您目前已離線,請等候您的網際網路重新連線

在 [Microsoft 動態 GP 的存貨控制項中的 [年度結束關閉程序

請注意--重要:本文是以 Microsoft 機器翻譯軟體翻譯而成,且可能由 Microsoft Community 利用 Community Translation Framework技術或人工進行事後編修。翻譯過程並無專業譯者參與。Microsoft 同時提供使用者人為翻譯、機器翻譯及社群編修後的機器翻譯三種版本的文章,讓使用者可以依其使用語言使用知識庫中的所有文章。但是,所有翻譯文章都可能不盡完美,內容都可能出現詞彙、語意或文法上的錯誤。就翻譯內容之不正確或錯誤,或客戶因使用翻譯內容所產生的任何損害,微軟不負擔任何責任。Microsoft將依合理的商業努力不斷地更新機器翻譯軟體和工具,以期能為使用者提供更好的服務。

按一下這裡查看此文章的英文版本:872713
簡介
本文將告訴您如何關閉年,以及如何準備新的會計年度,在 [Microsoft 動態 GP 的存貨控制項中的庫存記錄。
其他相關資訊

清查年終程序

請依照下列步驟執行來關閉年,並準備新的會計年度的庫存記錄。關閉一年會將所有彙總的目前年份數量 (「 成本 」 和 「 銷售量 」),傳送到交易記錄,您有已保留的合併彙算的銷售記錄的項目。每個項目 [銷售量] 欄位會設定為零。這些步驟也會更新在每個項目的開頭數量] 欄位內的金額以每個站台的手欄位上的數量。

其他資源

摘要的步驟

  1. 年中張貼的所有交易。
  2. 調解庫存量。
  3. 完成實際目錄計數,然後張貼任何調整。
  4. 列印報告。
  5. 請先備份。
  6. 關閉年份。
  7. 關閉的會計年度的期間,庫存數列 (可省略)。
  8. 複製最後的備份。

詳細的步驟

  1. 年中張貼的所有交易。

    請確定,所有的 Invoicing 交易、 銷售訂單處理的交易和目前年份的庫存交易已輸入並再公佈後,再關閉年份。使歷程記錄資訊無誤,請關閉的年和年度迄今數量準確地新年陳述的也是如此。如果您想要關閉年份之前輸入未來期間交易時,建立新的批次有新的交易。不過,不會回傳的批次,直到關閉年之後。
  2. 調解 inventoryquantities。

    調解使用調解庫存量] 視窗,以確定存貨控制資料在年期間未損毀的所有項目的數量。若要開啟 [調解庫存量] 視窗,請遵循以下步驟:
    • 在 [Microsoft 動態 GP,指向 [ Microsoft 動態 GP ] 功能表中的 [工具,指向公用程式、 指向 [清查],然後按一下 [調解]
    如果調解過程中發現任何不同,則會被調整的數量。如果做了調整,它們將會反映在調解報表。此外,在任何的序號和已調整過的項目加入許多數字都包含在內。如果您想要變更這些序列數字和許多數字,您可以使用 [項目交易項目] 視窗。輸入降低調整交易,若要移除現有的序號和現有的許多數字。然後輸入增加調整交易輸入正確的序號和正確的許多數字。若要開啟 [項目交易項目] 視窗,請指向 [交易] 功能表中的 [清查,,然後按一下 [交易項目
  3. 完成實際目錄計數,然後張貼任何調整。
    1. 若要設定及維護資訊的相關時可執行內建的計數,以及有關將計算哪一天,系統會計算下一個內建的計數為特定的項目網站組合的建議的日期時使用內建的行事曆維護視窗。若要開啟股票行事曆維護視窗,請遵循以下步驟:
      • 在 [Microsoft 動態 GP,在Microsoft 動態 GP ] 功能表上的點工具]中以滑鼠游標指向 [設定],指向 [清查],然後按一下 股票行事曆
    2. 如果您想要將一個內建的計數頻率指派給許多項目,則可以使用 [股票 CountCycle 指派] 視窗。若要開啟 [股票計數週期指派] 視窗,請指向 [卡片] 功能表中的 [清查,,然後按一下 [計數週期的工作分派
    3. 建立股票計數排程。股票計數排程是特定的項目,將會計算在特定的計數期間的特定網站的清單。當您啟動的內建的計數的排程、 數量手上的內建的計數排程中的每一行會擷取。稍後,實際次數的數字數量比較要擷取的值,以建立預設的變異數的交易。在此程序,可以列印股票計數表單。若要開啟 [股票計數排程] 視窗,指向 [交易] 功能表中的 [物品欄,然後按一下 股票計數排程.
    4. 您可以使用股票計數的項目] 視窗,輸入您股票的計數結果的相關資訊。當您處理內建的計數時,則會建立差異交易。如果張貼股票計數變異數] 核取方塊已選取,將會公佈交易。若要開啟 [股票計數的項目] 視窗,以滑鼠指標指向 [交易] 功能表中中的 [清查],然後按一下 [ 股票計數的項目
    而不是遵循步驟 3,您可以手動建立您調整的項目。若要執行這項操作,利用庫存活動報告] 視窗中,列印實體的存貨檢查清單,然後執行您的庫存項目,以確認該數量手上的實體計數金額是正確的所有的項目。若要開啟 「 庫存活動報告 」 視窗,指向 [報表] 功能表中的 [物品欄,然後按一下 [活動]。

