What are Closed Groups in GroupMe?

When creating a group, you have the option of making a group open or closed.

  • Closed Group: Only the group creator can add or remove people, change the group name, avatar, and topic. Non-owners will not have the membership and group settings options available to them on the group member page.

  • Open Group: All members can add or remove people, change the group name, avatar, and topic. However, only the group creator can enable sharing and deleting the group.

Change a group's settings to Closed or Open

Your current group chats can be changed to closed or open from the group settings. 

  1. Go to the group chat.

  2. Select the group's avatar (group picture).

  3. Select Settings  Settings button.

    Note: On iPad, tap Settings  Settings button  from the top of the screen.

  4. Switch Closed Group on or off.

Controlling former group members

Group owners in Closed Groups have an additional layer of control to block or unblock members:

  1. Go to the group chat.

  2. Select the group's avatar (group picture).

  3. Select Members, select the Former tab.

    Note: On iPad, tap Members  Add members button from the top of the screen.

  4. From the dropdown, select Members Who Left, then select Block next to each former member’s name to ban them from re-entering the group.

    Note: The Banned Members and the Removed Members list shows previously banned or removed members. To unblock them, select Unblock or Add to group next to their name in the appropriate list.

Need more help?

Expand your skills
Explore Training
Get new features first
Join Microsoft Insiders

Was this information helpful?

What affected your experience?

Any additional feedback? (Optional)

Thank you for your feedback!

×