若要使用的顺序在 Microsoft APP-V (SoftGrid) 的最佳操作

注意:这篇文章是由无人工介入的微软自动的机器翻译软件翻译完成。微软很高兴能同时提供给您由人工翻译的和由机器翻译的文章, 以使您能使用您的语言访问所有的知识库文章。然而由机器翻译的文章并不总是完美的。它可能存在词汇,语法或文法的问题,就像是一个外国人在说中文时总是可能犯这样的错误。虽然我们经常升级机器翻译软件以提高翻译质量,但是我们不保证机器翻译的正确度,也不对由于内容的误译或者客户对它的错误使用所引起的任何直接的, 或间接的可能的问题负责。

点击这里察看该文章的英文版: 932137
概要
本文介绍了一些用于排序中 Microsoft APP-V (SoftGrid) 的最佳做法。 它还包含一些常见问题的解答有关排序过程。
更多信息
当您准备对序列应用程序时,请使用以下层次结构的资源:
  • 如果一个食谱在食谱取代其他任何建议。 一个食谱是一个文档,其中包含描述如何通过使用 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器打包应用程序的分步指导。 该食谱基于一组的分步执行本地安装的应用程序以准备进行排序,应用程序时创建的。
  • 在本文中介绍的最佳做法。

定义

有两个步骤,您可以在其中指定的安装路径。 本文使用下列术语来描述您必须输入的路径:
  • 安装目录
    安装目录是特定于应用程序的对话框中,并在应用程序生成的对话框中输入的路径。 这些对话框,询问您要安装该应用程序的位置。 在排序器安装阶段的早期,会出现该对话框。
  • 资产目录
    资源目录是在 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器会生成对话框,询问您输入的路径要安装应用程序资源的位置。 排序器安装阶段的最后一部分,会出现此对话框。 请确保预先创建此目录。
  • 客户端目标驱动器
    "客户端目标驱动器"是运行应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 打包应用程序时,操作系统驱动器。 这个驱动器也被称为 APP-V (SoftGrid) 装入点驱动器。 客户端计算机上作为 Q:\ 装入每个应用程序资产目录. 在此的路径"Q"是典型的驱动器号。 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器的计算机上必须使用一个分区使用相同的驱动器号,顺序重新创建客户端目标驱动器。

