你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

在 Exchange Server 2003 中如何在用户级别和域级别配置 Internet 电子邮件格式

有关本文的 Microsoft Exchange 2000 Server 版本,请参阅 319252
概要
本文逐步说明了如何在用户级别和组织级别配置 Internet 电子邮件消息传递格式。对于大多数组织来说,电子邮件消息传递已经成为日益重要的通信模式。但是,并不是所有组织都是用同一类型的消息传递系统。因此,如果用户尝试向格式不匹配的外部组织发送邮件,就可能发生问题。或者,如果您的组织要在电子邮件通信中使用特定格式或使用字体和文本颜色等功能,则可能需要在组织级别配置 Internet 电子邮件消息传递格式。

您可以在两个级别配置这些设置,以向外部域发送 Internet 电子邮件:
  • 按用户
  • 按域
如果使用默认设置,用户可以发送所需的任何格式的电子邮件。但是,组织可能有关于发送 HTML 或 RTF 格式的电子邮件的策略,而您想指定所有电子邮件都必须以纯文本格式发送。或者,您可能与另一家组织有合作关系,而该组织运行可以处理 HTML 或 RTF 格式的 Microsoft Exchange 2000。在这种情况下,可以配置规则,将所有电子邮件发送到使用 RTF 格式的那个域。

返回页首

要求

下面的列表说明了推荐使用的硬件、软件、网络结构以及所需的 Service Pack:
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server Service Pack 3 (SP3)
  • Microsoft Active Directory 目录服务
  • Exchange 2003
本文假定您熟悉下列主题:
  • Exchange 系统管理器
  • 电子邮件消息传递格式,如纯文本、RTF 和 HTML
返回页首

消息传递格式说明

在配置向外部域发送的电子邮件时,请确保您了解可以使用的各种方法。

纯文本

纯文本邮件是得到最广泛接受的消息传递格式。所有电子邮件读取器都可以显示纯文本格式的文本邮件。但是,纯文本邮件不能显示颜色、不同的字体或强调,如粗体或斜体文本。

返回页首

RTF 格式

对于在 Microsoft Outlook 用户之间发送的邮件,Exchange 2000 使用 RTF 消息传递。RTF 显示颜色、字体和格式。但是,RTF 仅可通过 Outlook 读取。Exchange 2003 RTF 格式与 Microsfot Word 等文字处理程序中使用的 RTF 格式不同。

注意:如果收件人在其电子邮件中收到名为 Winmail.dat 的文件附件,则该域存在 RTF 不兼容问题。要解决此问题,必须配置规则,以确保发送到该域的邮件不使用 RTF 格式。

返回页首

HTML 格式

HTML 邮件是最近实现的格式,它允许在邮件中显示丰富的内容。使用 HTML 邮件格式时,邮件作为 HTML 页发送,其中包含可用于更改文本外观的标记。然后,收件人的电子邮件客户端程序将设置该 HTML 的格式并进行显示。HTML 文本的主要问题在于并非所有电子邮件客户端程序都支持 HTML 文本。如果 HTML 电子邮件显示不正确,则该邮件便无法阅读。

返回页首

纯文本和 HTML

Exchange 2003 可以纯文本和 HTML 格式向外部域发送邮件。这种格式在这两种类型的客户端中都可以正确显示。但是,邮件大小变为原来的两倍且处理时间较长。您在对邮件的回复中也许能够同时查看纯文本和 HTML。在人们使用纯文本和 HTML 粘贴邮件的讨论组中经常会出现这种情况。

返回页首

MIME 和 uuencode

MIME 和用户到用户编码 (uuencode) 是两种不同的随邮件发送二进制附件的方法。早期电子邮件客户端程序使用 uuencode 作为默认邮件格式。但是,当前大多数电子邮件客户端程序都支持 MIME。您可能必须与继续使用 uuencode 的域通信。在这种情况下,可以配置规则,以向使用 uuencode 格式的域发送邮件。

返回页首

邮件文本自动换行

虽然这种格式不是严格的电子邮件消息传递格式,但是电子邮件消息传递客户端的一些早期版本要求在第七十六个或第七十七个字符后放置换行符。如果不执行此过程,则这些客户端只能查看每行的前 76 个字符。因此,邮件的大部分文本都可能无法显示。

