您目前已離線,請等候您的網際網路重新連線

如何升級執行 Windows Server 2008 與安裝在 Windows Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V 角色的電腦

重要:本文是以 Microsoft 機器翻譯軟體翻譯而成,而非使用人工翻譯而成。Microsoft 同時提供使用者人工翻譯及機器翻譯兩個版本的文章,讓使用者可以依其使用語言使用知識庫中的所有文章。但是,機器翻譯的文章可能不盡完美。這些文章中也可能出現拼字、語意或文法上的錯誤,就像外國人在使用本國語言時可能發生的錯誤。Microsoft 不為內容的翻譯錯誤或客戶對該內容的使用所產生的任何錯誤或損害負責。Microsoft也同時將不斷地就機器翻譯軟體進行更新。

按一下這裡查看此文章的英文版本:957256
簡介
本文將告訴您可用的升級或移轉從 Windows Server 2008 安裝與啟用 Windows Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V 角色的選項。 針對 Windows Server 2008 容錯移轉叢集執行虛擬機器的請參閱這篇文章升級指導容錯移轉叢集的虛擬機器] 一節]。
其他相關資訊

方法 1

執行從 Windows Server 2008 的父磁碟分割的升級到 Windows Server 2008 R2。

附註在升級期間您必須使用伺服器管理員,您在繼續進行升級之前先移除 Hyper-V 角色相容性報告將會通知您。這是不必要的。不過,繼續進行升級之前建議您備份您的虛擬機器,或將它們匯出使用 Hyper-V 管理員。在升級之前,此外,請考慮下列:
  • Hyper-V 必須 RTM (KB 950050) 或更新版本。如果不符合此需求時您將會封鎖來自繼續進行升級。
  • 所有虛擬機器必須要在升級之前會都關機。 已儲存的狀態是不相容 Windows Server 2008 和 Windows Server 2008 R2 之間。如果父磁碟分割升級與任何虛擬機器,在儲存狀態,您必須的虛擬機器上按一下滑鼠右鍵,然後選取 [到開啟虛擬機器的 [放棄] 儲存的狀態
  • 因為線上的快照集的功能使用已儲存的狀態,線上快速查詢不是 Windows Server 2008 和 Windows Server 2008 R2 之間完全相容的。 線上快速查詢是虛擬機器為開啟狀態時所採取的快照。 離線的快速查詢是虛擬機器關閉時所採取的快照。離線的快速查詢都是 Windows Server 2008 R2 完全相容。 虛擬機器將成功地開始線上虛擬機器關機才能進行升級時已套用的快照集。 這會在 Hyper-V 管理員中顯示的綠色箭號指向 立即 在快照集] 下。

    如果要開啟虛擬機器,與任何其他快照,請依照下列步驟執行。

    附註下列步驟假設您有繼續使用針對虛擬機器的所有已設定的快照集。如果您不再需要快照,可使用 Hyper-V 管理員刪除您的快照集,然後再關閉虛擬機器要與父系虛擬硬碟合併資料。 如需詳細資訊請參閱下列 Microsoft 網站]:
    Hyper-V 虛擬機器快照集: 常見問題集
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd560637.aspx
    1. 使用 Hyper-V 管理員,以滑鼠右鍵按一下您想要套用,快照然後按一下 [取得快照集] 和 [套用]。這個動作會從目前套用的快照集新的快照集。這個新的快照集將會與 Windows Server 2008 R2 相容。我們建議您重新命名以反映此快照集。如果您選取這個選項時,會儲存任何您所做的虛擬機器狀態自上次啟動後的變更。
    2. 在新的 R2 取得快照之後, 您在步驟 1 中選取快照集就會套用,而且虛擬機器會進入儲存的狀態。以滑鼠右鍵按一下的虛擬機器,然後按一下 [刪除儲存的狀態
    3. 開啟虛擬機器。
    4. 取得新的快照集來擷取目前狀態的虛擬機器有一個 Windows Server 2008 R2 相容快照集。
    5. 針對每個從 Windows Server 2008 的快照集重複這些步驟。一旦您完成這些步驟上所有必要的快照集,刪除已建立在 Windows Server 2008 上,然後關閉虛擬機器,以允許合併處理序開始這些快照集。
  • 在升級之後更新 [整合服務]。若要執行此動作開啟 虛擬機器連線] 視窗,然後按一下 [執行] 功能表上的 [插入整合服務安裝磁片]。

