,然后单击确定
    若要解决此问题,请安装上升的国家/地区 Update.See 的说明本文的"参考"部分。
  • 315 siS
    当您尝试播放此视频卡与上升的国家时,陆效果可能会出现斑驳的游戏地图上。要解决此问题,请下载并安装您的视频卡的最新驱动程序。
  • ST KYRO
    当您尝试使用基于此芯片组的视频卡时,thegraphics 可能因此损坏游戏不能正常工作。若要解决 thisissue,请下载并安装最新驱动程序的制造商。
有关如何解决与显示相关的问题的详细信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
263039 游戏: 如何解决显示问题
返回页首
参考
若要获取最新增加的国家/地区的更新,请使用下面的选项:
  • 使用检查更新按钮:
    1. 启动上升的国家/地区。
    2. 单击检查更新
    3. 请按照屏幕更新上升的国家显示的说明进行操作。
有关您的视频硬件制造商联系的信息,请访问下面的网站:若要查看是否有可用的驱动程序更新,请访问下面的 Microsoft Windows 更新 Web 站点: 单击播放按钮以观看此流媒体演示。
在这篇文章中进行讨论的第三方产品是由与 Microsoft 无关的公司生产的。微软并不保证,暗示或其他方式,对性能或这些产品的可靠性。

返回页首
异常显示视频 gamecontroller 设备

属性

文章 ID:820089 - 上次审阅时间:12/08/2015 02:40:09 - 修订版本: 9.0

Microsoft Rise of Nations, Microsoft Rise of Nations: Gold Edition, Microsoft Rise of Nations: Thrones and Patriots

  • kbnosurvey kbarchive dftsdahomeportal kbhardware kbdisplay kberrmsg kbinfo kbmt KB820089 KbMtzh
反馈

Article ID: 820089 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

Summary

This article describes the known video-related issues that you may experience when you play Rise of Nations. The article is divided into general video issues and issues that occur only on specific video hardware.

More information

General video issues

The following are general video-related issues that do not apply to specific audio hardware.

Mouse pointer flickers

When you try to play Rise of Nations, the mouse pointer may flicker. To resolve this issue, add the -nohwcursor parameter to a Rise of Nations shortcut. To do so, follow these steps:
  1. On the desktop, right-click Rise of Nations, and then click Properties.
  2. In the Target box, locate the last letter of the existing text in the box, press SPACE BAR, and then type -nohwcursor.

    For example, "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Rise of Nations\rise.exe" -nohwcursor
  3. Click OK.
  4. Start Rise of Nations from the shortcut that you just edited.

Specific error messages and how to resolve them

"Video card driver" error message

When you start Rise of Nations, you may receive one of the following error messages:
This video card driver is not supported for use with Rise of Nations. Please download the latest drivers from your manufacturer's website.
This video card driver is not recommended for use with Rise of Nations. Please download the latest drivers from your manufacturer's website. Would you like to exit the game?
To resolve this issue, contact your video card hardware manufacturer to obtain and install the latest version of the driver for your video card. For information about how to contact the manufacturer of your video card, see the "References" section of this article.

"Video card is not recommended" error message

When you start Rise of Nations, you may receive the following error message:
This video card is not recommended for use with Rise of Nations. Would you like to exit the game?
To work around this issue, click No and continue. However, graphical glitches or other problems may result. To resolve this issue, you must purchase and install a video card that is supported by Rise of Nations. If you need help with purchasing or installing a video card, contact your computer manufacturer.

"Video card is not supported" error message

When you start Rise of Nations, you may receive the following error message:
This video card is not supported for use with Rise of Nations.
To resolve this issue, you must purchase and install a video card that is supported by Rise of Nations. If you need help with purchasing or installing a video card, contact your computer manufacturer.

