Insert and delete rows and columns to organize your worksheet better.
Note
Excel worksheets support up to 16,384 columns and 1,048,576 rows.
Insert or delete a column
- Select any cell within the column, then go to Home > Insert > Insert Sheet Columns or Home > Delete > Delete Sheet Columns.
- Alternatively, right-click the top of the column, and then select Insert or Delete.
Insert or delete a row
- Select any cell within the row, then go to Home > Insert > Insert Sheet Rows or Home > Delete > Delete Sheet Rows.
- Alternatively, right-click the row number, and then select Insert or Delete.
When you insert a column, Excel may apply formatting from adjacent columns. To change the formatting, select the Insert Options button after inserting the column, and then choose a formatting option.
If the Insert Options button isn't visible, go to File > Options > Advanced. Under Cut, copy, and paste, select Show Insert Options buttons.
Insert rows
Open a new spreadsheet in Excel for the web.
To insert a single row: Right-click the whole row above which you want to insert the new row, and then select Insert 1 Row Above.
To insert multiple rows: Select the same number of rows as you want to insert. Right-click the selection, and then select the option to insert rows above. The number displayed in the command depends on how many rows you selected.
Insert columns
To insert a single column: Right-click the whole column to the right of where you want to add the new column, and then select Insert 1 Column Left.
To insert multiple columns: Select the same number of columns as you want to insert. Right-click the selection, and then select the option to insert columns to the left. The number displayed in the command depends on how many columns you selected.
Delete cells, rows, or columns
If you don't need any of the existing cells, rows or columns, here's how to delete them:
- Select the cells, rows, or columns that you want to delete.
- Right-click the selection, and then select Delete. If prompted, choose the appropriate delete option, such as Shift cells left or Shift cells up.
When you delete rows or columns, other rows or columns automatically shift up or to the left.
Tip
If you change your mind right after you deleted a cell, row, or column, just press Ctrl+Z to restore it.
Insert cells
To insert a single cell:
- Right-click the cell where you want to insert a new cell.
- Select Insert, and then select Shift cells right or Shift cells down.
To insert multiple cells:
- Select the same number of cells as you want to insert.
- Right-click the selection, and then select Insert > Shift cells right or Shift cells down.
Need more help?
You can always ask an expert in the Excel Tech Community or get support in Communities.
See also
Basic tasks in Excel
Overview of formulas in Excel