    附註在 Windows Server 2008 R2 型電腦上的 Windows Vista 整合服務及 Windows Server 2008 將會列在 程式和功能 為"KB955484]。

方法 2

匯出 Windows Server 2008 架構的電腦有啟用,Hyper-V 的虛擬機器,並再匯入已使用 Hyper-V 啟用 Windows Server 2008 R2 的伺服器]。

附註您匯出前,必須會關閉虛擬機器。如果您匯出虛擬機器與儲存的狀態,您無法還原虛擬機器上 Windows Server 2008 R2。若要啟動虛擬機器之後您將它匯入到 Windows Server 2008 R2,,必須捨棄儲存的狀態,您可以開啟虛擬機器之前。如果虛擬機器快照集在匯出之前,必須合併這些快照集,或您必須使用方法 1 從步驟復原並重新建立這些快照集。

匯入虛擬機器後更新 「 整合服務。若要執行此動作開啟 虛擬機器連線] 視窗,然後按一下 [執行] 功能表上的 [插入整合服務安裝磁片]。

附註在 Windows Server 2008 R2 型電腦上的 Windows Vista 整合服務及 Windows Server 2008 將會列在 程式和功能 為"KB955484]。

方法 3

使用會運用 Hyper-V VSS 寫入器的備份軟體,備份在 Windows Server 2008 執行的虛擬機器,並將其還原到 Windows Server 2008 R2。

還原虛擬機器後更新 「 整合服務。若要執行此動作開啟 虛擬機器連線] 視窗,然後按一下 [執行] 功能表上的 [插入整合服務安裝磁片]。

附註在 Windows Server 2008 R2 型電腦上的 Windows Vista 整合服務及 Windows Server 2008 將會列在 程式和功能 為"KB955484]。

升級在容錯移轉叢集的虛擬機器的指導

當您設定為 Windows Server 2008 叢集中的叢集資源的高度可用虛擬機器您必須依照下列步驟執行以升級到 Windows Server 2008 R2 的虛擬機器和叢集。

附註如果您在父磁碟分割中執行任何其他的叢集的服務或應用程式,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站,如需有關如何將這些資源移至 Windows Server 2008 R2 資訊: 我們不建議在父磁碟分割的 Hyper-V 伺服器中執行任何額外的服務或應用程式。
  1. 使用 [容錯移轉叢集管理] 嵌入式管理單元 (CluAdmin.msc),執行快速移轉將所有虛擬機器移到節點的子集合。 收回的節點不裝載任何虛擬機器其他的子集。以執行這項操作,節點容錯移轉叢集管理] 上按一下滑鼠右鍵、 按一下 移動動作,然後按一下 [收回。子集合的大小應該是,這類子集所裝載的虛擬機器可以儲存在剩餘的節點仍在執行 Windows Server 2008 上。例如四節點叢集中收回兩個節點,以便剩餘的節點可以保留已由第一組節點的裝載的虛擬機器。請確定已收回的節點會遮罩出從原始的叢集的共用存放裝置。
  2. 在已收回的節點,子集上執行的 Windows Server 2008 R2 乾淨安裝,然後啟用 [Hyper-V 角色和容錯移轉叢集功能。

    重要 升級不支援容錯移轉叢集上,所以是必要的全新安裝。
  3. 建立新的叢集與已收回的節點,然後再執行所有組態精靈會測試的驗證。 如果有的話),Windows Server 2008 R2] 叢集上啟用叢集共用磁碟區 (CSV),並建立一些 CSV 磁碟。
  4. 準備升級原始叢集中的虛擬機器。採取下列動作的虛擬機器的狀態而定:
    • 如果虛擬機器處於 執行 狀態,使用 Hyper-V 管理員關閉虛擬機器。
    • 如果虛擬機器處於 儲存 狀態,使用 Hyper-V 管理員從儲存的狀態開始,並接著關閉虛擬機器。當您升級到 Windows Server 2008 R2 您主機不支援已儲存的狀態。
    • 如果虛擬機器您需要的線上快照集套用相關的快照集,並再關閉虛擬機器。
  5. 請依照下列其中一個步驟來準備您的虛擬機器進行升級:

