أنت غير متصل حاليًا، وفي انتظار الإنترنت الخاص بك ليقوم بإعادة الاتصال

كيفية تكوين خدمة "وقت Windows" مقابل إزاحة وقت كبيرة

انتهاء دعم نظام التشغيل Windows XP

لقد أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم Windows XP في 8 أبريل، 2014. وقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

انتهي دعم Windows Server 2003 في 14 يوليو 2015!

أنهت شركة Microsoft دعم نظام التشغيل Windows Server 2003 في 14 يوليو 2015. لقد أثر هذا التغيير على تحديثات البرامج لديك وخيارات الأمان الخاصة بك. تعرف على ما يعنيه ذلك فيما يتعلق بك وكيفية الحفاظ على حمايتك.

هام: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة باستخدام برامج مايكروسوفت للترجمة الآلية ومن المحتمل ان يتم تحريرها او تدقيقها بعد ذلك من خلال تكنولوجيا منصة مجموعات الترجمة(CTF) او من خلال مترجم بشري. تقدم لك شركة مايكروسوفت هذه المقالات المترجمة بشكل آلي او بالترجمة البشرية او بعد تحريرها وتدقيقها من قبل مجموعات الترجمة حتى تمكنكم من الوصول إلى جميع المقالات الموجودة في قواعد المعرفة لديها بلغات مختلفة. إلا أن المقالات المترجمة قد تحتوي على أخطاء في المفردات او بناء الجمل او النحو. وعليه، فإن شركة مايكروسوفت ليست مسؤولة عن اية أخطاء او عدم دقة في الترجمة او أية أضرار قد تحدث نتيجة أخطاء في ترجمة محتويات النص او استخدامه من قبل العملاء.

اضغط هنا لرابط المقالة باللغة الانجليزية884776
مقدمة حول
تتضمن أنظمة التشغيل Windows أداة "خدمة الوقت" (خدمة W32Time) المستخدمة من قبل بروتوكول مصادقة Kerberos. ستعمل مصادقة Kerberos إذا كان الفاصل الزمني بين أجهزة الكمبيوتر ذات الصلة ضمن skew الحد الأقصى لوقت ممكن. القيمة الافتراضية 5 ثوان. يمكنك أيضا إيقاف تشغيل أداة "خدمة الوقت". ثم، يمكنك تثبيت خدمة وقت خارجية.

غرض أداة "خدمة الوقت" هو التأكد من أن كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر في مؤسسة التي تقوم بتشغيل Microsoft Windows 2000 أو الإصدارات الأحدث من أنظمة تشغيل Windows تستخدم توقيتا مشتركاً. للتأكد من أن يتم استخدام توقيت مشترك مناسب، تستخدم "خدمة الوقت" علاقة ذات تسلسل هرمي تتحكم في المرجع. بشكل افتراضي، تستخدم أجهزة الكمبيوتر المستندة إلى Windows التسلسل الهرمي التالي:
  • كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر المكتبية العميلة بترشيح وحدة التحكم بالمجال كمصدر وقت موثوق بهم.
  • في مجال، اتبع كافة ملقمات نفس العملية التي تتبعها أجهزة الكمبيوتر المكتبية العميلة.
  • ترشيح كافة وحدات تحكم المجال في مجال المجال الأساسية (PDC) من وحدة تحكم العمليات الرئيسية كمصدر وقت.
  • يتبع كافة رؤساء عمليات التسلسل الهرمي للمجالات في تحديد مصدر الوقت الخاص بهم. ومع ذلك، قد استخدم رؤساء عمليات وحدة تحكم مجال أصل استناداً إلى ترقيم stratum.

