الميزات الجديدة في Windows 3.1

هام: تمت ترجمة هذا المقال باستخدام برنامج ترجمة آلية لشركة مايكروسوفت بدلاً من الاستعانة بمترجم بشري. تقدم شركة مايكروسوفت كلاً من المقالات المترجمة بواسطة المترجمين البشر والمقالات المترجمة آليًا وبالتالي ستتمكن من الوصول إلى كل المقالات الموجودة في قاعدة المعرفة الخاصة بنا وباللغة الخاصة بك. بالرغم من ذلك، فإن المقالة المترجمة آليًا لا تكون دقيقة دائمًا وقد تحتوي على أخطاء إملائية أو لغوية أو نحوية، مثل تلك الأخطاء الصادرة عن متحدث أجنبي عندما يتحدث بلغتك. لا تتحمل شركة مايكروسوفت مسئولية عدم الدقة أو الأخطاء أو الضرر الناتج عن أية أخطاء في ترجمة المحتوى أو استخدامه من قبل عملائنا. تعمل شركة مايكروسوفت باستمرار على ترقية برنامج الترجمة الآلية

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية83245
إخلاء مسؤولية من محتوى قديم في قاعدة المعارف
عن تقديم الدعم التقني لهاو لذلك تظهر هذه المقالة كما هي و لن يتم تحديثها Microsoft تمت كتابة هذه المقالة بخصوص منتجات توقفت
الموجز
بالنسبة إلى Windows، الإصدار 3.1 Microsoft بشكل ملحوظ تحسين استخدام نظام التشغيل Windows استناداً إلى الملاحظات شاملة من مستخدمين Windows الإصدار 3.0. عشرات من التحسينات سيتم ملحوظًا مباشرة، بينما تعمل المئات من الآخرين في الخلفية لدعم الميزات الجديدة. Microsoft بإجراء تغييرات أكثر من 1000 في Windows 3.1 التغييرات المشاركة في تفاعل أكثر تجانساً ، استجابة أكثر بين مستخدم Windows.
معلومات أخرى

التثبيت محسّن

يمكن لـ Windows الإصدار 3.1 برنامج "الإعداد" الكشف عن المزيد من تكوينات الأجهزة والبرامج من المهمة السابقة عليها الإصدار 3.0. لذلك، Windows 3.1 بتكوين نفسه بشكل أمثل لجهاز الكمبيوتر الذي يتم تثبيته. برنامج "الإعداد" الكشف أيضاً عن تشكيلة واسعة من المعروف أنها تسبب مشاكل الأجهزة والبرامج (TSR) إنهاء - and-stay-resident; ثم بالإعلام عن وجود مشكلة أو بتصحيح المشكلة دون تدخل الخاص بك.

سيتم أسهل للمستخدمين المبتدئين لتثبيت لوجود ميزة "التثبيت السريع Windows 3.1. هذا هو أسلوب الإعداد الافتراضي لـ Windows 3.1 ويتطلب الحد الأدنى من إدخال المستخدم. للمستخدمين المتقدمين أكثر هناك خيار "التثبيت المخصص" الذي يعطيك درجة عالية من التحكم في عملية الإعداد حتى يمكنك تخصيص التثبيت تناسب احتياجاتك. المنظمات الكمبيوتر تثبيت Windows 3.1 يوفر الخيار "تثبيت دفعي" والشبكة أفضل الميزات الإعداد لعمليات تثبيت شبكة الاتصال.

تحسينات إدارة الملفات

تم إعادة تصميم إدارة Windows 3.1 الملفات بشكل كامل للحصول على قابلية الاستخدام المحسن وأداء. يمكنك الآن عرض شجرة دليل ومحتويات الدليل جنباً إلى جنب في إطار. يعتمد إدارة الملفات الآن عدة "أجزاء" لاستعراض سهلة من محركات أقراص مختلفة. إدارة الملفات أيضاً السماح عرض الملف من سمات من قبل يمكن حتى عرض أسماء أسماء الملفات والمجلدات في اختيار الخطوط.

يتم تحسين كبير آخر إمكانية تهيئة سريعة الذي يتيح إمكانية تهيئة الأقراص المرنة في وقت أقل بكثير من قبل.

إدارة الملفات كما يعتمد طراز "السحب والإفلات" أسهل, وبديهية أكثر لمعالجة الملفات. على سبيل المثال، لطباعة ملف قمت اسحب رمز الملف باستخدام الماوس ثم الرمز إلى الرمز "إدارة الطباعة" إفلات". يمكنك أيضاً إسقاط رمز على تطبيق قيد تشغيل أو شريط عنوان التطبيق; التطبيق ثم فتح هذا الملف تلقائياً. يتم التحكم في وظيفة السحب والإفلات هذا من قبل "قاعدة التسجيل" الجديد الذي يقوم بتخزين معلومات حول كيفية فتح والتطبيقات طباعة الملفات و كيفية أنواع الملفات المقترنة مع تطبيقات معينة.