Note If you do not want to obtain and install a video card that is supported by Rise of Nations, you can return it for a refund. For information about the Microsoft Satisfaction Guarantee, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://www.microsoft.com/mscorp/productrefund/refund.mspx

"Graphics services failed to initialize" or "Rise of Nations cannot run with the monitor display mode set to 256 colors" error message

When you try to start Rise of Nations, you may receive an error message that is similar to the following:
Graphics services failed to initialize. Please make sure that your video card and drivers are correctly installed, and are compatible with Rise of Nations.
Rise of Nations cannot run with the monitor display mode set to 256 colors. Please change monitor display to 16-bit color or greater.
To resolve this issue, use one or more of the following methods in the order that they appear in.

Method 1: Verify that your video hardware meets or exceeds the system requirements of Rise of Nations


Use the DirectX Diagnostics Tool (Dxdiag) to verify that your video hardware meets or exceeds the system requirements for Rise of Nations. To do so, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, and then click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type dxdiag, and then click OK.
  3. On the Display tab, verify that the Approx. Total Memory is 16.0 Megabytes (MB) or more.
The video card must have 16.0 MB for Rise of Nations to function correctly. If it does not, upgrade your video hardware.

Note Because of video memory that may be in use when you run the DirectX Diagnostics Tool, this value may be a little lower than the actual total. If this does not resolve this issue, go to the next method.

For more information about the minimum system requirements for Rise of Nations, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
820088 Rise of Nations: Minimum system requirements
Click the Play button to view this streaming media demonstration.

Method 2: Download and install the most recent drivers for your video card


Contact the manufacturer of your video card for information about how to download and install the most recent drivers for your video card. Contact information may be located in the "References" section of this article. If this does not resolve this issue, go to the next method.

Method 3: Install the latest VIA chipset drivers


If you are using a motherboard with a VIA Technologies chipset, you may be able to resolve this issue by installing the most recent drivers for the chipset.
Method 4: Enable Direct3D


To enable Direct3D, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, click Run, type dxdiag in the Open box, and then click OK.
  2. In the DirectX Diagnostic Tool dialog box, click the Display tab or the Display 1 tab.
  3. Click Enable next to Direct3D Acceleration, and then click Exit.
Click the Play button to view this streaming media demonstration.
If this does not resolve this issue, go to the next method.

Method 5: Update DirectX


To obtain the most current version of DirectX, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/directx/default.mspx
For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
191660 Games: The DirectDraw option or the Direct3D option is unavailable when you start games for Windows

Hardware-specific video issues

ATI

  • ATI Rage 128
    When you try to play Rise of Nations by using video cards that are based on this chipset, in-game buildings may appear with solid white textures. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers from the manufacturer.

    The game may unexpectedly quit or you receive the followin error message:
    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library Runtime Error! Program....Program files\Microsoft Games\Rise Of Nations\Nations.exe (space) Abnormal program termination
    To resolve this issue, install the Rise of Nations Update. To install the Rise of Nations Update, see the References section.
  • Radeon 7500
    When you try to use this video card to play Rise of Nations, ground colors may appear smeared or stretched, and the ground may appear black. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following ATI Web site:
    http://www.amd.com/
  • Radeon 9700
    When you try to use this video card to play Rise of Nations, the mouse pointer may not be visible. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following ATI Web site:
    http://www.amd.com/
  • Radeon 9700
    When you try to use this video card with Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition or Microsoft Windows XP to play Rise of Nations, you may experience graphical corruption. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers. To do so, visit the following ATI Web site:
    http://www.amd.com/
  • Radeon 9700
    When you try to use this video card with the 9062 version driver with Windows Millennium Edition, or Microsoft Windows 98, Rise of Nations may not start. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers. To do so, visit the following ATI Web site:
    http://www.amd.com/

Intel

  • Intel 740, 810, and 815 Chipsets
    Issue 1: When you try to start Rise of Nations on these chipsets, a black screen may appear, and the game may stop responding. There is no known resolution for this issue.

