Description of Default Cluster Sizes for FAT32 File System

This article lists the default cluster sizes for drives using the FAT32file system. The FAT32 file system uses smaller default cluster sizes thanthe FAT16 file system, resulting in a more efficient file allocationsystem and the conservation of drive space.
More information
The following tables lists the default cluster sizes used by the FAT32file system.

   Partition size           Cluster size   -------------------------------------   512 MB to 8,191 MB          4 KB   8,192 MB to 16,383 MB       8 KB   16,384 MB to 32,767 MB     16 KB   Larger than 32,768 MB      32 KB				

Note that the FAT32 file system does not support drives smaller than512 MB.

For more information about the FAT32 file system, see the followingarticles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
ARTICLE-ID: 154997
TITLE : Description of the FAT32 File System

TITLE : MS-DOS Partitioning Summary
Note This is a "FAST PUBLISH" article created directly from within the Microsoft support organization. The information contained herein is provided as-is in response to emerging issues. As a result of the speed in making it available, the materials may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice. See Terms of Use for other considerations.

Article ID: 192322 - Last Review: 06/22/2014 19:14:00 - Revision: 2.0

  • kbinfo KB192322