最佳做法

  • 执行排序操作之前,请确保您知道如何安装以及如何运行该程序。 请确保您阅读与程序关联的所有安装说明。 同时,您可能希望了解如何运行该程序。 然后您可能希望了解用户将需要该程序的组件。 若要提高程序的排序过程,安装和 post-configuration 进程的过程的文档。 当这样做可以防止不必要疑难解答过程排序过程中不重要的步骤将被忽略,因为需要。 若要记录的项目包括:
    • 所需的应用程序组件并将安装该组件
    • 如将新文件添加到包必须在安装完成后执行 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器中的更新
    • APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器中出现的安装后配置步骤
    • 用户通常如何处理此应用程序启动后立即
    • 与此应用程序相关联的文件类型
    • 如果应用程序不是该应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 当前可能出现的问题的任何变通方法不支持
  • 总是记录分步排序过程以创建一个"食谱"的使用标准化的模板。 执行此操作时您可以使该食谱某人在您的组织内部或外部用户,以便他们可以重新创建相同的包。
  • 使用注释字段抽象标记上的应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 排序器中记录的 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器,可以记录和记录日期与操作系统的 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器,该 service pack 版本。 执行此操作时将有此信息的记录时以后重新访问序列。
  • 始终有一个干净的操作系统的计算机上序列。 请确保没有多余的应用程序的安装。 操作系统应该镜像将在其运行序列化的应用程序的典型客户端。 客户端计算机被指将在其运行应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 客户端软件的计算机。 客户端可以是 Windows 桌面客户,或者也可以是一个终端服务器。 在排序后设置系统,通过使用磁盘映像产品如 Symantec Norton Ghost,使图像。 每个顺序会话后必须重新生成您的序列的计算机,或您不得不重新加载到计算机上的图像。 您可能不得不序列的每个目标操作系统应用程序。 有关更多的信息,请参阅"可以我序列上一个操作系统的应用程序,然后将其传输到另一个操作系统吗?"部分。
  • APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器会将计算机配置至少两个主分区。 请确保第一个分区,已安装操作系统,它格式化为 NTFS 时 C 驱动器。 第二个的分区的驱动器 Q,用于存储克隆的基本映像。 这个驱动器将用作应用程序的安装目标路径。
  • 到客户端目标驱动器的序列,通常为驱动器问: 请确认安装目录是驱动器 Q,资产目录位于驱动器问: APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器包含要处理的异常的功能。 例如对于您可以序列为驱动器 C 的应用程序将只安装到驱动器 c。 有关如何执行此操作的详细信息,请参阅"什么吗? 如果驱动器 C 上必须安装应用程序"一节。
  • 序列为唯一的 8.3 目录名称。 这适用于资源目录和安装目录。 例如对于以下目录的名称正确:
    • Q:\MYAPP
    • Q:\MYAPP.001
    但是,"Q:\My 应用程序"不是正确的目录名称。 请参阅"为什么应该我序列应用程序到具有唯一的名称或更少的八个字符的根文件夹?"一节的详细信息。
  • 序列中驱动器的根文件夹。 做不到一个子序列。 例如对于您不能序列在以下位置:
    • Q:\
    • Q:\Temp_Files\文件夹名称
    如果该套件中有多个部件安装资源目录的子文件夹中的每个应用程序。 例如对于您的资产目录是"Q:\AppSuite",如果使用以下子文件夹:
    • Q:\AppSuite\Oracle
    • Q:\AppSuite\App
  • 跨应用程序 sequencings 套始终使用全局唯一的路径、 套件标记和包名称。 资源目录名称相同,或同一套件标记,例如对于不要安装多个 Microsoft Office sequencings。 为新的修订版本递增该资产目录使用标准化的命名方案。 例如对于使用下面的目录名称之一:
    • Q:\OFFXP.v1
    • Q:\OFFXP.001
    请参阅"为什么应该我序列应用程序到具有唯一的名称或更少的八个字符的根文件夹?"一节的详细信息。
  • 在安装阶段中配置应用程序。 在安装阶段中,然后,测试应用程序。 完成应用程序的安装后,您可能需要执行几个不是应用程序安装过程的一部分的手动任务。 这些步骤可能涉及配置后端数据库的连接,复制更新的文件或执行其他任务。 在安装阶段中执行这些任务,然后运行该应用程序,以确保它工作正常。
  • 运行该应用程序,直到该程序在安装阶段中的静态状态。 您可能需要多次运行该应用程序。 例如对于多次运行 StarOffice 或运行的 Acrobat 完成所有的注册请求,并完成对话框中所有请求。 这些应用程序在启动时进行第二次,在第一次启动它们并在某些情况下启动它们以后每次执行不同的任务。 当您启动该应用程序很多时候时,您可以确保只有相关的应用程序代码将安装到功能块 1 执行阶段。
  • 使用快捷方式向导启动的应用程序套件中的每个可执行文件。 当执行此操作时每个应用程序将 APP-V (SoftGrid) 客户端上具有必需的初始起点的数据。
  • 如果应用程序请求一个有效的重新启动,请单击停止监视若要启用 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器来处理重新启动任务。 任务已完成重新启动后,请单击停止监视然后单击重新安装如果您需要安装该应用程序继续。 如果应用程序安装程序会提示您重新启动,请单击. 许多应用程序不必要地请求重新启动。
  • 序列一样,可以在安装阶段的一次。 不要单击停止监视每个安装程序后除非应用程序必须重新启动。 您没有单击继续监视除非需要重新启动任务,请重新输入安装阶段。
  • 单击停止安装仅当您需要。 应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 排序器使用一个后台进程监视应用程序的安装。 它会监视第一个过程,Setup.exe 进程或在 Install.exe 过程和启动安装的所有子进程。 应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 排序器还监视诸如应用程序的安装中可能会涉及到的 Windows 安装程序的某些服务。 完成安装后有时 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器将无法检测到应用程序由于安装了不结束所有子进程。 当发生这种情况时单击停止安装若要停止监视的进程。
  • 禁用该在首次使用的安装在选项中。 某些应用程序具有此选项对于某些组件。 请确保没有任何组件都已编序,使用此选项。 您必须单击从本机运行若要安装此组件,或者您必须单击不可用没有要安装此组件。 不要安装应用程序组件将不使用的任何目标用户。
  • 当序列,终端服务的计算机上配置操作系统以使用应用程序宿主的模式,而不是远程管理模式。
  • 当序列大型应用程序时,使用两个硬盘。 应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 排序器使用大的临时文件 %tmp%、 %temp%和自己的临时目录。 如果您重定向到一个单独的硬盘上的目录的这些目录,您可以缩短序列时间。 对 %tmp%环境和 %temp%环境应更改为特定用户帐户用于排序的系统控制面板中。 单击将 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器临时目录选项上将工具在菜单中,单击将路径选项卡,然后更改出现在该目录临时根. 例如对于您主要的硬磁盘驱动器上有一个"C"分区和一个"Q"分区。 和您的辅助驱动器上有一个"E"分区。 "E"的分区上您可以指定的目录重定向到 E:\SEQTMP。
  • 如果您使用 Windows Vista 系列您的应用程序,并且应用程序将被传送到 APP-V (SoftGrid) 客户端计算机的用户访问控制 (UAC) 打开 UAC 应打开顺序计算机之前排序过程。
  • 退出 Windows Defender 服务,以提高系统性能,在排序过程中的其他任何防病毒或恶意软件 (malware) 保护软件。

