您遇到登出 Windows xp,Windows Server 2003 為主、 以 Windows 2000 為基礎,或 Windows NT 4.0 的電腦上的問題

Windows XP 支援已結束

Microsoft 於 2014 年 4 月 8 日結束對 Windows XP 的支援。此變更已影響您的軟體更新和安全性選項。 瞭解這對您的意義為何且如何持續受保護。

Windows Server 2003 的支援已於 2015 年 7 月 14 日結束

Microsoft 已於 2015 年 7 月 14 日結束對 Windows Server 2003 的支援。此變更已影響您的軟體更新和安全性選項。 瞭解這對您的意義為何且如何持續受保護。

重要:本文是以 Microsoft 機器翻譯軟體翻譯而成,而非使用人工翻譯而成。Microsoft 同時提供使用者人工翻譯及機器翻譯兩個版本的文章,讓使用者可以依其使用語言使用知識庫中的所有文章。但是,機器翻譯的文章可能不盡完美。這些文章中也可能出現拼字、語意或文法上的錯誤,就像外國人在使用本國語言時可能發生的錯誤。Microsoft 不為內容的翻譯錯誤或客戶對該內容的使用所產生的任何錯誤或損害負責。Microsoft也同時將不斷地就機器翻譯軟體進行更新。

按一下這裡查看此文章的英文版本:837115
簡介
當您嘗試登入您的電腦時,您不能登出或應用程式日誌中記錄的事件訊息指出無法卸載使用者設定檔。如果 Microsoft Windows 或協力廠商程式不會停止執行,當您試著先登出電腦時,可能會發生這個問題。本文包含逐步的方法,以協助您解決這個問題。

如果您正在檢視這個網頁內容,在發生問題的電腦上,您可以使用自動偵測並修正此內容所包含的工具。這個工具會協助進行疑難排解程序更快速、 精準且更容易讓您。如果您不在發生問題的電腦上執行時,列印此網頁的內容,並用它在發生問題的電腦上。

附註許多的關機問題不會因使用者設定檔的卸除錯誤。 如需有關關機問題的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:
308029進階 Windows XP 中的關機問題的疑難排解
324268 如何疑難排解在 Windows Server 2003 中的關機問題
315409 如何疑難排解在 Windows 2000 中的關機問題
附註Windows Vista 及 Windows Server 2008 併入的自動偵測的功能,並修正此內容所包含的工具 (UPHClean)。如果您遭遇到 prooblems 登出 Windows Vista 及 Windows Server 2008,vist 下列 Microsoft 網站取得。
徵狀
當您嘗試登入的電腦執行 Windows Server 2003、 Windows XP,Windows 2000 中或 Windows NT 4.0 時,貴用戶遇到下列一或多個下列徵狀:
  • 應用程式事件 Id 1000、 1500,1517,1524年會記錄在應用程式記錄檔中。在應用程式記錄檔中檢視事件是最精確的方法,以判斷使用者設定檔解除載入錯誤。如果看不到這些應用程式記錄檔中的事件,您並沒有使用者設定檔解除載入錯誤。如需有關事件訊息在應用程式記錄檔,請參閱 事件應用程式記錄檔中的郵件 一節。
  • 當您使用漫遊使用者設定檔設定為當您登出時刪除設定檔的本機快取的複本,並不會刪除快取設定檔。為應用程式記錄檔中的事件訊息便會記錄此錯誤的徵狀。
  • 在 Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003 中,您可以先登出,但您無法復原,直到使用者的使用者設定檔使用的記憶體設定檔可以被解除載入。您可以先登出,因為漫遊使用者設定檔調節藉由使用登錄內容的複本。為應用程式記錄檔中的事件訊息便會記錄此錯誤的徵狀。
  • 當您嘗試在 Windows 2000 中,先登出"節約設定 … 」 訊息會顯示一段時間,以及 Windows 停止嘗試進行登出。如果您在網路上使用漫遊使用者設定檔,Windows 會指出在電腦上的使用者設定檔不會調解漫遊使用者設定檔,在網路上使用。您無法登入,因為使用者設定檔未登出。為應用程式記錄檔中的事件訊息便會記錄此錯誤的徵狀。
  • 在 Windows NT 4.0,您不能登出或漫遊使用者設定檔不一致。
  • 您到達該登錄大小限制 (RSL)。
  • 備份可能無法啟動。備份程式從應用程式記錄檔中沒有任何錯誤。不過,如果您看到事件識別碼 1524年,已經無法執行備份。
使用 Microsoft 使用者設定檔登錄區若要調解使用者設定檔的清除服務
若要解決這個問題,請使用 [Microsoft 使用者設定檔 Hive清除服務 (UPHClean)。當您登出,然後再 UPHClean 卸載並調解使用者設定檔,以便在您登出時,UPHClean 會監視電腦。這個方法會顯示如何安裝及執行 UPHClean。