返回页首

为所有外部域配置电子邮件消息传递设置

要配置向大多数 Internet 域发送的电子邮件,请验证默认 Internet 电子邮件消息传递格式的设置。为此,请按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 单击“开始”,依次指向“程序”、“Microsoft Exchange”,然后单击“系统管理器”。
  2. 展开“全局设置”,然后单击“Internet 邮件格式”。
  3. 在右窗格中,右键单击“默认”,然后单击“属性”。

    注意:在“默认”属性的“常规”选项卡中,用于默认格式的 SMTP 域以星号 (*) 指示,因为此默认条目将向所有 Internet 域发送电子邮件。
  4. 单击“邮件格式”选项卡,然后在“邮件编码”下单击要使用的邮件编码。

    对于大多数域,请将 MIME 用于编码,将纯文本用于邮件正文。
  5. 如果您希望使用非 Outlook 邮件客户端连接的用户能够使用相同的邮件编码设置,单击以选中“将内容设置应用于非 MAPI 客户端”复选框。

    邮局协议版本 3 (POP3) 客户端经常使用 Microsoft Outlook Express,可能发送 HTML 格式的邮件。可以强制非 MAPI 客户端使用纯文本,然后强制在 Exchange 2003 服务器上进行邮件格式转换。

    注意:如果许多邮件都以这种方式进行转换,则可能会产生较大的处理负荷。
  6. 在“字符集”下,在“MIME”和“非 MIME”列表单击适当的字符集。

    注意:如果选择了错误的字符集,则邮件可能无法正确显示。
  7. 单击“高级”选项卡,然后在“Exchange RTF 格式”下单击要使用的设置。

    如果您单击“由每个用户的设置确定”,则用户可以选择自己的格式。但是,建议您不要向外部方发送专用格式。因此,可以通过选择“从不使用”来强制执行仅使用纯文本的策略。

    注意:Exchange RTF 格式是一种仅能由 Outlook 客户端解释的专用格式。将此选项设置为“从不使用”,从而可以与外部方通信,这不会影响内部 Exchange 组织内的 Outlook 用户之间使用 Exchange RTF 格式进行交流。
  8. 在“邮件文本自动换行”下,单击要使用的邮件文本自动换行设置。

    如果选择“在此列处使用”,则键入要自动换行的列。
  9. 单击“确定”接受设置,然后关闭“默认”属性。
返回页首

为运行 Exchange 2003 或 Exchange 2000 的域配置设置

如果要向已知的运行 Exchange 2003 或 Exchange 2000 的域发送大量电子邮件,则可以通过重新启用 Exchange 2003 RTF 来改善发送到该域的邮件的外观。为此,请按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 单击“开始”,依次指向“程序”、“Microsoft Exchange”,然后单击“系统管理器”。
  2. 展开“全局设置”,右键单击“Internet 邮件格式”,指向“新建”,然后单击“域”。
  3. 在“名称”框中,为该对象键入一个描述性名称。
  4. 在“SMTP 域”框中,键入要应用此 SMTP 策略的 SMTP 域的名称。
  5. 单击“邮件格式”选项卡。
  6. 单击“MIME”,然后单击“以 HTML 格式提供邮件正文”。
  7. 在“MIME”和“非 MIME”列表中,单击适当的字符集。通常使用下列两种字符集之一:
    • 美国 ASCII 码
    • 西欧字符 (ISO-8859-1)
  8. 单击“高级”选项卡,然后单击“始终使用”。

    注意:邮件文本自动换行设置保留为“从不使用”。
  9. 单击“确定”接受设置,然后关闭 Domain_Name 属性。
根据需要可以通过使用不同的设置来配置多个域。

返回页首

确认 Internet 电子邮件设置起作用

为了验证您的 Internet 电子邮件设置能否正常起作用,可以向外部收件人发送电子邮件并验证他们是否可以正常接收并查看这些邮件。收件人回复时,可以确认他们的邮件显示正常。如果从运行 Exchange 2003 或 Exchange 2000 的域发送和接收邮件,则发送到该域或从该域接收的邮件会保留颜色和字体等格式。