تحسينات إدارة البرنامج

تتضمن التحسينات إلى "إدارة البرامج" العناوين "wrappable" رمز الجلوس بوضوح تحت كل رمز في أسطر متعددة بدلاً من سطر واحد طويل قد تتداخل مع عناوين الرموز الأخرى. يوفر "إدارة البرامج" أيضاً مجموعة بدء الجديد الذي يتيح إمكانية تشغيل أي مجموعة من التطبيقات تلقائياً عند بدء تشغيل نظام تشغيل Windows. تم إضافة البرامج إلى مجموعة بدء بواسطة السحب والإفلات رمز ببساطة.

تعليمات حساسة للسياق

لقد تم تحسين نظام تعليمات Windows 3.1 أيضاً; ويوفر معلومات تعليمات حساسة للسياق الآن. تمييز الأمر أو الإجراء وضغط مفتاح F1 سوف يكون greeted ذات شاشات التعليمات التي تحتوي على معلومات معينة حول الأمر بالإضافة إلى أي المعلومات المقترنة به.

تحسينات الطباعة

يمكن "إدارة Windows 3.1 الطباعة" الآن استئناف المُعاقة مهام الطباعة دون تدخل المستخدم. على سبيل المثال، في حالة تشغيل طابعة نفاد الورق من مهمة الطباعة سوف يتم تلقائياً استئناف بعد restocked علبة الورق.

يتم تحسين الطباعة آخر المقدمة مع Windows 3.1 برنامج تشغيل الطابعة العالمي (UNIDRV). يقدم هذا البرنامج برنامج واحد, بشكل مستقل عن الطابعة التي يمكن أن يكون إنشاء برامج تشغيل الطابعة المحددة بشكل سريع. برنامج تشغيل الطابعة العالمي يسهّل على الشركات المصنعة الطابعة للكتابة أو تحديث برامج تشغيل الطابعة، لأن برنامج التشغيل بتغليف كافة الميزات الرئيسية من برنامج تشغيل الطابعة في قطعة واحدة من البرنامج. موردو ببساطة توفر ول معلمات الخاصة الطابعة لكل طابعة. بدلاً من استخدام عشرات من برامج تشغيل الطابعة متآلف ، نظام تشغيل يحتاج برنامج تشغيل واحد فقط وجدول دعم صغيرة لكل طابعة. يتم اعتماد الطابعات 250 تقريباً في Windows 3.1 مع معظم معتمدة خلال UNIDRV.

دعم أفضل بالنسبة للشبكات

قام بها Microsoft Windows 3.1 أسهل في الاستخدام على كمبيوتر متصل بشبكة. سيجد لمسؤولي الشبكة الإعداد السهل مع Windows 3.1 خاصة من أجل تكوينات النظام معقدة. مشاكل في شبكة الاتصال أيضاً يسهل تتبع وتصحيحها لأن رسائل خطأ الشبكة تحتوي على معلومات إضافية فيما يتعلق "نوع" و "مصدر المشكلة.

يوفر Windows أيضاً اتصالات الشبكة المستمرة ، مما يعني ذلك معلومات حول طابعة أو محرك الأقراص البعيد بالاحتفاظ بها نظام تشغيل Windows بعد إنهاء جلسة عمل شبكة اتصال. إعادة عند إعادة تشغيل Windows أنه سيتم الاتصال تلقائياً عندما تم إغلاق اتصالات شبكة الاتصال نفسه. سيقوم Windows بمطالبة المستخدم لكلمات المرور حتى إذا لزم الأمر.

دعم التطبيق: التكامل

يوفر Windows 3.1 النظام الأساسي الأكثر تعقيدًا بعد للحصول على تكامل تطبيق يسهّل على المستخدمين تبادل البيانات بين المستندات ومن أجل المبرمجين لإنشاء إمكانيات تبادل البيانات في تطبيقات Windows. تكامل تطبيق معتمد من قبل العديد من الميزات من الإصدار 3. 1، كما هو موضح أدناه في التفاصيل.

ربط الكائنات وتضمينها

تقنية هامة بالنسبة 1990s ربط الكائنات وتضمينها (OLE) بإنشاء بيئة فيه تطبيقات يمكن مشاركة المعلومات بشكل متميز. مع OLE ، يمكن اعتبار كافة البيانات ككائنات. تخطيط جدول بيانات "و" توضيح "،" جدول "و" حتى فقرة النص أمثلة كافة الكائنات. يوفر OLE المعلومات الضرورية للتطبيقات لمشاركة هذه الكائنات بسهولة.

يدعم Windows 3.1 OLE عن طريق توفير مكتبات القياسية واجهات والبروتوكولات التي تستخدمها تطبيقات لتبادل البيانات الكائنات. أثناء تنفيذ للمطورين قدرات OLE من داخل برامج ، سوف ترى جيل جديد من التطبيقات التي تعمل معاً.

أضاف Microsoft قدرات OLE إلى إصدارات جديدة من ملحقات Windows كتابة الرسام و Cardfile كافة التي تتوفر مع Windows 3.1. يمكنك, على سبيل المثال، إنشاء توضيح باستخدام برنامج "الرسام" وإعادة تضمين الرسم في مستند كتابة. إذا كان يجب تحديث الشكل التوضيحي, يمكنك النقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق الرمز الخاص به ضمن المستند الكتابة الذي يقوم بتشغيل الرسام تلقائياً حتى تتمكن من تحرير الرسم. منذ مضمن ملف الرسومات الأصلي في المستند الكتابة هناك حاجة لتخزين أو تحديث عدة نسخ من الصورة ثم تحديث الملف أي كمبيوتر ذي الرسام.