    ملاحظة تحديد رقم طبقة كيفية إغلاق ملقم وقت على مصدر المرجع الأساسي. كلما كان العدد صغيراً، اقترب الخادم مصدر الوقت الأساسي.
في هذا التسلسل الهرمي، يصبح عمليات pdc في الجذر الخاص بالمجال الأم خادم التوقيت الموثوق للمؤسسة. نحن ننصح بشدة أن تقوم بتكوين خادم التوقيت الموثوق لتجميع الوقت من مصدر جهاز. عند محاولة تكوين خادم التوقيت الموثوق للمزامنة مع أحد مصادر وقت إنترنت، لن توجد مصادقة. كما يوصي بتخفيض إعدادات تصحيح الوقت للخوادم وأجهزة الكمبيوتر العميلة المستقلة. عند اتباع هذه التوصيات، تم توفير وقت أكثر دقة للمجال.
معلومات أخرى
وأظهرت مراجعة عند وقت أن أجهزة الكمبيوتر يمكن أن تعتمد على الوقت الذي يمكن أن تكون الأيام أو الشهور سنوات أو حتى عشرات السنين في المستقبل أو في الماضي. يمكن أن تحدث المشكلات التالية في أجهزة الكمبيوتر لف إلى الأمام أو اللف إلى الخلف في الوقت:
  • يمكن تحديث كلمات المرور على حسابات الكمبيوتر وحسابات المستخدمين وعلاقات الثقة قبل الأوان.
  • يمكن تعريف تلحق ب 2042 الأحداث النسخ المتماثل NTDS النسخ المتماثل لخدمة الدليل Active Directory.
  • موثوقة يستعاد عدم تطابق كلمات المرور لحسابات الكمبيوتر أو لحسابات المستخدمين، أو لعلاقات الثقة. قد يتطلب الاسترداد من حالات عدم التطابق هذا إعادة تعيين كلمة المرور يدوياً على كافة الحسابات وعلى ثقة من أن تتأثر.

كيف تحمي من الوقت التي تظهر عند إعادة توجيه والوقت

عندما يتم إعادة تشغيل أجهزة الكمبيوتر ودورات السلطة، يحتفظ BIOS الوقت في EPROM المحلية الموجودة على اللوحة الأم للكمبيوتر. عند بدء تشغيل Windows، تسحب kernel الوقت الحالي من BIOS. كهذا في الوقت الحالي المرة الأولى حتى يمكن مزامنة خدمة W32Time مع مصدر وقت آخر.

تدعم خدمة الوقت في Windows 32 اثنين وإدخالات التسجيل، MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection. تقييد هذه الإدخالات العينات التي تقبل خدمة الوقت على كمبيوتر محلي عند تلك العينات التي تم إرسالها من كمبيوتر بعيد.

عندما يتلقى كمبيوتر قيد التشغيل في حالة مستقرة عينة وقت من مصدر الوقت الخاص به، يتم فحص العينة مقابل حدود تصحيح المرحلة التي تفرض إدخالات السجل MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection. إذا كان نموذج الوقت يقع ضمن الحدود التي تفرض إدخالات التسجيل اثنين، قبول هذا النموذج لإجراء معالجة إضافية. إذا كان نموذج الوقت لا تقع ضمن هذه الحدود، يتم تجاهل نموذج الوقت وخدمة الوقت بتسجيل الرسالة التالية في ملف سجل خاص W32Time:
*TOO BIG*
إذا المسؤولين تقليل قيمة التصحيحات مرحلة إيجابية وسلبية، المسؤولين تقليل التهديد أجهزة الكمبيوتر سيتلقى الوقت من العينات وقت غير صحيح لجهاز كمبيوتر يستند إلى Windows. على الجانب الآخر، إذا المسؤولين خفض القيمة، المسؤولين قد منع أجهزة الكمبيوتر من كونه الأمام أو خلف الوقت الحالي بأكثر من حدود تفرض هذه القيم.

ملاحظة إذا كان يتم تخفيض قيم إدخال التسجيل للتصحيحات الموجبة والسالبة، أن وقت زيادتها أو إنقاصها.

القيمة الافتراضية لإدخالات التسجيل MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection في نظام التشغيل Windows 2000 وفي نظام التشغيل Windows XP في Windows Server 2003 ونظام التشغيل Windows vista هي القيمة التالية:
0xFFFFFFF
هذه القيمة يمكن الكمبيوتر لتلقي وقت موجود في أي نموذج الوقت، بغض النظر عن عدم الدقة.

