Insert the date in a footer in Excel

Applies To
Excel for Microsoft 365 Excel 2024 Excel 2021

To add the current date at the time of printing to the bottom of every printed page, insert the date in the worksheet footer. Similarly, you can also insert the date or time into a header or footer.

  1. Select Insert > Header & Footer.

    Screenshot of Header & Footer option on the Insert tab.

  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the worksheet.

  3. Select the left, center, or right footer box at the bottom of the worksheet.

    Screenshot that shows Add Footer.

  4. Select Header & Footer Elements > Current Date.

    Screenshot that shows the Header & Footer Elements group.

  5. To exit the footer view, select anywhere in the worksheet, and then select View > Normal.

Select View > Page Layout. Footers show up only in Page Layout view, Print Preview, and on printed pages.

Need more help?

You can always ask an expert in the Excel Tech Community or get support in Communities.