附註在下列作業系統支援 UPHClean:
  • XP Windows
  • Windows 2003 Server
  • Windows 2000 (所有版本)
附註目前版本的 UPHClean (v1.6d) 就無法運作,在 [x] 下 x64 版的 Windows XP 或 Windows Server 2003 的值。UPHClean 的未來版本可能會受這些作業系統。

重要這個方法會要求您離開您目前所檢視的網頁瀏覽。藉由瀏覽離開這個頁面,將不會再顯示您正在檢視的內容。因此,在繼續之前,您可能會發現,在桌面上建立此 Web 畫面的捷徑,讓您迅速地回復到這個網頁,只要按兩下捷徑,很有幫助。在桌面上建立此 Web 畫面的捷徑,請依照下列步驟執行:
  1. 這個頁面上,按一下滑鼠右鍵,然後按一下 建立捷徑.
  2. Internet Explorer 對話方塊中,按一下 [是] 若要在桌面上建立捷徑。
此方法難易度: 簡單。

估計時間: 10 分鐘或更多],您的網際網路連線速度而定。

若要使用 Microsoft 使用者設定檔 Hive清除服務 (UPHClean),請遵循下列步驟:
  1. 立即下載 UPHClean。如果要下載及安裝 UPHClean,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站: 系統會提示您驗證您的 Windows 版本。
  2. 當您下載的 UPHClean 安裝程式 (UPHClean Setup.msi),請連按兩下以開始安裝,安裝程式。
  3. 在 [使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務安裝精靈] 中,按一下 下一步.
  4. 在 [授權合約] 頁面上,閱讀授權合約 」 中,選取 我同意然後按一下 下一步.
  5. 在 [選擇安裝資料夾] 頁面上,按一下 下一步.
  6. 在 [確認安裝] 頁面上,按一下 下一步.
  7. 安裝 UPHClean 之後,請按一下 關閉.

    附註UPHClean 會以 windows 服務執行,並且會在每次啟動 Windows 時自動啟動。
  8. 若要確認 UPHClean 已安裝並執行,請按一下 啟動然後按一下 執行.
  9. 開啟 方塊中輸入下列文字,然後再按一下 [確定]:

    services.msc
  10. 在 [服務] 中 名稱 資料行中,找出 使用者設定檔登錄區的清理.在 狀態 資料行中,請確認使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務 已啟動.
重要Windows Vista 及 Windows Server 2008 併入 UPHClean 的功能。升級至 Windows Vista 或 Windows Server 2008 之前,先解除安裝 UPHClean。如需有關如何解除安裝 UPHClean 的詳細資訊,請參閱 如何解除安裝的使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務 一節。

附註如果您在安裝 UPHClean 時,您會收到錯誤,請嘗試下列方法:
  • 立即下載 UPHClean 到您的電腦一次。如果您想要從您的公司網路上的電腦安裝 UPHClean,請先到您的電腦複製 UPHClean 安裝程式 (UPHClean Setup.msi)。然後遵循此一次安裝區段 UPHClean 中的步驟。
  • 安裝 Visual c + + 應用程式的最新的執行階段元件。然後遵循此一次安裝區段 UPHClean 中的步驟。如果您使用 Windows NT 4.0,請安裝最新的執行階段元件,為 Visual c + + 應用程式之後重新啟動電腦。

    如需有關如何安裝最新的執行階段元件,為 Visual c + + 應用程式的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:
    259403如何取得的 Visual c + + 6.0 執行階段元件

驗證

若要確認此方法有效,請先登出 Windows。Windows 應該登出 immediatley。如果事件訊息指出發生使用者設定檔錯誤,請開啟 [應用程式記錄檔和決定]。如需有關事件訊息在應用程式記錄檔,請參閱 事件應用程式記錄檔中的郵件 一節。