في Windows Server 2008، تم اعتماد قيمة افتراضية جديدة لإدخالات التسجيل MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection. هذه القيمة الافتراضية الجديدة 48 ساعة. ويمكن عرض هذه القيمة 48 ساعة كأحد القيم التالية:
  • 2a300 (ست عشري)
  • 172800 (عشري)
نوصي بأن يتم تعيين إدخالات التسجيل MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection إلى قيمة غير القيمة التالية:
الحد الأقصى (0XFFFFFFFF)
ملاحظة عند تعيين القيمة إلى قيمة أخرى الحد الأقصى (0xFFFFFFFF)، يمكنك منع أجهزة الكمبيوتر من وقت اعتماد غير دقيق جداً في سيناريوهات حيث يتم إعادة تشغيل الكمبيوتر أو تعطل الاتصال بمصدر زمني خارجي. على سبيل المثال، خذ بعين الاعتبار الحالة التي لديك في MaxPosPhaseCorrection وتعيين إدخالات التسجيل MaxNegPhaseCorrection لمدة 48 ساعة على كافة وحدات تحكم المجال في المجال الأم. إذا واجه أية وحدة تحكم مجال واحدة الانتقال فترة غير عادية لأكثر من 48 ساعة، القيمة التي قمت بتعيينها MaxPosPhaseCorrection وإدخالات التسجيل MaxNegPhaseCorrection يمنع أجهزة الكمبيوتر الأخرى من إجراء الانتقال في الوقت نفسه. لذلك، يمكن الاحتفاظ أجهزة الكمبيوتر غير متزامنة فضلا عن أجهزة الكمبيوتر الأخرى حتى يمكن التحقيق المسؤول واتخاذ إجراءات تصحيحية.

دقة الوقت مهم بشكل خاص على الغابات جذر وحدة تحكم المجال الأساسية (PDC). لأن مصدر وقت الجذر للمجال PDC، يمكن أن تسبب تغييرات التوقيت غير دقيقة على PDC الانتقال عبر النطاق وقت. إذا فرض قيود تصحيح مرحلة على PDC، يمكنك منع وحدات تحكم مجال أخرى في المجال الأم من قبول الوقت الجديد.

القيمة الافتراضية ل 48 ساعة بدلاً من قيمة افتراضية 5 دقائق أو 15 دقيقة استناداً إلى الأسباب التالية:
  • الإخراج من الأداة المساعدة W32TM صعوبة في القراءة.
  • W32TM حاليا لا تستهدف الوقت على أجهزة الكمبيوتر الأعضاء وعلى الملقمات الأعضاء.
  • الأخطاء والأحداث التي سجل نظام التشغيل Windows والتطبيقات من جهة خارجية مستقلة غير متناسقة عالية. تتضمن الأخطاء المحتملة رموز الإرجاع مشابهة لما يلي:
    • تم رفض الوصول
    • ملقم RPC غير متوفر
    ملاحظة هذه الأخطاء لها علاقة متبادلة منخفضة إلى ميل الوقت لأنه قد السبب منع اعتماد قيمة وقت بدقة أجهزة الكمبيوتر المستندة إلى Windows.
  • يمكن أن يسبب أخطاء التوقيت الصيفي الاختلافات الوقت ساعة واحدة.
  • يؤدي تكوين خاطئ ص أو م اختلاف وقت 12 ساعة.
  • أخطاء اليوم أو تاريخ حدوث اختلاف وقت حسب 24 ساعة.
ولذلك، كان 48 ساعة إزاحة الوقت واضحة التالي بعد 25 أو 36 ساعة. يمكن للمسؤولين أيضا الحد القيمة باستخدام أدوات صحة تقرير البنية التحتية والاختبار.

توصيات محددة وفقا لدور الكمبيوتر وإصدار نظام التشغيل موصوفة في المقاطع التالية.