    重要如果您要移動虛擬機器至 CSV 磁碟,請依照本文稍後遷移到 CSV 磁碟從非 CSV 磁碟虛擬機器 」 一節中特定的步驟執行]。
    1. 匯出虛擬機器。如果您要為 Windows Server 2008 R2 叢集使用相同的 SAN 儲存區您可以使用組態僅匯出。 選取 [動作] 功能表上的 [匯出,匯出虛擬機器從 Windows Server 2008 Hyper-V 管理員。請確定已選取 [匯出只虛擬機器設定] 核取方塊。
    2. 使用您所選擇的備份應用程式來備份虛擬機器。
  6. 開啟原始的叢集上的容錯移轉叢集管理,並再採取虛擬機器設定資源 離線
  7. 如果您要重複使用相同的儲存體,為新的叢集遮罩從原始的叢集,然後再進行新的 (Windows Server 2008 R2) 叢集可以使用。
  8. 取決於所做在步驟 5 中,請遵循這些步驟來將虛擬機器移到新的 Windows Server 2008 R2 叢集。

    重要如果您要移動您的虛擬機器至 CSV 磁碟,依照遷移到 CSV 磁碟從非 CSV 磁碟虛擬機器 」 一節。
    1. 如果使用步驟 5a 匯出上述的虛擬機器匯入虛擬機器回到叢集節點。若要匯入虛擬機器,依照 「 匯出和匯入中的虛擬機器叢集環境 > 一節中。
    2. 如果使用步驟 5b] 備份虛擬機器使用備份應用程式將虛擬機器還原至叢集磁碟。
  9. 針對每個虛擬機器現在這個 Windows Server 2008 R2 叢集中的更新 「 整合服務。若要執行此動作開啟虛擬機器、 開啟虛擬機器連線] 視窗,然後按一下 [執行] 功能表上的 [插入整合服務安裝磁片]。

    附註在 Windows Server 2008 R2 的 Windows Vista 整合服務及 Windows Server 2008 將會列在 程式和功能 為"KB955484]。
  10. 在所有虛擬機器正在都執行 Windows Server 2008 R2 叢集上,而且所有項目已被測試及驗證過為完整功能,使用容錯移轉叢集管理移除舊的叢集。若要執行這 用滑鼠右鍵按一下 叢集容錯移轉叢集管理] 中,按一下 其他動作 中,,然後按一下 [摧毀叢集
  11. 在舊的叢集所剩餘節點,執行全新安裝的 Windows Server 2008 R2,,然後啟用 [Hyper-V 角色和容錯移轉叢集] 功能所需。 這些節點加入新的叢集。

將虛擬機器從非 CSV 磁碟遷移到 CSV 磁碟

  1. 匯出虛擬機器。使用下列選項取決於您想要透過虛擬硬碟的儲存位置多少控制項其中:
    1. 視 Hyper-V 管理員 」 來移動虛擬硬碟以及與虛擬機器設定選取 [在 Hyper-V 管理員] 中的 [執行] 功能表上的 [匯出,,然後指定您想要匯出到虛擬機器的資料夾。如果您正在執行 Windows Server 2008 Hyper-V,請確定未選取 [匯出只虛擬機器設定] 核取方塊。
    2. 如果您希望完整控制虛擬硬碟在遷移期間的放置位置,匯到 CSV 資料夾虛擬機器,選取 [在 Hyper-V 管理員 」 中的 [動作] 功能表上的 [匯出。選取 [匯出虛擬機器組態
  2. 從虛擬機器管理員刪除虛擬機器。
  3. 叢集 ’s 可用的存放 」 群組中新增儲存體,左在巡覽] 窗格中選取 存放 節點],然後再按一下 [新增存放裝置]。 以製作一個磁碟叢集共用磁碟區、 啟用容錯移轉叢集 ’s 概觀] 頁面上的 [叢集共用磁碟區] 功能、 選取 叢集共用磁碟區 節點左邊的瀏覽窗格中,選取 [新增存放裝置,然後指定一個磁碟。 這個磁碟會被新增至叢集共用磁碟區群組,並如 C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4,目錄會建立此群組。
  4. 如果使用步驟 1b 匯出您的虛擬機器遵循 「 匯出和匯入中的虛擬機器叢集環境 > 一節中的步驟。否則,使用匯入,以匯入虛擬機器在 Hyper-V 管理員的使用者介面。
  5. 從 [容錯移轉叢集管理,更虛擬機器高度可用