如果此方法有效:如果您可以先登出 Windows,且沒有任何事件訊息指出發生使用者設定檔卸載錯誤,則您成功地更正問題。

如果這個方法沒有用:如果您不能登出 Windows,或有事件訊息,指出發生使用者設定檔卸載錯誤,這個方法沒有用。您可能想要尋求他人的協助,或者您可以嘗試進階疑難排解。
進階疑難排解設定
如果您的資源列在這份文件無法協助您解決問題,或如果您遇到本文所述以外的徵狀,請搜尋 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」,如需詳細資訊。若要搜尋 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站:
接著,輸入您收到,或在 [搜尋] 欄位中輸入問題,描述的錯誤訊息的文字。
請連絡支援部門
如果問題仍未解決,不幸的是此內容不能幫助您更進一步的。因此,您可能想要尋求他人的協助,或您可能想要造訪下列 Microsoft 網站:
其他相關資訊

使用者設定檔和使用者帳戶


您的使用者設定檔是將這台電腦的外觀與功能,它看起來,及使用方式的設定集合。您的使用者設定檔包含您的設定,如桌面背景、 螢幕保護裝置、 指標喜好設定、 音效設定值,和其他功能。使用者設定檔,請確認登入 Windows 時,會使用您個人的喜好設定。

使用者設定檔不同於您用來登入 Windows 使用者帳戶。每個使用者帳戶有與其相關聯的至少一位使用者設定檔。

使用者帳戶定義使用者可以在 Windows 中執行的動作。在獨立電腦上或屬於工作群組的成員電腦上,使用者帳戶會建立並為每個使用者指派的權限。如果電腦是網路網域成員,使用者必須是至少一個群組的成員。權限及授與群組的權限指派給它的成員。

如需更多有關使用者設定檔群組的資訊,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站取得:

使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務

使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務可協助確保使用者登出時,會完全結束使用者工作階段。系統處理程序和應用程式偶爾會在使用者登出後維持用戶端連線到使用者設定檔中的登錄機碼。在這些情況下,無法完全結束使用者工作階段。當您使用漫遊使用者設定檔,在網路環境中,或已鎖定的設定檔用實作透過共用電腦工具組的 Windows XP 時,就會造成問題。

在 Windows 2000 中,就能輕易地使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務如果應用程式記錄檔會顯示事件識別碼 1000年,且訊息文字指出設定檔時無法卸載,錯誤是 「 存取被拒 」。在 Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003,事件 Id 1517 和 1524年表示相同的問題。

使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務會監視的使用者已登出,以及對象登錄 hive 仍是載入。當發生這種情況時,服務會判定哪些應用程式有控點,會開啟以 hive,並釋放它們。就會記錄應用程式名稱,以及那些登錄機碼已處於開啟狀態。此動作後,系統就會完成卸載設定檔。

如需有關 UPHClean 的詳細資訊,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站取得:

當您嘗試登出的電腦執行 Windows Server 2003、 Windows XP,Windows 2000 中或 Windows NT 4.0,下列事件之一應用程式記錄檔中的訊息是由使用者設定檔錯誤的徵狀。

附註事件訊息可能會因許多原因而造成。當您收到事件時時,請確定它有相同的描述每一次。這將幫助您判斷事件是否因使用者設定檔時發生錯誤。
如何檢視應用程式記錄檔
若要檢視應用程式記錄檔,請執行下列作業:
  1. 按一下 啟動然後按一下 執行.
  2. 開啟 方塊中輸入下列文字,然後再按一下 [確定].

    eventvwr.msc
  3. 在 [事件檢視器] 中,按一下 應用程式.
Windows Vista 及 Windows Server 2008
UPHClean (v1.6) 的功能會包含在 Windows Vista 及 Windows Server 2008 的使用者設定檔服務。使用者設定檔服務會執行所有必要的工作,以防止使用者設定檔的記錄檔關閉出現的錯誤。

當使用者設定檔服務會採取動作來防止卸載使用者設定檔時,就會記錄事件 1530年。

事件類型:錯誤
事件識別碼: 1530年
工作類別: 無
層級: 警告
描述:Windows 偵測到您的登錄檔是仍在使用其他應用程式或服務。現在該檔案將會被卸載。應用程式或服務,保留您的登錄檔可能不能正常運作。

Windows XP 和 Windows Server 2003

事件類型:錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼: 1517年
描述:
儲存使用者 ComputerName\UserName 登錄時的視窗應用程式或服務仍在使用登錄在記錄檔時關閉。[使用者的登錄所使用的記憶體尚未被釋出。將會登錄當不再使用時卸載。這因為服務以執行使用者帳戶,請試著將服務設定成任何一項執行 LocalService 或網路服務帳戶。