返回页首

疑难解答

发送 Internet 电子邮件时出现的大多数问题都发生在无法解释 RTF 格式或 HTML 格式邮件的邮件客户端上。要解决此问题,可为该域创建单独的规则,或将默认格式更改为纯文本。

返回页首
参考
有关如何在 Exchange 2003 中配置 Internet 电子邮件消息传递格式的更多信息,请参阅 Exchange 2003 资源工具包和 Exchange 2003 帮助。

返回页首
属性

文章 ID:821750 - 上次审阅时间:12/03/2007 07:05:00 - 修订版本: 3.2

Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 Enterprise Edition, Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 Standard Edition, Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Premium Edition, Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Standard Edition

  • kbhowtomaster KB821750
反馈

How to configure Internet e-mail message formats at the user and the domain levels in Exchange Server 2003

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 821750 - View products that this article applies to.
For a Exchange 2000 Server version of this article, see 319252.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This step-by-step article describes how to configure Internet e-mail messaging formats at both the user and the organizational level. For most organizations, e-mail messaging has become an increasingly important mode of communication. However, not all organizations use the same type of messaging systems. As a result, problems may occur if a user tries to send a message to an external organization in an unsuitable format. Alternatively, you may want to configure Internet e-mail messaging formats at the organizational level if your organization wants to use a specific format or use features such as fonts and text color in e-mail communication.

You can configure the settings to send Internet e-mail messages to external domains on two levels:
  • By the user
  • By the domain
If you use the default settings, users can send e-mail messages in any format that they want. However, your organization may have policies about sending e-mail messages in HTML or Rich Text Format (RTF) format, and you may want to specify that all e-mail messages must be sent as plain text. Alternatively, you may have a partnership with another organization that is running Microsoft Exchange 2000 Server that can process HTML or RTF formats. In this scenario, you can configure a rule to deliver all e-mail messages to that domain using RTF format.

Requirements

The following list describes the recommended hardware, software, network infrastructure, and service packs that you require:
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server Service Pack 3 (SP3)
  • Microsoft Active Directory directory service
  • Exchange 2003
This article assumes that you are familiar with the following topics:
  • Exchange System Manager
  • E-mail messaging formats such as plain text, RTF, and HTML

Description of messaging formats

When you configure the delivery of e-mail messages to external domains, make sure that you understand the various methods that you can be use.

Plain text

A plain text message is the most accepted form of messaging format. All e-mail message readers can display text messages in plain text format. However, plain text messages cannot display colors, different fonts, or emphasis such as bold or italic text.

Rich Text Format (RTF)

Exchange 2000 uses RTF messaging for messages that are delivered between Microsoft Outlook users. RTF displays colors, fonts, and formatting. However, RTF is only readable by Outlook. Exchange 2003 RTF format is different from the RTF format that is used in a word processor program such as Microsoft Word.

Note If a recipient receives a file attachment named Winmail.dat in their e-mail, that domain has an RTF incompatibility issue. To work around this issue, you must configure a rule that makes sure that messages that are sent to that domain do not use RTF format.

HTML format

HTML mail is a recent implementation that makes it possible to display rich content in a message. When you use the HTML mail format, the message is sent as an HTML page, complete with tags to change the appearance of the text. The recipient's e-mail client program then formats and displays the HTML. The major issue with HTML text is that not all e-mail client programs support HTML text. If the HTML e-mail message is not displayed correctly, the message can become unreadable.

Plain text and HTML

Exchange 2003 can send messages to external domains as both plain text and HTML. This format appears correctly on both types of client. However, the messages become two times as large and processing takes longer. You may be able to view both the plain text and the HTML in the replies to the message. This behavior frequently occurs in discussion groups where people have posted messages by using both plain text and HTML.

MIME and uuencode

MIME and user-to-user encoding (uuencode) are two different methods of sending binary attachments with messages. Early e-mail client programs used uuencode as the default message format. However, most current e-mail client programs support MIME. You may have to communicate with a domain that continues to use uuencode. In this scenario, you can configure a rule to deliver messages to that domain using the uuencode format.

Message text word wrapping

Although this format is not strictly an e-mail messaging format, some earlier versions of e-mail messaging clients require that a line break is placed after the seventy-sixth or seventy-seventh character. If you do not perform this procedure, those clients can only view the first 76 characters of each line. As a result, large portions of the message may not appear.

