Presenting with cameo

Applies To
PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 for Mac PowerPoint 2024 PowerPoint 2024 for Mac

By using cameo, you can insert your live camera feed directly on a PowerPoint slide. You can then apply the same effects to your camera feed as you can to a picture or other object, including formatting, transitions, and styles.

Cameo is available to Microsoft 365 subscribers in the desktop app for Windows or macOS or in the web app. (For desktop apps, it is available in the Current Channel and also in the Semi-Annual Channel beginning with January 2023.)

Add cameo to a slide

  1. Select Insert > Cameo. A placeholder for the camera feed appears on the slide.

  2. Select the Preview icon Camera button (off) in the placeholderĀ to turn on the camera feed.

    Note

    In a shared document, your video feed is only available to you.

  3. In the Camera Format tab, select the arrow below the Preview button to select other cameras. Only one video feed can be used on a slide.

  4. Use the tab to apply effects like Camera Styles, Camera Shape, Camera Border, and Camera Effects. You can also arrange or overlay the camera feed like you would any other picture or object on the slide or in the Navigation Pane.
    PowerPoint Camera Ribbon 2022

  5. Use the picture anchors to adjust the size and placement on the slide.

  6. You can also cut and paste the camera feed, plus use Animations and Transitions, like Morph. Design Ideas also work with cameo.

  7. To present while using cameo, on the ribbon, select Slide Show > From Beginning.

    Tip

    Alternatively, presentations that contain a cameo can also be viewed with PowerPoint Live in a Teams meeting. PowerPoint Live detects cameo on a slide and automatically switches to cameo mode. Any Teams camera settings (such as background effects and filters) are automatically be inherited by cameo in the PowerPoint Live session in Teams. For more information, go to Cameo in PowerPoint Live in Teams.

Add cameo to a slide master layout

To make cameo appear consistently on multiple slides, add a cameo placeholder to a slide layout or template.

  1. Open an existing presentation or create one, and then select View > Slide Master.
    PowerPoint Slide Master button on the Ribbon

  2. On the Slide Master tab, select Insert Layout to create a new layout that holds your cameo object. Alternatively, in the side navigation, select an existing layout on which to place a cameo object.

  3. To add a cameo placeholder to the slide layout, on the Slide Master tab, select Insert Placeholder > Cameo, and then select the location you want your cameo to appear.

    Note

    After you insert the cameo on your slide layout, a cameo object appears on all slides that have this layout applied to it.

  4. Select Shape Format to format your cameo placeholder to fit your slide design and layout.

    Note

    To make it easy to find your layout later, rename it: With the layout selected, on the Slide Master tab, select Rename. In the dialog, enter a distinct name for the slide layout, and then select Rename.

  5. Select View > Normal View.

  6. On the Home tab, select New Slide or Layout to use your layout with your cameo placeholder. Then select the layout you named in step 4.
    The newly created Cameo Layout appears in the slide layout options.
    After you insert the slide or apply the layout, a cameo object automatically appears. When you make edits to your slide, your camera feed shows through the cameo.

Want more?

Record customized camera feeds with cameo in PowerPoint for Mac

Integrate a live camera feed into your presentation with cameo in PowerPoint

Present from PowerPoint in Microsoft Teams

Use the Morph transition in PowerPoint