匯出和匯入在叢集環境中的虛擬機器

若要匯出虛擬機器,請依照下列步驟執行:
  1. 如果您執行組態僅匯出的虛擬機器,,執行 GetAssociatedVHDLocations 指令碼來取得快照集.avhd 檔案及虛擬機器相關聯的.vhd 檔案的清單。若要取得此指令碼,請造訪下列 Microsoft 網站]: 使用下列命令來執行指令碼:
    cscript GetAssociatedVHDLocations.vbs /VMName: NameOfVM
    比方說,執行下列:
    cscript GetAssociatedVHDLocations.vbs /VMName:VM3
    則輸出會如下:
    ##########ParentPath##########K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd##########ChildPaths##########C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Hyper-V\Snapshots\<Snapshot_GUID>\fixed_<snapshot_GUID>.avhdC:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Hyper-V\Snapshots\<Snaoshot_GUID>\fixed_<Snapshot_GUID>.avhdFormer Resource Path = "K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
  2. 將會列在下的.avhd 檔案複製 「 ChildPaths 」 指令碼中輸出到輸出中指定下 」 ParentPath 」.vhd 資料夾相同的資料夾。
若要匯入虛擬機器,請依照下列步驟執行:
  1. 從下列 Microsoft 網站,以取得 importVM 指令碼:
  2. 匯入虛擬機器,藉由傳遞您在 [執行] 功能表中選取 [匯出 之後指定 匯出的路徑。 指定前者的資源路徑輸出,會顯示在匯出程序的步驟 1 中為 importVM 指令碼的輸入參數。 比方說假設 [前者的資源路徑輸出是:
    "K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    如果您到非 CSV 環境遷移從非-CSV 取代該 「 K 」 使用新的磁碟機代號指派給現在裝載新叢集中儲存體。 If the volume was mounted as “K:” and now it is mounted as “Z:”, the Resource Path becomes:
    "Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    If you are migrating from a non-CSV to a CSV environment, replace the “K:\” with “C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4 " so that the Resource Paths become the following:
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    In this example, after you run the script, you should see the following output:
    >ImportVM.vbs /ImportDirectory:C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\vm3Export\MyVM /ResourcePaths: "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";" C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.8Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.Resource PathsC:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhdC:\ClusterStorage\Volume4:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhdC:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhdC:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhdIn progress... 10% completed.Done
    附註 [前者資源路徑必須以引號括住。比方說使用:
    C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\MyVM\MyVM.vhd"

警告:本文為自動翻譯

內容

文章識別碼:957256 - 最後檢閱時間:10/08/2009 16:43:35 - 修訂: 2.3

Windows Server 2008 Standard, Windows Server 2008 Enterprise, Windows Server 2008 Datacenter, Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard, Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise, Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter

  • kbmt kbhowto kbexpertiseinter kbsurveynew kbinfo KB957256 KbMtzh
意見反應

How to upgrade computers running Windows Server 2008 with the Hyper-V role installed to Windows Server 2008 R2

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 957256 - View products that this article applies to.
Expand all | Collapse all

On This Page

INTRODUCTION

This article describes the options that are available for upgrading or migrating from a Windows Server 2008 installation with the Hyper-V role enabled to Windows Server 2008 R2. For Windows Server 2008 Failover Clusters that are running virtual machines, see the "Upgrade guidance for virtual machines on failover clusters" section of this article.

MORE INFORMATION

Method 1

Perform an upgrade of the parent partition from Windows Server 2008 to Windows Server 2008 R2.