    如果有任何差異,在 [項目交易項目] 視窗中,輸入必要的調整,並再張貼交易。若要開啟 [項目交易項目] 視窗,請指向 [交易] 功能表中的 [清查,,然後按一下 [交易項目
  4. 列印報告。

    列印您需要規劃,或您的永久記錄任何其他報表。建議的報告如下所示:
    • 內建的狀態報表
    • 購買收據報表
    • 重組報告
    • 交易記錄報告
    • 序號清單
    • 許多數字] 清單
    若要存取 [報告] 調色盤,指向 [報表] 功能表上 [清查]。您可以使用選取項目從庫存 Reportspalette,列印這些報告。如果您打算在年終決算移除售出的購買收據,我們建議您列印購買的回條報表以檢閱將被移除的回條。
  5. 請先備份。

    請先備份所有的公司資料。此情況下,讓您將能夠快速復原應該電源波動或其他問題會發生在年終的程序。
  6. 關閉年份。

    關閉一年,就會執行下列工作:
    • 用於,您有已保留的合併彙算的銷售記錄的項目,所有的傳輸會彙總到交易記錄 (「 成本 」 和 「 銷售量 」) 的目前年份數量。
    • 每個站台] 欄位中的項目開頭數量量] 欄位新增到數量手上的更新。特定的報表,如 [重組報告中,會使用報表計算開頭數量] 欄位中的量。
    • 前置零的銷售數量欄位 inItem 數量維護視窗每個站台。
    • 刪除購買回條及成本變更歷程記錄,已完全銷售的項目。
    • 移除已完全銷售的項目記錄中的任何中斷的項目。
    • 移除編號完全銷售的項目中的許多記錄中的任何的許多屬性。
    • 如果您使用 FIFO 定期方法或 LIFO 定期評估方法,請更新每個項目的標準的成本目前的成本。
    • 使用存貨的年度結束 Closingwindowto 關閉年份。
    會提供下列選項:
    • 停止提供的移除項目
      如果您按一下以選取非連續的項目] 核取方塊,所有停產的產品有零的項目餘額將會移除在年終程序。可以指定項目,為使用項目維護視窗停用。中斷的項目有為零 (除了套件元件) 的庫存量的數量,而且有沒有 unposted 的交易將會完全移除從庫存模組。如果您使用的服務呼叫管理模組,判斷任何中斷的項目是否存在於任何 unposted 的服務文件。如果中斷項目存在於任何 unposted 的服務文件,就必須張貼文件才能繼續進行。銷售訂單處理的報表、 Invoicing 報表或採購訂單處理的報表和查詢都仍然能夠顯示這些中斷的項目相關資訊。不過,您將無法執行查閱項目數目,因為它已經被移除項目主要資料表中。如果您想要列印的報表,或詢問停產的項目上時,您必須包含的項目編號的範圍內的項目。

