If you're actively editing a file when someone else deletes it, you'll see a message explaining that you no longer have access to the file, or in some cases, telling you to save a copy of the document so you won't lose work.  

Example of the error message in Word:  

Screenshot of Upload Failed error while editing a document in Word

Example of the error message in Word on the web: 

Screenshot of Couldn't save automatically error while editing a document in Word

Example of the error message in Visio on the web: 

Screenshot of a Something went wrong error while editing a file in Visio

To save your work, you'll need to save a copy of the file.

If the deletion was a mistake, you can restore the file from the recycle bin of the site or restore from the OneDrive where it was deleted from.

Need more help?

Expand your skills

EXPLORE TRAINING >

Get new features first

JOIN MICROSOFT INSIDERS >

Was this information helpful?

What affected your experience?

Thank you for your feedback!

×