This article was previously published under Q313877
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
After you delete a user account by using the User Accounts tool in Control Panel, data and settings for the user account that you deleted may be missing even if you clicked Keep Files when you deleted the user account. Data that may be missing includes e-mail messages, Address Book contacts, Internet favorites, and other data or settings that are associated with the user account that you deleted.
This issue occurs because the Keep Files option saves only the contents of the user's desktop and My Documents folders.
To resolve this issue, restore the missing data and settings from a backup or re-create them. To back up all the files and settings for a user account before deleting the account, use the Files and Settings Transfer Wizard. For additional information about using the Files and Settings Transfer Wizard, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
306187 HOW TO: Use the Files and Settings Transfer Wizard with a Wizard Disk
This behavior is by design.
When you choose to delete a user account in the User Accounts tool in Control Panel, you receive the following prompt:
Do you want to keep User's files? Before you delete User's account, Windows can automatically save the contents of User's desktop and My Documents folder to a new folder called User on your desktop. However, Windows cannot save User's e-mail messages, Internet favorites, and other settings.