      注意如果您選取此選項時,會移除中斷的項目。此外,您將會移除所有的庫存項目的歷程記錄。您將無法回切入庫存歷程記錄,這些項目。
    • 移除售出的回條
      如果您按一下以選取銷售的回條] 核取方塊,將會移除所有銷售的回條,其數量收到金額和數量的銷售金額相等。這是選擇性的步驟中,而且它可能不是程序執行每個年度結束。透過 Invoicing 傳回項目時,這些值可以幫助。因此,您可能不想要移除檔案中的購買收據。

      在 [Microsoft 動態 GP,移除:銷售的回條及成本變更歷程記錄之前收。按一下以選取銷售的回條及成本變更歷程記錄之前收] 核取方塊,若要移除所有銷售量購買收據之項目的平均永久、 最後一個、 第一個出 (LIFO) 永恆或第一個單元,第一個出 (FIFO) 定期評估方法,使用的歷史的成本變更,然後在您輸入的日期。售出的回條、 銷售量的詳細資訊和歷史的成本變更,都將移除您所輸入的日期之前的日期。
    • 移除售出的許多屬性
      如果您按一下以選取 [銷售的許多屬性核取方塊,則值完全賣出的許多數字將會被移除。例如,您也可以移除許多屬性色彩的紅色值如果販售所有許多編號的項目已指派紅色值。
    • 更新項目的標準成本
      如果您按一下以選取項目的標準成本的核取方塊時,標準的成本 FIFO 定期評估方法或 LIFO 定期評估方法已指派的任何項目會自動調整以反映每個項目目前的成本和報酬金額您最近的項目。如果您已登錄製造模組,您將無法選取項目的標準成本的核取方塊。 如需詳細資訊,按一下下面的文件編號,檢視 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:
      930998 Microsoft 動態 GP 中執行的 「 庫存年度結束關閉"常式時,出現錯誤訊息:"更新標準成本彙總套件] 視窗中的標準成本"
      附註: 當您選取的標準成本項目,然後在 [庫存年度結束關閉程序過程中更新項目的標準成本時,您必須有標準成本 Revaluation 帳戶填入關閉年度結束的處理程序的順序列在下面兩個位置其中之一來完成。如果您不需要填入的帳戶來填入您將能夠處理年終之前需要的項目清單列印效果的例外狀況報告。

      1) 卡 > 清查 > 項目 > 說明 (每個週期性的項目)
      2) Microsoft 動態 GP > 工具 > 安裝 > 張貼 > 張貼帳戶 > 清查數列。

    當您選取了所有您想要的選項時,請按一下 [開始年終程序的處理程序]。當關閉年份時,您將無法張貼、 調解數量、 變更評估的方法,或變更項目的的小數位數。
  7. 關閉的會計年度的期間,庫存數列 (可省略)。

    您可以使用 [會計年度的期間安裝] 視窗,以關閉 [會計年度是仍處於開啟狀態的期間。若要開啟 [會計年度的期間安裝] 視窗中,followthis 步驟:
    • 在 [Microsoft 動態 GP,指向 [ Microsoft 動態 GP ] 功能表中的 [工具,指向 [設定、 指向公司,,然後按一下 [會計週期
    這樣可以從意外張貼錯誤的期間或年的交易。請確定您張貼的所有交易的所有模組的年份之前關閉會計年度的期間與期間。如果您稍後有張貼到會計期間,您已經關閉的交易,您必須回到 [會計年度的期間安裝程式] 視窗,來重新開啟您可以在張貼交易前的期間。
  8. 複製最後的備份。

