Protect controls and linked cells on a worksheet

Applies To
Excel for Microsoft 365 Excel 2024 Excel 2021

You may want to add protection to Form controls and ActiveX controls to prevent users from moving, changing, or deleting controls.

  1. If one or more controls are ActiveX control:

    1. Make sure that the Developer tab is available. For more information, see Show the Developer tab.
    2. Make sure that you are in design mode. On the Developer tab, in the Controls group, turn on Design Mode .
  2. Select the control that you want to protect.
    For more information, see Select or deselect controls on a worksheet.

  3. To prevent a user from moving, sizing, or deleting a control, right-click the selection, and then select Format Control.

  4. On the Protection tab, select the Locked check box.

  5. If the control has a linked cell, unlock the cell so that the control can write to it, and then hide the cell so that a user cannot cause unexpected problems by modifying the current value. To unlock the cell:

    1. On the Home tab, in the Cells group, select Format, and then select Format Cells.
    2. On the Protection tab, clear the Locked check box, and then select OK.
      Then, hide the column or row that contains the linked cell, or move the contents of the linked cell to a separate worksheet, and then hide that worksheet.
      For more information, see Hide or show rows or columns and Hide or unhide worksheets.
  6. To prevent users from changing the protections on the cells and controls that you have set, protect both the worksheet and the workbook.
    For more information, see Protect a workbook.

Need more help?

You can always ask an expert in the Excel Tech Community or get support in Communities.