دعم أفضل من أجل تبادل البيانات الديناميكي

في نظام التشغيل Windows طريقة قياسية لمشاركة البيانات بين التطبيقات من خلال آلية يعرف تبادل البيانات الحيوي (DDE). OLE والأشكال الأخرى من تبادل البيانات استخدام DDE الخاص بهم كوسيلة الأساسي لمشاركة البيانات.

يوفر Windows 3.1 للمطورين مع جديد الديناميكي بيانات Exchange إدارة مكتبة (DDEML) ، والذي يقدم طراز برمجة عالية المستوى يسهّل لمطوري لتنفيذ قدرات DDE في تطبيق مصمم لـ Windows.

دعم أفضل للتطبيقات MS-DOS

Windows 3.1 بتوفير الدعم المحسن لتطبيقات MS-DOS الموجودة داخل نظام التشغيل Windows. بشكل خاص، أداء التطبيقات المستندة إلى MS-DOS يتم تحسين عند استخدام Windows 3.1 بالاقتران مع MS-DOS الإصدار 5.0 أو لأنه يمكن لـ MS-DOS 5.0 زيادة مقدار الذاكرة الاصطلاحية المتوفرة بشكل كبير. في إضافة ، Windows 3.1:

  • يعتمد تطبيقات MS-DOS قيد التشغيل في وضع رسومات VGA في إطار أو التشغيل في الخلفية.
  • يسمح الدعم الماوس للتطبيقات يستند إلى MS-DOS عند التشغيل في وضع ملء شاشة أو في إطار.
  • يتضمن أكثر مكتوبة مسبقًا ملفات معلومات البرنامج (PIFs) ، والتي تخبر Windows كيفية تشغيل تطبيق يستند إلى MS-DOS محدد; وينتج عن دعم التطبيق المستند إلى MS-DOS حتى أكبر.
  • يوفر القرص - الترحيل الذي يسمح لك تشغيل أكثر التطبيقات لـ MS-DOS من يمكنك ضمن Windows 3.0 بشكل متزامن.

الدعم المحسن التطبيق: TRUETYPE(TM)

يتضمن Windows 3.1 تقنية للتحجيم خط تروتايب. يوفر تروتايب الخطوط المخطط التفصيلي إعطاء الفورية الوصول إلى الخطوط في أي حجم نقطة والسماح إخراج عالي الجودة على أي جهاز العرض أو الطابعة المعتمدة من قبل Windows. تم تصميم تروتايب و تطوير لتلبية متطلبات لمتخصصي تكنولوجيا المعلومات نوع "و" مصممو الرسومات "و" عروض الفوائد التالية.

إكمال التكامل مع نظام التشغيل

تروتايب عبارة عن مكون متكامل من Windows 3.1. عميل Windows هذا يعني أنه لا يوجد أي شيء إلى شراء أو تثبيت. كافة المزايا لتقنية خطوط قابلة للتحجيم مضمنة في نظام التشغيل التطبيقات الموجودة يمكن الاستفادة من المزايا فوراً. يمكن استخدام خطوط تروتايب في تطبيقات Windows وفي نظام نفسه. على سبيل المثال، يمكنك الآن اختيار الخطوط الخاصة بك لـ "إدارة ملف. سوف تأتي أربع مجموعات للتحجيم الخط تروتايب مع كافة نسخ Windows 3.1: Arial (بديلاً Helvetica) ، الرد رقم جديد و Courier رمز.

توافق النظام الأساسي المشتركة

يتم أيضاً توفير تروتايب على ماكنتوش Apple ثم يمكن أن يتم تصديرها خطوط تروتايب بين Windows ماكنتوش دون تحويل. لذلك، إمكانية تبادل المستندات باستخدام خطوط تروتايب بين كمبيوتر يشغل Windows ماكنتوش بدون تغييرات في نهايات خط أو قياسات الخط أو مجموعة الأحرف. تروتايب متوفرة أيضاً في طابعات ليزر متوافق مع ماكنتوش وفي الطابعات TrueImage و لقد تم مرخص لك العديد من بائعي الطابعة للاستخدام في المنتجات المستقبلية.

خط الحيوية التحميل

يتم تلقائياً تحويل خطوط تروتايب إلى صور نقطية أو المخططات التفصيلية استناداً إلى الطابعة الذي يتم استخدامه ومن ثم تحميل إلى الطابعة. للحصول على طابعات بوستسكريبت يتم استخدام كل من الصور النقطية والمخططات التفصيلية. الطابعات التي تستخدم لغة تحكم الطابعة (PCL) ، يتم استخدام صور نقطية. تروتايب يستخدم تحميل الحيوية إرسال الأحرف المطلوبة بدلاً من مجموعة الأحرف بأكمله أو ينتج عنه بشكل أسرع أو طباعة أكثر فعالية.

تقنية مفتوحة

تجعل من السهل بائعي لدعم تروتايب ، يحتوي على Microsoft المنشورة مواصفات تنسيق الخط تروتايب كاملة. تفاصيل هذه المواصفات كل وجه من تنسيق الخط بما في ذلك المخططات التفصيلية قياسات وأسماء الخط كافة معلومات تقنية المقترنة الخط. توفر العامة مواصفات خط تروتايب سيتم جعلها أسهل وأقل تكلفة للبائعين لدعم خطوط تروتايب منتجاتها.