    最終的公司資料檔案備份,並將它保存在安全、 永久儲存區。可以讓您公司的財務位置的永久記錄,在您關閉年的時間。

清查年終秘訣

  • 尚未有人張貼任何新年的交易之前,必須完成關閉的年度結束。
  • 您必須選擇要選取非連續的項目] 核取方塊、售出的回條] 核取方塊或賣出許多屬性] 核取方塊。如果您選取這些核取方塊,將移除所有項目,銷售收入,並銷售有零個平衡的許多屬性,在年終程序期間。
  • 如果您選取標準成本的更新項目] 核取方塊時,標準的成本 FIFO 定期評估方法或 LIFO 定期評估方法已指派的任何項目會自動調整以反映每個項目目前的成本。目前的成本會是您最近的項目所支付的金額。
  • 存貨沒有年結束關閉報告。

清查常見問題集的年度結束

Q1: 如何為項目更新全年和在年終程序期間,當您使用的平均永久的評估方法的平均成本?

A1:如果您使用的平均永久的評估方法,就會平均每個項目所有的回條,決定的平均成本。年終決算不會變更的平均成本。不過,它將會移除已完全銷售購買收據。輸入回條,則在下一次的平均成本將 revalued 和繼續庫存購買收據檔中的收據。

注意在 [Microsoft 動態 GP 9.0,增強功能已仍會進行套用的平均成本的計算。如需有關平均成本的計算的詳細資訊,請按一下下面的文件編號,檢視 「 Microsoft 知識庫 」 中的文件:
923960 在 Microsoft 動態 GP 9.0 中的平均成本的計算所做的增強功能


Q2:Can 庫存的年度結束 Closingwindowbe 用於全年更新項目的標準的成本,如果您使用定期評估方法?

A2:我們不建議這樣做因為開頭數量] 欄位會在年終決算期間更新。這會使該欄位不正確,例如: 重組報表的報表上。此外,所有的摘要的銷售歷程記錄資訊可能不正確地移至下一年。

Q3: 什麼是大平原區中的進行晚期庫存年度結束關閉?

A3:關閉這個模組的年度結束是選擇性的。

在 [摘要] 會在關閉的年度結束期間更新的欄位主要是在報表中用數量摘要。如果這些欄位並不重要的您可能決定不要執行年終。

關閉庫存年度結束將自目前年度的摘要的歷程記錄資訊移至 [最後一年 (如同在歷程記錄卡/庫存之下),並歸零,目前的年份資訊。

我們建議您關閉庫存模組,才能將張貼銷售並購買新的一年中的交易,因為如果您這麼做時,項目的歷程記錄數字不是正確 (如出現在歷程記錄卡/庫存之下)。此外,存貨周轉率報表可能不正確,因為項目的開頭數量的年份不會準確。為了說明,請說出您在 2015年中賣出 100 個項目。然後,您會在 2016年中銷售 10 個額外的項目。您張貼在 2016年中的這些庫存交易事先 2015年年度結束關閉庫存,因此您會有 2016年 110 的銷售數量。在執行 2015 的年度結束點關閉後,您必須設定為 0,而不是 10 您 2016 (目前的年份) 銷售數量和顯示您的 2015 (也就是最後一年) 銷售數量的 110。

行事曆或會計年度的特定檢視模式的庫存中的 [摘要] 視窗會是日期區分。庫存年結束關閉程序不是日期區分。
你 yearend yearend 式年度結束點 2014年 2010年 10.0 iv 2013 2015 inv

警告:本文為自動翻譯

內容

文章識別碼:872713 - 最後檢閱時間:11/20/2015 00:08:00 - 修訂: 0.6

Microsoft Dynamics GP 2015, Microsoft Dynamics GP 2013, Microsoft Dynamics GP 2010, Microsoft Dynamics GP 10.0

  • kbhowto kbinfo kbexpertiseinter kbexpertisebeginner kbmbsmigrate kbmt KB872713 KbMtzh
意見反應

Year-End Closing procedures in Inventory Control in Microsoft Dynamics GP

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 872713 - View products that this article applies to.
  
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

INTRODUCTION

This article discusses how to close the year and how to prepare your inventory records for the new fiscal year in Inventory Control in Microsoft Dynamics GP.

