What happens when I publish a page?

When you publish a page, it becomes visible to everyone who can view your site. If you don't publish a page, the only people who can see it are those who have edit permissions on your site.

After creating and editing a page, you can save it as draft, discard changes, or publish. Here's what happens:

Save as draft

When you save a page as a draft and don't publish it, any changes you've made during the current editing session are saved, and the page is checked in. The latest version of the page is in a draft state, and not visible to site users yet.

Discard changes

Any changes you've made during the current editing session are not saved, and the page is checked in. The latest version of the page is in a draft state, and not visible to site users yet.

Publish

Any changes you've made during the current editing session are saved, the page is checked in, and the page becomes visible to site users and available in search.

Need more help?

Expand your skills
Explore Training
Get new features first
Join Microsoft Insiders

Was this information helpful?

What affected your experience?

Any additional feedback? (Optional)

Thank you for your feedback!

×