Description of Default Cluster Sizes for FAT32 File System

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 192322 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q192322
Expand all | Collapse all


This article lists the default cluster sizes for drives using the FAT32 file system. The FAT32 file system uses smaller default cluster sizes than the FAT16 file system, resulting in a more efficient file allocation system and the conservation of drive space.


The following tables lists the default cluster sizes used by the FAT32 file system.

   Partition size           Cluster size
   512 MB to 8,191 MB          4 KB
   8,192 MB to 16,383 MB       8 KB
   16,384 MB to 32,767 MB     16 KB
   Larger than 32,768 MB      32 KB

Note that the FAT32 file system does not support drives smaller than 512 MB.


For more information about the FAT32 file system, see the following articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
ARTICLE-ID: 154997
TITLE : Description of the FAT32 File System

TITLE : MS-DOS Partitioning Summary


Article ID: 192322 - Last Review: January 23, 2007 - Revision: 2.3
  • Microsoft Windows 98 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition
  • Microsoft Windows 95
  • Microsoft Windows 95
  • Microsoft Windows 95
kbinfo KB192322

Give Feedback


Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from