More information

Inventory year-end closing procedures

Follow these steps to close the year and to prepare your inventory records for the new fiscal year. Closing a year transfers all summarized current-year quantity (cost and sales amounts) to transaction history for the items for which you have been keeping a summarized Sales History. The Quantity Sold field for each item is set to zero. These steps also update the amount in each item's Beginning Quantity field to the Quantity on Hand field at each site.

Additional resources

Summary steps

  1. Post all transactions for the year.
  2. Reconcile inventory quantities.
  3. Complete a physical inventory count, and then post any adjustments.
  4. Print additional reports.
  5. Make a backup.
  6. Close the year.
  7. Close the fiscal periods for the Inventory series (optional).
  8. Make a final backup.

Detailed steps

  1. Post all transactions for the year.

    Make sure that all Invoicing transactions, Sales Order Processing transactions, and Inventory transactions for the current year have been entered and then posted before you close the year. This is true so that historical information is accurate for the year you are closing, and year-to-date amounts are accurately stated for the new year. If you want to enter future-period transactions before closing the year, create a new batch that has new transactions. However, do not post the batch until after the year has been closed.
  2. Reconcile inventory quantities.

    Reconcile quantities for all items by using the Reconcile Inventory Quantities window to make sure that your Inventory Control data has not become damaged during the year. To open the Reconcile Inventory Quantities window, follow this step: 
    • In Microsoft Dynamics GP, point to Tools on the Microsoft Dynamics GP menu, point to Utilities, point to Inventory, and then click Reconcile.
    If any differences are found during the reconcile process, the quantities will be adjusted. If adjustments are made, they will be reflected on the Reconcile Report. Additionally, any serial numbers and lot numbers that were added for the adjusted items are included. If you want to change these serial numbers and lot numbers, you can use the Item Transaction Entry window. Enter decrease adjustment transactions to remove the existing serial numbers and the existing lot numbers. Then, enter increase adjustment transactions to enter the correct serial numbers and the correct lot numbers. To open the Item Transaction Entry window, point to Inventory on the Transactions menu, and then click Transaction Entry.
  3. Complete a physical inventory count, and then post any adjustments.
    1. Use the Stock Calendar Maintenance window to set up and then maintain information about when stock counts can be performed and about which days will be counted when the system calculates suggested dates for the next stock count for a specific item-site combination. To open the Stock Calendar Maintenance window, follow this step: 
      • In Microsoft Dynamics GP, point to Tools on the Microsoft Dynamics GP menu, point to Setup, point to Inventory, and then click Stock Calendar.
    2. The Stock Count Cycle Assignment window can be used if you want to assign one stock count frequency to many items. To open the Stock Count Cycle Assignment window, point to Inventory on the Cards menu, and then click Count Cycle Assignment.
    3. Create a Stock Count Schedule. A Stock Count Schedule is a list of the specific items at a specific site that will be counted during a specific count. When you start a stock count schedule, the quantity on hand for each line in the stock count schedule is captured. Later, the actual count number quantities will be compared to the captured values to create default variance transactions. Stock Count Forms can be printed during this process. To open the Stock Count Schedule window, point to Inventory on the Transactions menu, and then click Stock Count Schedule.
    4. Use the Stock Count Entry window to enter information about the results of your stock counts. When you process a stock count, variance transactions are created. If the Autopost Stock Count Variances check box is selected, the transactions will also be posted. To open the Stock Count Entry window, point to Inventory on the Transactions menu, and then click Stock Count Entry.
    Instead of following step 3, you can manually create your adjusting entries. To do this, print a Physical Inventory Checklist by using the Inventory Activity Reports window, and then perform a physical count of your Inventory Items to verify that quantity on hand amounts are accurate for all Items. To open the Inventory Activity Reports window, point to Inventory on the Reports menu, and then click Activity.

    If there are any differences, enter the necessary adjustments in the Item Transaction Entry window, and then post the transactions. To open the Item Transaction Entry window, point to Inventory on the Transactions menu, and then click Transaction Entry.
  4. Print additional reports.