Configure e-mail messaging settings for all external domains

To configure the e-mail messages that you send to the majority of Internet domains, verify the settings for the default Internet e-mail messaging format. To do so, following these steps:
  1. Click Start, point to Programs, point to Microsoft Exchange, and then click System Manager.
  2. Expand Global Settings, and then click Internet Message Formats.
  3. In the right pane, right-click Default, and then click Properties.

    Note On the General tab of the Default properties, the SMTP domain for the default format is indicated as an asterisk (*) because this default entry sends e-mail messages to all Internet domains.
  4. Click the Message Format tab, and then click the message encoding you want to use under Message encoding.

    For most domains, use MIME for encoding and plain text for the message body.
  5. If you want users who connect by using non-Outlook mail clients to use the same message encoding settings, click to select the Apply content settings to non-MAPI clients check box.

    Post Office Protocol version 3 (POP3) clients frequently use Microsoft Outlook Express and may send messages in HTML format. You can force your non-MAPI clients to use plain text and then force a message format conversion to occur on the Exchange 2003 server.

    Note If many messages are converted in this manner, a large processing load may be created.
  6. Under Character sets, click the appropriate character set in the MIME and Non-MIME lists.

    Note If you select the wrong character set, messages may not appear correctly.
  7. Click the Advanced tab, and then click the setting that you want to use under Exchange rich-text format.

    If you click Determined by individual user settings, the users can choose their own format. However, we do not recommend sending proprietary format to external parties. Therefore, you may want to enforce a plain-text only policy by selecting Never use.

    Note Exchange Rich Text Format (RTF) is a proprietary format which can only be interpreted by Outlook clients. Setting this option to Never use so that you can communicate with external parties will not affect the use of Exchange RTF format for interchange between Outlook users within your internal Exchange organization.
  8. Under Message text word wrap, click the message text word wrap setting you want to use.

    If you select Use at column, type the column where the word wrap occurs.
  9. Click OK to accept the settings, and then close the Default properties.
  10. Restart the SMTP Service

Configure settings for a domain running Exchange 2003 or Exchange 2000

If you send a significant number of e-mail messages to a domain that you know runs Exchange 2003 or Exchange 2000, you can improve the appearance of the messages that are sent to that domain by re-enabling Exchange 2003 RTF. To do so, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, point to Programs, point to Microsoft Exchange, and then click System Manager.
  2. Expand Global Settings, right-click Internet Message Formats, point to New, and then click Domain.
  3. In the Name box, type a descriptive name for the object.
  4. In the SMTP domain box, type the name of the SMTP domain that you want this SMTP policy to apply to.
  5. Click the Message Format tab.
  6. Click MIME, and then click Provide message body as plain text.
  7. In the MIME and Non-MIME lists, click an appropriate character set. Typically, you use either of the following character sets:
    • US ASCII
    • Western European (ISO-8859-1)
  8. Click the Advanced tab, and then click Always Use.

    Note The message text word wrap setting remains as Never use.
  9. Click OK to accept the settings, and then close the Domain_Name properties.
  10. Restart the SMTP Service
You can configure more domains by using different settings as you require them.

Confirm that your Internet e-mail message settings function

To verify that your Internet e-mail message settings function correctly, send e-mail messages to external recipients and verify that they can receive and view the messages correctly. When the recipients reply, confirm that their messages appear correctly. If you send and receive messages from the domain that runs Exchange 2003 or Exchange 2000, the messages that are sent to and received from that domain preserve formatting such as colors and fonts.

Troubleshoot

Most issues that occur when you sent Internet e-mail messages occur with mail clients that cannot interpret RTF-formatted or HTML-formatted messages. To resolve this issue, either create a separate rule for that domain or change the default format to plain text.

REFERENCES

For more information about how to configure Internet e-mail messaging formats in Exchange 2003, see the Exchange 2003 Resource Kit and Exchange 2003 Help.

Properties

Article ID: 821750 - Last Review: May 14, 2008 - Revision: 5.0
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 Enterprise Edition
  • Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Premium Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Small Business Server 2003 Standard Edition
Keywords: 
kbhowtomaster KB821750

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com