常见问题

如果应用程序必须安装到驱动器 C,该怎么办?

若要简化排序进程,我们建议使用相同的驱动器,安装目录,在资产目录和 APP-V (SoftGrid) 客户端装载。 默认状态下,APP-V (SoftGrid) 标签驱动器"驱动器问答。 因为某些应用程序必须安装在驱动器 C 上,或因为某些应用程序必须运行从驱动器 C,APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器适应这一要求。 在这种情况下不要指定资产目录安装目录相同的名称。 我们建议您不要在序列为驱动器 C,原因如下:
  • 根据该序列的执行方式过程可能会引入小 APP-V (SoftGrid) 开销或大量的 APP-V (SoftGrid) 开销。
  • 在的特定驱动器字母"C"必须有 APP-V (SoftGrid) 客户端上。
在排序过程中,以适应这种情况下,请为安装目录的驱动器 C 上指定的目录。 然后,Q 要用作资产目录的驱动器上指定的目录。 这将导致整个应用程序中,在应用程序-V (SoftGrid) 的虚拟文件系统上运行。 不要修改 FILENAME 属性中指向驱动器 c。 此属性中指定的可执行文件必须指向驱动器 Q。

如果我有一个 MMC 管理单元或 Internet 浏览器插件序列,该怎么办?

请注意Internet Explorer 插件的示例包括不同版本的 Java 运行时,ActiveX 组件的不同版本、 不同版本的闪存的运行时和 Shockwave 运行库的不同版本。

即使您不能序列核心操作系统组件 (如 Windows Internet Explorer,您可以为每个这些应用程序创建多个虚拟环境。 请确保不要在排序过程中安装这些应用程序。 相反,请参阅应用程序的本地副本。 这将导致本地应用程序被拉入到虚拟环境中包括的已编序所需的版本的插件。 APP-V (SoftGrid) 客户端上的核心操作系统组件的正确版本必须与 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器上的版本相匹配。

若要进行序列,请按照下列步骤:
  1. 问: 驱动器上创建一个空文件夹。
  2. APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器要求安装阶段的过程中安装应用程序的位置时,请指向该文件夹。
  3. 在安装阶段安装该插件为 Q 的驱动器上的此位置。
  4. 在执行阶段测试应用程序使用本地的快捷方式。 然后,保存序列。
  5. 修改.osd 文件,使其指向本地核心操作系统的可执行文件,通过使用适当的参数。

    例如对于排序的 Internet 浏览器插件,如果使用以下参数:
    FILENAME="%CSIDL_PROGRAM_FILES%\Internet Explorer\IExplore.exe"
    如果排序的一个 MMC 管理单元中的,请使用以下参数:
    FILENAME="%CSIDL_SYSTEM%\MMC.EXE"
    PARAMETERS="%SFT_MNT%\资产目录名称\.msc 文件的路径"

为什么我应该序列应用程序到具有唯一的名称或更少的八个字符的根文件夹?