    Print any additional reports that you will need for planning or for your permanent records. The suggested reports are as follows:
    • Stock Status Report
    • Purchase Receipts Report
    • Turnover Report
    • Transaction History Report
    • Serial Number List
    • Lot Number List
    To access the Reports palette, point to Inventory on the Reports menu. Use selections from the Inventory Reports palette to print these reports. If you plan to remove sold purchase receipts during the year-end closing process, we recommend that you print the Purchase Receipts Report to review the receipts that will be removed.
  5. Make a backup.

    Make a backup of all company data. This is true so that you will be able to recover quickly should a power fluctuation or other problem occur during the year-end closing procedure.
  6. Close the year.

    Closing a year performs the following tasks:
    • Transfers all summarized current-year quantity (cost and sales amounts) to transaction history for the Items for which you have been keeping summarized sales history.
    • Updates the amount in the item's Beginning Quantity field to the Quantity on Hand field at each site. Certain reports, such as the Turnover Report, use the amount in the Beginning Quantity field for report calculations.
    • Zeros the Quantity Sold field in Item Quantities Maintenance window for each site.
    • Removes purchase receipts and cost change history for items that have been completely sold.
    • Removes any discontinued items from the Item records that have been completely sold.
    • Removes any lot attributes from the records of lot numbered items if they have been completely sold.
    • Updates the standard cost of each item to the current cost if you use either the FIFO periodic method or the LIFO periodic valuation method.
    • Uses the Inventory Year-End Closing window to close the year.
    The following options are available:
    • Remove discontinued items
      If you click to select the Discontinued Items check box, all discontinued Items that have a zero balance will be removed during the year-end closing process. Items can be designated as discontinued by using the Item Maintenance window. Discontinued Items that have a quantity on hand of zero (except for kit components) and have no unposted transactions will be completely removed from the Inventory module. If you use the Service Call Management module, determine whether any discontinued items exist on any unposted service documents. If discontinued items exist on any unposted service documents, the documents must be posted before you continue. The Sales Order Processing report, the Invoicing report, or the Purchase Order Processing report and inquiries will still be able to display information about these discontinued items. However, you will be unable to perform a lookup on the Item Number because it has been removed from the Item Master table. If you want to print a report or inquire on the discontinued Item, you must include the item within the Item Number range.

      Note If you select this option, you will remove the discontinued items. Additionally, you will remove all inventory history for the items. You will be unable to drill back on the inventory history for these items.
    • Remove sold receipts
      If you click to select the Sold Receipts check box, all sold receipts whose quantity received amounts and quantity sold amounts are equal will be removed. This is an optional step, and it may not be a procedure that is performed every year-end. These values may help when items are returned through Invoicing. Therefore, you may not want to remove the purchase receipts from the file.

      In Microsoft Dynamics GP, remove: Sold Receipts and Cost Change History Prior To. Click to select the Sold Receipts and Cost Change History Prior To check box to remove all sold purchase receipts and historical cost changes for items that use Average Perpetual, Last In, First Out (LIFO) Perpetual, or the First In, First Out (FIFO) Periodic valuation method, and then you enter a date. The sold receipts, quantity sold details, and historical cost changes with dates that come before the date that you entered will be removed.
    • Remove sold lot attributes
      If you click to select the Sold Lot Attributes check box, values for completely sold lot numbers will be removed. For example, you can remove the value red for the lot attribute Color if you have sold all lot numbered items that have been assigned the value red.
    • Update an item's standard cost
      If you click to select the Item's Standard Cost check box, the Standard Cost for any items that have been assigned the FIFO periodic valuation method or the LIFO periodic valuation method will be adjusted automatically to reflect each item's current cost or the amount you most recently paid for the item. If you are registered for the Manufacturing module, you will be unable to select the Item's Standard Cost check box. For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
      930998 Error message when you perform the "Inventory Year-end Closing" routine in Microsoft Dynamics GP: "Update standard costs in the Standard Cost Rollup window"
    When you have selected all the options that you want, click Process to start the year-end closing process. When the year is being closed, you will be unable to post, reconcile quantities, change valuation methods, or change decimal places for items.
  7. Close the fiscal periods for the Inventory series (optional).