الشدة النظام والأداء

منذ الشحن الخاص به في 1990 مايو يحتوي proven Windows الإصدار 3.0 أن منتج والاستقرار remarkably. في الحقيقة، تطبيق Microsoft إصدار تحديث واحد فقط (الإصدار 3.0a) لاحتواء التصحيحات الثانوية. مثل أي نظام تشغيل نضج يعمل Windows في التعاون مع عدد ضخم من الأنظمة الأساسية للأجهزة التطبيقات والأجهزة الطرفية. مع التباديل العديد من البرامج والأجهزة من تعارضات العرضية inevitable ثم يتم فيما يتعلق تقريباً 1 أو 2 بالمائة الاستدعاءات إلى خدمات دعم منتجات Microsoft حول Windows 3.0 أخطاء التطبيقات غير قابل للاسترداد (UAEs).

خلال Microsoft الاتصال مع مستخدمي Windows ومطوري لدى Microsoft gained بمفهوم مفصّل عن كيفية إنشاء تطبيقات وكيفية معالجة أخطاء. قد تم حل معظم الأسئلة الإمارات العربية المتحدة المتعلقة Windows 3.0 خلال المستخدمين إزالة برامج TSR misbehaving عن طريق الإجابة على الأسئلة على برامج التشغيل والبرامج عن طريق إزالة خطوط غير الضرورية في ملفات CONFIG.SYS أو عن طريق تثبيت إصدار أحدث من التطبيقات التي تسبب مشاكل.

تم تقليل UAEs و تحسين الشدة النظام الأساسي أهداف لمصممي Windows 3.1. معرفة Microsoft المتراكمة يخدم كأساس النقاط focal التصميم التالية:

  • تطوير أفضل التشخيص تحديد سبب حدوث أخطاء في التطبيقات
  • توفير معلومات لمساعدة المطورين كتابة تطبيقات خالية من الأخطاء والأدوات
  • حماية النظام من أخطاء التطبيقات
  • معالجة آمن أخطاء التطبيقات إذا تحدث (بحيث لا على التطبيق تسبب الخطأ إيقاف النظام)
فيما يلي أمثلة عديدة من كيفية تنفيذ أهداف تصميم هذه في الإصدار 3.1 من نظام التشغيل Windows.

تشخيص الخطأ "و" تقرير

إذا كان يقوم أحد تطبيقات بإنشاء خطأ تشغيل مع Windows 3.1 ، ستتلقى وجود مربع حوار خطأ مع معلومات محددة حول نوع الخطأ الذي حدث و التطبيق الذي تم إنشاؤه الخطأ. (مربع الحوار Windows 3.0 ببساطة تقول
خطأ التطبيق غير قابل للاسترداد
يسمح هذا مشاكل تتبع ثم تصحيح بسرعة من قبل.)

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم شحن Windows 3.1 مع أداة تشخيص تسمى Dr. Watson بتسجيل معلومات حول خطأ في تطبيق يجب أن يحدث أحد. توفير هذه البيانات المسجلة ملاحظات الخطأ الذي يمكن أن يستخدم دعم فني لتحديد ما الحل الخطأ ثم تساعد المطورين على حل خطأ التطبيق.

خطأ الاسترداد

يحتوي Windows 3.1 على عدد من التحسينات التي تم تصميم لمعالجة أخطاء التطبيقات بشكل أكثر فاعلية.

أحد هذه التحسينات يتم استخدام التحقق من صحة المعلمة--نفس نوع التحقق من صحة المعلمة للمطورين استخدام يعمل أيضاً في الإصدار المباع من Windows 3.1. يراقب هذا التحقق من الصحة المكالمات التطبيق للتأكد من عدم انتهاك التطبيقات تكامل النظام.

قد لا يزال يؤدي تطبيق errant مشاكل، مثل إيقاف بحيث لم يعد يستجيب الكمبيوتر الإدخال. ضمن الإصدار 3.1 إذا توقف أحد تطبيقات يمكنك ضغط CTRL + ALT + DEL الموجودة في تسلسل المفاتيح إعادة ثم سيقوم Windows بسؤالك ما إذا كان التطبيق يجب أن يتبع أو إغلاقه. إذا اخترت إغلاق التطبيق سيقوم Windows بإعادة تعيين البيئة إلى حالة والاستقرار يسمح لك لمتابعة العمل ضمن نظام التشغيل Windows. لم يعد لديك إلى إنهاء Windows ثم إعادة تشغيله. يمنحك هذا أفضل التحكم في النظام.

هو مجموع كافة المجهودات هذه نظام مع وثوقية محسنة بشكل كبير في أي تطبيق من أخطاء الآن أقل المحتمل أن يؤدي إلى إيقاف العمل إيقاف تشغيل التطبيق أو إعادة تشغيل النظام.