您必须使用全局唯一的名称,因为每个应用程序已装入驱动器为"Q:\ Q资产的文件夹名称." 我们建议您在使用 8 个字符或更少,以确保该文件的短路径名称正确保留客户端上。 某些操作系统组件需要短名称。 例如对于 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器计算机上安装 Microsoft Office XP 时,它指定的短路径名称"Micros ~ 1"。 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器的计算机上安装了 Microsoft Office 2000 之后该计算机已被承载到原始状态,,就分配的短路径名称"Micros ~ 1"。

如果 Microsoft Office XP 传送到一个全新的客户端,它给定的短路径名称"Micros ~ 1"。 如果 Microsoft Office 2000 相同的客户端然后流入,它给定的短路径名称"Micros ~ 2"。 这将导致失败,因为无法分析注册表项指向应用程序"Micros ~ 1"。

如果您 Q:\Office,硬编码两个应用程序,然后您试图在流在第二个版本的 Office,Office 的第一个版本已经流式处理时,APP-V (SoftGrid) 客户端将无法正确问: 在驱动器上安装 Office 的第二个版本。

我可以序列上一个操作系统的应用程序,然后将其传输到另一个操作系统吗?

是,APP-V (SoftGrid) 允许序列上一个操作系统,然后将其传输到另一个操作系统。 然而,在应用程序可能无法正常工作如果在安装应用程序时检测到操作系统的版本。 应用程序可能会选择不同的组件,具体取决于该检测。 这可能会导致根据与其他操作系统的组件兼容性问题。 在您尝试以流式传输到另一个操作系统的应用程序之前,确定是否需要为每个操作系统使用附加的 sequencings。 您可能需要与应用程序供应商联系。

当前的限制的保存-为功能有哪些?

当前版本的 APP-V (SoftGrid) 排序器保存-为功能要求的包根目录的在资产目录被更改为过程的一部分。 这可能会导致应用程序具有的硬编码路径或具有某些形式的复制保护失败后保存-为操作。 要变通解决此问题,resequence 应用程序,而无需使用保存-为特征。

本文讨论了在第三方产品是由独立于 Microsoft 的公司生产的。 Microsoft 使任何担保或暗示或其他有关性能或可靠性,这些产品的方式。
应用程序-V SoftGrid

警告:本文已自动翻译

属性

文章 ID:932137 - 上次审阅时间:10/12/2010 16:42:00 - 修订版本: 1.0

Microsoft SoftGrid for Terminal Services, Microsoft SoftGrid for Windows Desktops, Microsoft Application Virtualization for Terminal Services 4.6, Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.6 for Windows Desktops, Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.5 for Terminal Services, Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.5 for Windows Desktops

  • kbtshoot kbexpertiseinter kbmt KB932137 KbMtzh
反馈

Best practices to use for sequencing in Microsoft App-V (SoftGrid)

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 932137 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

SUMMARY

This article describes some best practices to use for sequencing in Microsoft App-V (SoftGrid). It also contains some frequently asked questions about the sequencing process. 

MORE INFORMATION

Use the following hierarchy of resources when you are preparing to sequence an application:
  • If a recipe exists, the recipe supersedes any other recommendation. A recipe is a document that contains step-by-step instructions that describe how to package an application by using App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer. The recipe is based on a set of step-by-step instructions that are created when you perform a local installation of the application to prepare for sequencing the application.
  • The best practices that are described in this article.