كافة إصدارات Windows Server 2003 و Windows XP Professional

ملقمات المجال

جذر الغابة PDC (خادم الوقت الموثوق به)
نحن ننصح بشدة أن تقوم بتكوين خادم التوقيت الموثوق لتجميع الوقت من مصدر جهاز. عندما تقوم بتكوين خادم التوقيت الموثوق للمزامنة مع أحد مصادر وقت إنترنت، لن توجد مصادقة. يجب إعادة تكوين إدخالات التسجيل التالية:
  • MaxPosPhaseCorrection
  • MaxNegPhaseCorrection
القيمة الافتراضية لهذه إدخالات التسجيل هي 0xFFFFFFFF. تعني هذه القيمة الافتراضية "قبول أي تغيير الوقت." نوصي بقيمة 48 ساعة. وهذا يتمثل في التسجيل ك 2a300 (ست عشري) أو 172800 (عشري). نوصي بتعيين قيمة ماكسبولينتيرفال إدخال التسجيل 10 أو أقل أو أن لك تعيين قيمة إدخال التسجيل سبيسيالبولينتيرفال إلى 3600 (ساعة) أو أقل.
وحدات التحكم بالمجال والملقمات الأعضاء داخل المجال
تحتوي إدخالات السجل MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection قيمة افتراضية 0xFFFFFFFF. تعني هذه القيمة الافتراضية "قبول أي تغيير الوقت." نوصي بتعيين هذه القيمة إلى 48 ساعة على كافة وحدات تحكم المجال. يمكنك أيضا تعيين القيمة 48 ساعة على الخوادم الأعضاء التي تقوم بتشغيل التطبيقات المستندة إلى الحساسة للوقت.

ملاحظة لمزيد من المعلومات حول إدخالات السجل هذه، راجع المقطع "Windows الخادم 2003 و Windows XP إدخالات سجل خدمة وقت".

أجهزة الكمبيوتر العميلة المستقلة

إدخالات السجل MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection تحتوي على قيمة افتراضية 54000 (15 ساعة). وكأفضل طريقة أمان، نوصي بتخفيض هذه القيمة الافتراضية. كما يوصي بتعيين القيمة إلى 3600 (ساعة واحدة) أو قيمة أصغر، تبعاً لمصدر وقت الكشف عن شبكة الاتصال على فاصل الاستقصاء الزمني وعلى متطلبات الأمان.