Note During the upgrade, the compatibility report will inform you that you must remove the Hyper-V role by using Server Manager before you continue with the upgrade. This is not necessary. However, before continuing with the upgrade we suggest that you back up your virtual machines or export them using Hyper-V Manager. Additionally, consider the following before you upgrade:
  • Hyper-V must be at RTM (KB 950050) or later. If this requirement is not met, you will be blocked from continuing with the upgrade.
  • All virtual machines must be shut down prior to the upgrade. Saved states are not compatible between Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008 R2. If the parent partition is upgraded with any virtual machines in a saved state, you must right-click the virtual machine, and then select Discard saved state to turn on the virtual machine.
  • Because Online Snapshot functionality uses saved states, Online Snapshots are not fully compatible between Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008 R2. Online Snapshots are snapshots taken when a virtual machine was turned on. Offline Snapshots are snapshots that are taken when a virtual machine was turned off. Offline Snapshots are fully compatible with Windows Server 2008 R2. Virtual machines will start successfully to the online snapshot that was applied when the virtual machine was shut down before the upgrade. This is shown in Hyper-V Manager by the green arrow under the snapshot that points to Now.

    To turn on the virtual machine with any other snapshot, follow these steps.

    Note The following steps assume that you have to continue using all snapshots that are configured for the virtual machine. If you no longer require snapshots, you can delete your snapshots by using Hyper-V Manager, and then shut down the virtual machine for the data to merge with the parent virtual hard disk. For more information, see the following Microsoft Web site:
    Hyper-V Virtual Machine Snapshots: FAQ
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd560637.aspx
    1. Using Hyper-V Manager, right-click the snapshot that you want to apply, and then click Take Snapshot and Apply. This action will take a new snapshot from the currently applied snapshot. This new snapshot will now be compatible with Windows Server 2008 R2. We recommend that you rename the snapshot to reflect this. If you select this option, any changes that you may have made to the state of the virtual machine since the last start will be saved.
    2. After the new R2 snapshot is taken, the snapshot that you selected in step 1 will be applied, and the virtual machine will go into a saved state. Right-click the virtual machine, and then click Delete saved state.
    3. Turn on the virtual machine.
    4. Take a new snapshot to capture the current state of the virtual machine to have a Windows Server 2008 R2-compatible snapshot.
    5. Repeat these steps for each snapshot from Windows Server 2008. Once you have completed these steps on all required snapshots, delete the snapshots that were created on Windows Server 2008, and then shut down the virtual machine to allow the merge process to begin.
  • After the upgrade, update the Integration Services. To do this, open the Virtual Machine Connection window, and then click Insert Integration Services Setup Disk on the Action menu.

    Note On a Windows Server 2008 R2-based computer, the Integration Services for Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 will be listed in Programs and Features as "KB955484."

Method 2

Export a virtual machine from a Windows Server 2008-based computer that has Hyper-V enabled, and then import it to a server that has Windows Server 2008 R2 with Hyper-V enabled.

Note The virtual machine must be shut down before you export it. If you exported the virtual machine with a saved state, you cannot restore the virtual machine on Windows Server 2008 R2. To start the virtual machine after you import it to Windows Server 2008 R2, you must discard the saved state before you can turn on the virtual machine. If the virtual machine has snapshots, these snapshots must be merged before the export, or you must use the steps from Method 1 to recover and re-create the snapshots.

After you import the virtual machine, update the Integration Services. To do this, open the Virtual Machine Connection window, and then click Insert Integration Services Setup Disk on the Action menu.

Note On a Windows Server 2008 R2-based computer, the Integration Services for Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 will be listed in Programs and Features as "KB955484."

Method 3

Using backup software that leverages the Hyper-V VSS Writer, back up a virtual machine that is running on Windows Server 2008, and restore it to Windows Server 2008 R2.

After you restore the virtual machine, update the Integration Services. To do this, open the Virtual Machine Connection window, and then click Insert Integration Services Setup Disk on the Action menu.

Note On a Windows Server 2008 R2-based computer, the Integration Services for Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 will be listed in Programs and Features as "KB955484."

Upgrade guidance for virtual machines on failover clusters

When you have highly available virtual machines that are configured as clustered resources in a Windows Server 2008 cluster, you must follow these steps to upgrade your virtual machines and clusters to Windows Server 2008 R2.