    Issue 2: After the game plays the introductory movie, you may receive a Microsoft Error Reporting dialog box with the following details:
    ModName: d3dgl.dll Offset: 000122c6.
    This behavior may occur if your display adapter does not have sufficient memory to run the game. To resolve this issue, you must purchase and install a video adapter that is supported by Rise of Nations. If you need help with purchasing or installing a new video adapter, contact the manufacturer of your computer.
  • Intel 845 Chipset
    When you try to use this video card to play Rise of Nations, and you try to create a merchant character, the game may stop responding. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for your video card.

    When you start Rise of Nations, you may receive the following error message:
    This video card driver is not supported for use with Rise of Nations. Please download the latest drivers from your manufacturer's website.
    To resolve this issue, download and install the latest video card drivers. To download the latest drivers, visit the following Intel Web site:
    http://www.intel.com
    To locate the drivers support site, visit the following Intel Web site:
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com
    Select your Operating System, and then click Go. Download the latest drivers that are available on the site.

NVIDIA

  • SUS v-3800 Ultra
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card, the game may not start. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following ASUS Web site:
    http://www.asus.com
  • Creative Annihilator Pro
    When you try to use this video card to play Rise of Nations, the mouse pointer may flicker and you may see minor corruption of the game graphics. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers from the chipset manufacturer.
  • Diamond Viper V550
    When you try to create a merchant character in Rise of Nations, the game may stop responding. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card.
  • Guillemot Maxi Gamer Cougar When you try to start Rise of Nations on a system by using this video card, you may receive a graphical initialization error. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent driver for this video card. To do so, visit the following NVIDIA Web site:
    http://www.nvidia.com
  • LeadTek GeForce3 Ti 200
    When you try to use this video card to play Rise of Nations, a nuclear explosion may appear as only as a white circle. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following Leadtek Web site:
    http://www.leadtek.com
  • STB Velocity 4400
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card, graphical anomalies may occur with the in-game tree shadows. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent NVIDIA drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following NVIDIA Web site:
    http://www.nvidia.com
  • TNT, TNT2, and VantaThe game may unexpectedly quit and display a "Visual C++ Runtime Error!" message. To work around this issue, set your display's color quality in Windows to 32 bit, and then in the game:
    1. Click Options and Profiles.
    2. On the Graphics tab, for Resolution, select a 32-bit setting (for example, 1024 x 768 x 32).
    3. Click Change to Resolution, and then click OK.
    To resolve this issue, install the Rise of Nations Update. See the References section of this article for instructions.
  • NVIDIA GeForce
    When you try to use GeForce drivers to play Rise of Nations, the game performance may decrease the first time the game is started after the computer has been restarted. To resolve this issue, quit the game by pressing ALT+F4, and then restart the game. After you restart one time, the game should perform as usual until the next time that you restart the computer.
  • NVIDIA (GeForce 3, 4)
    When you try to use these video cards to play Rise of Nations, nuclear explosions may appear unavailable (dimmed), and the boat reflections may not appear. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following NVIDIA Web site:
    http://www.nvidia.com
  • NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 200
    When you try to use this video card with the retail drivers to play Rise of Nations on a Windows XP-based computer, the pointer may respond slowly and jump to unexpected areas of the game window. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent NVIDIA drivers. To do so, visit the following NVIDIA Web site:
    http://www.nvidia.com
  • NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 200
    When you try to use this video card with the retail drivers to play Rise of Nations on a Windows XP-based computer, water textures may not blend smoothly. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent NVIDIA drivers. To do so, visit the following NVIDIA Web site: http://www.nvidia.com
  • NVIDIA GeForce 256
    When you try to use this video card to play Rise of Nations in 32-bit mode, the mouse pointer may flash. To resolve this issue, start Rise of Nations in 16-bit mode. To change from 32-bit to 16-bit mode click Options & Profiles on the main menu, click the Graphics tab, and then click one of the 16-bit resolutions.

