Time zone changes for Russia in Windows

Kehtib: Windows Server 2012 R2 DatacenterWindows Server 2012 R2 StandardWindows Server 2012 R2 Essentials


In accordance with recently passed Russian law, the following regions in Russia were scheduled to switch time zones on March 27, 2016, at 02:00 local time. Microsoft has released an update to Windows, dated Tuesday, April 12, 2016, to reflect these changes.

RegionOld time zone offsetNew time zone offset
Astrakhan OblastUTC+3UTC+4
Ulyanovsk OblastUTC+3UTC+4
Altai KraiUTC+6UTC+7
Altai RepublicUTC+6UTC+7
Zabaykalsky KraiUTC+8UTC+9
Sakhalin OblastUTC+10UTC+11


  • The update that is described in this article changes the time zone data to accommodate daylight saving time (DST) changes in several countries.

    This is a cumulative update rollup that includes all previous Windows time zone changes. For more information about how DST changes may affect other Microsoft products, go to the following Microsoft websites:

  • When you apply this update, you may receive a message that resembles the following:

    Update cannot be installed as a newer or same time zone update has already been installed on the system.
    This message indicates that either you have already applied the correct update or Windows Updates or Microsoft Update has automatically installed this update. No additional action is required to update the Windows operating system.

Changes to Windows time zone data

This update includes the following changes and additions. Users in the affected regions can switch to these new time zones after the update is installed.

New Time Zones

Astrakhan Oblast & Ulyanovsk Oblast

Time zone key / IDAstrakhan Standard Time
English display name(UTC+04:00) Astrakhan, Ulyanovsk
Time zone offset (before transition)UTC+3
Time zone offset (after transition)UTC+4

Altai Republic & Altai Krai

Time zone key / IDAltai Standard Time
English display name(UTC+07:00) Barnaul, Gorno-Altaysk
Time zone offset (before transition)UTC+6
Time zone offset (after transition)UTC+7

Zabaykalsky Krai

Time zone key / IDTransbaikal Standard Time
English display name(UTC+09:00) Chita
Time zone offset (before transition)UTC+8
Time zone offset (after transition)UTC+9

Sakhalin Oblast

Time zone key / IDSakhalin Standard Time
English display name(UTC+11:00) Sakhalin
Time zone offset (before transition)UTC+10
Time zone offset (after transition)UTC+11

Changes to Existing Time Zones

These changes affect the display name only. No time changes will be introduced.

Time zone key / IDOld display nameNew display name
Kaliningrad Standard Time(UTC+02:00) Kaliningrad (RTZ 1)(UTC+02:00) Kaliningrad
Russian Standard Time(UTC+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd (RTZ 2)(UTC+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd
Russia Time Zone 3(UTC+04:00) Izhevsk, Samara (RTZ 3)(UTC+04:00) Izhevsk, Samara
Ekaterinburg Standard Time(UTC+05:00) Ekaterinburg (RTZ 4)(UTC+05:00) Ekaterinburg
North Central Asia Standard Time(UTC+06:00) Novosibirsk (RTZ 5)(UTC+06:00) Novosibirsk
North Asia Standard Time(UTC+07:00) Krasnoyarsk (RTZ 6)(UTC+07:00) Krasnoyarsk
North Asia East Standard Time(UTC+08:00) Irkutsk (RTZ 7)(UTC+08:00) Irkutsk
Yakutsk Standard Time(UTC+09:00) Yakutsk (RTZ 8)(UTC+09:00) Yakutsk
Vladivostok Standard Time(UTC+10:00) Vladivostok, Magadan (RTZ 9)(UTC+10:00) Vladivostok
Russia Time Zone 10(UTC+11:00) Chokurdakh (RTZ 10)(UTC+11:00) Chokurdakh
Russia Time Zone 11(UTC+12:00) Anadyr, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky (RTZ 11)(UTC+12:00) Anadyr, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky

File information

For a list of the files that are provided in this update, download the file information for update 3148851.


For an official policy statement about these changes, see the following Microsoft Daylight Saving Time & Time Zone Blog article:

For general Windows support for time zone and daylight saving time issues, go to the following Microsoft website: