Sign in with Microsoft
Sign in or create an account.
Select a different account.
You have multiple accounts
Choose the account you want to sign in with.

Wondering which languages and countries are available for Cortana? The following list shows the regions where Cortana is available, and the languages that Cortana is optimized for in each of those regions. Cortana works best with specific language and market pairings. Your region and language settings should ideally be aligned.

Cortana is available in these regions for these languages:

  • Australia: English

  • Brazil: Portuguese

  • Canada: English/French

  • China: Chinese (Simplified)

  • France: French

  • Germany: German

  • India: English

  • Italy: Italian

  • Japan: Japanese

  • Mexico: Spanish

  • Spain: Spanish

  • United Kingdom: English

  • United States: English

Note: If you change your region, you might not be able to shop at Microsoft Store or use things you've purchased, like memberships and subscriptions, games, movies, and TV.

If you're not sure about your settings, you can check or change language settings. If your settings are correct but you still can't use Cortana, installing the latest Windows Updates might fix the problem. 

Go to Windows Update

Need more help?

Expand your skills
Explore Training
Get new features first
Join Microsoft Insiders

Was this information helpful?

What affected your experience?

Thank you for your feedback!