إدخالات خدمة الوقت في Windows XP و Windows Server 2003

إدخال التسجيلMaxPosPhaseCorrection
نوع القيمةDWORD
المفتاح الفرعي
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config
ملاحظاتهذا الإدخال بتحديد أكبر تصحيح وقت موجب بالثواني التي يمكن أن تقدمها الخدمة. إذا حددت الخدمة أن تغييرا أكبر من هذا مطلوب، تقوم بتسجيل حدث بدلاً من ذلك. حالة خاصة: 0xFFFFFFFF تعني إجراء تصحيح الوقت دائماً. القيمة الافتراضية لأعضاء المجال هي 0xFFFFFFFF. القيمة الافتراضية لالعميله والخوادم المستقلة هي 54000 (15 ساعة).
إدخال التسجيلMaxNegPhaseCorrection
نوع القيمةDWORD
المفتاح الفرعي
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config
ملاحظاتهذا الإدخال بتحديد أكبر تصحيح وقت سالب بالثواني التي يمكن أن تقدمها الخدمة. إذا حددت الخدمة أن تغييرا أكبر من هذا مطلوب، تقوم بتسجيل حدث بدلاً من ذلك. حالة خاصة:-1 تعني إجراء تصحيح الوقت دائماً. القيمة الافتراضية لأعضاء المجال هي 0xFFFFFFFF. القيمة الافتراضية لالعميله والخوادم المستقلة هي 54000 (15 ساعة).
إدخال التسجيلماكسبولينتيرفال
نوع القيمةDWORD
المفتاح الفرعي
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config
ملاحظاتهذا الإدخال بتحديد أكبر فاصل زمني بالثواني الذي تم تمكينه للفاصل الزمني للتحقق من النظام. لاحظ أنه، على الرغم من أنه يجب أن يقوم نظام بالاستقصاء وفقا للفاصل الزمني المجدول، يمكن أن يرفض موفر بإنشاء نماذج عند طلب عينات. القيمة الافتراضية لأعضاء المجال هي 10. القيمة الافتراضية لالعميله والخوادم المستقلة هي 15.
إدخال التسجيلسبيسيالبولينتيرفال
نوع القيمةDWORD
المفتاح الفرعي
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\TimeProviders\NtpClient
ملاحظاتهذا الإدخال بتحديد فاصل الاستقصاء الزمني الخاص بالثواني للنظائر اليدوية. عند تمكين الإشارة SpecialInterval 0x1، يستخدم W32Time فاصل الاستقصاء الزمني هذا بدلاً من فاصل استقصاء زمني الذي يحدد نظام التشغيل. القيمة الافتراضية لأعضاء المجال هي 3600. والقيمة الافتراضية العميلة والخوادم المستقلة هي 604800.
ملاحظة نوصي باستخدام محرر الكائن "السياسة العالمية" لنشر هذه الإعدادات. لمزيد من المعلومات حول خدمة الوقت في Windows في مجموعة تفرعات المستندة إلى Windows Server 2003، قم بزيارة موقع Microsoft TechNet على ويب التالي:قد لا تطابق القيم الافتراضية التي تم تعريفها في السجل من وحدات تحكم المجال المستندة إلى Windows Server 2003 في وقت Windows الخدمة المعلمة القيم الافتراضية التي تم تعريفها في كائن "نهج المجموعة" (GPO). عند نشر القيم MaxPosPhaseCorrection و MaxNegPhaseCorrection إلى وحدات تحكم مجال Windows Server 2003 باستخدام كائن نهج مجموعة، تأكد من أن كائن نهج المجموعة لا تغيير قيم المعلمات الأخرى خدمة الوقت في Windows في التسجيل. قيم معلمات خدمة الوقت في Windows أخرى قد يلزم أيضا تغيير في GPO لمطابقة قيم التسجيل الافتراضي في وحدات التحكم بالمجال.

كافة إصدارات Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (SP4)

ملقمات المجال

جذر الغابة PDC (خادم الوقت الموثوق به)
نحن ننصح بشدة أن تقوم بتكوين خادم التوقيت الموثوق لتجميع الوقت من مصدر جهاز. عندما تقوم بتكوين خادم التوقيت الموثوق للمزامنة مع أحد مصادر وقت إنترنت، لن توجد مصادقة في الوضع اليدوي. يجب إعادة تكوين إدخال التسجيل ماكسالوويدكلوكيرينسكس. القيمة الافتراضية هي 43,200. القيمة الموصى بها هي 900 (15 دقيقة) أو قيمة أصغر، اعتماداً على مصدر الوقت على شروط الشبكة، وعلى متطلبات الأمان. وهذا يتوقف أيضا على فاصل الاستقصاء الزمني. نوصي بأن يتم تعيين قيمة الفاصل الزمني للاستقصاء إلى ساعة واحدة لكل 24 ساعة.

ملاحظة لمزيد من المعلومات حول إدخال السجل هذا راجع المقطع "Windows Server 2000 SP 4 تسجيل الدخول".
وحدات التحكم بالمجال والملقمات الأعضاء داخل المجال
هو نوع المزامنة NT5DS. مزامنة خدمة الوقت من التسلسل الهرمي للمجال وخدمة الوقت قبول كافة التغييرات الزمنية. NT5DS يقبل أي تغيير الوقت دون النظر إلى إزاحة الوقت، من المهم جداً إعداد من مصدر وقت لجذر مجموعة تفرعات موثوقة في الشبكة الفرعية لمزامنة الوقت.

ملاحظة تشير قيمة NT5DS إلى الحصول على نوع المزامنة من إدخال تسجيل.

