"You can't sign in with this version of Lync" error in Lync for iPad or Lync for iPhone on iOS 9

Applies to: Lync 2013 for iPhoneLync 2013 for iPad


When you try to sign in to Microsoft Lync 2013 for iPhone or Microsoft Lync 2013 for iPad on Apple iOS 9, you receive the following error message:

You can't sign in with this version of Lync. Please install a newer version. If that doesn't work, contact your support team.


This problem occurs because the Language and Region settings on your device don't match. For example, the language value is English and the region value is Sweden. When this problem occurs, your settings may resemble the settings in the following screen shot.


To resolve this issue, install the Skype for Business for iOS client (version 6.0). This component is available on the following Apple website: 


Note No fix for this issue is scheduled for Lync 2013 for iPhone and Lync 2013 for iPad.

To work around this problem in for Lync 2013 for iPhone and Lync 2013 for iPad, follow these steps.

Note This workaround does not apply to the Chinese Simplified language setting. If you have Language set to Chinese Simplified, you cannot sign in by using the Lync 2013 iPhone or Lync 2013 for iPad apps, regardless of the Region setting.

  1. Verify that the Language and Region settings match. To do this, follow these steps:

    1. Tap Settings.
    2. Tap General.
    3. Tap Language & Region.
  2. If the settings don't match, do either of the following:

    • Change the language:

      1. Tap iPhone Language or iPad Language.
      2. Select a language that matches the Region setting. For example, if the region setting is Israel, select Hebrew.
      3. Tap Done, and then confirm the change when you're prompted.

      After several seconds, your device should return to the Home screen and display the new language that you selected.

    • Change the region:

      1. Tap Region.
      2. Select a region that matches the Language setting. For example, if the language setting is English, select United States or United Kingdom.
      3. Tap Back.