事件類型: 錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼: 1524年
描述:
Windows 無法卸載您類別登錄檔-它仍會在其他應用程式或服務的使用。當不再使用時,檔案將會被卸載。

事件類型: 錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼: 1500年
描述:
Windows 無法讓您登入,因為無法載入您的設定檔。請檢查您已連線到網路,或是網路是否運作正確。如果此問題持續發生,請連絡您的網路管理員。
詳細資料:
------------------------------
存取被拒

Windows 2000

事件類型:錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼: 1000年
描述:
Windows 無法卸載您的登錄檔。如果您有漫遊設定檔,您的設定不會複寫。請連絡您的系統管理員。
詳細資料:
------------------------------
存取被拒

事件類型:錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼: 1000年
描述:。
Windows 無法卸載您的類別登錄檔。如果您漫遊設定檔,不會複寫到您的設定。連絡您系統管理員。
詳細資料:-
-----------------------------
存取權拒絕

事件類型: 錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼:1000
描述:
Windows 無法讓您登因為設定檔無法載入。請連絡您的網路管理員。

Windows NT 4.0

事件類型:錯誤
事件來源: Userenv
事件類別: 無
事件識別碼: 1000年
描述:
作業系統無法載入您的設定檔。請連絡您的網路管理員。
詳細資料:
------------------------------
存取被拒。

如何解除安裝的使用者設定檔 hive 控制檔清理服務
  1. 按一下 啟動然後按一下 執行.
  2. 開啟 方塊中輸入下列文字,然後再按一下 [確定].

    appwiz.cpl
  3. 新增/移除程式按一下 使用者設定檔登錄區清除服務然後按一下 移除.
  4. 按一下 [是].
終端機服務

警告:本文為自動翻譯

內容

文章識別碼:837115 - 最後檢閱時間:06/18/2012 15:39:00 - 修訂: 0.1

Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (家用版), Microsoft Windows 2000 Server, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition, Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition, Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition

  • kbresolve kbtshoot kbserviceprocess kbwinservperf kbprofiles kbprb kbmt KB837115 KbMtzh
意見反應

You experience log off problems on a Windows XP-based, Windows Server 2003-based, Windows 2000-based, or Windows NT 4.0-based computer

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 837115 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

INTRODUCTION

When you try to log off your computer, you cannot log off, or event messages that are logged in the Application log indicate that the user profile was not unloaded. This problem may occur if Microsoft Windows or third-party programs do not stop running when you try to log off your computer. This article contains a step-by-step method to help you resolve this problem.

If you are viewing this Web content on the computer that has the problem, you can use the automatic detection and fix tool that this content contains. The tool will help make the troubleshooting process faster, more accurate, and much easier for you. If you are not on the computer that has the problem, print this Web content, and use it on the computer that has the problem.

Note Many shutdown problems are not caused by user profile unloading errors. For more information about shutdown problems, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
308029 Advanced troubleshooting for shutdown problems in Windows XP
324268 How to troubleshoot shutdown problems in Windows Server 2003
315409 How to troubleshoot shutdown problems in Windows 2000
Note Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 include the functionality of the automatic detection and fix tool (UPHClean) that this content contains. If you are experiencing prooblems logging off Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008, vist the following Microsoft Web sites.

SYMPTOMS

When you try to log off a computer that is running Windows Server 2003, Windows XP, Windows 2000, or Windows NT 4.0, you may experience one or more of the following symptoms:
  • The application event IDs 1000, 1500, 1517, 1524 are logged in the Application log. Viewing events in the Application log is the most accurate method to determine user profile unload errors. If you do not see these events in the Application log, you do not have user profile unload errors. For more information about the event messages in the Application log, see the Event messages in the Application log section.
  • The cached profile is not deleted when you use a roaming user profile that is configured to delete the locally cached copy of the profile when you log off. Symptoms of this error are recorded as event messages in the Application log.
  • In Windows XP and in Windows Server 2003, you can log off, but you cannot recover the memory that the user profile uses until the user profile can be unloaded. You can log off because the roaming user profile is reconciled by using a copy of the contents of the registry. Symptoms of this error are recorded as event messages in the Application log.
  • When you try to log off in Windows 2000, the "Saving settings…" message is displayed for a long time, and Windows stops trying to log off. If you are using a roaming user profile on a network, Windows indicates that the user profile on the computer does not reconcile with the roaming user profile on the network. You cannot log on because the user profile did not log off. Symptoms of this error are recorded as event messages in the Application log.
  • In Windows NT 4.0, you cannot log off and the roaming user profile is not reconciled.
  • You reach the registry size limit (RSL).
  • Backups may not start. There are no errors in the Application log from the backup program. However, if you see event ID 1524, the backup has not run.