لتحسين الأداء

قد تم تحقيق تحسينات أداء العديد من خلال Windows 3.1. وتتضمن:

  • أسرع, استجابة أكثر shell مكونات المستخدم (الملاحظ ، إدارة الملفات و إدارة البرامج).
  • أسرع القرص التخزين المؤقت. تم إعادة تصميم الأداة المساعدة التخزين المؤقت القرص SMARTDrive Windows بالكامل لـ Windows 3.1. يثبت تلقائياً أثناء الإعداد ثم تحسين الأداء بشكل ملحوظ عن طريق تخزين ذاكرة التخزين المؤقت قراءة عمليات الكتابة على القرص.
  • ترحيل الصفحات أسرع في وضع المحسن 386. يتضمن الإصدار 3.1 برنامج 32-بت - القرص - Access يسمح Windows تجاوز MS-DOS و BIOS الوصول إلى ملف ترحيل الذاكرة الظاهرية Windows.
  • زيادة برنامج التشغيل أداء العرض (على سبيل المثال، في VGA و برامج تشغيل 8514).
  • أفضل أداء الطباعة. تحسين سرعة الطباعة الكلي; ولكن أكثر بشكل ملحوظ Windows أيضاً تمنح إمكانية التحكم مرة أخرى إلى التطبيق أسرع بعد استدعاء الأمر طباعة.

تعدد الوسائط

تم أيضًا إضافة دعم واجهة التحكم الوسائط (MCI) وخدمات الصوت إلى Windows 3.1. يعتمد الصوت واجهات برمجة التطبيقات (APIs) ، وهي متطابقة مع تلك المستخدمة في 1.0 ملحقات تعدد الوسائط بشكل خاص لنموذج أو صوت PCM والصوت الموسيقية الواجهة الرقمية للآلات (MIDI) synthesized. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أي تطبيق لـ Windows يعتمد OLE يمكن الاستفادة من إمكانيات الصوت في Windows 3.1 مع لم التطوير إضافية مطلوبة من قبل بائع البرامج المستقل (ISV). من منظور التطبيق يصبح صوت نوع كائن آخر.

هندسة MCI يدعم التحكم أجهزة الوسائط مثل أقراص الفيديو و شريط الفيديو. باستخدام برامج التشغيل المتوفرة من قبل بائعين لجهة خارجية الطرفية ، هذا الدعم يوفر مرونة أكبر إلى بيئة القياسية وتوفرت آخر متزايد السوق الحاجة ، خاصة في المناطق العروض التقديمية الشركة التدريب أو التعليم.

بالنسبة لتلك الذين يحتاجون لدعم الوسائط المتعددة الكامل, تقدم Microsoft المضغوطة إصدار Windows 3.1 مع ملحقات متعددة الوسائط وبرامج. يتضمن هذا المنتج مربع الموسيقى ملحق لتشغيل الأقراص الصوتية المضغوطة HyperGuide برنامج "تعليمات" عبر إنترنت. يتم إضافة دعم التحكم وسائط Windows 3.1 وخدمات الصوت بعد الخطوة evolutionary آخر باتجاه إحضار وظيفة تعدد الوسائط إلى mainstream عمليات الكمبيوتر سطح المكتب.

يعمل Windows 3.1 بشكل أقل انسجام مع 1.0 ملحقات تعدد الوسائط. تسمح هذه الملحقات تضمين كائنات جديدة مثل الصوت الحركة والفيديو كامل الحركة في التطبيقات الموجودة. السماح الكائنات أيضاً بإنشاء فئة جديدة بأكمله من تعدد الوسائط المستندات، مثل encyclopedias المحسنة مع قصاصات الفيديو والصوت أو النشرات المصورة التي تعرض رسومات توضيحية المتحركة. هندسة الموسعة من Windows يجعل من الممكن الحوسبة تعدد الوسائط لتشمل أنظمة ذات كلفة الرئيسية تعليم الأساسية التأليف تعدد الوسائط معقدة لنهاية أعلى في السوق.

تقنية وتمكين هامة للحصول على حساب تعدد الوسائط هو بروتوكول OLE الموضحة أعلاه. مع OLE و Windows 3.1 أو 1.0 ملحقات تعدد الوسائط ، يمكنك تضمين كائن تعدد وسائط مثل قصاصة صوت في تطبيق موجود بالنسبة إلى Windows، تماماً كما يمكنك تضمين ملف التخطيط أو النص.

دعم الكمبيوتر المحمول

تأتي العديد من بائعي من أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة الشائعة 286 و 386 المستندة إلى اليوم Windows الإصدار 3.0. سيقوم الكمبيوتر المحمول المستخدمين نقدر ميزة في Windows 3.1 تسمى ذيل الماوس يسهل العثور على رأس المؤشر على عرض الجهاز الصغير محمول. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعتمد Windows 3.1 مواصفات إدارة الطاقة المتقدمة (APM) ، الذي يسمح Windows لدعم إدارة الطاقة الأصلي من الكمبيوتر المحمول أطول من عمر البطارية.

نهاية

الإصدار 3.1 من نظام التشغيل Windows هو خطوة التالي مهمة في استراتيجية أنظمة Microsoft الأساسية--استراتيجية evolutionary يمتد المستندة إلى 286 أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة إلى محطات عمل عالية أو ملقمات. اليوم، تشغيل Windows بواسطة MS-DOS نظام التشغيل الذي spawned صناعة الكمبيوتر قيد الاستخدام من قبل tens ملايين أشخاص. تشغيل Windows أيضاً الآلاف من MS-DOS الموجودة والتطبيقات المستندة إلى Windows. توسيع إصدارات Windows--تعدد الوسائط أو على سبيل المثال--الأقلام ، تتيح إمكانية تشغيل كافة هذه التطبيقات أيضاً زائد تطوير تطبيقات جديدة فريد مع الأقلام أو تعدد الوسائط في الاعتبار.

