Article ID: 2625508 - View products that this article applies to.

Important update

We have received reports that Armenia and Ukraine have canceled their proposed changes. According to reports in Rada and Kyivpost, Ukraine will not stay on permanent summer time and instead will fall back to winter time on October 30, 2011 as originally scheduled. If these reports become the plan of record, customers in Armenia and Ukraine will not have to adjust time zone settings on their computers that are running Windows. This Microsoft Knowledge Base article will be updated when Microsoft has confirmation about this decision.
Expand all | Collapse all


Time information in Windows for time zones in Ukraine [(UTC+02:00) Helsinki, Kyiv, Riga, Sofia, Tallinn, Vilnius], Belarus [(UTC+02:00) Minsk], and Armenia [(UTC+04:00) Yerevan] will be incorrect after October 30, 2011.

More information

Ukraine, Belarus, and Armenia have decided to discontinue daylight saving time in 2011. According to the current Windows time zone rules, daylight saving time (summer time) is (UTC+3:00) in Belarus and Ukraine and (UTC+5:00) in Armenia. Summer time is scheduled to end on October 30, 2011 and move to winter time, which is (UTC+2:00) in Belarus and Ukraine and (UTC+4:00) in Armenia. According to the latest changes, they will remain on summer time (UTC +3:00) indefinitely and will not "fall back" to winter time.

The native time zones for the affected countries will be updated in the next planned cumulative Windows time update in December 2011. No hotfix is planned for release in the interim. Users in these time zones should move to the following alternative suggested time zones:
  • (UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad
  • (UTC +5:00) Tashkent
Note To move to the "(UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad" time zones, customers must first install the August 2011 cumulative time zone update for Windows operating systems.

A new time zone will be created for Ukraine and Belarus in the December 2011 Windows time cumulative update, which users can move back to.
Collapse this tableExpand this table
Affected countryNative time zoneStandard timeDaylight saving timeWorkaround time zone (no daylight saving time)
Belarus(UTC+02:00) MinskUTC+2:00UTC+3:00(UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad

(UTC+02:00) Helsinki, Kyiv, Riga, Sofia, Tallinn, VilniusUTC+2:00UTC+3:00(UTC +3:00) Kaliningrad

(UTC+04:00) YerevanUTC+4:00UTC+5:00(UTC +5:00) Tashkent

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
2570791 August 2011 cumulative time zone update for Windows operating systems


Article ID: 2625508 - Last Review: October 24, 2012 - Revision: 6.0
Applies to
  • Windows 7 Service Pack 1
  • Windows Vista Service Pack 2
  • Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1
  • Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2
  • Windows Embedded Standard 7

Give Feedback


Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from