Use the Microsoft User Profile Hive Cleanup Service to reconcile user profiles

To resolve this problem, use the Microsoft User Profile Hive Cleanup Service (UPHClean). UPHClean monitors the computer while you log off, and then UPHClean unloads and reconciles user profiles so that you can log off. This method shows how to install and to run UPHClean.

Note UPHClean is supported under the following operating systems:
  • Windows XP
  • Windows Server 2003
  • Windows 2000 (all versions)
Note The current version of UPHClean (v1.6d) does not function under x64-based versions of Windows XP or of Windows Server 2003. A future version of UPHClean may be supported under those operating systems.

Important This method requires you to browse away from the page that you are now viewing. By browsing away from this page, the content that you are now viewing will no longer be displayed. So, before you continue, you might find it helpful to create a shortcut to this Web page on your desktop so that you can easily return to this page by double-clicking the shortcut. To create a shortcut to this Web page on your desktop, follow these steps:
  1. Right-click this page, and then click Create Shortcut.
  2. In the Internet Explorer dialog box, click Yes to create a shortcut on your desktop.
This method is rated: Easy.

Estimated Time: 10 minutes or more, depending on your Internet connection speed.

To use the Microsoft User Profile Hive Cleanup Service (UPHClean), follow these steps:
  1. Download UPHClean. To download and install UPHClean, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=1B286E6D-8912-4E18-B570-42470E2F3582
    You will be prompted to validate your copy of Windows.
  2. As soon as you have downloaded the UPHClean installer (UPHClean-Setup.msi), double-click the installer to begin the installation.
  3. In the User Profile Hive Cleanup Service installation wizard, click Next.
  4. In the License Agreement page, read the license agreement, select I Agree, and then click Next.
  5. In the Select Installation Folder page, click Next.
  6. In the Confirm Installation page, click Next.
  7. When UPHClean is installed, click Close.

    Note UPHClean runs as a service in Windows and will start automatically every time that Windows starts.
  8. To confirm that UPHClean is installed and running, click Start, and then click Run.
  9. In Open box, type the following text, and then click OK:

    services.msc
  10. In Services, in the Name column, locate User Profile Hive Cleanup. In the Status column, confirm that the User Profile Hive Cleanup service is Started.
Important Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 include the functionality of UPHClean. Uninstall UPHClean before you upgrade to Windows Vista or to Windows Server 2008. For more information about how to uninstall UPHClean, see the How to uninstall the User Profile Hive Cleanup service section.

Note If you receive an error when you install UPHClean, try the following:
  • Download UPHClean to your computer again. If you are trying to install UPHClean from a computer on your company's network, copy the UPHClean installer (UPHClean-Setup.msi) to your computer first. Then follow the steps in this section again to install UPHClean.
  • Install the latest run-time components for Visual C++ applications. Then follow the steps in this section again to install UPHClean. If you are using Windows NT 4.0, restart your computer after you install the latest run-time components for Visual C++ applications.

    For more information about how to install the latest run-time components for Visual C++ applications, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    259403 How to obtain the Visual C++ 6.0 run-time components

Verification

To verify that this method worked, log off Windows. Windows should log off immediatley. Open the Application log and detemine if any event messages indicate that there were user profile errors. For more information about the event messages in the Application log, see the Event messages in the Application log section.

If this method worked: If you can log off Windows, and there are no event messages that indicate that there were user profile unloading errors, you have successfully corrected the problem.

If this method did not work: If you cannot log off Windows, or there are event messages that indicate that there were user profile unloading errors, this method did not work. You might want to ask someone for help, or you might want to try Advanced Troubleshooting.

Advanced Troubleshooting

If the resources listed in this article do not help you resolve the problem or if you experience symptoms that differ from those that are described in this article, search the Microsoft Knowledge Base for more information. To search the Microsoft Knowledge Base, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://support.microsoft.com

Then, type the text of the error message that you receive, or type a description of the problem, in the search field.