الرؤية Microsoft العمليات في 1990s وما بعدها سيتم مكّن أجهزة الكمبيوتر للأشخاص والمؤسسات. سيتم نظام تشغيل أساس إدراك هذا الرؤية مع تطبيقات به للتحجيم و الاستثمارات Microsoft و الالتزام الجهات الخارجية.
3.10 drwatson

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

Свойства

ИД на статията: 83245 – Последен преглед: 11/16/2006 13:39:20 – Редакция: 1.1

Microsoft Windows 3.1 Standard Edition

  • kbmt kbinfo KB83245 KbMtar
Обратна връзка

New Features in Windows 3.1

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 83245 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q83245
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

For Windows version 3.1, Microsoft significantly enhanced the usability of the Windows operating system based on extensive feedback from users of Windows version 3.0. Dozens of improvements will be noticeable immediately, while hundreds of others work behind the scenes to support new features. Microsoft made more than 1000 changes in Windows 3.1, changes that contribute to a smoother, more responsive interaction between the user and Windows.

MORE INFORMATION

IMPROVED INSTALLATION

The Windows version 3.1 Setup program can detect even more hardware and software configurations than its version 3.0 predecessor. Therefore, Windows 3.1 configures itself optimally for the computer on which it is installed. The Setup program also detects a wide variety of terminate-and-stay-resident (TSR) programs and hardware devices known to cause problems; it then notifies you of a problem, or corrects the problem without your involvement.

Windows 3.1 will be easier for novice users to install because of the Express Install feature. This is the default setup method for Windows 3.1 and requires minimal user input. For more advanced users, there is a Custom Installation option that gives you a high degree of control over the setup process, so you can customize the installation to fit your needs. For PC coordinators, Windows 3.1 installation provides the Batch Install option and better network setup features for network installations.

FILE MANAGER IMPROVEMENTS

The Windows 3.1 File Manager has been completely redesigned for improved usability and performance. You can now display the directory tree and directory contents side by side in a window. The File Manager now supports multiple "panes" for easy browsing of different drives. The File Manager also allows the display of more file attributes than before and can even display filenames and folder names in a choice of fonts.

Another significant improvement is the quick format capability, which allows you to format floppy disks in much less time than before.

The File Manager also supports an easier, more intuitive "drag-and- drop" model for manipulating files. For example, to print a file, you drag the file's icon with the mouse and "drop" the icon onto the Print Manager icon. You can also drop an icon on a running application or the application's title bar; the application will then automatically open that file. This drag-and-drop functionality is controlled by the new Registration Database, which stores information on how applications open and print files and how file types are associated with specific applications.

PROGRAM MANAGER IMPROVEMENTS

Improvements to the Program Manager include "wrappable" icon titles that sit neatly under each icon in multiple lines, instead of a single long line that may overlap with other icon titles. The Program Manager also provides the new Startup group, which allows you to launch any group of applications automatically when the Windows operating system is started. Adding programs to the Startup group is done by simply dragging and dropping an icon.

CONTEXT-SENSITIVE HELP

The Windows 3.1 help system has also been enhanced; it now provides context-sensitive help information. By highlighting a command or procedure and pressing the F1 key, you will be greeted with help screens containing specific information about the command, as well as any associated information.

PRINTING IMPROVEMENTS

The Windows 3.1 Print Manager can now resume stalled print jobs without user intervention. For example, if a printer runs out of paper, the print job will be automatically resumed after the paper tray is restocked.

Another printing improvement introduced with Windows 3.1 is the universal printer driver (UNIDRV). This software offers a single, printer-independent driver for which specific printer drivers can be built rapidly. The universal printer driver makes it easier for printer manufacturers to write or update printer drivers, because the driver encapsulates all the major features of a printer driver in a single piece of software. Vendors simply provide a table of printer- specific parameters for each printer. Instead of using dozens of monolithic printer drivers, the Windows operating system needs only a single driver and a small support table for each printer. Nearly 250 printers are supported in Windows 3.1, with the majority supported through UNIDRV.

BETTER SUPPORT FOR NETWORKS

Microsoft has made Windows 3.1 easier to use on a computer that is attached to a network. Network administrators will find setup is easier with Windows 3.1, especially for complex system configurations. Network problems are also easier to trace and correct because network error messages contain more information regarding the type and source of the problem.

Windows also maintains persistent network connections, meaning that information about a remote disk drive or printer is maintained by the Windows operating system after a network session is terminated. When Windows is restarted, it will reconnect automatically to the same network connections present when it was closed. Windows will even prompt the user for passwords if needed.

APPLICATION SUPPORT: INTEGRATION

Windows 3.1 provides the most sophisticated platform yet for application integration, making it easier for users to exchange data between documents and for programmers to build data-exchange capabilities into applications for Windows. Application integration is supported by several features of version 3.1, as discussed below in detail.

