The Microsoft SQL Server support policy for Microsoft Clustering


This article describes the Microsoft support policy for SQL Server failover clustering. Microsoft Customer Support Services (CSS) supports SQL Server failover clustering that is based on the failover clustering features of the Microsoft Cluster Service in the following products:
  • Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition
  • Windows Server 2003 Datacenter Edition
  • Windows Server 2008 Enterprise Edition
  • Windows Server 2008 Datacenter Edition
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise Edition
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter Edition
  • Window Server 2012
  • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Windows Server 2008 failover clusters only support SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 2 or later versions.
  • Windows Server 2012 and Windows Server 2012 R2 should review the KB 2775067 The Microsoft support policy for Windows Server 2012 or Windows Server 2012 R2 failover clusters

Important The term "server clusters" means computers that run the Microsoft Cluster Service. The Windows Server 2003 family provides the following types of clustering services:
  • Server Cluster (Failover Cluster)
  • Network Load Balancing
  • Compute Cluster Server
Only the Server Cluster solutions can be used together with SQL Server for high availability if a node is lost or if a problem exists with an instance of SQL Server. Network Load Balancing may be used in some cases together with stand-alone read-only SQL Server installations. SQL Server Failover Clustered Instances each require a unique group. This requirement is true on cluster disk resources that use drive letters that are unique to the cluster and to each SQL Server Failover Clustered Instance. Each Failover Clustered Instance of SQL Server must also have at least one unique IP address. Depending on the version that is installed, multiple unique IP addresses may be possible. Additionally, each Failover Clustered Instance must have both virtual server and instance names that are unique to the domain to which the cluster belongs.

Cluster solutions other than Windows Failover Clustering

If you cluster SQL Server with any clustering product other than Microsoft Server Clustering, your primary support contact is the third-party cluster solution provider for any support issues that are related to SQL Server. SQL Server was developed and tested by using Microsoft Server Clustering. Third-party clustering solution providers that support SQL Server installations should be your primary contact for any installation issues, performance issues, or cluster behavior issues. CSS provides commercially reasonable support for third-party cluster installations in same manner that we do for a stand-alone version of SQL Server.

SQL Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 R2 information
For SQL Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 R2 editions, please refer to the following topics in SQL Server Books Online:
In summary, SQL Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 R2 editions support up to 8 nodes on Windows Server 2003 and 16 nodes on Windows Server 2008 and later versions.
SQL Server 2012, SQL Server 2014 and SQL Server 2016

Please refer to the following MSDN articles for each of the versions:

Mounted drives

The use of mounted drives is not supported on a cluster that includes a Microsoft SQL Server installation. For more information, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
819546 SQL Server support for mounted volumes

2216461 SQL Server 2008 setup fails to install on a Windows Server 2008-based cluster mount point

Use of Domain Controller Servers

SQL Server failover cluster instances are not supported on failover cluster instance nodes configured as domain controllers. 

More Information

Virtualization support

For more information about installation of SQL Server failover clusters in a hardware virtualization environment, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

956893 Support policy for Microsoft SQL Server products that are running in a hardware virtualization environment

Migrating SQL Server Failover Cluster Instances to New DomainSQL Server 2005 and later versions cannot be migrated to new domain. You will need to uninstall and reinstall the failover cluster components. For more information about how to move a Windows Server cluster from one domain to another, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
269196 How to move a Windows Server cluster from one domain to another

Prior to uninstalling SQL Server must be set to use mixed mode security or new domain accounts added to the SQL Server logins and the DATA folder containing system databases must be renamed prior to uninstalling so this folder may be swapped back in once reinstalled to reduce down time. No removal of SQL Server support files, SQL Server Native Client, Integration Services or Workstation Components should be done.


For more information, see the "Failover clustering" topic in Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Books Online or in Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Books Online.

Id. de artículo: 327518 - Última revisión: 29 sept. 2015 - Revisión: 1