Note If you are running any other clustered services or applications in the parent partition, visit the following Microsoft Web site for information about how to move these resources to Windows Server 2008 R2:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=142796
We do not recommend running any additional services or applications in the parent partition for Hyper-V servers.
  1. Using the Failover Cluster Manager snap-in (CluAdmin.msc), perform a Quick Migration to move all virtual machines to a subset of nodes. Evict the other subset of the nodes, which are not hosting any virtual machines. To do this, right-click the nodes in Failover Cluster Manager, click Move Actions, and then click Evict. The size of the subset should be such that the virtual machines hosted by the subset can be stored on the remaining nodes, which are still running Windows Server 2008. For example, in a four-node cluster, evict two nodes so that the remaining nodes can hold the virtual machines that were being hosted by the first group of nodes. Make sure that the evicted nodes are masked out from the shared storage of the original cluster.
  2. Perform a clean installation of Windows Server 2008 R2 on the evicted subset of nodes, and then enable the Hyper-V role and the Failover Clustering feature.

    Important An upgrade is not supported on a failover cluster so a clean installation is required.
  3. Create a new cluster with the evicted nodes, and then run all of the Validate a Configuration Wizard tests. If applicable, enable Cluster Shared Volumes (CSV) on the Windows Server 2008 R2 cluster, and create some CSV disks.
  4. Prepare the virtual machines in the original cluster for an upgrade. Take the following actions, depending on the state of the virtual machine:
    • If the virtual machine is in a Running state, use Hyper-V Manager to shut down the virtual machine.
    • If the virtual machine is in a Saved state, use Hyper-V Manager to start from the saved state and then shut down the virtual machine. Saved states are not supported when you upgrade your host to Windows Server 2008 R2.
    • If the virtual machine has an online snapshot that you need, apply the relevant snapshot, and then shut down the virtual machines.
  5. Follow one of these steps to prepare your virtual machine for upgrading:

    Important If you are moving virtual machines to a CSV disk, follow the specific steps in the "Migrate a virtual machine from a non-CSV disk to a CSV disk" section later in this article.
    1. Export the virtual machines. If you are going to use the same SAN storage for the Windows Server 2008 R2 cluster, you can use a configuration-only export. Export the virtual machine from Windows Server 2008 Hyper-V Manager by selecting Export on the Action menu. Make sure to select the Export only the virtual machine configuration check box.
    2. Back up the virtual machines by using a backup application of your choice.
  6. Open Failover Cluster Manager on the original cluster, and then take the virtual machine configuration resources Offline.
  7. If you are going to reuse the same storage for the new cluster, mask it from the original cluster, and then make it available to the new (Windows Server 2008 R2 ) cluster.
  8. Depending on what you did in step 5, follow one of these steps to move the virtual machines into the new Windows Server 2008 R2 Cluster.

    Important If you are moving your virtual machines to a CSV disk, follow the steps in the "Migrate a virtual machine from a non-CSV disk to a CSV disk" section.
    1. If you used step 5a to export the virtual machines above, import the virtual machines back to the cluster nodes. To import the virtual machines, follow the steps in the "Exporting and importing virtual machines in clustered environments" section.
    2. If you use step 5b to back up the virtual machines, use a backup application to restore the virtual machine to the clustered disk.
  9. For each of the virtual machines that are now in this Windows Server 2008 R2 cluster, update the Integration Services. To do this, turn on the virtual machine, open the Virtual Machine Connection window, and then click Insert Integration Services Setup Disk on the Action menu.

    Note On Windows Server 2008 R2, the Integration Services for Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 will be listed in Programs and Features as "KB955484."
  10. When all virtual machines are running on the Windows Server 2008 R2 cluster and everything has been tested and verified as fully functional, use Failover Cluster Manager to remove the old cluster. To do this, right-click the cluster in Failover Cluster Manager, click More Actions, and then click Destroy Cluster.
  11. For the remaining nodes that were in the old cluster, perform a clean installation of Windows Server 2008 R2, and then enable the Hyper-V role and the Failover Clustering feature as required. Join these nodes to the new cluster.