Object Linking and Embedding

An important technology for the 1990s, object linking and embedding (OLE) creates an environment in which applications can share information seamlessly. With OLE, all data can be thought of as objects. A spreadsheet chart, an illustration, a table, and even a paragraph of text are all examples of objects. OLE provides the information necessary for applications to share these objects easily.

Windows 3.1 supports OLE by providing standard libraries, interfaces, and protocols that applications use to exchange data objects. As developers implement OLE capabilities within programs, you will see a new generation of applications that work together.

Microsoft has added OLE capabilities to new versions of the Windows Write, Paint, and Cardfile accessories, all of which are provided with Windows 3.1. You can, for example, create an illustration using the Paint program and embed the graphic in a Write document. If the illustration must be updated, you can double-click its icon within the Write document, which launches Paint automatically so you can edit the drawing. Since the original graphics file is embedded in the Write document, there is no need to store or update multiple copies of the image, and the file can be updated on any PC with Paintbrush.

Better Support for Dynamic Data Exchange

In the Windows operating system, the standard way of sharing data between applications is through a mechanism known as dynamic data exchange (DDE). OLE and other forms of data exchange use DDE as their primary means of sharing data.

Windows 3.1 provides developers with a new Dynamic Data Exchange Manager Library (DDEML), which offers a higher-level programming model and makes it easier for developers to implement DDE capabilities in an application designed for Windows.

Better Support for MS-DOS Applications

Windows 3.1 provides improved support for existing MS-DOS applications within the Windows operating system. In particular, performance of MS- DOS-based applications is enhanced when Windows 3.1 is used in conjunction with MS-DOS version 5.0, because MS-DOS 5.0 can significantly increase the amount of conventional memory available. In addition, Windows 3.1:

  • Supports MS-DOS applications running in VGA graphics mode in a window or running in the background.
  • Allows mouse support for MS-DOS-based applications when running in a full screen or in a window.
  • Includes more prewritten program information files (PIFs), which tell Windows how to run a specific MS-DOS-based application; this results in even greater MS-DOS-based application support.
  • Offers disk-paging, which will allow you to concurrently run more applications for MS-DOS than you can under Windows 3.0.

IMPROVED APPLICATION SUPPORT: TRUETYPE(TM)

Windows 3.1 includes the new TrueType scalable-font technology. TrueType provides outline fonts, giving you instant access to fonts in any point size, and allowing high-quality output on any monitor or printer supported by Windows. TrueType was designed and developed to meet the requirements of type professionals and graphic designers and offers the following benefits.

Complete Integration with the Operating System

TrueType is an integrated component of Windows 3.1. For the Windows customer, this means there is nothing to buy or install. All the benefits of scalable-font technology are built into the operating system, so existing applications can take advantage of the benefits immediately. TrueType fonts can be used in Windows applications and in the system itself. For example, you can now choose your own fonts for File Manager. Four TrueType scalable-font families will ship with all copies of Windows 3.1: Arial (alternative to Helvetica), Times New Roman, Courier, and Symbol.

Cross-Platform Compatibility

TrueType is also offered on the Apple Macintosh, and TrueType fonts can be ported between Windows and the Macintosh without conversion. Therefore, documents using TrueType fonts can be exchanged between a PC running Windows and a Macintosh without changes in character set, font metrics, or line endings. TrueType is also available in Macintosh- compatible laser printers and in TrueImage printers, and has been licensed to numerous printer vendors for use in future products.

Dynamic Font Downloading

TrueType fonts are automatically converted to bitmap images or outlines, depending on the printer being used, and then downloaded to the printer. For PostScript printers, both bitmaps and outlines are used. For printers using Printer-Control Language (PCL), bitmap images are used. TrueType uses dynamic downloading, sending only the characters requested rather than the entire character set, resulting in faster, more efficient printing.

Open Technology

To make it easy for vendors to support TrueType, Microsoft has published the complete specification for the TrueType font format. This specification details every aspect of the font format, including the outlines, metrics, font names, and all technical information associated with the font. Public availability of the TrueType font specification will make it easier and less expensive for vendors to support TrueType fonts with their products.

SYSTEM ROBUSTNESS AND PERFORMANCE

Since its shipment in May 1990, Windows version 3.0 has proven to be a remarkably stable product. In fact, Microsoft implemented only one update release (version 3.0a) to accommodate minor corrections. Like any mature operating system, Windows works in cooperation with a vast number of hardware platforms, applications, and peripherals. With the countless permutations of software and hardware, occasional conflicts are inevitable, and approximately 1 to 2 percent of the calls to Microsoft Product Support Services about Windows 3.0 are regarding unrecoverable application errors (UAEs).

Through Microsoft's communication with Windows users and developers, Microsoft has gained a detailed understanding of how applications generate and handle errors. Most UAE questions pertaining to Windows 3.0 have been resolved by helping users remove misbehaving TSR programs, by answering questions on drivers or software, by removing unnecessary lines in CONFIG.SYS files, or by installing later versions of the applications that are causing problems.

Reducing UAEs and enhancing system robustness were primary goals for the designers of Windows 3.1. Microsoft's accumulated knowledge serves as the basis for the following design focal points:

  • Developing better diagnostics to pinpoint the cause of application errors
  • Providing tools and information to help developers write error-free applications
  • Protecting the system from application errors
  • Graceful handling of application errors if they do occur (so the application causing the error doesn't stop the system)
The following are several examples of how these design goals are implemented in the Windows operating system version 3.1.