    You can use the Fiscal Periods Setup window to close fiscal periods that are still open for the year. To open the Fiscal Periods Setup window, follow this step: 
    • In Microsoft Dynamics GP, point to Tools on the Microsoft Dynamics GP menu, point to Setup, point to Company, and then click Fiscal Periods.
    This keeps transactions from accidentally being posted to the wrong period or year. Make sure that you have posted all transactions for the period and year for all modules before closing fiscal periods. If you later have to post transactions to a fiscal period you have already closed, you must return to the Fiscal Periods Setup window to reopen the period before you can post the transaction.
  8. Make a final backup.

    Make a final backup of the company data files and keep it in safe, permanent storage. This gives you a permanent record of the company's financial position at the time that you closed the year.

Inventory year-end closing tips

  • The year-end close must be done before any transactions for the new year have been posted.
  • You have the option to select the Discontinued Items check box, the Sold Receipts check box, or the Sold Lot Attributes check box. If you select these check boxes, all items, sold receipts, and sold lot attributes that have a zero balance will be removed during the year-end closing process.
  • If you select the Update Item's Standard Cost check box, the standard cost for any items that have been assigned the FIFO periodic valuation method or the LIFO periodic valuation method will be adjusted automatically to reflect each item's current cost. The current cost is the amount that you most recently paid for the Item.
  • There is no Year End Closing report for Inventory.

Inventory year-end frequently asked questions

Q1: How is the average cost of an item updated throughout the year and during the year-end closing process when you use the Average Perpetual valuation method?

A1: If you are using the Average Perpetual valuation method, all receipts for each item will be averaged to determine the average cost. The year-end closing process does not change the average cost. However, it will remove the purchase receipts that have been completely sold. The next time that a receipt is entered, the average cost will be revalued with the receipts that remain in the Inventory Purchase Receipts file.

Note In Microsoft Dynamics GP 9.0, enhancements were made to the calculation of the average cost. For more information about the calculation of average costs, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
923960 Enhancements made to the calculation of average cost in Microsoft Dynamics GP 9.0


Q2: Can the Inventory Year-End Closing window be used throughout the year to update the standard cost of items if you use the Periodic valuation method?

A2: We do not recommend this because the Beginning Quantity field is updated during the year-end closing process. This would make that field incorrect on reports such as the Turnover report. In addition, all summary sales history information would be incorrectly moved to the following year.

Q3: What is the effect of doing a late inventory year-end close in Great Plains?

A3: Year-end closing for this module is optional.

In summary, the fields that are updated during year-end closing are mainly used in reports for quantity summaries. If these fields are not important, you may decide not to run year-end closing.

The inventory year-end close moves the summary history information from the current year to last year (as seen under Cards/Inventory/History), and zeroes out the current year information.

We recommended that you close the inventory module before you post sales and purchase transactions in the new year because, if you do this, the item's history numbers will not be accurate (as seen under Cards/Inventory/History.) Also, the Inventory Turnover Report may not be accurate, because the item's beginning quantities for the year will not be accurate. To illustrate, say you sold 100 items in 2013. Then, you sold 10 additional items in 2014. You posted these 2014 inventory transactions. Before doing 2013 year-end close for inventory, you will have a quantity sold of 110 in 2014. After the 2013 year end close, you will have a value of 0 instead of 10 for your 2014 (Current Year) Sales Quantity and 210 for your 2013 (Last Year) Sales Quantity.

The summary windows in inventory with the specific views of calendar or fiscal year are date-sensitive. The inventory year end close process is not date-sensitive.

Properties

Article ID: 872713 - Last Review: October 23, 2013 - Revision: 14.0
Applies to
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2013
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2010
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 10.0, when used with:
    • Inventory Control
Keywords: 
kbhowto kbinfo kbexpertiseinter kbexpertisebeginner kbmbsmigrate KB872713

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com