Migrate a virtual machine from a non-CSV disk to a CSV disk

  1. Export the virtual machines. Use one of the following options, depending on how much control you want over where your virtual hard disks are stored:
    1. If you want Hyper-V Manager to move the virtual hard disks along with the virtual machine configuration, select Export on the Action menu in Hyper-V Manager, and then specify the folder that you want to export the virtual machine to. If you are running Windows Server 2008 Hyper-V, make sure that the Export only the virtual machine configuration check box is not selected.
    2. If you want complete control over where the virtual hard disks are placed during the migration, export the virtual machine to the CSV Folder by selecting Export on the Action menu in Hyper-V Manager. Select Export only the virtual machine configuration.
  2. From Virtual Machine Manager, delete the virtual machine.
  3. To add the storage to the cluster’s "Available Storage" group, select the Storage node in the left navigation pane, and then click Add Storage. To make a disk a Cluster Shared Volume, enable the Cluster Shared Volumes feature from the Failover Cluster’s Overview page, select the Cluster Shared Volumes node in the left navigation pane, select Add Storage, and then specify a disk. This disk will be added to the Cluster Shared Volumes group and a directory, such as C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4, will be created for this group.
  4. If you used step 1b to export your virtual machine, follow steps in the "Exporting and importing virtual machines in clustered environments" section. Otherwise, import the virtual machine by using the Import user interface in Hyper-V Manager.
  5. From Failover Cluster Manager, make the virtual machine highly available

Exporting and importing virtual machines in clustered environments

To export virtual machines, follow these steps:
  1. If you perform a configuration-only export of the virtual machines, run the GetAssociatedVHDLocations script to get the list of snapshot .avhd files and the .vhd files that are associated with the virtual machine. To obtain this script, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
    http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/ScriptCenter/en-us/ece86b35-3730-4c7e-8177-b52213d09fb7
    Use the following command to run the script:
    cscript GetAssociatedVHDLocations.vbs /VMName:NameOfVM
    For example, run the following:
    cscript GetAssociatedVHDLocations.vbs /VMName:VM3
    The output will be as follows:
    ##########
    ParentPath
    ##########
    K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd
    
    ##########
    ChildPaths
    ##########
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Hyper-V\Snapshots\<Snapshot_GUID>\fixed_<snapshot_GUID>.avhd
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Hyper-V\Snapshots\<Snaoshot_GUID>\fixed_<Snapshot_GUID>.avhd
    
    Former Resource Path = 
    "K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
  2. Copy the .avhd files that are listed under “ChildPaths” in the script output to the same folder as the .vhd folder that is specified under ”ParentPath” in the output.
To import virtual machines, follow these steps:
  1. Obtain the importVM script from the following Microsoft Web site:
    http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/ScriptCenter/en-us/cca0fd27-8142-45f4-b4d7-21a92e278743
  2. Import the virtual machine by passing the Export Path that is specified after you select Export on the Action menu. Specify the Former Resource Path output that is shown in step 1 of the export procedure as input parameters to the importVM script. For example, assume that the Former Resource Path output is:
    "K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"K:\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    
    
    If you are migrating from a non-CSV to a non-CSV environment, replace the “K” with the new drive letter assigned to the storage that is now mounted in the new cluster. If the volume was mounted as “K:” and now it is mounted as “Z:”, the Resource Path becomes:
    "Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";"Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";"Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";"Z:\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    
    If you are migrating from a non-CSV to a CSV environment, replace the “K:\” with “C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4 " so that the Resource Paths become the following:
    
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    
    
    In this example, after you run the script, you should see the following output:
    >ImportVM.vbs /ImportDirectory:C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\vm3Export\MyVM /ResourcePaths: 
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd";
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd";
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd";
    " C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd"
    
    
    Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.8
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    Resource Paths
    C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed.vhd
    C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4:\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed_diff.vhd
    C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\fixed1.vhd
    C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\HarddiskTempStorage0\expanding.vhd
    
    In progress... 10% completed.
    Done
    
    
    Note The Former Resource Paths must be enclosed in quotation marks. For example, use:
    "C:\ClusterStorage\Volume4\MyVM\MyVM.vhd"

Properties

Article ID: 957256 - Last Review: November 22, 2010 - Revision: 2.5
APPLIES TO
  • Windows Server 2008 Standard
  • Windows Server 2008 Enterprise
  • Windows Server 2008 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter
Keywords: 
kbhyperv kbclustering kbhowto kbexpertiseinter kbsurveynew kbinfo KB957256

Give Feedback

 

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com