Error Diagnostics and Reporting

If an application generates an error running with Windows 3.1, you will receive an error dialog box with specific information about the type of error that occurred and which application generated the error. (The Windows 3.0 dialog box simply says
Unrecoverable Application Error
This allows problems to be traced and corrected much more quickly than before.)

Additionally, Windows 3.1 ships with a diagnostic tool called Dr. Watson that logs information about an application error, should one occur. This logged data provides feedback on the error that can be used by a support technician to determine the solution to the error and help developers solve the application error.

Error Recovery

Windows 3.1 includes a number of improvements designed to handle application errors more effectively.

One of these improvements is the use of parameter validation--the same type of parameter validation that developers use also works in the retail version of Windows 3.1. This validation monitors application calls to ensure that applications do not violate system integrity.

An errant application may still cause problems, such as stopping so that your computer no longer responds to input. Under version 3.1, if an application stops, you can press the CTRL+ALT+DEL restart key sequence, and Windows will ask whether the application should be continued or closed. If you choose to close the application, Windows will reset the environment to a stable state that will allow you to continue working within the Windows operating system. You no longer have to exit and restart Windows. This gives you better control over your system.

The sum of all these efforts is a system with significantly enhanced reliability, in which application errors are far less likely to cause you to stop working and shut down the application or restart the system.

IMPROVED PERFORMANCE

Many performance improvements have been achieved throughout Windows 3.1. These include:

  • Faster, more responsive user shell components (notably, File Manager and Program Manager).
  • Faster disk caching. The Windows SMARTDrive disk-caching utility has been completely redesigned for Windows 3.1. It installs automatically during setup and significantly boosts performance by caching read and write disk operations.
  • Faster paging in 386 enhanced mode. Version 3.1 includes a 32-Bit- Disk-Access driver that allows Windows to bypass MS-DOS and the BIOS to access the Windows virtual memory paging file.
  • Increased display driver performance (for example, the VGA and 8514 drivers).
  • Better printing performance. The overall printing speed is improved; but, more significantly, Windows also gives control back to the application more quickly after the Print command is invoked.

MULTIMEDIA

Audio services and Media Control Interface (MCI) support have also been added to Windows 3.1. The audio application programming interfaces (APIs), which are identical to those found in Multimedia Extensions 1.0, specifically support waveform or PCM audio and Musical Instrument Digital Interface (MIDI) synthesized audio. Additionally, any application for Windows that supports OLE can take advantage of the audio capabilities in Windows 3.1 with no additional development required by the independent software vendor (ISV). From an application's perspective, audio becomes just another object type.

The MCI architecture supports control of media devices such as video discs and videotape. Using drivers provided by third-party peripheral vendors, this support provides greater flexibility to the standard computing environment and meets another growing market need, especially in the areas of corporate presentations, training, and education.

For those who require full multimedia support, Microsoft offers a CD- ROM version of Windows 3.1 with the multimedia extensions and drivers. This product includes Music Box, an accessory for playing CD audio disks, and HyperGuide, an online Help program. The addition of audio services and media control support to Windows 3.1 is yet another evolutionary step toward bringing multimedia functionality into the mainstream of desktop computing.

Windows 3.1 works seamlessly with Multimedia Extensions 1.0. These extensions allow you to embed new objects such as audio, animation, and full-motion video in existing applications. The objects also allow you to create a whole new class of multimedia documents, such as encyclopedias enhanced with video and audio clips, or catalogs that display animated illustrations. The extensible architecture of Windows makes it possible for multimedia computing to span low-cost systems for home and education to sophisticated multimedia authoring platforms for the higher end of the market.

An important enabling technology for multimedia computing is the OLE protocol described above. With OLE and Windows 3.1 or Multimedia Extensions 1.0, you can embed a multimedia object, such as an audio clip, in an existing application for Windows, just as you can embed a chart or text file.

LAPTOP SUPPORT

Many vendors of today's popular 286- and 386-based laptop computers ship Windows version 3.0. Laptop users will appreciate a feature in Windows 3.1 called mouse trail, which makes it easier to find the cursor on a laptop display. In addition, Windows 3.1 supports the Advanced Power Management (APM) specification, which allows Windows to support the native power management of a laptop PC for longer battery life.

CONCLUSION

The Windows operating system version 3.1 is an important next step in Microsoft's core systems strategy--an evolutionary strategy that spans 286-based laptops to high-end workstations or servers. Today, Windows runs with MS-DOS, the operating system that spawned the PC industry and is currently in use by tens of millions of people. Windows also runs the thousands of existing MS-DOS and Windows-based applications. Extended versions of Windows--multimedia or pens, for example--allow you to run all these applications as well, plus unique new applications developed with pens or multimedia in mind.

Microsoft's vision of computing in the 1990s and beyond is that computers will empower individuals and organizations. With its scalable implementations, the investments of Microsoft, and the commitment of third parties, the Windows operating system will be the foundation for realizing this vision.

Properties

Article ID: 83245 - Last Review: November 16, 2006 - Revision: 1.1
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows 3.1 Standard Edition
Keywords: 
kbinfo KB83245
Retired KB Content Disclaimer
This article was written about products for which Microsoft no longer offers support. Therefore, this article is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com