Definitions

There are two steps in which you can specify installation paths. This article uses the following terms to describe the paths that you must enter:
  • Installation directory
    The "Installation directory" is the path that you enter in the application-specific dialog box and in the application-generated dialog box. These dialog boxes ask you where you want to install the application. The dialog boxes appear early in the Sequencer Installation Phase.
  • Asset directory
     The "Asset directory" is the path that you enter in the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer-generated dialog box that asks where you want to install the application assets. This dialog box appears as the last part of the Sequencer Installation Phase. Make sure that this directory is created in advance.
  • The client destination drive
    The "client destination drive" is the operating system drive from which the App-V (SoftGrid) packaged application is run. This drive is also known as the App-V (SoftGrid) mount point drive. Each application will be mounted on the client computer as Q:\Asset directory. In this path, "Q" is the typical drive letter. On the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer computer, you must re-create the client destination drive by using a partition that uses the same drive letter to sequence.

Best practices

  • Before you perform the sequencing operation, make sure that you know how to install and how to run the program. Make sure that you read all installation instructions that are associated with the program. Also, you may want to learn how the program runs. And, you may want to learn the components of the program that the user will need. To improve the sequencing process of a program, document the installation and the post-configuration procedures for the process. When you do this, you can prevent the need for unnecessary troubleshooting during the sequencing process because no important steps will be skipped. Items to document include the following:
    • The application components that are required and the components that will be installed
    • The updates, such as adding new files to the package, that must be performed in App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer after the installation
    • The post-installation configuration steps that have to occur in App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer
    • What users typically do with this application immediately after it starts
    • The file types that are associated with this application
    • Any workarounds for issues that may occur if the application does something that App-V (SoftGrid) currently does not support
  • Always document the step-by-step sequencing process to create a "recipe" that uses the standardized template. When you do this, you can give the recipe to someone inside your organization or to an external user so that they can re-create the same package.
  • Use the Comments field in App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer, the Abstract tag, to record the version of App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer, to record the service pack of App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer, and to record the operating system with the date. When you do this, you will have a record of this information when you revisit the sequence later.
  • Always sequence on a computer that has a clean operating system. Make sure that no extraneous applications are installed. The operating system should mirror a typical client on which the sequenced applications will run. A client computer is defined as the computer on which the App-V (SoftGrid) Client software will run. The client can be a Microsoft Windows desktop client, or it can be a terminal server. After the sequencing system is set up, make an image by using a disk image product such as Symantec Norton Ghost. After each sequencing session, you have to rebuild your sequencing computer, or you have to reload an image on to the computer. You may have to sequence the application for each target operating system. For more information, see the "Can I sequence an application on one operating system and then stream it to another operating system?" section.
  • Configure the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer computer with at least two primary partitions. Make sure that the first partition, drive C, has the operating system installed and that it is formatted as NTFS. The second partition, drive Q, is used to store the cloned base image. This drive will be used as the destination path for the application installation.
  • Sequence to the client destination drive, typically drive Q. Make sure that the Installation directory is on drive Q and that the Asset directory is on drive Q. App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer contains functionality to handle exceptions. For example, you can sequence to drive C for applications that will only install to drive C. For more information about how to do this, see the "What do I do if an application must install to drive C?" section. 
  • Sequence to a unique 8.3 directory name. This applies to the Asset directory and to the Installation directory. For example, the following directory names are correct:
    • Q:\MYAPP
    • Q:\MYAPP.001
    However, "Q:\My Application" is not a correct directory name. See the "Why should I sequence an application to a root folder that has a unique name of eight characters or less?" section for more information.
  • Sequence to a folder in the root of the drive. Do not sequence to a subfolder. For example, you cannot sequence to the following locations:
    • Q:\
    • Q:\Temp_Files\Folder name
    If the suite has multiple parts, install each application in a subfolder of the Asset directory. For example, if your Asset directory is "Q:\AppSuite," use the following subfolders:
    • Q:\AppSuite\Oracle
    • Q:\AppSuite\App
  • Always use globally unique paths, SUITE tags, and package names across the set of application sequencings. For example, do not install multiple Microsoft Office sequencings to the same Asset directory name or to the same SUITE tag. Use a standardized naming scheme for the Asset directory that can be incremented for new revisions. For example, use either of the following directory names:
    • Q:\OFFXP.v1
    • Q:\OFFXP.001
    See the "Why should I sequence an application to a root folder that has a unique name of eight characters or less?" section for more information.
  • Configure the application in the Install Phase. Then, test the application in the Install Phase. After you complete the installation of an application, you may have to perform several manual tasks that are not part of the application installation process. These steps may involve configuring a connection to a back-end database, copying updated files, or performing other tasks. Perform these tasks in the Install Phase, and then run the application to make sure that it works.
  • Run the application until the program is in a static state in the Install Phase. You may have to run the application many times. For example, run StarOffice or run Acrobat multiple times to complete all registration requests and to complete all dialog box requests. These applications perform different tasks when you start them the first time, when you start them the second time, and in some cases, each time that you start them later. When you start the application many times, you can make sure that only relevant application code will be installed into Feature Block 1 during the Execution Phase.
  • Use the Shortcut Wizard to start each executable file in a suite of applications. When you do this, each application will have the required initial start data on the App-V (SoftGrid) client.
  • If an application requests a valid restart, click Stop Monitoring to enable App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer to process the restart tasks. After the restart tasks are complete, click Stop Monitoring, and then click Install Again to continue to install the application if you have to. If the application installer prompts you to restart, click Yes. Many applications unnecessarily request a restart.
  • Sequence as much as you can in a single pass of the Install Phase. Do not click Stop Monitoring after each installer unless the application has to be restarted. You do not have to click Continue Monitoring to reenter the Install Phase unless a restart task is required.
  • Click Stop Installation only if you have to. App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer monitors the application installation by using a background process. It monitors the first process, the Setup.exe process or the Install.exe process, and any child processes that the installation starts. App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer also monitors certain services, such as Windows Installer, that may be involved in the installation of the application. When the installation is complete, sometimes App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer will not detect the application because the installation did not end all the child processes. When this occurs, click  Stop Installation to stop the monitoring process.
  • Disable the Install on First Use option. Some applications have this option for certain components. Make sure that no components are sequenced with this option. You must click either Run from My Computer to install this component, or you must click Not Available not to install this component. Do not install application components that will not be used by any of the targeted users.
  • When you sequence on a Terminal Services computer, configure the operating system to use Application Hosting mode instead of Remote Administration mode.
  • When you sequence large applications, use two hard drives. App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer uses %TMP%, %TEMP%, and its own scratch directory for large temporary files. If you redirect these directories to a directory on a separate hard disk drive, you can shorten the sequence time. The %TMP% environment and the %TEMP% environment should be changed in the System control panel for the specific user account that will be used for sequencing. To change the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer scratch directory, click Options on the Tools menu, click the Path tab, and then change the directory that appears in Scratch Root. For example, on your primary hard disk drive, you have a "C" partition and a "Q" partition. And, on your secondary drive, you have an "E" partition. On the "E" partition, you can redirect the specified directories to E:\SEQTMP.
  • If you use Windows Vista to sequence your application, and the application will be streamed to a App-V (SoftGrid) client computer that has User Access Control (UAC) turned on, UAC should turned on for the sequencing computer prior to the sequencing process.
  • Exit the Windows Defender service and any other antivirus or malicious software (malware) protection software to improve system performance during the sequencing process.

Frequently asked questions

What do I do if an application must install to drive C?

To simplify the Sequencing process, we recommend that you use the same drive for the Installation directory, for the Asset directory, and for the App-V (SoftGrid) client mount. By default, App-V (SoftGrid) labels the drive "Drive Q." Because certain applications must be installed on drive C or because some application must be run from drive C, App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer accommodates this requirement. In this case, do not give the Asset directory the same name as the Installation directory. We do not recommend that you sequence to drive C for the following reasons:
  • Depending on how the sequencing is performed, the process may introduce small App-V (SoftGrid) overhead or a significant App-V (SoftGrid) overhead.
  • The specific drive letter, "C", must be present on the App-V (SoftGrid) client.
To accommodate this situation, specify a directory on drive C for the Installation directory during the sequencing process. Then, specify a directory on drive Q to use as the Asset directory. This causes the whole application to be run on the App-V (SoftGrid) Virtual File System. Do not modify the FILENAME attribute to point to drive C. The executable file that is specified in this attribute must point to drive Q.