أجهزة الكمبيوتر العميلة المستقلة

إدخال التسجيل ماكسالوويدكلوكيرينسكس له قيمة افتراضية البالغ 200 43 (12 ساعة). وكأفضل طريقة أمان، نوصي بتخفيض هذه القيمة الافتراضية. نوصي بتعيين القيمة إلى 3600 (ساعة واحدة) أو قيمة أصغر، اعتماداً على مصدر الوقت على شروط الشبكة على فاصل الاستقصاء الزمني وعلى متطلبات الأمان.
إدخال التسجيل Windows Server 2000 SP 4
إدخال التسجيلماكسالوويدكلوكيرينسكس
نوع القيمةDWORD
المفتاح الفرعي
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Parameters
ملاحظاتتحديد تغيير الساعة أقصى قدر ممكن بالثواني. عندما يتم تسجيل الحدث، يتم ضبط الوقت لا استناداً إلى القيمة. يحدث هذا السلوك المساعدة في الحماية ضد أي نشاط ختم الوقت مريبة. القيمة الافتراضية لأعضاء المجال هي 43,200.

تحذير: تمت ترجمة هذه المقالة تلقائيًا

خصائص

رقم الموضوع: 884776 - آخر مراجعة: 03/11/2014 01:15:00 - المراجعة: 14.0

Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86), Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition

  • kbsecurity kbhowto kbinfo kbmt KB884776 KbMtar
تعليقات
isplay: none; " src="https://c1.microsoft.com/c.gif?DI=4050&did=1&t=">=">

Article ID: 884776 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

INTRODUCTION

Windows operating systems include the Time Service tool (W32Time service) that is used by the Kerberos authentication protocol. Kerberos authentication will work if the time interval between the relevant computers is within the maximum enabled time skew. The default is 5 minutes. You can also turn off the Time Service tool. Then, you can install a third-party time service.

The purpose of the Time Service tool is to make sure that all the computers in an organization that are running Microsoft Windows 2000 or later versions of Windows operating systems use a common time. To make sure that there is an appropriate common time usage, the Time Service uses a hierarchical relationship that controls authority. By default, Windows-based computers use the following hierarchy:
  • All the client desktop computers nominate the authenticating domain controller as their authoritative time source.
  • In a domain, all the servers follow the same process that client desktop computers follow.
  • All domain controllers in a domain nominate the primary domain controller (PDC) operations master as their time source.
  • All PDC operations masters follow the hierarchy of domains in the selection of their time source. However, the PDC operations masters may use a parent domain controller that is based on stratum numbering.

    Note A stratum number defines how close a time server is to the primary reference source. The smaller the number, the closer the server is to the primary time source.
In this hierarchy, the PDC operations master at the root of the forest becomes the authoritative time server for the organization. We highly recommend that you configure the authoritative time server to collect the time from a hardware source. When you try to configure the authoritative time server to sync with an Internet time source, there is no authentication. We also recommend that you reduce your time correction settings for the servers and for the stand-alone clients. When you follow these recommendations, more accurate time is provided to the domain.

MORE INFORMATION

A review of time rollbacks has shown that computers can adopt time that can be days, months, years or even tens of years in the future or in the past. The following issues can occur when computers roll forward or roll backward in time:
  • Passwords on computer accounts, on user accounts and on trust relationships can be prematurely updated.
  • Quarantines can be identified by NTDS Replication Event 2042 in Active Directory directory service replication.
  • The mismatch of passwords is authoritatively restored for computer accounts, for user accounts, or for trust relationships. The recovery from such mismatches may require manual password resets on all accounts and trusts that are affected.

How to protect against time that rolls forward and time rollbacks

When computers and power cycles are restarted, the BIOS maintains time in the local EPROM that is located on the computer’s motherboard. When Windows starts, the kernel pulls the current time from the BIOS. This current time is used as the initial time until the W32Time service can sync up with another time source.

The Windows 32 time service supports two registry entries, the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and the MaxNegPhaseCorrection. These entries restrict the samples that the time service accepts on a local computer when those samples are sent from a remote computer.