Contact Support

If the problem is not resolved, unfortunately this content is unable to help you any further. So, you might want to ask someone for help, or you might want to visit the following Microsoft Web site:
http://support.microsoft.com/contactus

MORE INFORMATION

User profiles and user accounts


Your user profile is a collection of settings that make the computer look and work the way that you want it to look and to work. Your user profile contains your settings for desktop backgrounds, for screen savers, for pointer preferences, for sound settings, and for other features. User profiles make sure that your personal preferences are used when you log on to Windows.

A user profile differs from a user account that you use to log on to Windows. Each user account has at least one user profile associated with it.

A user account defines the actions a user can perform in Windows. On a stand-alone computer or on a computer that is a member of a workgroup, a user account establishes the permissions that are assigned to each user. On a computer that is part of a network domain, a user must be a member of at least one group. The permissions and the rights that are granted to a group are assigned to its members.

For information about user profile hives, visit the following Microsoft Web sites:
User profile hives
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa918365.aspx
Registry types
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa910532.aspx

User Profile Hive Cleanup service

The User Profile Hive Cleanup service helps make sure that user sessions are completely ended when a user logs off. System processes and applications occasionally maintain connections to registry keys in the user profile after a user logs off. In those cases, the user session is prevented from completely ending. This can result in problems when you use roaming user profiles in a network environment or when locked profiles are used as implemented through the Shared Computer Toolkit for Windows XP.

In Windows 2000, you can benefit from the User Profile Hive Cleanup service if the Application log shows event ID 1000, and the message text indicates that the profile is not unloading and that the error is "Access is denied." On Windows XP and on Windows Server 2003, event IDs 1517 and 1524 indicate the same problem.

The User Profile Hive Cleanup service monitors for users who have logged off and for whom registry hives are still loaded. When this occurs, the service determines which applications have handles that are opened to the hives and releases them. It logs the application name and what registry keys were left open. After this occurs, the system finishes unloading the profile.

For more information about UPHClean, visit the following Microsoft Web sites:
The UPHClean blog
http://blogs.technet.com/uphclean
The UPHClean Readme.txt file
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=1B286E6D-8912-4E18-B570-42470E2F3582

Event messages in the Application log

When you try to log off a computer that is running Windows Server 2003, Windows XP, Windows 2000, or Windows NT 4.0, one of the following event messages in the Application log are a symptom of a user profile error.

Note An event message can result for many reasons. When you receive an event, confirm that it has the same description every time. This will help you determine whether the event is caused by a user profile error.
How to view the Application log
To view the Application log, do the following:
  1. Click Start, and then click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type the following text, and then click OK.

    eventvwr.msc
  3. In Event Viewer, click Application.
Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008
The functionality of UPHClean (v1.6) is included in the Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 User Profile Service. The User Profile Service performs all the necessary work to prevent user profile log off errors from occuring.

When the User Profile Service takes action to prevent a user profile from unloading, it logs event 1530.

Event Type: Error
Event ID: 1530
Task Category: None
Level: Warning
Description: Windows detected your registry file is still in use by other applications or services. The file will be unloaded now. The applications or services that hold your registry file may not function properly afterwards.

Windows XP and Windows Server 2003

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1517
Description:
Windows saved user ComputerName\UserName registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use. This is caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1524
Description:
Windows cannot unload your classes registry file - it is still in use by other applications or services. The file will be unloaded when it is no longer in use.

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1500
Description:
Windows cannot log you on because your profile cannot be loaded. Check that you are connected to the network, or that your network is functioning correctly. If this problem persists, contact your network administrator.
Details:
------------------------------
Access is denied

Windows 2000

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Description:
Windows cannot unload your registry file. If you have a roaming profile, your settings are not replicated. Contact your administrator.
Details:
------------------------------
Access is denied

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Description:.
Windows cannot unload your registry class file. If you have a roaming profile, your settings are not replicated. Contact your administrator.
Details: -
-----------------------------
Access is denied

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Description:
Windows cannot log you on because the profile cannot be loaded. Contact your network administrator.

Windows NT 4.0

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Userenv
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Description:
The operating system was unable to load your profile. Please contact your Network Administrator.
Details:
------------------------------
Access is denied.

How to uninstall the User Profile Hive Cleanup service
  1. Click Start, and then click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type the following text, and then click OK.

    appwiz.cpl
  3. In Add/Remove Programs, click User Profile Hive Cleanup Service, and then click Remove.
  4. Click Yes.

Properties

Article ID: 837115 - Last Review: June 18, 2012 - Revision: 8.1
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
Keywords: 
kbresolve kbtshoot kbserviceprocess kbwinservperf kbprofiles kbprb KB837115

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com