Other

  • 3dfx Voodoo 3 3000
    Rise of Nations may not start on computers that are using this video card, regardless of the operating system. After the program starts, the screen may briefly flash black, and then the game may stop responding. There is no known resolution for this issue.
  • 3dfx Voodoo 5 (AGP Series)
    When you try to use this video card on a Windows 98 Second Edition-based computer to play Rise of Nations, various graphical anomalies may occur on the water images on the in-game map. There is no known resolution for this issue.
  • 3dfx Voodoo 5 (AGP Series)
    When you try to play Rise of Nations on a 32-bit Windows 98 Second Edition-based computer with this video card, user-interface elements may not appear or may be corrupted, this may prevent you from playing the game. To resolve this issue, start Rise of Nations in 16-bit mode. To do so, on the main menu, click Options & Profiles, click the Graphics tab, and then click one of the 16-bit resolutions.
  • Diamond Monster Fusion
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card, the game may not start may not start. The game window may briefly flash black, and then stop responding. There is no known resolution for this issue.
  • Hercules 3D prophet 4500 (PowerVR Kyro 11)
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card at 32-bit resolution on a computer with a Windows 2000 or Windows XP operating system, the mouse pointer may flicker during the game. To resolve this issue, start Rise of Nations in 16-bit mode. To change from 32-bit to 16-bit mode, click Options & Profiles on the main menu, click the Graphics tab, and then click one of the 16-bit resolutions.
  • Matrox Millennium G-400
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card, buildings may be covered with solid white patches instead of color graphics, and some button text may not appear. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for this video card. To do so, visit the following Matrox Web site:
    http://www.matrox.com
  • Matrox Millennium G-550
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card at 32-bit resolution, the mouse pointer may flash during the game. To resolve this issue, update to the most recent drivers. To do so, visit the following Matrox Web site:
    http://www.matrox.com
    Microsoft provides third-party contact information to help you find technical support. This contact information may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this third-party contact information.
  • S3 Graphics SuperSavage/IX
    The game may unexpectedly quit and display a "Visual C++ Runtime Error!" message. To work around this issue, set your display's color quality in Windows to 16 bit, and then follow these steps:
    1. Click Options and Profiles.
    2. On the Graphics tab, for Resolution, select a 16-bit setting--for example, 1024 x 768 x 16.
    3. Click Change to Resolution, and then click OK.
    To resolve this issue, install the Rise of Nations Update. See the "References" section of this article for instructions.
  • SiS 315
    When you try to play Rise of Nations with this video card, shore effects may appear blocky on the in-game map. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers for your video card.
  • ST KYRO
    When you try to use a video card based on this chipset, the graphics may be so corrupted that the game is not functional. To resolve this issue, download and install the most recent drivers from the manufacturer.
For more information about how to troubleshoot display-related issues, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
263039 Games: How to troubleshoot display issues

References

To obtain the most recent Rise of Nations Update, use the following option:  
  • Use the Check for Updates button:
    1. Start Rise of Nations.
    2. Click Check for Updates.
    3. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to update Rise of Nations.
For information about your video hardware manufacturer, visit the following Web site:
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/vendors/en-us
To see if applicable driver updates are available, visit the following Microsoft Windows Update Web site:
http://update.microsoft.com
Click the Play button to view this streaming media demonstration.
The third-party products that are discussed in this article are manufactured by companies that are independent of Microsoft. Microsoft makes no warranty, implied or otherwise, regarding the performance or reliability of these products.

Properties

Article ID: 820089 - Last Review: March 19, 2013 - Revision: 21.0
Applies to
  • Microsoft Rise of Nations
  • Microsoft Rise of Nations: Gold Edition
  • Microsoft Rise of Nations: Thrones and Patriots
Keywords: 
dftsdahomeportal kbhardware kbdisplay kberrmsg kbinfo KB820089

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com