When a computer that is running in a steady state receives a time sample from its time source, the sample is checked against the phase correction boundaries that the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries impose. If the time sample falls within the limits that the two registry entries enforce, this sample is accepted for additional processing. If the time sample does not fall within these limits, the time sample is ignored, and the time service logs the following message in the W32Time private log file:
*TOO BIG*
If administrators reduce the value for positive and negative phase corrections, administrators can reduce the threat that computers will receive time from invalid time samples for a Windows-based computer. On the other hand, if administrators reduce the value, administrators may prevent computers from being ahead or behind the current time by more than the limits these values impose.

Note If the registry entry values for positive and negative corrections are reduced, time will be increased or decreased.

The default value for the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries in Windows 2000, in Windows XP, in Windows Server 2003, and in Windows Vista is the following value:
0xFFFFFFF
This value enables the computer to receive the time that is contained in any time sample, regardless of inaccuracy.

In Windows Server 2008, a new default value for the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries has been adopted. This new default value is 48 hours. This 48-hour value can be represented as either of the following values:
  • 2a300 (hexadecimal)
  • 172800 (decimal)
We recommend that the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries are set to a value that is other than the following value:
MAX (0xFFFFFFFF)
Note When you set the value to a value other than MAX (0xFFFFFFFF), you can prevent computers from adopting time that is very inaccurate in the scenarios where the computer is restarted or the connectivity to external time sources is disrupted. For example, consider the case in which you have the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries set for 48 hours on all domain controllers in the forest. If any single domain controller experiences an unusual time jump of more than 48 hours, the value that you set for the MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries will prevent other computers from making the same time jump. Therefore, computers that are out of sync can be kept apart from the other computers until the administrator can investigate and take corrective action.

Time accuracy is especially important on the forest root primary domain controller (PDC). Because the PDC is the root time source for the domain, inaccurate time changes on the PDC can potentially cause a domain-wide time jump. If you impose phase correction restrictions on the PDC, you can prevent other domain controllers in the forest from accepting the new time.

The default value of 48 hours instead of a default value of 5 minutes or 15 minutes is based on the following reasons:
  • Output from W32TM utility is difficult to read.
  • W32TM currently does not target time on member computers and on member servers.
  • The errors and the events that the Windows operating system and stand-alone third-party applications log are highly inconsistent. Possible errors include return codes that resembles the following:
    • access denied
    • RPC Server is unavailable
    Note These errors have a low correlation to the time skew because the cause may prevent Windows-based computers from adopting an accurate time value.
  • Daylight saving time bugs can cause 1-hour time differences.
  • AM or PM misconfiguration can cause a 12-hour time difference.
  • Day or date mistakes can cause a 24-hour time difference.
Therefore, 48 hours was the next obvious time offset after 25 or 36 hours. Administrators can also reduce the value with correct tools that report infrastructure and testing.

Specific recommendations according to operating system version and computer role are described in the following sections.

Windows XP Professional and all versions of Windows Server 2003

Domain servers

Forest root PDC (authoritative time server)
We highly recommend that you configure the authoritative time server to collect the time from a hardware source. When you configure the authoritative time server to sync with an Internet time source, there is no authentication. You must reconfigure the following registry entries:
  • MaxPosPhaseCorrection
  • MaxNegPhaseCorrection
The default value of these two registry entries is 0xFFFFFFFF. This default value means "Accept any time change." We recommend a value that is 48 hours. This is represented in the registry as 2a300 (hexadecimal) or 172800 (decimal). We recommend that you set the value of the MaxPollInterval registry entry to 10 or less or that you set the value of the SpecialPollInterval registry entry to 3600 (1 hour) or less.
Domain controllers and member servers inside the domain
The MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries have a default value of 0xFFFFFFFF. This default value means "Accept any time change." We recommend setting this value to 48 hours on all domain controllers. The 48 hours value can also be set on member servers that are running time sensitive-based applications.

Note For more information about these registry entries, see the "Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP Time Service registry entries" section.

Stand-alone clients

The MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection registry entries have a default value of 54,000 (15 hours). As a security best practice, we recommend that you reduce this default value. We also recommend that you set the value to 3600 (1 hour) or an even smaller value, depending on time source, on network condition, on poll interval, and on security requirements.

Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP Time Service registry entries

Collapse this tableExpand this table
Registry EntryMaxPosPhaseCorrection
Value TypeDWORD
Subkey
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config
NotesThis entry specifies the largest positive time correction in seconds that the service can make. If the service determines that a change larger than this is required, it logs an event instead. Special case: 0xFFFFFFFF means to always make the time correction. The default value for domain members is 0xFFFFFFFF. The default value for stand-alone clients and servers is 54,000 (15 hours).
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Registry EntryMaxNegPhaseCorrection
Value TypeDWORD
Subkey
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config
NotesThis entry specifies the largest negative time correction in seconds that the service can make. If the service determines that a change larger than this is required, it logs an event instead. Special case: -1 means always make the time correction. The default value for domain members is 0xFFFFFFFF. The default value for stand-alone clients and servers is 54,000 (15 hours).
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Registry EntryMaxPollInterval
Value TypeDWORD
Subkey
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config
NotesThis entry specifies the largest interval, in seconds, that is enabled for the system polling interval. Notice that, although a system must poll according to the scheduled interval, a provider can refuse to produce samples when samples are requested. The default value for domain members is 10. The default value for stand-alone clients and servers is 15.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Registry EntrySpecialPollInterval
Value TypeDWORD
Subkey
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\TimeProviders\NtpClient
NotesThis entry specifies the special poll interval in seconds for manual peers. When the SpecialInterval 0x1 flag is enabled, W32Time uses this poll interval instead of a poll interval that the operating system determines. The default value on domain members is 3,600. The default value on stand-alone clients and servers is 604,800.
Note We recommend that you use the Global Policy object Editor to deploy these settings. For more information about the Windows Time service in a Windows Server 2003-based forest, visit the following Microsoft TechNet Web site:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc773061.aspx
The default Windows Time service parameter values that are defined in the Group Policy object (GPO) may not match the default values that are defined in the registry of Windows Server 2003-based domain controllers. When you deploy MaxPosPhaseCorrection and MaxNegPhaseCorrection values to Windows Server 2003 domain controllers by using a GPO, make sure that the GPO is not changing the values of other Windows Time service parameters in the registry. Other Windows Time service parameter values may also have to be changed in the GPO to match the default registry values in the domain controllers.

All versions of Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (SP4)

Domain servers

Forest root PDC (authoritative time server)
We highly recommend that you configure the authoritative time server to collect the time from a hardware source. When you configure the authoritative time server to sync with an Internet time source, there is no authentication in manual mode. You must reconfigure the MaxAllowedClockErrInSecs registry entry. The default value is 43,200. The recommended value is 900 (15 minutes) or an even smaller value, depending on time source, on network conditions, and on security requirements. This also depends on the poll interval. We recommend that the poll interval value is set to one hour for every 24 hours.

Note For more information about this registry entry see the "Windows Server 2000 SP 4 registry entry" section.
Domain controllers and member servers inside the domain
The synchronization type is NT5DS. The time service synchronizes from the domain hierarchy and the time service accepts all time changes. Because NT5DS accepts any time change without considering the time offset, it is very important to set up a reliable forest root time source in the time sync subnet.

Note The NT5DS value indicates that the synchronization type is obtained from a registry entry.

Stand-alone clients

The MaxAllowedClockErrInSecs registry entry has a default value of 43,200 (12 hours). As a security best practice, we recommend that you reduce this default value. We recommend that you set the value to 3600 (1 hour) or to an even smaller value, depending on time source, on network conditions, on poll interval, and on security requirements.
Windows Server 2000 SP 4 registry entry
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Registry EntryMaxAllowedClockErrInSecs
Value TypeDWORD
Subkey
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Parameters
NotesSpecifies the maximum clock change that is enabled in seconds. When the event is logged, the time is not adjusted based on the value. This behavior occurs to help protect against any suspicious time stamp activity. The default value for domain members is 43,200.

Properties

Article ID: 884776 - Last Review: September 11, 2011 - Revision: 12.0
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition
Keywords: 
kbsecurity kbhowto kbinfo KB884776

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com