你目前正处于脱机状态,正在等待 Internet 重新连接

在 Windows XP 中启用系统缓存模式之前需考虑的事项

针对 Windows XP 的支持已终止

Microsoft 已于 2014 年 4 月 8 日终止了针对 Windows XP 的支持。该更改已影响到您的软件更新和安全选项。 了解这一措施对于您的含义以及如何继续保持受保护状态。

简介
“系统缓存”模式控制 Microsoft Windows 分配给文件缓存的内存与分配给应用程序的内存之间的分区。将在启动过程中对系统缓存资源进行分区,并且这些资源不会发生变化。“系统缓存”模式旨在通过增加系统的文件缓存大小来提高 Windows 服务器的性能。通常,如果从系统缓存读取信息而不是从硬盘重复读取信息,则 Web 服务器和其他基于服务器的文件共享程序的性能较高。当适当地使用系统缓存时,文件服务器的性能会得以提高。

如果通过从“系统缓存”模式切换到“程序”模式使性能得到了提高,则操作系统的内存资源将比较少。这一情况会影响整个系统。任何要求更多资源的驱动程序可能不会获得所请求的资源。各个驱动程序和应用程序可能会以不同方式处理此资源限制。因此,很难确定根本原因。

注意:默认情况下,在 Microsoft Windows Server 2003 中启用“系统缓存”模式,而在 Microsoft Windows XP 中禁用该模式。
更多信息
“系统缓存”模式主要用于充当服务器的 Windows 服务器产品。当您将 Windows XP 用作文件服务器时,“系统缓存”模式还可以有限制地用于 Windows XP。此模式不用于日常桌面操作。如果您将服务器产品用作桌面,则应该考虑更改分配给“程序”模式的资源或添加更多的物理 RAM。

当您在使用基于统一内存架构 (UMA) 的视频硬件或加速图形端口 (AGP) 的计算机上启用“系统缓存”模式时,系统性能可能会现严重降低。例如,此类性能降低可能表现为:系统性能非常低、出现 Stop 错误、无法启动计算机、无法加载设备或应用程序,以及系统不稳定。

在启动过程中初始化这些组件的驱动程序将消耗大量剩余的应用程序内存。而且,当此时又发生以下情况时,系统的 RAM 可能不足:
  • 其他驱动程序和桌面用户服务请求其他资源。
  • 桌面用户传输大型文件。
要在 Windows XP 中配置系统缓存,请按照下列步骤操作:
  1. 单击“开始”,单击“运行”,键入 sysdm.cpl,然后单击“确定”。
  2. 单击“高级”选项卡。
  3. 在“性能”区域中,单击“设置”。
  4. 单击“高级”选项卡。
  5. 在“内存使用”区域中,选择下列配置之一:
    • 如果您的计算机用作工作站而非服务器,请单击“程序”。这将提高程序的运行速度,系统缓存大小将为 Windows XP 附带的默认大小。
    • 如果您的计算机用作服务器或者使用的程序需要大量系统缓存,请单击“系统缓存”。
  6. 单击“应用”,然后重新启动计算机。
“系统缓存”模式将启用位于以下注册表子项下的 LargeSystemCache 注册表项:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management
注意 如果计算机未启动,则可以在启动计算机时选择“最近一次的正确配置”选项。这样会将 LargeSystemCache 注册表项设置重置回其默认设置。

有关 LargeSystemCache 注册表项的更多信息,请访问下面的 Microsoft 网页:有关相关主题的更多信息,请单击下面的文章编号,以查看 Microsoft 知识库中相应的文章:
189327如何将适配器 RAM 映射到进程地址空间
属性

文章 ID:895932 - 上次审阅时间:01/09/2008 10:10:00 - 修订版本: 4.1

  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
  • kbtshoot KB895932
反馈

Things to consider before you enable System cache mode in Windows XP

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 895932 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

INTRODUCTION

System cache mode controls the partitioning between the memory that Microsoft Windows allocates to file caching and the memory that Windows allocates to applications. System cache resources are partitioned during startup and do not change. System cache mode is designed to improve the performance of Windows servers by increasing the system’s file cache size. Web servers and other server-based file sharing programs generally perform better when information is read from the system cache instead of read repeatedly from the hard disk. When the system cache is used appropriately, file server performance improves.

If performance improves by switching from System cache mode to Programs mode, the operating system is being presented with a low memory resource condition. This condition affects the whole system. Any driver that asks for more resources may not receive the requested resources. Each driver and application may handle this resource limitation differently. Therefore, the root cause is difficult to identify.

Note By default, System cache mode is enabled in Microsoft Windows Server 2003. By default, the mode is disabled in Microsoft Windows XP.

MORE INFORMATION

System cache mode is designed for use with Windows server products that act as servers. System cache mode is also designed for limited use with Windows XP, when you use Windows XP as a file server. This mode is not designed for everyday desktop use. If you use a server product as a desktop, you should consider changing the resource allocation to Programs mode or adding more physical RAM.

When you enable System cache mode on a computer that uses Unified Memory Architecture (UMA)-based video hardware or an Accelerated Graphics Port (AGP), you may experience a severe and random decrease in performance. For example, this decrease in performance can include very slow system performance, stop errors, an inability to start the computer, devices or applications that do not load, and system instability.

The drivers for these components consume a large part of the remaining application memory when they are initialized during startup. Also, in this scenario, the system may have insufficient RAM when the following conditions occur:
  • Other drivers and desktop user services request additional resources.
  • Desktop users transfer large files.
To configure the system cache in Windows XP, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl, and then click OK.
  2. Click the Advanced tab.
  3. In the Performance area, click Settings.
  4. Click the Advanced tab.
  5. In the Memory usage area, choose one of the following configurations:
    • Click Programs if you are using this computer as a workstation instead of as a server. Your programs will run faster, and your system cache will be the default size that came with Windows XP.
    • Click System cache if you use this computer as a server or if you use programs that require a large system cache.
  6. Click Apply, and then restart the computer.
System cache mode enables the LargeSystemCache registry entry that is located under the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management
Note If the computer does not start, you can select the Last Known Good Configuration option when you start the computer. This will reset the LargeSystemCache registry entry setting back to its default setting.

For more information about the LargeSystemCache registry entry, visit the following Microsoft Web page:
http://technet2.microsoft.com/windowsserver/en/library/EFA621BD-A031-4461-9E72-59197A7507B61033.mspx
For more information about related topics, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
189327 How to map adapter RAM into process address space

Properties

Article ID: 895932 - Last Review: October 9, 2011 - Revision: 5.0
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Keywords: 
kbtshoot KB895932

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com