What do I do if I have to sequence an MMC snap-in or an Internet Explorer plug-in?

Note Examples of Internet Explorer plug-ins include different versions of Java runtimes, different versions of ActiveX components, different versions of Flash runtimes, and different versions of Shockwave runtimes.

Even though you cannot sequence core operating system components such as Windows Internet Explorer, you can create multiple virtual environments for each of these applications. Make sure that you do not install these applications during the sequencing process. Instead, refer to the local copy of the application. This causes the local application to be pulled into a virtual environment that includes the desired version of the plug-in that was sequenced. The correct versions of the core operating system components on the App-V (SoftGrid) clients must match the versions on App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer.

To create the sequence, follow these steps:
  1. Create an empty folder on drive Q.
  2. Point to this folder when App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer asks where the application was installed during the installation phase. 
  3. Install the plug-in to this location on drive Q during the installation phase.
  4. During the execution phase, test the application by using local shortcuts. Then, save the sequence.
  5. Modify the .osd file to point to the local core operating system executable file by using appropriate parameters.

    For example, if you are sequencing an Internet Explorer plug-in, use the following parameters:
    FILENAME="%CSIDL_PROGRAM_FILES%\Internet Explorer\IExplore.exe"
    If you are sequencing an MMC snap in, use the following parameters:
    FILENAME="%CSIDL_SYSTEM%\MMC.EXE"
    PARAMETERS="%SFT_MNT%\Asset directory name\path to an .msc file"

Why should I sequence an application to a root folder that has a unique name of eight characters or less?

You must use a globally unique name because each application is mounted on drive Q as "Q:\Asset folder name." We recommend that you use eight characters or less to make sure that the short path names of the files are correctly preserved on the client. Certain operating system components require short names. For example, when Microsoft Office XP is installed on the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer computer, it is assigned the short path name of "Micros~1". When Microsoft Office 2000 is installed on the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer computer, after the computer has been hosted to the original state, it is assigned the short path name of "Micros~1".

If Microsoft Office XP is streamed to a fresh client, it is given the short path name of "Micros~1". If Microsoft Office 2000 is then streamed to the same client, it is given the short path name of "Micros~2". This causes the application to fail because non-parsed registry keys point to "Micros~1".

If you hardcode two applications to Q:\Office, and then you try to stream the second version of Office when the first version of Office is already streamed, the App-V (SoftGrid) client will be unable to correctly mount the second version of Office on the drive Q.

Can I sequence an application on one operating system and then stream it to another operating system?

Yes, App-V (SoftGrid) lets you sequence on one operating system and then stream it to another operating system. However, the application may not work correctly if it detects the operating system version when the application is installed. The application may select different components depending on that detection. This may cause problems depending on the component compatibility with other operating systems. Before you try to stream an application to another operating system, determine whether additional sequencings are required for each operating system. You may have to contact the application vendor.

What are the current limitations of the Save-As feature?

The current version of the App-V (SoftGrid) Sequencer Save-As feature requires that the package root directory, the asset directory, be changed as part of the process. This can cause applications that have hard-coded paths or that have some forms of copy protection to fail after a Save-As operation. To work around this problem, resequence the application without using the Save-As feature.

The third-party products that this article discusses are manufactured by companies that are independent of Microsoft. Microsoft makes no warranty, implied or otherwise, about the performance or reliability of these products.

Properties

Article ID: 932137 - Last Review: October 13, 2010 - Revision: 5.1
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Application Virtualization for Terminal Services
  • Microsoft Application Virtualization for Windows Desktops
  • Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.6 for Terminal Services
  • Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.6 for Windows Desktops
  • Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.5 for Terminal Services
  • Microsoft Application Virtualization 4.5 for Windows Desktops
Keywords: 
kbtshoot kbexpertiseinter KB932137

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com