應用程式如果略過提供全域使用的並存組件,便可能容易發生某些可以由 Microsoft 軟體更新所修正的問題

Windows XP 支援已結束

Microsoft 於 2014 年 4 月 8 日結束對 Windows XP 的支援。此變更已影響您的軟體更新和安全性選項。 瞭解這對您的意義為何且如何持續受保護。

Windows Server 2003 的支援已於 2015 年 7 月 14 日結束

Microsoft 已於 2015 年 7 月 14 日結束對 Windows Server 2003 的支援。此變更已影響您的軟體更新和安全性選項。 瞭解這對您的意義為何且如何持續受保護。

簡介
在執行 Microsoft Windows Server 2003 的電腦上,系統管理員可以進行設定,讓某個特定的應用程式略過提供全域使用的更新並存組件。在執行 Microsoft Windows XP 的電腦上,軟體開發人員以及系統管理員可以進行設定,讓某個特定的應用程式略過提供全域使用的更新並存組件。然而,這個略過功能可能會使得應用程式容易發生某些本來可以透過安裝通用的 Microsoft 軟體更新來修正的問題。因此,我們強烈建議軟體開發人員以及系統管理員,不要使用此功能。

我們不建議您在 Windows 技術上使用混合 DLL/COM 重新導向的並存組件。請參閱<其他相關資訊>一節,以取得詳細資訊。
其他相關資訊
並存組件是許多資源的集合,其中可能含有一或多個 DLL 檔、視窗類別、COM 伺服器、型別程式庫或介面。這些資源都是一併同時提供給應用程式使用的。並存組件會由 XML 應用程式資訊清單加以選取使用,這些資訊清單可位於下列任何一個位置:
  • 應用程式可執行檔中的某個資源。
  • 與應用程式可執行檔安裝於同一個資料夾內,副檔名為「.exe.manifest」的檔案。
  • Microsoft 應用程式 相容性資料庫中的某個設定。如果應用程式的資訊清單,是由 Microsoft 應用程式相容性資料庫所提供,此資訊清單的優先順序將大於應用程式 提供的資訊清單。
在完成部署後,軟體開發人員或系統管理員可以利用應用程式組態檔,為各個應用程式組態個別地更新他們的組件組態。應用程式組態檔是與應用程式可執行檔安裝於同一個資料夾內,同時副檔名為「.exe.config」的檔案,它可以重新導向特定的應用程式,讓應用程式無須重新編譯,便能由使用某個並存組件版本,改為使用這個並存組件的另一個版本。例如,如果使用發行者原則時並未強迫所有應用程式使用某個較新版本的並存組件,系統管理員或開發人員便可以用更新 (也就是「選擇使用」) 的方式,讓某個特定的應用程式使用這個較新版本的並存組件。這樣一來,該特定應用程式便會優先使用較新版本的並存組件,而不是這個並存組件舊版本。

此外,Windows Server 2003 的系統管理員,或是 Windows XP 的系統管理員或軟體開發人員,也可以用略過 (也就是「選擇不使用」) 的方式,讓特定應用程式不使用提供全域使用的更新並存組件,而無須為所有應用程式移除提供全域使用的更新並存組件。如果要執行這項操作,系統管理員可以更新應用程式組態檔,將 <publisherPolicy apply="no"/> 項目加入其中。

如果要在執行 Windows XP 的電腦上,判斷是否使用了應用程式組態檔,讓特定應用程式略過任何提供全域使用的更新並存組件,請在與應用程式執行檔名稱相同,但副檔名為 .config 的檔案中,查看是否有 <publisherPolicy apply="no"/> 項目。例如,請查看 <publisherPolicy apply="no"/> 項目是否存在於應用程式.exe.config 檔中,便可判斷執行檔為 應用程式.exe 的應用程式,是否略過了提供全域使用的更新並存組件。這個應用程式.exe.config 檔,與應用程式的應用程式資訊清單是安裝於同樣的位置。

如果安裝某個軟體更新後,特定應用程式會無法正常運作,軟體開發人員與系統管理員便可以利用這個功能,選擇性地為該特定應用程式停用此 Microsoft 軟體更新,如此一來,軟體開發人員或系統管理員便不必為所有應用程式移除這個軟體更新。不過,如果應用程式使用了此種略過功能時,便可能容易發生某些可以由 Microsoft 軟體更新所修正的問題。

注意 這種略過功能在 Microsoft 應用程式需要一個編輯資料。 Windows Server 2003 電腦上的相容性資料庫。此種設定僅能由系統管理員或是由 Microsoft 加入軟體更新中。

應用程式作者或有應用程式目錄控制權的人,還有其他方法可以略過全域更新。

在 Windows 技術上使用 DLL/COM 重新導向的注意事項

此項技術通常需要本機檔案隨著應用程式部署。這個需求能幫助減少應用程式相容性的問題。

注意 雖然全域複本可能是有用的服務更新,但本機檔案使系統偏好應用程式資料夾內的 DLL 複本,而非全域複本。我們建議軟體開發人員和系統管理員謹慎使用這項功能,或在應用程式使用並存組件時完全不用。

如需有關 Windows 技術上 DLL/COM 重新導向的詳細資訊,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站:

使用並存組件軟體的開發者的建議措施
  • 應用程式請隨附列有建立或測試應用程式的並存組件之版本的應用程式資訊清單。
  • 即使在您選擇部署至應用程式資料夾時,也請務必部署含有並存 DLL 檔之並存組件的資訊清單檔案。
  • 如果在執行 Microsoft Windows 2000 或 Windows 更舊版本的電腦上安裝應用程式,請勿把應用程式資料夾裡的並存組件隨附至作業系統。相反地,應該從系統資料夾使用並存組件。
  • 請勿使用 .local 功能 (此功能又稱為在 Windows 的 DLL/COM 重新導向)。
  • 請勿在有明確完整路徑的並存組件 DLL 上,執行 LoadLibrary 功能。相反地,請使用靜態連結或帶有原始 DLL 檔案名稱的 LoadLibrary 功能。例如,使用「Gdiplus.dll」作為檔案名稱。
如需詳細資訊,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站:
参考
如需關於隔離應用程式和並存組件的詳細資訊,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站:如需詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視「Microsoft 知識庫」中的文件:
824684 用來描述 Microsoft 軟體更新的標準術語說明
內容

文章識別碼:835322 - 最後檢閱時間:12/01/2007 01:57:00 - 修訂: 4.3

Microsoft Windows Server 2003, 64-Bit Datacenter Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Microsoft Windows XP Tablet PC Edition, Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition, Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (家用版), Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

  • kbinfo kbtshoot kbsecurity kbprb KB835322
意見反應

Applications that bypass globally serviced side-by-side assemblies may be vulnerable to issues that are fixed by a Microsoft software update

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 835322 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

INTRODUCTION

On Microsoft Windows Server 2003-based computers, administrators can bypass any globally updated side-by-side assemblies for a specific application. On Microsoft Windows XP-based computers, software developers and administrators can bypass any globally updated side-by-side assemblies for a specific application. However, this bypass feature may make your application vulnerable to issues that would otherwise be fixed by installing a global Microsoft software update. Therefore, we strongly recommend that software developers and administrators do not use this feature.

We do not recommend that you use side-by-side assemblies that are mixed with the DLL/COM redirection on Windows technique. See the "More Information" section for details.

MORE INFORMATION

A side-by-side assembly contains a collection of resources that may include one or more DLL files, windows classes, COM servers, type libraries, or interfaces. These resources are always provided together to applications. A side-by-side assembly is selected by an XML application manifest that may exist in any one of the following locations:
  • A resource in the executable file for the application.
  • A file with an ".exe.manifest" extension that is installed in the same folder as the application's executable file.
  • A setting in the Microsoft Application Compatibility database. If an application manifest is provided by the Microsoft Application Compatibility database, the manifest takes precedence over what is provided by the application.
After deployment, software developers or administrators can update assembly configuration on a per-application configuration basis by using an application configuration file. An application configuration file is a file with an ".exe.config" extension that is in the same folder as the application's executable file. An application configuration file can be used to redirect a specific application from using one version of a side-by-side assembly to using another version of the same assembly, without recompiling the application. For example, an administrator or developer can update, or "opt-in" to, an individual application to use a newer side-by-side assembly that was not forced on all applications by using a publisher policy. The newer side-by-side assembly then takes over for earlier versions of that assembly for the specified application.

Additionally, an administrator for Windows Server 2003, or an administrator or software developer for Windows XP, can bypass, or "opt-out" of, any globally updated side-by-side assemblies for a specific application, instead of removing the globally updated assembly for all applications. To do this, an administrator can update the application configuration file to include a <publisherPolicy apply="no"/> element.

To determine whether an application configuration file is being used to bypass any globally updated side-by-side assemblies for a specific application on a Windows XP-based computer, look for the <publisherPolicy apply="no"/> element in a .config file with the same file name as the application executable. For example, look for the <publisherPolicy apply="no"/> element in the Application.exe.config file to determine whether globally updated side-by-side assemblies are being bypassed for an application that uses Application.exe as its executable file. This Application.exe.config file is installed in the same location as the application's application manifest.

This feature lets software developers and administrators selectively disable a Microsoft software update for a specific application that does not work correctly when the software update is installed. (Therefore, software developers or administrators do not have to remove the software update for all applications.) However, if an application includes such a bypass, the application may be vulnerable to any issues that are fixed by the software update.

Note This bypass requires an entry in the Microsoft Application Compatibility database on Windows Server 2003-based computers. This setting can be added only by administrators or by Microsoft in a software update.

There are additional methods that the application author, or someone with control of the application directory, can bypass the global update.

Caution on using the DLL/COM redirection on Windows technique

This technique typically calls for a .local file to be deployed with the application. This requirement helps reduce application compatibility issues.

Note The .local file makes the system prefer the copy of the DLL in the application folder instead of the global copy, which may be a valuable service update. We recommend that software developers and administrators use this feature with caution, or not at all, when the application is using a side-by-side assembly.

For more information about the DLL/COM Redirection on Windows technique, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa375142.aspx


Recommended practices for software developers who use side-by-side assemblies
  • Ship your application with an application manifest that lists the version of the side-by-side assembly that your application was built or tested with.
  • Always deploy the manifest file of the side-by-side assembly with the side-by-side DLLs, even if you choose to deploy to the application folder.
  • If you install your application on a computer that is running Microsoft Windows 2000 or earlier versions of Windows, do not ship the side-by-side assembly in your application folder to those operating systems. Instead, the side-by side assemblies should be used from the system folder.
  • Do not use the .local feature, also known as DLL/COM Redirection on Windows.
  • Do not run the LoadLibrary function on the side-by-side assembly DLLs with an explicit full path. Instead, use static linking or use the LoadLibrary function with the raw DLL file name. For example, use “Gdiplus.dll” as the file name.
For more information, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms997620.aspx

REFERENCES

For more information about isolated applications and side-by-side assemblies, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa375193.aspx
For additional information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
824684 Description of the standard terminology that is used to describe Microsoft software updates

Properties

Article ID: 835322 - Last Review: December 1, 2007 - Revision: 4.4
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, 64-Bit Datacenter Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows XP Tablet PC Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
Keywords: 
kbinfo kbtshoot kbsecurity kbprb KB835322

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com